DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The status identifiers listed in the claims filed 8/21/2025 are incorrect, and Applicant’s “Status of the claims” section on page 5 of Remarks filed 8/21/2025 does not appear consistent with the claims in this Application, Application No. 17/753,830. The examiner requests clarification and/or correction in any subsequent communication.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 9, 11-13, 17, 19-22, 24-26, 28, 29, 33-42, and 37-54 have been canceled. Of these, claims 5 and 9 are newly canceled. Claims 18, 23, 27, 30-32, 43, and 44 are withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 2, 7, 10, 14-16, 45, and 46 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/21/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments and Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/21/2025 (hereafter, “Remarks”) have been fully considered and are addressed as follows. All rejections of newly canceled claims 5 and 9 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancelation of these claims. The amendment to claim 2 presenting Markush style alternative components which may meet the claimed sulfopolymer composition component is noted, and previously issued rejections are withdrawn and newly presented as modified below, in order to address the new claim language.
Regarding previously issued rejections of claims 2, 5, 7, 9, 10, and 14-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Wempe, Applicant’s citation of MPEP guidance and case law excerpts outlined on pages 5 and 6 of Remarks are noted. Applicant argues that claim 2 as amended is not taught in the prior art. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 is withdrawn and newly presented as modified below in order to address the new claim language.
Regarding the previously issued rejections of claims 2, 5, 7, 9, 10, 14-16, 45, and 46 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wempe in view of Crosby, Applicant asserts that the prior art does not teach all limitations of claim 2 as amended, and Applicant’s citations to MPEP guidance, case law, and Applicant’s general understanding of the Examiner’s burden as outlined primarily on page 7 of Remarks are noted. Applicant concludes in the last sentence on page 7 of Remarks that “In the present case, these requirements of a prima facie case of obviousness simply have not been satisfied.” Applicant continues on page 8 of Remarks, “Therefore, the examiner has not provided an articulated reason” supported by “rationale underpinning” adequate to establish a proper…”. In reply, Applicant’s assertions and conclusory statements have been considered, however Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Nevertheless, the previously applied rejections are not applicable here in view of the new claim language filed 8/21/2205. Accordingly, modified grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments of 8/21/2025 are presented below in order to address the claim language as amended.
Modified Rejections As Necessitated by Amendments filed 8/21/2025
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 7, 10, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2009/0163449A1 (“Wempe”).
The instant claims are drawn to an agrochemical composition comprising a sulfopolymer and one or more active agents, wherein the composition comprises the sulfopolymer in an amount effective to improve a spreader and/or a surfactant characteristic of the composition. It is noted in regard to claim 5 that paragraph [0050] of the specification as filed defines the “control” formulation referenced in the claim.
Wempe teaches a sulfo-polymer powder and blends thereof with carriers and/or additives (see title, in particular); Wempe’s compositions may be agricultural compositions (see [0015])(“an agrochemical composition”) and may comprise an active agent component (see [0004]) and may be in the form of a solvent dispersion (see [0004], [0005], [0008] in particular)(limitations of claims 2 and 7). Since a product and its properties are inseparable and since Wempe’s compositions are used for the same or substantially the same purpose, Wempe’s products are considered to comprise “the sulfopolymer in an amount effective to improve a spreader and/or surfactant characteristic of the composition” as recited in claim 2 and further as described in claim 5 (limitations of claims 2 and 5). Further regarding the particular sulfo-polymer, Wempe defines the sulfopolyesters as composed of 5-sodiosulfoisophthalic acid and additional components (see [0002])(limitation of claims 9 and 10). Wempe specifies fungicides (see [0037], line 4)(limitation of claims 14 and 15) among active agents which may be included Wempe teaches preservatives may be included (see [0045])(limitation of claim 16). As to the average molecular weight instantly claimed being at least 2 kDa, it is noted that Wempe teaches an alternative sulfopolymer to the sulfopolyester by its teaching of sulfoisophthalic salt. Furthermore and in addition to Wempe’s sulfoisophthatlic moiety salt sulfopolymer which meets the claim requirement as a sulfopolymer Markush alternative, Wempe Eastman AQ polymers disclosed have characteristic average molecular weights meeting the range of at least 2 kDa and would be considered a sulfopolyester as in claim 10.
Accordingly, Wempe teaches each and every limitation of claims 2, 7, 10, and 14-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 10, 14-16, 45, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2009/0163449A1 (“Wempe”) in view of US 2014/0018240A1 (“Crosby”).
The instant claims are drawn to an agrochemical composition comprising a sulfopolymer and one or more active agents, wherein the composition comprises the sulfopolymer in an amount effective to improve a spreader and/or a surfactant characteristic of the composition.
Wempe teaches a sulfo-polymer powder and blends thereof with carriers and/or additives (see title, in particular); Wempe’s compositions may be agricultural compositions (see [0015])(“an agrochemical composition”) and may comprise an active agent component (see [0004]) and may be in the form of a solvent dispersion (see [0004], [0005], [0008] in particular)(limitations of claims 2 and 7). Since a product and its properties are inseparable and since Wempe’s compositions are used for the same or substantially the same purpose, Wempe’s products are considered to comprise “the sulfopolymer in an amount effective to improve a spreader and/or surfactant characteristic of the composition” as recited in claim 2 and further as described in claim 5 (limitations of claims 2 and 5). Further regarding the particular sulfo-polymer, Wempe defines the sulfopolyesters as composed of 5-sodiosulfoisophthalic acid and additional components (see [0002])(limitation of claims 9 and 10). Wempe specifies fungicides (see [0037], line 4)(limitation of claims 14 and 15) among active agents which may be included Wempe teaches preservatives may be included (see [0045])(limitation of claim 16). As to the average molecular weight instantly claimed being at least 2 kDa, it is noted that Wempe teaches an alternative sulfopolymer to the sulfopolyester by its teaching of sulfoisophthalic salt. Furthermore and in addition to Wempe’s sulfoisophthatlic moiety salt sulfopolymer which meets the claim requirement as a sulfopolymer Markush alternative, Wempe Eastman AQ polymers disclosed have characteristic average molecular weights meeting the range of at least 2 kDa and would be considered a sulfopolyester as in claim 10.
Accordingly, Wempe teaches each and every limitation of claims 2, 7, 10, and 14-16. It is established that when a reference anticipates an invention, it necessarily renders such invention obvious as well. Anticipation is the “epitome of Obviousness”, In re Kalm, 378 F.2d 959, 962 (CCPA 1967).
Further regarding claims 45 and 46, Wempe does not specify rosin or a rosin ester to be further included. Crosby cures this deficiency.
Crosby teaches compositions for inhibiting spray drift (see abstract, in particular) in formulations applied by spraying including fungicidal, insecticidal, formulations (see [0005]). Crosby teaches agrochemical compositions including a resin which may be a rosin ester for preventing drift (see [0009] and [0015] and Table 1 for instance).
Both Wempe and Crosby pertain to agrochemical formulations for instance including an active agent which may be an insecticide or fungicide. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add a rosin ester as taught by Crosby to the formulations of Wempe. One would have been motivated to do so to prevent undesired drift in order to increase effective application and reduce waste and undesired treatment areas as generally taught by Crosby (see [0006] and [0007] in particular).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUDREA B CONIGLIO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617