DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ellis et al. (US 2013/0228534). This rejection was applied in Paragraphs 5-10 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 08/27/25. The rejection remains in effect. Please see Response to arguments below.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zougman et al. (US 2016/0266137). This rejection was applied in Paragraphs 11-15 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 08/27/25. The rejection remains in effect. Please see Response to arguments below.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zougman et al. (US 2016/0266137) in view of Ellis et al. (US 2013/0228534). This rejection was applied in Paragraph 20 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 08/27/25. The rejection remains in effect. Please see Response to arguments below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/26/25, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claims 5 and 14 to address the issues set forth in Paragraph 4 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 08/27/25. Applicant has amended claims 5 and 14 recite “wherein a mild chaotrope is a chaotropic agent that does not fully denature biomolecules” and “wherein a strong chaotrope is a chaotropic agent that fully denatures biomolecules” to clarify the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/26/25, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ellis et al. (US 2013/0228534) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that the prior art Ellis does not teach “when the system is in the lower parked position of the inner vial the outer vial seals the inner vial, wherein the pin of the outer vial is configured to seal the inner vial and remove the dead space of an output of the inner vial up to the bottom of the matrix” because “fluid is flushed through the filter and into the plunger”. See pages 8-9 of Applicant’s Remarks. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner agrees with Applicant’s reading of the sequence shown in Figures 5A-5C of Ellis and described in Paragraphs 0066-0070. Figure 5B shows that the projection (14) of the outer vial (vial 10) does indeed work with the bottom (57) portions of the cap (50) of the inner vial (plunger 18) to force fluid through the filter (70) of the inner vial (plunger 18) as the plunger is being inserted into the vial. The Examiner, however, directs Applicant to Figure 5C which shows the inner vial (plunger 18) fully inserted such that a that inner vial is sealed by the protrusion (14) of the outer vial (vial 10). The Examiner submits this is what claim 1 requires as currently written. The Examiner submits Figure 5C of Ellis teaches the “system is in the lower parked position of the inner vial the outer vial seals the inner vial, wherein the pin of the outer vial is configured to seal the inner vial and remove the dead space of an output of the inner vial up to the bottom of the matrix”. Therefore the claims remain rejected.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/26/25, with respect to the rejection of claims 5-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zougman in view of Ellis et al. (US 2013/0228534) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that Zougman does not teach or suggest "collecting non-coagulated and unbound molecules into a first removable vesicle and eluting a class or category of coagulated captured molecules from the matrix into a second removable vesicle." See pages 9-10 of Applicant’s Remarks. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and again directs Applicant to Paragraphs 0151-0167; 0192-0228; and 0261-0289 of Zougman which recite methods that include all of the steps recited in instant claims.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/26/25, with respect to the rejection of claims 5-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zougman et al. (US 2016/0266137 in view of Ellis et al. (US 2013/0228534) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that one of ordinary skill in the art would not combine the device from Ellis with the device and method of Zougman. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits the filter device of Ellis is an improvement over the device of Zougman. Zougman teaches a base filtration device. As previously noted by the Examiner, In Paragraph 0077, Ellis teaches Ellis teaches a filtration device that forces much more fluid through the filter (70) than other filter vials, which provides an improvement of filtering more material for a given volume of fluid. The Examiner submits providing this improvement falls under the rationale of “Use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way”. See MPEP 2143, Section I, C.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DWAYNE K HANDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1798 March 21, 2026
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798