DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 9 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergerioux (U.S. Patent No. 5506036) in view of Fontenot et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6368609) and Spreckelsen et al. (GB2444048).
Regarding Claim 1, Bergerioux discloses a container for the packaging of compositions comprising water-in-oil (W/O) emulsions and/ or oil-in-water (O/W) emulsions (Column 3, lines 28-34) which container made from a paperboard (column 4, lines 59-60); a fiber based substrate comprising a first ply forming a back ply 4 (Figure 2), a second ply forming a top ply 3 (Figure 2) and a third ply forming at least one middle ply 1 (Figure 2), wherein an innermost surface of the body, in contact with contents of the container, comprises a polyolefin (Column 2, lines 62-67). Bergerioux does not comprise a tube body, the fiber based substrate comprises softwood CTMP, and wherein each ply comprises a pulp and wherein the fiber base substrate comprises at least two plies bonded to each other without any adhesive between the at least two plies and the tube formed body comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is sealed and the second end is connected to a plastic shoulder having a dispersion hold wherein said should is connected to the tube-formed body by thermal sealing. However, Fontenot et al. teaches wherein the fiber based substrate comprises softwood CTMP (Column 4, lines 25-30) wherein the fiber base substrate comprises at least two plies bonded to each other without any adhesive between the at least two plies (Column 7, lines 49-64) and wherein each ply comprises a pulp (Column 4, lines 55-61). Also, Spreckelsen et al. discloses and the tube formed body comprising a first end and a second end (Figure 1), wherein the first end is sealed (Figure 1) and the second end is connected to a plastic shoulder 10 (Figure 3; paragraph 29) having a dispersion hole (Figure 3, when cap open) wherein said should is connected to the tube-formed body by thermal sealing (Figure 3; paragraph 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergerioux to include the above, as taught by Fontenot et al. and Spreckelsen et al., in order to improve strength of the package and attach the plies together while allowing for easy dispensing.
Regarding Claim 5, Bergerioux teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the third ply comprises CTMP. However, Fontenot et al. teaches the third ply comprises softwood CTMP (Column 4, lines 25-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergerioux to include the above, as taught by Fontenot et al., in order to provide the strength to contain the contents.
Regarding Claim 8, Bergerioux discloses the paperboard further comprises at least one barrier layer applied on a first surface of said fiber based substrate (figure 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Bergerioux discloses the at least one barrier layer comprises a first innermost barrier layer comprising polyolefin (Column 2, lines 56-58) applied on the first surface of the fiber based substrate, a second barrier layer comprising a metal foil and/or ethylene vinyl alcohol (EVOH) 5 (Figure 2) and a third, outermost barrier layer comprising polyolefin, so that the third barrier layer forms the innermost surface of the container (Column 2, lines 62-67).
Regarding Claim 21, Bergerioux discloses the polyolefin comprises polyethylene (column 2, lines 56-58).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergerioux (U.S. Patent No. 5506036) in view of Fontenot et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6368609) and Spreckelsen et al. (GB2444048) and Hallgren et al. (WO2015036930).
Regarding Claims 2-4, Bergerioux, Fontenot et al. and Spreckelsen et al. teach all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the fiber based substrate exhibits a Z-tensile strength of at least 350 kPa and a Scott Bond of at least 180 J/m2; the ratio between Scott Bond and Z-tensile strength is between 0.5-1; the fiber based substrate exhibits a bulk of at least 1 cm3/g. However, Hallgren et al. teaches the fiber based substrate exhibits a Z-tensile strength of at least 350 kPa and a Scott Bond of at least 180 J/m2 (page 7, last paragraph); the ratio between Scott Bond and Z-tensile strength is between 0.5-1 (page 6, last paragraph-page 7, first two paragraphs); the fiber based substrate exhibits a bulk of at least 1 cm3/g (page 6, last paragraph-page 7, first two paragraphs). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergerioux, Fontenot et al. and Spreckelsen et al. to include the above, as taught by Hallgren et al., in order to provide the strength to contain the contents.
Regarding Claim 7, Bergerioux, Fontenot et al. and Spreckelsen et al. teach all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the fiber based substrate has been made by first forming a top ply on a wire using a first headbox, whereupon middle and back plies are formed successively on the top ply using a second and a third headbox. However, Hallgren et al. teaches the fiber based substrate has been made by first forming a top ply on a wire using a first headbox, whereupon middle and back plies are formed successively on the top ply using a second and a third headbox (page 10, line 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergerioux, Fontenot et al. and Spreckelsen et al. to include the above, as taught by Hallgren et al., in order to easily form the container.
Claim(s) 10, 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergerioux (U.S. Patent No. 5506036) in view of Fontenot et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6368609), Svending et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170284030) and Spreckelsen et al. (GB2444048).
