DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 26 Sep 2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 4, 6, 11-13, 18, and 20 have been amended, claims 3 and 19 have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-2, 3-18, and 20 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 26 Sep 2025, with respect to the objections to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections Raised Under 35 US 112
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 26 Sep 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments. The rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
However, the amended language of claim 6 still contains issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as explained in further detail below. Therefore, the rejection of claims 6 and 7 are maintained.
Rejection of Independent Claim 18 Raised Under 35 USC 102
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 26 Sep 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hansjurgens (US 5573552 A), as explained in further detail below.
Rejection of Independent Claims 1, 13, 18 and 20 Raised Under 35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 26 Sep 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 13, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Johnson et al. (US Publication No. 20020099425 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Johnson, as explained in further detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are both greater than any frequency within a natural band of electrically excitable cells of the tissue”. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, “electrically excitable cells of the tissue” can constitute any cell, and “a natural band” of frequencies can include any frequency, because the limits of “electrically excitable” are not defined by the claim, nor the specification.
Claim 7 is also rejected because it is dependent on claim 6.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the minimum frequency”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, “the minimum frequency” will be interpreted as “a minimum frequency”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the amplitude”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, “the amplitude” will be interpreted as “an amplitude”.
Claim 18 recites the limitations “the amplitude” (line 3), “the relative phase” (line 5), “the start” (line 8), “the middle” (line 9), and “the end” (line 10). There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as “an amplitude”, “a relative phase”, “a start”, “a middle”, and “an end”, respectively.
Claim 18 recites “at least one of a plurality of electric fields” in lines 2-3, but recites “the plurality of electric fields” in lines 3-4 and 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the plurality of electric fields” in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8-9, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US Publication No. 20020099425 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses an apparatus for providing electrostimulation of a biological tissue (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017], apparatus 10), the apparatus comprising:
a first electrical signal provider (Fig. 1, paragraph [0018], electrodes 20 and 22) configured for providing a first alternating electric field in the biological tissue (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017], electrical treatment channel 12), the first alternating electric field having a first frequency (paragraph [0040], "the base frequency for circuit 12 is 1850 Hz");
a second electrical signal provider (Fig. 1, paragraph [0018], electrodes 24 and 26) configured for providing a second alternating electric field in the biological tissue (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017], electrical treatment channel 14), the second alternating electric field having a second frequency (paragraph [0040], "The second frequency, which applies to second channel 14");
wherein the first alternating electric field and the second alternating electric field provide a combined field in the biological tissue (paragraph [0023], "The electrical current provided for each circuit 12, 14, 16, 18 interfere with one another"), and the apparatus further comprises:
a controller (Fig. 4, paragraph [0027], CPU 100) providing variations of at least one of the first frequency and the second frequency to provide first intervals interleaved between second intervals wherein each of the second intervals has a length (paragraph [0042], "apparatus 10 controls the beat frequency to sweep between a selected range of a first value and a second value where the first value is the upper limit and the second value being as low as zero, which means the second frequency would be equal to the first frequency during this sweep operation");
wherein during the first intervals, the first frequency matches the second frequency (paragraph [0042], "the second frequency would be equal to the first frequency") and throughout the second intervals the first frequency is different from the second frequency by a selected beat frequency (paragraph [0040], "two electrical circuits are established that operate at different frequencies from one another ... which establishes a beat difference or frequency") so that the combined field provides a pulsed interferential stimulation signal consisting of a series of pulses (paragraph [0008], "The frequency of each circuit can be varied and a plurality of beat pulses can be generated"), each of the series of pulses having the length and consisting of an alternating electric field at the selected beat frequency (paragraph [0003], "The electrical current is an alternating current and each of the two circuits is operated at a slightly different frequency, which generates a beat frequency within the body where the circuits cross").
