DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 9 and 11-13 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA :
- claim 13 is new
b. This is a final action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 11/26/2025.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Independent claims 9, 11, and 12 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's arguments, see “On the other hand and in contrast to the above-referenced limitation, Huawei teaches that the RSS resource may be pre-defined or may be derived from Cell ID. While Huawei may not explicitly state that the Cell ID is for the neighbor cell in which the RSS will be transmitted, the Cell ID belonging to the neighbor cell is at least implied from Huawei. For example, Huawei states that "[t]o allow different frequency location of RSS in different cells, one discussed option was that several potential RSS positions can be pre-defined or derived from Cell ID. Then a cell-specific RRC signaling can be used to configure the RSS frequency location. In this way, the signaling overhead can be reduced while retaining the flexibility of RSS frequency locations." Huawei, section 2.3. "The RSS time offset & RSS frequency location is a function of Cell ID, i.e. no signaling bits required." Id. Accordingly, Huawei teaches that the Cell ID of the neighbor cell is used to determine the RSS resource position of the neighbor cell. Thus, Huawei fails to teach that in response to NOT receiving indication of the Cell ID of the neighbor cell, an RSS resource position of a serving cell is used to determine the RSS resource position of the neighbor cell. Therefore, Huawei, like Fang, fails to teach at least the above-referenced limitation of independent claim 9.” on page 6, filed on 11/26/2025, with respect to U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0329381 ("Fang") in view of non-patent literature document 3GPP R1-1908711, Huawei, "Considerations on RSS for measurement improvements," August 26-30, 2019 ("Huawei"), have been fully considered but not persuasive.
Huawei discloses a terminal (i.e. eMTC UE) is configured to receive support information to support measurement by a re-synchronisation signal (RSS) of adjacent cells (i.e. neighbor cells) (Option 1: Reduce the signaling resolution and UE search for exact RSS location). It is described that a resynchronization signal of the adjacent cell is received (refer to the Sections 1, 2.1, and Section 2. 3, Method 5). Based on the relationship between the resource position of the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cell and the resource position of the resynchronization signal of the serving cell, It is described that the location of the resource to which the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cells can be transmitted, is determined (The RSS frequency location of
neighbor cells are within a frequency block relative to the RSS frequency location of the serving cell, e.g. the frequency block can be a narrowband), and it is recognized that the terminal receives the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cells based on the location. In this scenario, according to Huawei’s teaching, there is no need for a Cell ID information in order to determine the RSS resource location.
The Huawei’s reference, as combined with the Fang’s reference, discloses each and every limitation of the present claims, and therefore render the claims 9, 11, and 12 obvious.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fang's re-synchronization signal (RSS) configuration indication to include Huawei's method of measuring RSS, in order to significantly reduce signaling overhead (Huawei, section 2.3). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Huawei's method of measuring RSS into Fang's re-synchronization signal (RSS) configuration indication since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s arguments that the Examiner fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness MPEP § 2141. Claims 9, 11, and 12 are still being rejected on the same grounds for rejection as before.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. US Pub 2022/0329381, claiming foreign application CN111092702 priority 2019-07-24 (hereinafter “Fang”), and in view of Huawei NPL “Considerations on RSS for measurement improvements”, 3GPP R1-1908711, Aug 26-30, 2019 (hereinafter “Huawei”).
Regarding claim 9
Fang discloses a terminal (“FIG. 18 is a schematic structural diagram of a terminal provided in an embodiment of the present disclosure” [0230]; Fig. 18) comprising:
a processor (“first acquisition apparatus 1820” in Fig. 18; [0230]) configured, to determine a pattern of a position of a resource (e.g. “RSS frequency domain position”) by which a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell can be transmitted (“an idle MTC terminal needs to obtain configuration information of a re-synchronization signal (RSS) of each neighboring cell in advance, and the configuration information includes an RSS frequency domain position, an RSS time domain offset and a number of cell-specific reference signal (CRS) ports.” [0003]); and
a receiver (“first receiving module 1810” in Fig. 18; [0230]) configured to receive a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell based on the pattern (“The first receiving module 1810 is configured to receive first information from a base station, the first information includes a re-synchronization signal (RSS) configuration indication, and the RSS configuration indication is used for indicating whether RSS configuration information of a neighboring cell is the same as RSS configuration information of a serving cell.” [0230]).,
wherein the assist information (i.e. “RSS configuration information”) comprises an indication that indicates a cell ID of the neighbor cell (“For example, FIG. 20 is a schematic structural diagram of a terminal provided in an embodiment of the present disclosure. The terminal may further include a third acquisition apparatus 2010. The third acquisition apparatus 2010 is configured to acquire the RSS configuration information of the neighboring cell according to a cell identifier of the neighboring cell in a case where the RSS configuration information of the neighboring cell is different from the RSS configuration information of the serving cell.” [0234]; see page 20 of the CN111092702 English translation), and
wherein the pattern includes a frequency position candidate (i.e. “RSS frequency domain position”) and a time position (i.e. “RSS time domain offset”) candidate of a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell (“For example, the RSS configuration information of the neighboring cell being the same as the RSS configuration information of the serving cell includes at least one of: an RSS frequency domain position of the neighboring cell is the same as an RSS frequency domain position of the serving cell; an RSS time domain offset of the neighboring cell is the same as an RSS time domain offset of the serving cell; or a number of cell-specific reference signal (CRS) ports of the neighboring cell is the same as a number of CRS ports of the serving cell.” [0047]).
