Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 10/03/2025.
Claims 1 and 10 have been amended.
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10 and 18 are pending.
Claims 3-4, 8-9, and 11-17 are cancelled.
Claim 2 is withdrawn.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being taught by NOCK (Theranostic Perspectives in Prostate Cancer with the Gastrin-Releasing Peptide Receptor Antagonist NeoBOMB1: Preclinical and First Clinical Results. The Journal of Nuclear Medicine. Vol. 58. January 2017) in view of ALI (Kolliphor® HS 15 - An Enabler for Parenteral and Oral Formulations. American Pharmaceutical Review. 2019).
Regarding claim 1, NOCK teaches a method of labeling a gastrin-releasing peptide receptor (GRPR) antagonist with radioactive isotope (abstract). The method comprises: first obtaining the GRPR antagonist in a lyophilized form (Supplemental information, page 2 paragraph 2), which reads on i. providing a first vial comprising said GRPR antagonist in dried form. Then a radioisotope and a buffer are added to the mixture (Supplemental information page 2 paragraph 2), which reads on ii. adding a solution of a radioactive isotope and iii. mixing the solution with a buffering agent. The mixture was then incubated at 90 °C for 30 minutes (Supplemental information page 2 paragraph 2), which reads on iii. incubating it for a sufficient period of time for obtaining said GRPR antagonist labeled with said radioactive isotope.
The GRPR antagonist has the structure of:
(figure 1) and is labeled with 68Ga (figure 1, page 76 paragraph 3). The composition was injected (abstract).
Regarding claim 5, NOCK teaches that the GRPR antagonist is used as a targeting agent for various cancers, such as prostate cancer (abstract).
Regarding claim 6, NOCK teaches that gentisic acid can be used as a radiolysis protector within this method (Supplemental information, Page 4, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 10, NOCK teaches that the radioactive isotope is 68Ga (figure 1, page 76 paragraph 3).
NOCK does NOT teach adding macrogol 15 hydroxystearate.
Regarding claim 1 and 18, ALI teaches that macrogol 15 hydroxystearate, also known as Kolliphor HS 15, is commonly used for injections as a solubilizer (abstract and figure 2), which would increase bioavailability.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate adding macrogol 15 hydroxystearate. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it is commonly used as a solubilizer and increases bioavailability, and reasonably would have expected success because all references are in the same field of endeavor, such as pharmaceutical injections.
The references do not specifically teach the amount of GRPR antagonist as claimed by the Applicant. The amount of GRPR antagonist is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of the ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of GRPR antagonist in order to best achieve desired results, such as enough to be able to effectively target a specific area for imaging. Thus, absent of some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of the amount of GRPR antagonist would have been obvious at the time of Applicant’s invention.
Claims 1, 5-7, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being taught by NOCK (Theranostic Perspectives in Prostate Cancer with the Gastrin-Releasing Peptide Receptor Antagonist NeoBOMB1: Preclinical and First Clinical Results. The Journal of Nuclear Medicine. Vol. 58. January 2017) and ALI (Kolliphor® HS 15 - An Enabler for Parenteral and Oral Formulations. American Pharmaceutical Review. 2019) in view of HERNANDEZ (US 2016/0199524 A1).
NOCK and ALI teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
NOCK and ALI do not teach adding mannitol.
Regarding claim 7, HERNANDEZ teaches a method of radiolabeling molecules (abstract). The radionuclide is 68Ga (abstract and claim 7) and the molecule being labeled is a GRPR antagonist (paragraph 0015 and claim 19). Mannitol is added as a radioprotective agent (claim 3) to reduce the radiolytic effect of the radionuclide on the fluorescence of the labeled molecule (claim 1). The composition was injected (paragraph 0231).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate mannitol. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it would reduce the radiolytic effect of the radionuclide on the fluorescence of the labeled molecule, and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as radiolabeled GRPR antagonists.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the motivation to add macrogol 15 hydroxystearate is to prevent adhesion to glass and plastic surfaces, not for solubility as discussed in ALI.
Examiner does not find the argument persuasive because the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/JAKE M VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618