DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment filed on 03/09/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-22 have been canceled and claims 25-27, 29, and 31 have been withdrawn. Claims 23, 24, and 30 are under examination in the instant office action.
Rejections withdrawn
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 03/09/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claim 23, 24, 28, and 30 from the previous Office Action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
New ground of Objection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment
The amendments necessitate the following new ground of objection.
Claim Objection
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is half parentheses after silica. Appropriate correction is required.
Rejections maintained
The following rejections of the claims are remained for reasons of record and the following. The rejections are modified based on the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23, 24, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 23, 24, 28, and 30 dated 08/30/2022 and 01/16/2025 and the amendments of claims 23, 24, 28, and 30 dated 09/08/2025 are repleted with new matters which are not supported in the originally filed claims dated 03/28/2022 and/or are not support in the originally filed specification dated 03/28/2022, including “in the presence of oxygen alone”, “exhibiting greater healing speed, biocidal, whitening and anti-malodor action”, etc., and the percentages of the components (except 0.001-20.000% self-activated functional iron and/or cobalt carboxy-metal-phthalocyanines (octa or tetra) in claims 23, 24, 28, and 30 which is supported in the originally filed specification dated 03/28/2022 in the last full paragraph on page 17 and in the last full paragraph on page 21 and is supported in the originally filed claims 18 and 19 dated 03/28/2022) including 20.000%-40.000% of wetting agent/humectant (moisturizer), etc. Please refer to MPEP 2163.06: “Applicant should therefore specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.” Applicant has not directed the Examiner to the support in the specification for the amendments. Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of the amendment at the time of filing of the instant application.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicants argue that “in the presence of oxygen alone” is disclosed in paragraph 2 on page 1.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. The relevant disclosure in the instant specification in paragraph 2 on page 1 is “with no need of external activation by light, chemicals or electricity, except for air oxygen”. The scope of “with no need of external activation by light, chemicals or electricity, except for air oxygen” is: external activation by light, chemicals or electricity being unnecessary while air oxygen is necessary. The scope of “in the presence of oxygen alone” is: only oxygen being present. Thus, the scope of “with no need of external activation by light, chemicals or electricity, except for air oxygen” is different from the scope of “in the presence of oxygen alone”.
Applicants argue that “exhibiting greater healing speed, biocidal, whitening and anti-malodor action” is disclosed in paragraph 1 on page 2.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. The relevant disclosure in the instant specification in paragraph 1 on page 2 is “prevention and decrease of tooth and periodontal decay; tartar control, prevention and/or decrease of odors and halitosis; increase in tissue healing; control of oral ulcerations; increased cleanliness, brightness and decrease of tooth darkening and preservation of toothbrush cleaning”. The scope of “increase in tissue healing” is different from the scope of “greater healing speed”; and “exhibiting greater biocidal action” and “exhibiting greater whitening action” are not disclosed.
Applicants argue that the claimed ranges of percentages of components in the instant claim 24 are disclosed on page 20 and 21 and the claimed percentages of components in the instant claim 28 are disclosed in the table on page 23
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. There are specific percentages of components in the table on page 21 and in the table on page 23. The scope of a specific percentage of a component is different from the scope of and does not support a range of percentage of a component.
Applicants argue that the claimed percentages of components in the instant claim 30 are disclosed in the table on page 25.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. The claimed “0.300% to 1.000% Active Ingredient-Anti-Tartar Agent (TSPP)” and “0.100% to 0.200% Pigment” are not disclosed in the table on page 25.
With the repleted new matters in claims 24, 28, and 30, claims 24, 28, and 30 are not rejected in the 103 rejections. Claim 23 is rejected in the 103 rejections by the examiner in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 112(b)
Claim 23, 24, 28, and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The base of the percentages in claims 23, 24, 28, and 30 are not specified as being based on weight or volume or molar, etc.
To expedite the prosecution the base of the percentage and the recitations within the parentheses in claim 23 are given their broadest reasonable interpretations by the examiner in light of the specification in the 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Njatawidjaja et al. (US 2013/0313335 A1) in view of Fickle et al. (US 2006/0034794 A1).
Njatawidjaja et al. teach a composition for treating air (paragraph 24) comprising
0.001-1% by weight of active air-cleaning component including Fe(III)-octacarboxyphthalocyanine, Fe(III)-tetracarboxyphthalocyanine, etc., (paragraph 55- 56)
solvents such as glycerine (the claimed “various ingredients including thickening, binding agents and moisteners”) (paragraph 31-35),
citric acid (the claimed acidifying agent and flavoring) (paragraph 38),
perfume including catmint oil (the claimed mint essence) (paragraph 42-47), and
a preservation agent (paragraph 61).
With respect to the art rejection above, it is noted that the reference does not teach that the composition can be used in the manner instantly claimed, [oral health]; however, the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition. In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting.
