Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. (CN 107623082 A, please see the machine translation attached in the office action mailed on 11/07/2024) in view of Hou et al. (CN 103367391 A, please see the machine translation attached in the office action mailed on 8/20/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Cai et al. teach in Figs. 3-5 and 10-11, a display panel (display panel; [0001]), wherein the display panel (display panel) comprises: a substrate (100; Fig. 4, [0068]); and a light-emitting structural layer (2 and 1; Fig. 4, [0068]) disposed on a side of the substrate (the top side of 100), and comprising: a pixel definition layer (1; Fig. 4, [0068]) disposed on the side of the substrate (the top side of 100) and comprising a plurality of dams (horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) intersecting with each other (see Fig. 5), wherein a plurality of printing grooves (grooves of 1 occupied by 2; Figs. 4-5, [0068]) arranged in an array (the array of the grooves of 1; Figs. 4-5; [0068]) are defined and surrounded by the plurality of dams (horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5); and a light-emitting functional layer (light-emitting layers; Figs. 4-5, [0068]) arranged in the printing grooves (grooves of 1 occupied by 2); wherein diversion grooves (11; Figs. 4-5, [0068]) are defined on the plurality of dams (horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5), and each of the plurality of dams (horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) is provided with at least one of the diversion grooves (11); each of the diversion grooves (11) comprises an opening (the opening of the top horizontal surface of 11) on a side surface of a corresponding one of the dams (the top side surfaces of one of the horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) facing away from the substrate (100; see Fig. 4), an extension direction of each of the diversion grooves (the extending direction of 11 in Fig. 5) is same as an extension direction of the corresponding one of the dams (the extending direction of the one of the horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5), and the diversion grooves (11) intersect with each other and are communicated at intersections of the diversion grooves (see Fig. 5); each of the dams (horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) comprises a first subsection (the upper half of the left protrusion; see Fig. 4 below) and a second subsection (the right protrusion; see Fig. 4 below) separated by a corresponding one of the diversion grooves (11), a side surface (the top side surface) of the first subsection (the upper half of the left protrusion) facing away from the substrate (100) is a convex surface facing away from the substrate (100), and a side surface (the top side surface)of the second subsection (the right protrusion) facing away from the substrate (100) is a convex surface facing away from the substrate (100), and a distance between the side surface of the first subsection (the top side surface of the upper half of the left protrusion; see Fig. 4 below) facing away from the substrate (100) and the substrate (100) is greater than a distance between the side surface of the second subsection (the top side surface of the right protrusion; see Fig. 4 below) facing away from the substrate (100) and the substrate (100; see Fig. 4 below).
Cai et al. do not teach a side surface of the first subsection facing away from the substrate is a convex arched surface facing away from the substrate, and a side surface of the second subsection facing away from the substrate is a convex arched surface facing away from the substrate (emphasis added).
In the same field of endeavor of light emitting devices, Hou et al. teach a side surface of the first subsection (the upper half of the left protrusion of 15; Figs. 3 and 9, [0051]) facing away from the substrate (11) is a convex arched surface facing away from the substrate (11), and a side surface of the second subsection (the right protrusion of 15; Figs. 3 and 9, [0051]) facing away from the substrate (11) is a convex arched surface facing away from the substrate (11).
Cai et al. teach all the claimed elements except that Cai et al. is using non-arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer (1; Fig. 4, [0068]) for forming the diversion grooves (grooves of 1 occupied by 2; Figs. 4-5, [0068]) rather than arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Hou et al. teach using arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer (15; Figs. 3 and 9, [0051]) for forming the diversion grooves ([0050-0051]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that non-arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer and arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer are known equivalents for forming the diversion grooves within the semiconductor art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to substitute one know element (non-arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer) for another known equivalent element (arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer) resulting in the predictable result of forming the diversion grooves (KSR rationales B).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Horizontal dams)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vertical dams)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 5 of Cai et al.
[AltContent: textbox ()][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (First subsection)][AltContent: textbox (Second subsection)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 4 of Cai et al showing the first subsection and the second subsection.
Regarding claim 2, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a material of the light-emitting functional layer (light-emitting layers; [0070]) is a printing ink ([0070]) added with light-emitting functional materials (organic light-emitting material; [0070]), and all of inner wall surfaces (the left side of 110s; Fig. 4, [0068]) and inner bottom surfaces (the bottom side of 110s; Fig. 4, [0068]) of the diversion grooves (11) are hydrophilic ([0068]).
