DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 10/6/2025 has been entered. Claims 8, 25, 29, and 30 are cancelled. Claims 31 and 32 are newly added. Claims 1-7, 9-24, 26-28, 31, and 32 are pending. Claims 1-7 and 9-23 are withdrawn. Claims 24, 26-28, 31, and 32 are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to claims 24 and 26-28 under 35 USC 103, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 26-28, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besant et al., (Rapid electrochemical phenotypic profiling of antibiotic-resistant bacteria. Lab Chip. 2015 Jul 7;15(13):2799-807).
Regarding claims 24 and 26, Besant teaches a device and system for electrochemical phenotyping that identifies the antibiotic susceptibility profile of bacteria (p. 2800, col. 1, para. 2). Besant teaches that the bacteria are incubated with culture media, antibiotics, and a redox reporter, resazurin, (p. 2800, col. 2, para. 1; Figure 1) i.e., a redox mediator. Besant teaches that the device contained nanoliter culture chambers with each well equipped with electrodes to electrochemically readout the antibiotic susceptibility profile of the bacteria captured within (p. 2802, col. 2, para. 4; Figure 1). Because the electrodes measure the reduction of resazurin by metabolically active bacteria it is considered that the electrodes are in contact with the bacterial culture media, i.e., the first substance. Although Besant teaches that the culture media comprising the redox mediator and antibiotic is in the form of liquid LB media (p. 2801, col. 1, Electrochemical detection of bacteria), Besant also teaches LB agar plates (p. 2801, col. 1, Determination of bacterial capture efficiency). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the LB culture media in the device may be agar gel or solid, as such are known to support microbial growth.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Besant teaches a system comprising culture media, antibiotics, and a redox reporter, resazurin, (p. 2800, col. 2, para. 1; Figure 1) i.e., a redox mediator. Besant teaches that the device contained nanoliter culture chambers with each well equipped with electrodes to electrochemically readout the antibiotic susceptibility profile of the bacteria captured within (p. 2802, col. 2, para. 4; Figure 1). Because the electrodes measure the reduction of resazurin by metabolically active bacteria it is considered that the electrodes are in contact with the bacterial culture media, i.e., the first substance. Although Besant teaches that the culture media comprising the redox mediator and antibiotic is in the form of liquid LB media (p. 2801, col. 1, Electrochemical detection of bacteria), Besant also teaches LB agar plates (p. 2801, col. 1, Determination of bacterial capture efficiency). Besant also teaches electrochemical measurements using a potentiostat and a three-electrode set-up (p. 2801, col. 2, Electrochemical measurements).
Regarding claim 31, Besant teaches that plugs are formed within the sensor wells, i.e., the wells containing the culture media, bacteria, and antibiotic, by introducing immiscible oil (Figure 1D). Therefore, it is considered that the substance containing the redox mediator and antibiotic is sealed from the atmosphere.
Regarding claim 32, Besant teaches that the electrodes were scanned using differential pulse voltammetry (p. 2801, col. 2, Electrochemical measurements).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/RACHEL EMILY MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1657