Further, it is noted that though Njatawidjaja et al. do not expressly teach the claimed conferring beneficial properties associated with continuous and localized formation of reactive oxygen in the presence of oxygen alone, without the need for external activation by light, chemicals or electricity, and exhibiting greater healing speed, biocidal, whitening and anti-malodor action; it is noted that the very teaching of the compounds (Fe(III)-octacarboxyphthalocyanine or Fe(III)-tetracarboxyphthalocyanine) identical to those presently claimed must necessarily possess the same claimed properties, even though such properties may not have been appreciated by Njatawidjaja et al. at the time of the invention.
Njatawidjaja et al. do not specify the same claimed preservation agent (methyl paraben and/or propyl paraben).
This deficiency is cured by Fickle et al. who teach preservative in an air treating composition including methyl paraben (claims 9 and 10).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in Njatawidjaja et al. and Fickle et al. to specify preservative in the air treating composition taught by Njatawidjaja et al. including methyl paraben. Preservative in an air treating composition including methyl paraben was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for specifying it flows from its having been used in the prior art, and from its being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicant’s argument with regard to compounds (Fe(III)-octacarboxyphthalocyanine or Fe(III)-tetracarboxyphthalocyanine) producing reactive oxygen species in the presence of oxygen alone, without the need for external activation by light, chemicals or electricity, and exhibiting greater healing speed, biocidal, whitening and anti-malodor action is basically the same as the previous argument, thus the response discussed previously (page 10-11) applies here as well and is not persuasive for reason discussed.
Applicants argue that Njatawidjaja et al. fail to teach the claimed iron and/or cobalt carboxymetalphthalocyanines (octa/tetra) together with thickeners, moisteners (sorbitol, glycerin, polyethylene glycol and/or mixtures thereof); binders (carboxymethylcellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, xanthum gum, silica and/or mixtures thereof); preservations (methyl paraben, propyl paraben or mixtures); acidifying agents (phosphoric acid, citric acid, tartaric acid, and maleic acid); mint essence; flavorings.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. The instant claim 23 recites “various ingredients including thickening, binding agents and moisteners selected from a group consisting sorbitol, glycerin, polyethylene glycol, carboxymethylcellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, xanthan gum, silica and/or mixtures thereof”, not the alleged “thickeners, moisteners (sorbitol, glycerin, polyethylene glycol and/or mixtures thereof); binders (carboxymethylcellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, xanthum gum, silica and/or mixtures thereof); preservations (methyl paraben, propyl paraben or mixtures); acidifying agents (phosphoric acid, citric acid, tartaric acid, and maleic acid); mint essence; flavorings” while glycerine as a solvent taught by Njatawidjaja et al. read on the claimed “various ingredients including thickening, binding agents and moisteners selected from a group consisting sorbitol, glycerin, polyethylene glycol, carboxymethylcellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, xanthan gum, silica and/or mixtures thereof”.
Applicants argue that the claimed composition is tailor for oral health application which is not obvious to the compositions taught by prior art.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. Applicants do not specify which components in the compositions taught by prior art are not suitable for oral health application, i.e., a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shirai et al. (US 2013/0178508 A1) in view of Saeki et al. (US 2017/0312207 A1).
Shirai et al. teach a cosmetic composition comprising
0.005-0.1% by weight of iron phthalocyanine tetracarboxylic acid (abstract, paragraph 37, and claims 1, 5, and 6),
preservatives (paragraph 50), and
aromatic agents (paragraph 50) and fruit sugar (the claimed flavorings) (paragraph 67),
glycerin (the claimed “various ingredients including thickening, binding and wetting agent”) (paragraph 64 and 67), and
sequestering agents including citric acid (the claimed acidifying agent) (paragraph 84).
With respect to the art rejection above, it is noted that the reference does not teach that the composition can be used in the manner instantly claimed, [oral health]; however, the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition. In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting.
Further, it is noted that though Shirai et al. do not expressly teach the claimed conferring beneficial properties associated with continuous and localized formation of reactive oxygen in the presence of oxygen alone, without the need for external activation by light, chemicals or electricity, and exhibiting greater healing speed, biocidal, whitening and anti-malodor action; it is noted that the very teaching of the compounds (iron phthalocyanine tetracarboxylic acid) identical to those presently claimed must necessarily possess the same claimed properties, even though such properties may not have been appreciated by Shirai et al. at the time of the invention.
Shirai et al. do not specify the same claimed preservation agent (methyl paraben and/or propyl paraben) and the aromatic agents including mint essence.
This deficiency is cured by Saeki et al. who teach moisturizing cosmetic composition (claim 17) comprising preservative including methyl paraben (paragraph 127) and fragrance including Japanese mint oil (paragraph 136).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in Shirai et al. and Saeki et al. to specify preservative and the aromatic agents in the moisturizing cosmetic composition taught by Shirai et al. including methyl paraben and including mint essence, respectively. Preservative and the aromatic agents in a moisturizing cosmetic composition including methyl paraben and including mint essence, respectively, was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for specifying them flows from their having been used in the prior art, and from their being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Argument regarding the 103 rejection is basically the same as the above 103 rejection, thus the response discussed above applies here as well and is not persuasive for reason discussed above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG YU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614