DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 12/23/2025. Presently, claims 1-20 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 07/02/2025. Applicant’s representative asserts that the amended claims limitations are not met. However, in light of the amendments to the claims, new rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been presented, as discussed in detail below.
Applicant’s representative alleges the following:
In regards to rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, does not teach or suggest the alleged cord assembly is configured such that the light is movable to an extended position relative to the chest compression assembly (Claim 1 and 8) or torso portion (Claim 13) in operation as recited in Independent Claims 1, 8 and 13.
In regards to rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, none of these asserted teachings from Pastrick would motivate a person of ordinary skill in the art ("POSITA") to modify Cantrell's stationary LED module 190 that is affixed to the housing 110 and make it movable relative to the alleged chest compression assembly or toro portion as recited in Independent Claims 1, 8, or 13.
Regarding point (1), the examiner notes that Pastrick is not relied upon to teach or disclose this limitation in the instant rejection.
Applicant’s representative argues that no where in this cited text (col 8 lines 24-28 or anywhere in Pastrick) does Pastrick teach or suggest a chord assembly configured such that a light is movable relative to the chest compression assembly while the plug member is connected to the electronic control board as recited in Claim 1. However, the office action relies on a newly found prior art reference of SkillGuide as evidenced by User Guide and Extension Cable Installation Guide (necessitated by applicant’s amendment) to teach that a light is movable relative to the chest compression assembly or the torso portion. (See office action below).
Regarding point (2), the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s representative argues that a POSITA would not have been motivated to drastically modify the primary reference- Cantrell-to remove its fixed and stationary LED module and make it movable. Such a major reconfiguration would require a POSITA to remove the alleged cord assembly that is currently housed and protected within the housing 110 and reconfigure it and the housing 110 such that the alleged cord assembly is now unprotected, movable, and outside of the housing 110. This is a complete reconfiguration of Cantrell and against Cantrell's explicit and implicit teachings, and contrary to its principle of operation.
In response to the arguments above, the purpose of the LED in Cantrell is for the user performing the CPR to have a visible indication of the compressions while the user is performing CPR (¶39 of Cantrell). The office action relies on a newly found prior art reference of SkillGuide to expand on this idea of having a visual indication through a series of LEDs and allows the LEDs to be located on any position that is visible to the student. This configuration focuses on improving visibility of the LEDs at any position that would be most convenient for the student or trainee. (See office action below)
Applicant’s representative argues that since Claims 2-7, 9-12, and 14-20 depend from independent Claims 1, 8, or 13, each such dependent claim is also missing these same limitations as set forth above. However, in light of the remarks and standing rejection below, the examiner asserts the prior art of record teaches all the elements as claimed and these elements satisfy all structural, functional, operational, and spatial limitations currently in the claims. Therefore, the standing rejections are proper and maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantrell et al.(US 20050058977 A1; hereinafter Cantrell) in view of Bishop et al.(US 8043109 B2; hereinafter Bishop) in view of SkillGuide as evidenced by User Guide and Extension Cable Installation Guide.
Regarding claim 1, Cantrell discloses A CPR training manikin (CPR training aid 100; 0024), comprising: a lighted rate monitor assembly (Combination of assembled components in the torso of manikin; Fig 1) including: a base member (controller 180; Fig 1), the base member including an electronic control board (electronic control board 232; 0032); a chest compression assembly (compression mechanism is made up of chest plate 130, upper cylinder 150, lower cylinder 160, and posterior or lower back plate 170; 0027) joined to the base member (compression mechanism joined to controller 180 as shown; Fig.1), the chest compression assembly comprising input devices (switch 84; 0029) electrically connected to the electronic control board (switch 84 connected to controller through wire and in Fig 2 controller 180 is connected to the control board 232; 0029); and having a light at a distal cord assembly end (controller operating LED through wires and lights are at the other end of the wire away from the controller; 0029 and Fig 1). Cantrell also discloses a cord assembly (wires 186a, 186b, and 186c; 0029) but does not disclose having a plug member at a proximal cord assembly end removably and electrically connected to the electronic control board. Additionally Cantrell does not disclose wherein the cord assembly is configured such that the light is movable to an extended position relative to the chest compression assembly.