Regarding claim 5, Johnson discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as explained above. Johnson further discloses that the variations provide a frequency difference, Δf, selected to provide stimulation of the biological tissue (paragraph [0040], "the difference would be 200 Hz or less, which establishes a beat difference or frequency of 200 Hz or less used in therapeutic treatment"; paragraphs [0040]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 8, Johnson discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as explained above. Johnson further discloses that:
the first electrical signal provider further comprises a first current source (Fig. 4, paragraph [0033], DAC 110) configured for providing electrical current between a first two electrodes (Fig. 1, paragraph [0018], electrodes 20 and 22), thereby providing the first electric field (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017], electrical treatment channel 12), and
the second electrical signal provider further comprises a second current source (Fig. 4, paragraph [0033], DAC 112) configured for providing electrical current between a second two electrodes (Fig. 1, paragraph [0018], electrodes 24 and 26), thereby providing the second electric field (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017], electrical treatment channel 14).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson discloses the apparatus of claim 8, as explained above. Johnson further discloses that the first two electrodes and the second two electrodes comprise electrodes configured for implantation on a living biological tissue (paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 13, Johnson discloses a method of stimulating biological tissue (paragraph [0018], "the electrical circuit interacts with and stimulates the spinal cord"), the method comprising:
controlling a first alternating current at a first location (paragraph [0008], "The electrodes are placed on sides opposite the patient's spine for optimal treatment") thereby providing a first alternating electric field in the biological tissue (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017], electrical treatment channel 12), the first alternating electric field having a first frequency (paragraph [0040], "the base frequency for circuit 12 is 1850 Hz");
providing a second alternating current at a second location (paragraph [0008], "The electrode on the opposite side can be placed on the hand, shoulder, hip, or other region of the body, so long as it is on the opposite side of the first electrode along a known nerve path between the electrode contact points") thereby providing a second alternating electric field in the biological tissue (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017], electrical treatment channel 14), the second alternating electric field having a second frequency (paragraph [0040], "The second frequency, which applies to second channel 14");
wherein the first alternating electric field and the second alternating electric field combine to provide a combined field in the biological tissue at a third location (paragraph [0023], "The electrical current provided for each circuit 12, 14, 16, 18 interfere with one another"; paragraph [0008], "The electrode on the opposite side can be placed on the hand, shoulder, hip, or other region of the body, so long as it is on the opposite side of the first electrode along a known nerve path between the electrode contact points thereby establishing a current path through the patient's spine"; paragraphs [0024]-[0025]), and the method further comprises:
varying at least one of the first frequency and the second frequency to provide a series of first intervals interleaved between a series of second intervals wherein each second interval has a length (paragraph [0042], "apparatus 10 controls the beat frequency to sweep between a selected range of a first value and a second value where the first value is the upper limit and the second value being as low as zero, which means the second frequency would be equal to the first frequency during this sweep operation");
wherein during the first intervals, the first frequency matches the second frequency (paragraph [0042], "the second frequency would be equal to the first frequency") and throughout the second intervals the first frequency is different from the second frequency by a selected beat frequency (paragraph [0040], "two electrical circuits are established that operate at different frequencies from one another ... which establishes a beat difference or frequency") so that the combined field provides a pulsed interferential stimulation signal consisting of a series of pulses (paragraph [0008], "The frequency of each circuit can be varied and a plurality of beat pulses can be generated"), each of the series of pulses having the length and consisting of an alternating electric field at the selected beat frequency (paragraph [0003], "The electrical current is an alternating current and each of the two circuits is operated at a slightly different frequency, which generates a beat frequency within the body where the circuits cross").
Regarding claim 15, Johnson discloses the method of claim 13, as explained above. Johnson further discloses that varying at least one of the first frequency and the second frequency comprises varying the first frequency while keeping the second frequency constant (paragraph [0046], "the first channel can have a fixed base frequency and the second channel has a frequency differential that is either fixed or varied, or pauses at a given frequency relative to the base frequency and can then vary"; paragraph [0008], "The CPU is programmed so that each frequency for each circuit can be varied"; paragraph [0028], "CPU 100 controls power supply 102 to determine ... whether the frequency varies during treatment").