Regarding claim 3, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 2, wherein the side surface of each of the plurality of dams (the top side surfaces of horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5, i.e. 10’; Fig. 4, [0068]) facing away from the substrate (100) is hydrophobic ([0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 2, wherein an inner wall of each of the printing grooves (grooves of 1 occupied by 2) comprises a first annular sidewall (101; Figs. 4-5, [0068]) and a second annular sidewall (102; Figs. 4-5, [0068]), the first annular sidewall (101) is close to the substrate (100) and its surface is hydrophilic ([0068]), and the second annular sidewall (102) is away from the substrate (100) and its surface is hydrophobic ([0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a width of each of the diversion grooves (11) at the opening (the opening of the top horizontal surface of 11) is a, and a width of a side (the top side) of the corresponding one of the dams (the leftmost vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) facing away from the substrate (100) is b.
Cai et al. do not teach wherein 1/5≤a/b≤1/3.
Parameters such as the size of the opening of the diversion groove and the size of the top surface of the dam in the art of semiconductor manufacturing process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired ability of collecting ink droplets overflowing or dripping from various angles and directions into the receiving groove structure during device fabrication ([0076] of Cai et al.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the ratio of the size of the opening of the diversion groove and the size of the top surface of the dam within the range as claimed in order to achieve the desired ability of collecting ink droplets overflowing or dripping from various angles and directions into the receiving groove structure ([0076] of Cai et al.).
Regarding claim 9, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a depth of each of the diversion grooves (11) is less than a depth of each of the printing grooves (grooves of 1 occupied by 2; see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Cai et al. teach in Figs. 3-5 and 10-11, a display panel (display panel; [0001]), wherein the display panel (display panel) comprises: a substrate (100; Fig. 4, [0068]); and a light-emitting structural layer (2 and 1; Fig. 4, [0068]) disposed on a side of the substrate (the top side of 100), and comprising: a pixel definition layer (1; Fig. 4, [0068]) disposed on the side of the substrate (the top side of 100) and comprising a plurality of dams (horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) intersecting with each other (see Fig. 5), wherein a plurality of printing grooves (grooves of 1 occupied by 2; Figs. 4-5, [0068]) arranged in an array (the array of the grooves of 1; Figs. 4-5; [0068]) are defined and surrounded by the plurality of dams (horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5); and a light-emitting functional layer (light-emitting layers; Figs. 4-5, [0068]) arranged in the printing grooves (grooves of 1 occupied by 2); wherein a side surface of each of the plurality of dams (the top side surfaces of horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5, i.e. 10’; Fig. 4, [0068]) facing away from the substrate (100) is hydrophobic ([0068]), diversion grooves (11) are defined on the plurality of dams (horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5), and each of the plurality of dams (horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) is provided with at least one of the diversion grooves (11); each of the diversion grooves (11) comprises an opening (the opening of the top horizontal surface of 11) on the side surface of a corresponding one of the plurality of dams (the top side surfaces of one of the horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) facing away from the substrate (100), an extension direction of each of the diversion grooves (the extending direction of 11 in Fig. 5) is same as an extension direction of the corresponding one of the plurality of dams (the extending direction of the one of the horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5), and the diversion grooves (11) intersect with each other and are communicated at intersections of the diversion grooves (see Fig. 5); each of the plurality of dams (horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) comprises a first subsection (the upper half of the left protrusion; see Fig. 4 above) and a second subsection (the right protrusion; see Fig. 4 above) separated by a corresponding one of the diversion grooves (11), a side surface (the top side surface) of the first subsection (the upper half of the left protrusion) facing away from the substrate (100) is a convex surface facing away from the substrate (100), and a side surface (the top side surface) of the second subsection (the right protrusion) facing away from the substrate (100) is a convex surface facing away from the substrate (100), and a distance between the side surface of the first subsection (the top side surface of the upper half of the left protrusion; see Fig. 4 above) facing away from the substrate (100) and the substrate (100) is greater than a distance between the side surface of the second subsection (the top side surface of the right protrusion; see Fig. 4 above) facing away from the substrate (100) and the substrate (100; see Fig. 4 above).
Cai et al. do not teach a side surface of the first subsection facing away from the substrate is a convex arched surface facing away from the substrate, and a side surface of the second subsection facing away from the substrate is a convex arched surface facing away from the substrate (emphasis added).
In the same field of endeavor of light emitting devices, Hou et al. teach a side surface of the first subsection (the upper half of the left protrusion of 15; Figs. 3 and 9, [0051]) facing away from the substrate (11) is a convex arched surface facing away from the substrate (11), and a side surface of the second subsection (the right protrusion of 15; Figs. 3 and 9, [0051]) facing away from the substrate (11) is a convex arched surface facing away from the substrate (11).