Fang does not specifically teach in response to assist information that assists measurement of a resynchronization signal of a neighbor cell is not being received, to determine a pattern of a position of a resource by which a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell can be transmitted, based on a relationship between a resource position of a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell and a resource position of a resynchronization signal of a serving cell.
In an analogous art, Huawei discloses a terminal is configured (i.e. “eMTC UE” section 2.1) in response to assist information that assists measurement of a resynchronization signal of a neighbor cell (“To reduce signalling bits for RSS frequency location and RSS time offsets, two options were discussed and option 2 was agreed as the working assumption in the last meeting: Option 1: Reduce the signaling resolution and UE search for exact RSS location” section 2.1) is not being received ( “To allow different frequency location of RSS in different cells, one discussed option was that several potential RSS positions can be pre-defined or derived from Cell ID. Then a cell-specific RRC signaling can be used to configure the RSS frequency location. In this way, the signaling overhead can be reduced while retaining the flexibility of RSS frequency locations.” Section 2.3), to determine a pattern of a position of a resource by which a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell can be transmitted (“Method 3: The restricted RSS locations are dependent upon the Cell ID” section 2.3), based on a relationship between a resource position of a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell and a resource position of a resynchronization signal of a serving cell (It is described that a resynchronization signal of the adjacent cell is received (refer to the Sections 1, 2.1, and Section 2. 3, Method 5). Based on the relationship between the resource position of the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cell and the resource position of the resynchronization signal of the serving cell, It is described that the location of the resource to which the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cells can be transmitted, is determined (The RSS frequency location of neighbor cells are within a frequency block relative to the RSS frequency location of the serving cell, e.g. the frequency block can be a narrowband), and it is recognized that the terminal receives the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cells based on the location. In this scenario, according to Huawei’s teaching, there is no need for a Cell ID information in order to determine the RSS resource location).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fang’s re-synchronization signal (RSS) configuration indication to include Huawei’s method of measuring RSS, in order to significantly reduce signaling overhead (Huawei, section 2.3). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Huawei’s method of measuring RSS into Fang’s re-synchronization signal (RSS) configuration indication since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11
A reception method executed by a terminal, comprising:
in response to assist information that assists measurement of a resynchronization signal of a neighbor cell is not being received, determining a pattern of a position of a resource by which a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell can be transmitted, based on a relationship between a resource position of a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell and a resource position of a resynchronization signal of a serving cell; and
receiving a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell based on the pattern,
wherein the assist information comprises an indication that indicates a cell ID of the neighbor cell, and
wherein the pattern includes a frequency position candidate and a time position candidate of a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 11 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 9. Therefore method claim 11 corresponds to apparatus claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 9 rejection above.
Regarding claim 12
Fang discloses a communication system comprising:
a terminal (“FIG. 18 is a schematic structural diagram of a terminal provided in an embodiment of the present disclosure” [0230]; Fig. 18) comprising:
a processor (“first acquisition apparatus 1820” in Fig. 18; [0230]) configured, to determine a pattern of a position of a resource by which a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell can be transmitted (“an idle MTC terminal needs to obtain configuration information of a re-synchronization signal (RSS) of each neighboring cell in advance, and the configuration information includes an RSS frequency domain position, an RSS time domain offset and a number of cell-specific reference signal (CRS) ports.” [0003]); and
a receiver (“first receiving module 1810” in Fig. 18; [0230]) configured to receive a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell based on the pattern (“The first receiving module 1810 is configured to receive first information from a base station, the first information includes a re-synchronization signal (RSS) configuration indication, and the RSS configuration indication is used for indicating whether RSS configuration information of a neighboring cell is the same as RSS configuration information of a serving cell.” [0230]),
wherein the assist information (i.e. “RSS configuration information”) comprises an indication that indicates a cell ID of the neighbor cell (“For example, FIG. 20 is a schematic structural diagram of a terminal provided in an embodiment of the present disclosure. The terminal may further include a third acquisition apparatus 2010. The third acquisition apparatus 2010 is configured to acquire the RSS configuration information of the neighboring cell according to a cell identifier of the neighboring cell in a case where the RSS configuration information of the neighboring cell is different from the RSS configuration information of the serving cell.” [0234]; see page 20 of the CN111092702 English translation), and
wherein the pattern includes a frequency position candidate (i.e. “RSS frequency domain position”) and a time position candidate (i.e. “RSS time domain offset”) of a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell (“For example, the RSS configuration information of the neighboring cell being the same as the RSS configuration information of the serving cell includes at least one of: an RSS frequency domain position of the neighboring cell is the same as an RSS frequency domain position of the serving cell; an RSS time domain offset of the neighboring cell is the same as an RSS time domain offset of the serving cell; or a number of cell-specific reference signal (CRS) ports of the neighboring cell is the same as a number of CRS ports of the serving cell.” [0047]); and
a base station apparatus (i.e. “first sending module 1610 ” in base station in Fig. 16; [0221]) configured to transmit a resynchronization signal of the serving cell (“first information is received from a base station, where the first information includes a re-synchronization signal (RSS) configuration indication, and the RSS configuration indication is used for indicating whether RSS configuration information of a neighboring cell is the same as RSS configuration information of a serving cell” [0006]); and
another base station apparatus (“FIG. 17 is a schematic structural diagram of a base station provided in an embodiment of the present disclosure.” [0224]) configured to transmit a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell (“the RSS configuration information of the neighboring cell is acquired according to the RSS configuration information of the serving cell in a case where the RSS configuration information of the neighboring cell is the same as the RSS configuration information of the serving cell” [0006]).