Regarding claim 20, Johnson discloses an electrical signal controller (Fig. 4, paragraph [0027], CPU 100) configured for controlling electrostimulation of biological tissue, the controller being operable to control at least two alternating electrical signals (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017], electrical treatment channels 12 and 14) and being configured to perform a method of stimulating biological tissue (paragraph [0018], "the electrical circuit interacts with and stimulates the spinal cord") comprising:
controlling a first alternating current at a first location (paragraph [0008], "The electrodes are placed on sides opposite the patient's spine for optimal treatment") thereby providing a first alternating electric field in the biological tissue (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017], electrical treatment channel 12), the first alternating electric field having a first frequency (paragraph [0040], "the base frequency for circuit 12 is 1850 Hz");
providing a second alternating current at a second location (paragraph [0008], "The electrode on the opposite side can be placed on the hand, shoulder, hip, or other region of the body, so long as it is on the opposite side of the first electrode along a known nerve path between the electrode contact points") thereby providing a second alternating electric field in the biological tissue (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017], electrical treatment channel 14), the second alternating electric field having a second frequency (paragraph [0040], "The second frequency, which applies to second channel 14");
wherein the first alternating electric field and the second alternating electric field combine to provide a combined field in the biological tissue at a third location (paragraph [0023], "The electrical current provided for each circuit 12, 14, 16, 18 interfere with one another"; paragraph [0008], "The electrode on the opposite side can be placed on the hand, shoulder, hip, or other region of the body, so long as it is on the opposite side of the first electrode along a known nerve path between the electrode contact points thereby establishing a current path through the patient's spine"; paragraphs [0024]-[0025]), and the method further comprises:
varying at least one of the first frequency and the second frequency to provide a series of first intervals interleaved between a series of second intervals wherein each second interval has a length (paragraph [0042], "apparatus 10 controls the beat frequency to sweep between a selected range of a first value and a second value where the first value is the upper limit and the second value being as low as zero, which means the second frequency would be equal to the first frequency during this sweep operation");
wherein during the first intervals, the first frequency matches the second frequency (paragraph [0042], "the second frequency would be equal to the first frequency") and throughout the second intervals the first frequency is different from the second frequency by a selected beat frequency (paragraph [0040], "two electrical circuits are established that operate at different frequencies from one another ... which establishes a beat difference or frequency") so that the combined field provides a pulsed interferential stimulation signal consisting of a series of pulses (paragraph [0008], "The frequency of each circuit can be varied and a plurality of beat pulses can be generated"), each of the series of pulses having the length and consisting of an alternating electric field at the selected beat frequency (paragraph [0003], "The electrical current is an alternating current and each of the two circuits is operated at a slightly different frequency, which generates a beat frequency within the body where the circuits cross").
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansjurgens (US 5573552 A).
Regarding claim 18, Hansjurgens discloses a method of providing a pulsed interferential signal (column 9, lines 21-24, interference method) for stimulation of a biological tissue (column 1, lines 6-7, "electrodes applied in relation to a body part to be treated"), the method comprises frequency modulating at least one of a plurality of electric fields applied to the biological tissue (column 9, lines 21-32). while holding the amplitude of the plurality of electric fields constant (column 5, lines 29-30);
wherein the frequency modulation is controlled to provide a train of pulses (column 2, lines 65-67) and the relative phase of the plurality of electric fields is controlled to shape the pulses (column 8, lines 52-63), wherein the electric fields are in phase at the middle of each pulse (column 9, lines 48-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US Publication No. 20020099425 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding claim 4, Johnson discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as explained above. Johnson further discloses that the alternating electric field at the selected beat frequency has a beat period (paragraph [0040], "a beat difference or frequency of 200 Hz" has a beat period of 5 ms).