Cai et al. teach all the claimed elements except that Cai et al. is using non-arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer (1; Fig. 4, [0068]) for forming the diversion grooves (grooves of 1 occupied by 2; Figs. 4-5, [0068]) rather than arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Hou et al. teach using arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer (15; Figs. 3 and 9, [0051]) for forming the diversion grooves ([0050-0051]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that non-arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer and arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer are known equivalents for forming the diversion grooves within the semiconductor art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to substitute one know element (non-arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer) for another known equivalent element (arched shape protrusions of the pixel definition layer) resulting in the predictable result of forming the diversion grooves (KSR rationales B).
Regarding claim 12, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 11, wherein an inner wall of each of the printing grooves (grooves of 1 occupied by 2) comprises a first annular sidewall (101; Figs. 4-5, [0068]) and a second annular sidewall (102; Figs. 4-5, [0068]), the first annular sidewall (101) is close to the substrate (100) and its surface is hydrophilic ([0068]), and the second annular sidewall (102) is away from the substrate (100) and its surface is hydrophobic ([0068]).
Regarding claim 13, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 12, wherein a material of the light-emitting functional layer (light-emitting layers; [0070]) is a printing ink ([0070]) added with light-emitting functional materials (organic light-emitting material; [0070]), and all of inner wall surfaces (the left side of 110s; Fig. 4, [0068]) and inner bottom surfaces (the bottom side of 110s; Fig. 4, [0068]) of the diversion grooves (11) are hydrophilic ([0068]).
Claim(s) 5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. and Hou et al. as applied to claims 4 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Shi (US 2018/0090682 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 4, wherein a material of the plurality of dams (the material of horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) is a hydrophilic material (Figs. 10-11, [0090-0091]), and a surface of the second annular sidewall (102) and the side surface of each of the plurality of dams (10’) facing away from the substrate (100) are surface-treated (UV exposure; Fig. 11, [0093]).
Cai et al. do not teach “a hydrophilic material” is a hydrophilic photoresist, “surface treated” is surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups.
In the same field of endeavor of light emitting devices, Shi teaches “a hydrophilic material” (the material of the pixel definition layer) is a hydrophilic photoresist (the material of the pixel definition layer, i.e. the material of the bank layer, which is a negative photoresist; [0006]; the negative photoresist is hydrophilic is disclosed in paragraph [0096] of the specification of Shin et al., US 2019/0229162 A1), “surface treated” (the process of making the surfaces of the pixel definition layer to be hydrophobic) is surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups (S304, Figs. 3, 7; [0050-0053]).
Cai et al. teach all the claimed elements except that Cai et al. is using a hydrophilic organic material ([0093]) and a process of surface treated with UV exposure (Fig. 11, [0093]) for forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively ([0093]), rather than a hydrophilic photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Shi teaches a hydrophilic negative photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups ([0006, 0093]) for forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively ([0006, 0093]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that “a hydrophilic organic material and a process of surface treated with UV exposure” and “a hydrophilic negative photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups” are known equivalents for forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively, within the semiconductor art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to substitute one know element (a hydrophilic organic material and a process of surface treated with UV exposure) for another known equivalent element (a hydrophilic negative photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups) resulting in the predictable result of forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively (KSR rationales B).
Regarding claim 14, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 12, wherein a material of the plurality of dams (the material of horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) is a hydrophilic material (Figs. 10-11, [0090-0091]), and a surface of the second annular sidewall (102) and the side surface of each of the plurality of dams (10’) facing away from the substrate (100) are surface-treated (UV exposure; Fig. 11, [0093]).
Cai et al. do not teach “a hydrophilic material” is a hydrophilic photoresist, “surface treated” is surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups.
In the same field of endeavor of light emitting devices, Shi teaches “a hydrophilic material” (the material of the pixel definition layer) is a hydrophilic photoresist (the material of the pixel definition layer, i.e. the material of the bank layer, which is a negative photoresist; [0006]; the negative photoresist is hydrophilic is disclosed in paragraph [0096] of the specification of Shin et al., US 2019/0229162 A1), “surface treated” (the process of making the surfaces of the pixel definition layer to be hydrophobic) is surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups (S304, Figs. 3, 7; [0050-0053]).