However, Bishop focuses on how to use different connectors with a component, such as a LED Printed Circuit Board (PCB), which relates to Cantrell because Cantrell uses a circuit board to connect to LEDs in their manikin. Bishop teaches a cord assembly having a plug member at a proximal cord assembly end removably and electrically connected to the electronic control board (Plug member can engage against electrical contacts in the socket to electrically connect wires to the electrical component like the PCB; col 2 lines 12-15 and 37-45).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of Bishop because Bishop discloses a connector that is well suited for connecting one or more insulated conductive core wires to an electrical component, like a PCB. This is particularly useful in connection to one or more LED boards or components. Therefore, the benefit of the plug is to connect to light or LED components.
SkillGuide focuses on a movable and portable device with LEDs that provides feedback to the user in regards to their chest compressions, which relates to Cantrell because Cantrell also uses an LED to have a visible indication of the compressions while the user is performing CPR. SkillGuide teaches wherein the cord assembly is configured such that the light (feedback module has LED indicators; User Guide - Page 8 – Feedback Mode) is movable to an extended position (movable through the cable to an extended position; User Guide - Page 6 - Start) relative to the chest compression assembly (connected to the chest compression system; Extension Cable Installation Guide – See Figures in pages 2-3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of SkillGuide for the benefit of providing real-time feedback through the LEDs and improve visibility of LEDs in any location the user might prefer to reinforce proper training of the user.
Regarding claim 2, Cantrell discloses wherein the light is an LED (0029).
Regarding claim 3, Cantrell discloses wherein the chest compression assembly comprises a telescoping sleeve (upper cylinder and lower cylinder form a stabilizing telescoping post arrangement; 0028).
Regarding claim 4, Cantrell does not explicitly disclose wherein the plug member engages with an outlet defined in the base member.
However, Bishop focuses on how to use different connectors with a component, such as a LED Printed Circuit Board (PCB), which relates to Cantrell because Cantrell uses a circuit board to connect to LEDs in their manikin. Bishop teaches wherein the plug member engages with an outlet defined in the base member (the plug members can engage electrical contacts. Outlets are electrical contacts; col 2 lines 40-45).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of Bishop for the benefit of establishing a connection to a source of power.
Regarding claim 5, Cantrell discloses wherein one of the base member and the chest compression assembly includes a battery compartment (battery compartment 233; 0032).
Regarding claim 6, Cantrell discloses wherein the light is housed within a light housing (housing; 0039) having a transparent lens portion covering the light (lens 634 are implied to be transparent for the LED module to be seen by the user; 0039).
Regarding claim 8, Cantrell discloses a lighted rate monitor assembly (Combination of assembled components in the torso of manikin; Fig 1), comprising: a chest compression assembly (compression mechanism is made up of chest plate 130, upper cylinder 150, lower cylinder 160, and posterior or lower back plate 170; 0027) joined to a base member (compression mechanism joined to controller 180 as shown; Fig.1); an electronic control board (electronic control board 232; 0032); one or more input devices (switch 84; 0029) electrically connected to the electronic control board and disposed within the chest compression assembly or on the base member (switch connected to the controller and from Fig 1 controller and compression assembly are joined; 0029); a cord assembly having a proximal cord assembly end (Fig. 1), a distal cord assembly end (Fig 1), and a light disposed at the distal cord assembly end (controller operating LED through wires and lights are at the other end of the wire away from the controller; 0029 and Fig 1), and a light mounted on the electronic control board to illuminate in a predetermined color (LED module connected to controller and LED can have a predetermined color like green; 0029 and 0045). Cantrell also discloses a cord assembly (wires 186a, 186b, and 186c; 0029) but does not disclose a plug member disposed at the proximal cord assembly end for removable electrical connection with the electronic control board. Additionally Cantrell does not disclose wherein the cord assembly is configured such that the light is movable to an extended position relative to the chest compression assembly in operation.