Johnson does not explicitly disclose that the length is an integer multiple of the beat period.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply pulses with a duration which is an integer multiple of the beat period, because the end of a beat period is when the combined field has ramped down to 0 amplitude, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US Publication No. 20020099425 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Johnson, in view of Hansjurgens (US 5573552 A).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as explained above. Although Johnson discloses that the first alternating electric field has an amplitude and the second alternating electric field has an amplitude (paragraphs [0027], 0032], [0035]-[0036], current intensity), Johnson does not explicitly disclose that the apparatus is configured to hold constant the amplitude of the first alternating electric field and the amplitude of the second alternating electric field.
However, Hansjurgens teaches an apparatus for electrotherapeutic applications which operates in the medium frequency range between 1000 Hz and 100,000 Hz, with paired, diametrically opposed electrodes applied in relation to a body part to be treated (column 1, lines 3-7), wherein the apparatus is configured to hold constant the amplitude of the first alternating electric field and the amplitude of the second alternating electric field (column 5, lines 29-30).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson with the teachings of Hansjurgens so that the first alternating electric field has an amplitude and the second alternating electric field has an amplitude and the apparatus is configured to hold constant the amplitude of the first alternating electric field and the amplitude of the second alternating electric field, because doing so prevents low-frequency irritation of the skin or pain by intensity variations of the stimulation current, decreases the amount of energy lost when the stimulation penetrates the skin, improves depth of penetration of the stimulation, and reduces the amount of sensation that the stimulation evokes (Hansjurgens, column 8, lines 32-51).
Regarding claim 14, Johnson discloses the method of claim 13, as explained above. Although Johnson discloses that the first alternating electric field has an amplitude and the second alternating electric field has an amplitude (paragraphs [0027], 0032], [0035]-[0036], current intensity), Johnson does not explicitly disclose that the apparatus is configured to hold constant the amplitude of the first alternating electric field and the amplitude of the second alternating electric field.
However, Hansjurgens teaches an apparatus for electrotherapeutic applications which operates in the medium frequency range between 1000 Hz and 100,000 Hz, with paired, diametrically opposed electrodes applied in relation to a body part to be treated (column 1, lines 3-7), wherein the amplitude of the first alternating electric field and the second alternating electric field is held constant during said varying (column 5, lines 29-30).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson with the teachings of Hansjurgens so that the apparatus is configured to hold constant the amplitude of the first alternating electric field and the amplitude of the second alternating electric field, because doing so prevents low-frequency irritation of the skin or pain by intensity variations of the stimulation current, decreases the amount of energy lost when the stimulation penetrates the skin, improves depth of penetration of the stimulation, and reduces the amount of sensation that the stimulation evokes (Hansjurgens, column 8, lines 32-51).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US Publication No. 20020099425 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Johnson, in view of Wei (US 20130110194 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Johnson discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as explained above. Although Johnson discloses examples of the first frequency and the second frequency (paragraphs [0040]-[0043]), Johnson does not explicitly disclose that these frequencies are greater than any frequency within a natural band of electrically excitable cells of the tissue.
However, Wei teaches a system, devices, and techniques for delivering electrical stimulation therapy (Abstract) wherein the electrical stimulation has a frequency sufficiently high such that the stimulation substantially blocks nerve activity in a manner that prevents the nerve activity from propagating past the nerve location being stimulated (paragraph [0053]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson with the teachings of Wei so that the first frequency and the second frequency are both greater than any frequency within a natural band of electrically excitable cells of the tissue, because doing so may prevent nerve activity from being propagated across the nerve site when the high frequency stimulation is being delivered (Wei, paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, the apparatus of claim 6 is obvious over Johnson and Wei, as explained above. Johnson further discloses that the biological tissue comprises spinal tissue (paragraph [0018], "the electrical circuit interacts with and stimulates the spinal cord") and the minimum frequency is at least 500 Hz (paragraphs [0040]-[0043] disclose examples where the first and second frequencies are between 1850 and 2850 Hz).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US Publication No. 20020099425 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Johnson, in view of Ahmed et al. (US Publication No. 20130035745 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Ahmed.