Regarding Claim 10, Bergerioux discloses a method for forming a container for the packaging of compositions comprising water-in-oil (W/O) emulsions and/ or oil-in-water (O/W) emulsions (Column 3, lines 28-34), the method comprising being formed from paperboard (column 4, lines 59-60) comprising a fiber based substrate comprising a first ply forming a back ply 4 (Figure 2), a second ply forming a top ply 3 (Figure 2) and a third ply forming at least one middle ply 1 (Figure 2), wherein an innermost surface of the body, in contact with contents of the container, comprises a polyolefin (Column 2, lines 62-67). Bergerioux does not comprise a tube-formed container, wherein the fiber based substrate comprises softwood CTMP wherein the fiber base substrate comprises at least two plies bonded to each other without any adhesive between the at least two plies by using a wet on wet forming technique between the at least two plies and the tube formed body comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is sealed and the second end is connected to a plastic shoulder having a dispersion hold wherein said should is connected to the tube-formed body by thermal sealing. However, Fontenot et al. teaches wherein the fiber based substrate comprises softwood CTMP (Column 4, lines 25-30), wherein the fiber base substrate comprises at least two plies bonded to each other without any adhesive between the at least two plies (Column 7, lines 49-64) and Svending et al. teaches a wet on wet forming technique between the at least two plies (Paragraph 99). Also, Spreckelsen et al. discloses and the tube formed body comprising a first end and a second end (Figure 1), wherein the first end is sealed (Figure 1) and the second end is connected to a plastic shoulder 10 (Figure 3; paragraph 29) having a dispersion hole (Figure 3, when cap open) wherein said should is connected to the tube-formed body by thermal sealing (Figure 3; paragraph 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergerioux to include the above, as taught by Fontenot et al., Svending et al. and Spreckelson et al., in order to improve strength of the package and attach the plies together while allowing for easy dispensing.
Regarding Claim 15, Bergerioux teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the third ply comprises CTMP. However, Fontenot et al. teaches the third ply comprises CTMP (Column 4, lines 25-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergerioux. to include the above, as taught by Fontenot et al., in order to provide the strength to contain the contents.
Regarding Claim 18, Bergerioux discloses the paperboard further comprises at least one barrier layer applied on a first surface of said fiber based substrate (figure 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Bergerioux discloses the at least one barrier layer comprises a first innermost barrier layer comprising polyolefin applied on the first surface of the fiber based substrate (Column 2, lines 56-58), a second barrier layer comprising a metal foil and/or ethylene vinyl alcohol (EVOH) 5 (figure 2) and a third, outermost barrier layer comprising polyolefin, so that the third barrier layer forms an innermost surface of the container (Column 2, lines 62-67).
Regarding Claims 20, Bergerioux discloses the polyolefin comprises polyethylene (column 2, lines 56-58).
Claim(s) 12-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergerioux (U.S. Patent No. 5506036) in view of Fontenot et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6368609), Svending et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170284030) and Spreckelsen et al. (GB2444048) and Hallgren et al. (WO2015036930).
Regarding Claims 12-14, Bergerioux, Fontenot et al. and Spreckelsen et al. teach all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the fiber based substrate exhibits a Z-tensile strength of at least 350 kPa and a Scott Bond of at least 180 J/m2; the ratio between Scott Bond and Z-tensile strength is between 0.5-1; the fiber based substrate exhibits a bulk of at least 1 cm3/g. However, Hallgren et al. teaches the fiber based substrate exhibits a Z-tensile strength of at least 350 kPa and a Scott Bond of at least 180 J/m2 (page 7, last paragraph); the ratio between Scott Bond and Z-tensile strength is between 0.5-1 (page 6, last paragraph-page 7, first two paragraphs); the fiber based substrate exhibits a bulk of at least 1 cm3/g (page 6, last paragraph-page 7, first two paragraphs). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergerioux, Fontenot et al. and Spreckelsen et al. to include the above, as taught by Hallgren et al., in order to provide the strength to contain the contents.
Regarding Claim 17, Bergerioux, Fontenot et al. and Spreckelsen et al. teach all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the fiber based substrate has been made by first forming a top ply on a wire using a first headbox, whereupon middle and back plies are formed successively on the top ply using a second and a third headbox. However, Hallgren et al. teaches the fiber based substrate has been made by first forming a top ply on a wire using a first headbox, whereupon middle and back plies are formed successively on the top ply using a second and a third headbox (page 10, line 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergerioux, Fontenot et al. and Spreckelsen et al. to include the above, as taught by Hallgren et al., in order to easily form the container.
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 II(A), MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12-15 and 17-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.J.V/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733