Cai et al. teach all the claimed elements except that Cai et al. is using a hydrophilic organic material ([0093]) and a process of surface treated with UV exposure (Fig. 11, [0093]) for forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively ([0093]), rather than a hydrophilic photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Shi teaches a hydrophilic negative photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups ([0006, 0093]) for forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively ([0006, 0093]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that “a hydrophilic organic material and a process of surface treated with UV exposure” and “a hydrophilic negative photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups” are known equivalents for forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively, within the semiconductor art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to substitute one know element (a hydrophilic organic material and a process of surface treated with UV exposure) for another known equivalent element (a hydrophilic negative photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups) resulting in the predictable result of forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively (KSR rationales B).
Regarding claim 15, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 13, wherein a material of the plurality of dams (the material of horizontal and vertical stripes of 1 in Fig. 5) is a hydrophilic material (Figs. 10-11, [0090-0091]), and a surface of the second annular sidewall (102) and the side surface of each of the plurality of dams (10’) facing away from the substrate (100) are surface-treated (UV exposure; Fig. 11, [0093]).
Cai et al. do not teach “a hydrophilic material” is a hydrophilic photoresist, “surface treated” is surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups.
In the same field of endeavor of light emitting devices, Shi teaches “a hydrophilic material” (the material of the pixel definition layer) is a hydrophilic photoresist (the material of the pixel definition layer, i.e. the material of the bank layer, which is a negative photoresist; [0006]; the negative photoresist is hydrophilic is disclosed in paragraph [0096] of the specification of Shin et al., US 2019/0229162 A1), “surface treated” (the process of making the surfaces of the pixel definition layer to be hydrophobic) is surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups (S304, Figs. 3, 7; [0050-0053]).
Cai et al. teach all the claimed elements except that Cai et al. is using a hydrophilic organic material ([0093]) and a process of surface treated with UV exposure (Fig. 11, [0093]) for forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively ([0093]), rather than a hydrophilic photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Shi teaches a hydrophilic negative photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups ([0006, 0093]) for forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively ([0006, 0093]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that “a hydrophilic organic material and a process of surface treated with UV exposure” and “a hydrophilic negative photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups” are known equivalents for forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively, within the semiconductor art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to substitute one know element (a hydrophilic organic material and a process of surface treated with UV exposure) for another known equivalent element (a hydrophilic negative photoresist and a process of surface-treated to contain fluorine ions or fluorine groups) resulting in the predictable result of forming the pixel definition layer and converting portions of the surfaces of the pixel definition layer into hydrophobic surfaces, respectively (KSR rationales B).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. and Hou et al. as applied to claims 9 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2021/0376294 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Cai et al. teach the display panel according to claim 9, wherein the light-emitting structural layer (2 and 1), the substrate (100), and the pixel definition layer (1).
Cai et al. do not teach the light-emitting structural layer further comprises a first electrode layer, the first electrode layer is disposed on the substrate, and the pixel definition layer is disposed on the substrate and the first electrode layer, and in a thickness direction of the display panel, a distance between a bottom of each of the diversion grooves (11) and the first electrode layer is greater than 100 nm.
In the same field of endeavor of display panel, Wang teaches the light-emitting structural layer (30, 40, 70; Fig. 2, [0048]) further comprises a first electrode layer (30; Fig. 2, [0048]), the first electrode layer (30) is disposed on the substrate (21), and the pixel definition layer (40) is disposed on the substrate (21) and the first electrode layer (30), and in a thickness direction of the display panel (the vertical direction in Fig. 2), a distance between a bottom of each of the diversion groove (60; Fig. 2, [0048]) and the first electrode layer (30; see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Cai et al., Hou et al. and Wang, and to further include the first electrode layer into the device of Cai et al. as taught by Wang, because the first electrode layer is one of the two key electrodes of the OLED as taught by Wang ([0052]).
Wang does not teach a distance between a bottom of each of the diversion groove and the first electrode layer is greater than 100 nm.
Parameters such as the distance between a bottom of the diversion groove and the first electrode layer in the art of semiconductor manufacturing process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired depth of the diversion groove for preventing the ink droplets from crossing the retaining wall and entering adjacent pixel openings to result in mixing of different ink drop materials and to reduce the risk of color mixing as forming the luminescent material layer by using ink jet printing, and enough thickness of the first electrode layer for conducting current for the light emitting layer during device fabrication ([0038, 0052]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the distance between a bottom of the diversion groove and the first electrode layer as claimed in order to achieve the desired depth of the diversion groove for preventing the ink droplets from crossing and enough thickness of the first electrode layer for conducting current for the light emitting layer ([0038, 0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu et al. (US 20210273202 A1) teach a display panel including defining layers having hydrophilic characteristics .
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 2/10/2026