Regarding claim 10, Johnson discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as explained above. Johnson does not explicitly disclose that the pulsed interferential stimulation signal comprises pulses having a duration of at least 5 ms.
However, Ahmed teaches a system configured to apply stimulation to a neural pathway (Abstract) wherein the stimulation pulses have a duration of at least 5 ms (paragraphs [0050], [0055], [0077], [0183], [0230], [0313]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson with the teachings of Ahmed to apply pulses with a duration of at least 5 ms, because doing so ensures that the electrical signal is sufficient to induce neural signals (Ahmed, paragraph [0183]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply pulses with a duration of at least 5 ms, for the purpose of maintaining safety during use, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Johnson discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as explained above. Johnson does not explicitly disclose that the pulsed interferential stimulation signal comprises pulses having a duration of less than 150 ms.
However, Ahmed teaches a system configured to apply stimulation to a neural pathway (Abstract) wherein the stimulation pulses have a duration of less than 150 ms (paragraphs [0050], [0055], [0077], [0183], [0230], [0313]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson with the teachings of Ahmed to apply pulses with a duration of less than 150 ms, because doing so ensures that the electrical signal is sufficient to induce neural signals (Ahmed, paragraph [0183]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply pulses with a duration of less than 150 ms, for the purpose of maintaining safety during use, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 12, the apparatus of claim 11 is obvious over Johnson and Ahmed, as explained above. Johnson does not disclose that the pulses have a duration of between 5 ms and 25 ms. However, Ahmed further teaches that the stimulation pulses have a duration is between 5 ms and 25 ms (paragraphs [0050], [0055], [0077], [0183], [0230], [0313]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson with the teachings of Ahmed to apply pulses with a duration of between 5 ms and 25 ms, because doing so ensures that the electrical signal is sufficient to induce neural signals (Ahmed, paragraph [0183]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply pulses with a duration of between 5 ms and 25 ms, for the purpose of maintaining safety during use, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US Publication No. 20020099425 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Johnson, in view of Carroll (US 20170036029 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Johnson discloses the method of claim 13, as explained above. John further discloses that the first location and second location are on the patient's skin (paragraph [0019]). Johnson does not explicitly disclose that at least one of the first location and the second location is in the biological tissue.
However, Carroll teaches a stimulator and a method for the treatment of intractable pain syndromes by interferential electrical stimulation of the spinal cord (Abstract) wherein the electrodes are located in the biological tissue (paragraph [0045], implantable electrodes 108a-d).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson with the teachings of Carroll so that at least one of the first location and the second location is in the biological tissue, because doing so increases the depth of stimulation and improves directional control (Carroll, paragraph [0039]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US Publication No. 20020099425 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Johnson, in view of Ting et al. (“A robust ex vivo experimental platform for molecular-genetic dissection of adult human neocortical cell types and circuits.” 2018, previously cited), hereinafter Ting.
Regarding claim 17, Johnson discloses the method of claim 13, as explained above. Johnson does not explicitly disclose that the biological tissue is ex vivo and/or that the method is not a method of treatment of a living human or animal body by surgery or therapy.
However, Ting teaches an ex vivo patch clamp system (title: “A robust ex vivo experimental platform”, page 3, Patch clamp electrophysiology and live imaging), wherein electrical stimulation is provided to biological tissue (page 8, second to last paragraph, "we performed simultaneous epifluorescence imaging and patch clamp recording and electrical stimulation via the patch pipette to drive neuron firing at frequencies from 1–50 Hz.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson with the teachings of Ting to perform the method of claim 13 using ex vivo biological tissue because doing so allows for rapid molecular-genetic manipulation (Ting, Abstract) and labeling (Ting, page 2, first paragraph), and for direct measurement of the functional properties of different cell types (Ting, page 1, first paragraph after Abstract).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE SISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796