However, Bishop focuses on how to use different connectors with a component, such as a LED Printed Circuit Board (PCB), which relates to Cantrell because Cantrell uses a circuit board to connect to LEDs in their manikin. Bishop teaches a cord assembly having a plug member at a proximal cord assembly end for removable electrical connection with the electronic control board (Plug member can engage against electrical contacts in the socket to electrically connect wires to the electrical component like the PCB; col 2 lines 12-15 and 37-45).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of Bishop because Bishop discloses a connector that is well suited for connecting one or more insulated conductive core wires to an electrical component, like a PCB. This is particularly useful in connection to one or more LED boards or components. Therefore, the benefit of the plug is to connect to light or LED components.
SkillGuide focuses on a movable and portable device with LEDs that provides feedback to the user in regards to their chest compressions, which relates to Cantrell because Cantrell also uses an LED to have a visible indication of the compressions while the user is performing CPR. SkillGuide teaches wherein the cord assembly is configured such that the light (feedback module has LED indicators; User Guide - Page 8 – Feedback Mode) is movable to an extended position (movable through the cable to an extended position; User Guide - Page 6 - Start) relative to the chest compression assembly in operation (connected to the chest compression system and the cable can be moved around; Extension Cable Installation Guide – See Figures in pages 2-3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of SkillGuide for the benefit of providing real-time feedback through the LEDs and improve visibility of LEDs in any location the user might prefer to reinforce proper training of the user.
Regarding claim 9, Cantrell discloses wherein the light is an LED (0029).
Regarding claim 10, Cantrell discloses wherein the chest compression assembly comprises a telescoping sleeve (upper cylinder and lower cylinder form a stabilizing telescoping post arrangement; 0028).
Regarding claim 11, Cantrell discloses wherein one of the base member and the chest compression assembly includes a battery compartment (battery compartment 233; 0032).
Regarding claim 12, Cantrell discloses wherein the light is housed within a light housing (housing; 0039) having a transparent lens portion covering the light (lens 634 are transparent because the LED module to be seen by the user; 0039).
Regarding claim 13, Cantrell discloses A CPR training manikin (CPR training aid 100; 0024) comprising: a torso portion (Torso shown in Fig 1) including a manikin opening (Fig 1); a lighted rate monitor assembly (Combination of assembled components in the torso of manikin; Fig 1), the lighted rate monitor assembly including: a base member (controller 180; Fig 1), the base member being disposed internally to the CPR training manikin (controller shown inside manikin in Fig 1) and including an electronic control board (electronic control board 232; 0032); a chest compression assembly joined to the base member (compression mechanism joined to controller 180 as shown; Fig.1), the chest compression assembly comprising one or more input devices electrically connected to the electronic control board (switch 84 connected to controller through wire ; 0029); and having a light at a distal cord assembly end (controller operating LED through wires and lights are at the other end of the wire away from the controller; 0029 and Fig 1); and wherein the cord assembly extends from the plug member disposed in the interior of the manikin (cord assembly 186a, 186b, or 186c going from the torso in the proximal cord assembly to LED module 190 at the distal cord assembly) through the manikin opening (opening near light 190 in Fig 1) to the light disposed exteriorly to the manikin (light 190 in Fig 1). Cantrell also discloses a cord assembly (wires 186a, 186b, and 186c; 0029) but does not disclose having a plug member at a proximal cord assembly end for removable electrical connection with the electronic control board. Additionally Cantrell does not disclose the cord assembly being configured such that the light is movable to an extended position relative to the torso portion in operation.
