DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 2/12/2026 has been fully considered. Claims 2-16 are withdrawn and claims 1-16 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al (JP 6098754 B1) in view of Odaka et al (US 6,803,936 B2) in further view of Shimomura (US 2005/0227024 A1).
Hayashi et al (US 2018/0319191 A1) is being used as the English translation for Hayashi et al (JP 6098754 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi discloses a combination of a thermal transfer sheet (Fig. 4 #100; paragraph [0084]) and an intermediate transfer film (transfer film; paragraphs [0038]-[0039]),
wherein the thermal transfer sheet (Fig. 4 #100; paragraph [0084]) comprises a first substrate (substrate; Fig. 4 #50; paragraphs [0069]-[0070] and [0084]) and a coloring layer (colorant layer; Fig. 4 #55; paragraphs [0083]-[0084]), a peel-off layer (Fig. 4 #51; paragraphs [0072]-[0073] and [0084]) and a heat seal layer disposed on the first substrate of the thermal transfer sheet (fusible layer disposed on the substrate of the thermal transfer sheet; Fig. 4 #52; paragraphs [0077]-[0078] and [0084]),
wherein the intermediate transfer medium (intermediate transfer film; Fig. 1 #10; paragraphs [0038]-[0039]) comprises a second substrate (support; Fig. 1 #1; paragraphs [0038]-[0039]) and a transfer layer (Fig. 1 #5; paragraphs [0038]-[0039]),
wherein the peel-off layer is for removing a portion of the transfer layer from the intermediate transfer medium (Fig. 6b; paragraph [0096])
wherein the heat seal layer includes a layer containing a resin material and particles (paragraphs [0140]-[0141]), and the content of the particles in the layer is 30 parts by mass or more and 120 parts by mass or less based on 100 parts be mass of the resin material (40 parts carbon black to 40 parts vinyl chloride-vinyl acetate copolymer amounting to 100 parts by mass of particles to 100 parts by mass of resin; paragraphs [0140]-[0141]), and
wherein the value obtained by subtracting the refractive index of the resin material from the refractive index of the particles is 0.01 or more and 0.4 or less (paragraphs [0140]-[0141]).
Fig. 6b shows the peel-off layer #51 removing a portion of transfer layer #5 from the intermediate transfer medium and is considered to be the peel-off layer removing a portion of the transfer layer from the intermediate transfer medium.
Hayashi does not disclose an absolute value of difference in 45° specular gloss between the heat seal layer and the transfer layer to be 20% or more, however, Hayashi teaches the same materials having the same content of particles as taught in Applicant’s heat seal layer as disclosed in paragraphs [0090]-[0099] of Applicant’s Specification, which would provide an absolute value of difference in 45° specular gloss between the heat seal layer and the transfer layer to be 20% or more. The fusible heat seal layer comprises 100 parts by weight of titanium dioxide having 40% solid content of titanium dioxide and 40 parts by weight of vinyl-chloride-vinyl acetate copolymer (paragraphs [0142]-[0143]).
Since the fusible layer comprises 100 parts by weight of carbon black dispersion having 40% solid content of carbon black (40 parts by weight of carbon black) and 40 parts by weight of vinyl-chloride-vinyl acetate copolymer, which is the same as the content of particles in Applicant’s heat seal layer as disclosed in paragraphs [0090]-[0099] of Applicant’s Specification; the fusible layer comprising 100 parts by weight of carbon black dispersion having 40% solid content of titanium dioxide (40 parts by weight of carbon black) and 40 parts by weight of vinyl-chloride-vinyl acetate copolymer would inherently provide an absolute value of difference in 45° specular gloss between the heat seal layer and the transfer layer to be 20% or more as carbon black is an inorganic particle, which can be used in Applicant’s heat seal layer as disclosed in paragraphs [0090]-[0091] of Applicant’s Specification, and the content of 40 parts by weight carbon black to 40 parts by weight of vinyl chloride-vinyl acetate copolymer is equivalent to 100 parts by weight of particles to 100 parts by weight of resin material, which falls within the range for the content of the particles in Applicant’s heat seal layer as disclosed in paragraphs [0098]-[0099] of Applicant’s Specification of 30 parts by mass or more and 120 parts by mass or less per 100 parts by mass of resin material. Mass and weight are noted to be the same. Also, paragraphs [0090]-[0091] of Applicant’s Specification discloses that when the heat seal layer comprises such particles, the permitted “mattness” is imparted to the heat seal layer, thus creating the difference in 45° specular gloss between the heat seal layer and the transfer layer.