Fang does not specifically teach in response to assist information that assists measurement of a resynchronization signal of a neighbor cell is not being received, to determine a pattern of a position of a resource by which a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell can be transmitted, based on a relationship between a resource position of a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell and a resource position of a resynchronization signal of a serving cell.
In an analogous art, Huawei discloses a terminal is configured (i.e. “eMTC UE” section 2.1) in response to assist information that assists measurement of a resynchronization signal of a neighbor cell (“To reduce signalling bits for RSS frequency location and RSS time offsets, two options were discussed and option 2 was agreed as the working assumption in the last meeting: Option 1: Reduce the signaling resolution and UE search for exact RSS location” section 2.1) is not being received (“To allow different frequency location of RSS in different cells, one discussed option was that several potential RSS positions can be pre-defined or derived from Cell ID. Then a cell-specific RRC signaling can be used to configure the RSS frequency location. In this way, the signaling overhead can be reduced while retaining the flexibility of RSS frequency locations.” Section 2.3), to determine a pattern of a position of a resource by which a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell can be transmitted (“Method 3: The restricted RSS locations are dependent upon the Cell ID” section 2.3 and furthermore “Method 5: The RSS frequency location of neighbor cells are within a frequency block relative to the RSS frequency location of the serving cell, e.g. the frequency block can be a narrowband” section 2.3), based on a relationship between a resource position of a resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell and a resource position of a resynchronization signal of a serving cell (It is described that a resynchronization signal of the adjacent cell is received (refer to the Sections 1, 2.1, and Section 2. 3, Method 5). Based on the relationship between the resource position of the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cell and the resource position of the resynchronization signal of the serving cell, It is described that the location of the resource to which the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cells can be transmitted, is determined (The RSS frequency location of neighbor cells are within a frequency block relative to the RSS frequency location of the serving cell, e.g. the frequency block can be a narrowband), and it is recognized that the terminal receives the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cells based on the location. In this scenario, according to Huawei’s teaching, there is no need for a Cell ID information in order to determine the RSS resource location).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fang’s re-synchronization signal (RSS) configuration indication to include Huawei’s method of measuring RSS, in order to significantly reduce signaling overhead (Huawei, section 2.3). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Huawei’s method of measuring RSS into Fang’s re-synchronization signal (RSS) configuration indication since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 13 (New)
Fang, as modified by Huawei, previously discloses the terminal according to claim 9,
Huawei further discloses wherein in response to the receiver not receiving the indication that indicates the cell ID of the neighbor cell (“To allow different frequency location of RSS in different cells, one discussed option was that several potential RSS positions can be pre-defined or derived from Cell ID. Then a cell-specific RRC signaling can be used to configure the RSS frequency location. In this way, the signaling overhead can be reduced while retaining the flexibility of RSS frequency locations.” Section 2.3), the processor determines the pattern of the position of the resource by which the resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell can be transmitted, based on the relationship between the resource position of the resynchronization signal of the neighbor cell and the resource position of the resynchronization signal of the serving cell (It is described that a resynchronization signal of the adjacent cell is received (refer to the Sections 1, 2.1, and Section 2. 3, Method 5). Based on the relationship between the resource position of the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cell and the resource position of the resynchronization signal of the serving cell, It is described that the location of the resource to which the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cells can be transmitted, is determined (The RSS frequency location of neighbor cells are within a frequency block relative to the RSS frequency location of the serving cell, e.g. the frequency block can be a narrowband), and it is recognized that the terminal receives the resynchronization signal of the adjacent cells based on the location. In this scenario, according to Huawei’s teaching, there is no need for a Cell ID information in order to determine the RSS resource location).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411