However, Bishop focuses on how to use different connectors with a component, such as a LED Printed Circuit Board (PCB), which relates to Cantrell because Cantrell uses a circuit board to connect to LEDs in their manikin. Bishop teaches having a plug member at a proximal cord assembly end for removable electrical connection with the electronic control board (Plug member can engage against electrical contacts in the socket to electrically connect wires to the electrical component like the PCB; col 2 lines 12-15 and 37-45).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of Bishop because Bishop discloses a connector that is well suited for connecting one or more insulated conductive core wires to an electrical component, like a PCB. This is particularly useful in connection to one or more LED boards or components. Therefore, the benefit of the plug is to connect to light or LED components.
SkillGuide focuses on a movable and portable device with LEDs that provides feedback to the user in regards to their chest compressions, which relates to Cantrell because Cantrell also uses an LED to have a visible indication of the compressions while the user is performing CPR. SkillGuide teaches the cord assembly being configured such that the light (feedback module has LED indicators; User Guide - Page 8 – Feedback Mode) is movable to an extended position (movable through the cable to an extended position; User Guide - Page 6 - Start) relative to the torso portion in operation (connected to the chest compression system in the torso and the cable can be moved around; Extension Cable Installation Guide – See Figures in pages 2-3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of SkillGuide for the benefit of providing real-time feedback through the LEDs and improve visibility of LEDs in any location the user might prefer to reinforce proper training of the user.
Regarding claim 14, Cantrell discloses wherein the light is an LED (0029).
Regarding claim 15, Cantrell discloses wherein the chest compression assembly comprises a telescoping sleeve (upper cylinder and lower cylinder form a stabilizing telescoping post arrangement; 0028).
Regarding claim 16, Cantrell does not explicitly disclose wherein the plug member engages with an outlet defined in the base member.
However, Bishop focuses on how to use different connectors with a component, such as a LED Printed Circuit Board (PCB), which relates to Cantrell because Cantrell uses a circuit board to connect to LEDs in their manikin. Bishop teaches wherein the plug member engages with an outlet defined in the base member (the plug members can engage electrical contacts. Outlets are electrical contacts; col 2 lines 40-45).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of Bishop for the benefit establishing a connection to a source of power.
Regarding claim 17, Cantrell discloses wherein one of the base member and the chest compression assembly includes a battery compartment (battery compartment 233; 0032).
Regarding claim 18, Cantrell discloses wherein the light is housed within a light housing (housing; 0039) having a transparent lens portion covering the light (lens 634 are implied to be transparent for the LED module to be seen by the user; 0039).
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantrell in view of Bishop in view of SkillGuide in view of Clash (US 20100021876 A1; hereinafter Clash).
Regarding claim 7, Cantrell discloses the light housing (0039) but it does not disclose a placement clip.
However, Clash focuses on a CPR training manikin simulating a human torso, which relates to Cantrell because they are both using a manikin for CPR training. Clash teaches the light housing (brain shell can be a housing too; 0037) includes a placement clip (one or more clips within the brain shell and LED lights; 0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of Clash for the benefit of securing the LED lights in place.
Regarding claim 19, Cantrell discloses the light housing (0039) but it does not disclose a placement clip.
However, Clash focuses on a CPR training manikin simulating a human torso, which relates to Cantrell because they are both using a manikin for CPR training. Clash teaches the light housing includes a placement clip (one or more clips within the brain shell and LED lights; 0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of Clash for the benefit of securing the LED lights in place.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantrell in view of Bishop in view of SkillGuide in view of Pastrick et al. (US 9852659 B2; hereinafter Pastrick).
Regarding claim 20, Cantrell does not explicitly disclose a clicker, the clicker facilitating an audible sound upon sufficient chest compression of the CPR training manikin.
However, Pastrick focuses on a portable manikin used for CPR training, which relates to Cantrell because they both use a manikin for CPR training. Pastrick teaches a clicker (col 5 lines 63), the clicker facilitating an audible sound upon sufficient chest compression of the CPR training manikin (col 5 line 65 - col 6 line 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cantrell to implement the teachings of Pastrick for the benefit of having an extra indicator when performing chest compressions besides the LED indicator, such as a noise indicator when performing CPR compressions.
Conclusion
/JOSE ANGELES/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715