The refractive index of carbon black is 1.8 to 2.1 and the refractive index of vinyl chloride-vinyl acetate copolymer is 1.50 to 1.54 (see paragraphs [0140]-[141]). The value obtained by subtracting the refractive index of vinyl chloride-vinyl acetate copolymer from the refractive index of carbon black ranges from 0.26 (1.80-1.54) to 0.6 (2.1-1.5). This ranges overlaps the claimed range for the value obtained by subtracting the refractive index of the resin material from the refractive index of the particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference in order to provide the desired function of soften by heating and transferring onto a transfer layer (paragraph [0079] of Hayashi). It has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” Please see MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Hayashi does not disclose the combination of a thermal transfer sheet and an intermediate transfer layer with a thermal transfer sheet comprising the coloring layer, peel-off layer and heat seal layer sequentially provided in this claimed order on the first substrate.
However, Odaka discloses a combination of a thermal transfer sheet and an intermediate transfer medium (col. 9, line 63-col.10, line 3 and col. 10, line 61-col. 11, line 8) wherein the thermal transfer sheet comprises a coloring layer (dye layers; Fig. 5 #10; col. 9, line 63-col. 10, line 3), a peel-off layer (Fig. 5 #3; col. 9, line 63-col. 10, line 3) and a heat seal layer heating layer; Fig. 5 #14; Fig. 5 #10; col. 9, line 63-col. 10, line 3) sequentially provided in this claimed order on the first substrate (provided sequentially in order from right to left on a substrate; Fig. 5 #10; col. 9, line 63-col. 10, line 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the thermal transfer sheet of Hayashi to substitute the sequential layer order on the thermal transfer sheet of Hayashi for the right to left sequential layer order of dye layers, peel-off layer and heating layer of Odaka because doing so allows for the formation of a thermal transfer sheet image on the intermediate transfer medium and the removal of the transfer part in the predetermined region of the intermediate transfer medium by the peel-off layer to be carried out by controlling the carrying of one thermal transfer sheet advantageously simplifying the carrying system of the thermal transfer sheet for image formation (col. 10, lines 43-55 of Odaka).
Hayashi does not disclose the combination of a thermal transfer sheet and an intermediate transfer layer comprising the transfer layer including a layer containing a resin material and particles and the content of the particles in a layer is 1 part by mass or less based on 100 parts by mass of resin material.
However, Shimomura discloses a combination of a thermal transfer sheet and an intermediate transfer layer comprising the intermediate transfer medium comprising an image receiving layer comprising an additive in an amount from 0.5 to 80% of the layer and the additive comprising a matting agent of a particle (paragraph [0246]).
The amount of additive overlaps the claimed range for the amount of particles in the transfer layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference in order to provide the desired mattness for the image receiving layer. It has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” Please see MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the intermediate transfer medium of Hayashi to include the matting agent of Shimomura in the transfer layer of Hayashi because having a matting agent provides a desired mattness for the image receiving layer.
The combination of Hayashi, Odaka and Shimomura do not disclose the heat seal layer is a layer that is transferred to areas of the intermediate transfer medium from which the transfer layer has not been removed and to areas of the intermediate transfer medium from which the transfer layer has been removed.
However, the limitations of the heat seal layer being a layer that is transferred to areas of the intermediate transfer medium from which the transfer layer has not been removed and to areas of the intermediate transfer medium from which the transfer layer has been removed are intended use limitations.
Since the structure of the combination of the thermal transfer sheet and intermediate transfer medium of Hayashi and Odaka is the same as the structure of the combination of the thermal transfer sheet and intermediate transfer medium as claimed in claim 1, the combination of the thermal transfer sheet and intermediate transfer medium of Hayashi and Odaka would inherently be capable of having the heat seal layer transferred to areas of the intermediate transfer medium from which the transfer layer has not been removed and to areas of the intermediate transfer medium from which the transfer layer has been removed
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants argue that Hayashi fails to disclose the feature of amended claim 1 of the transfer layer containing particles and the content of particles being 1 part by mass or less and the value obtained by subtracting the refractive index of vinyl chloride-vinyl acetate copolymer from the refractive index of titanium dioxide particles being 0.01 or more and 0.4 or less.
This argument is moot as Hayashi fails to disclose the feature of amended claim 1 of the transfer layer containing particles and the content of particles being 1 part by mass or less and the value obtained by subtracting the refractive index of vinyl chloride-vinyl acetate copolymer from the refractive index of titanium dioxide particles be4ing 0.01 or more and 0.4 or less. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been noted above.
Conclusion
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785