DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present Application, filed March 30, 2022, is a National Stage Entry under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/CN2020/119598, filed September 30, 2020, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. CN20190942002, filed September 30, 2019.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment filed June 23, 2026, claims 22-23 and 26-27 are canceled, and claims 21 and 24-25 are amended. Claims 21 and 24-25 are currently pending.
Previous Rejections and/or Objections
Any objections and/or rejections raised in the previous Office Action but not reiterated below are considered to have been withdrawn.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
With respect to the rejections of previous claims 21-25 and 27 for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. s 103, Applicant argues that the prior arts provide no motivation to apply Martinez-Torres and Pourkavoos to the present application, and a skilled man in the art would have no reason to modify the ratio for the disease treated in the present application. To this point, Applicant argues that Martinez-Torres deals with treating HSVE, while the present application is directed to treatment of Alzheimer’s disease, and these diseases are fundamentally different (pg. 5 of Applicant’s Remarks, first four paragraphs). This argument has been fully considered but is not found persuasive.
The reasons for rejection are not based on applying the art to the present application, it is based on finding an invention that is patentably indistinct from the presently claimed invention in the combined art, and the rationale for combining the art is not based on the present application. Moreover, neither the claims previously rejected for obviousness nor the currently amended claims recite Alzheimer’s disease in any aspect. As such, characteristics of Alzheimer’s disease or differences between Alzheimer’s disease and HSVE are irrelevant to the prima facie case of obviousness.
Applicant next argues that the acyclovir:dexamethasone weight ratio of 250:1 of amended claim is sufficiently different from the approximately 50:1 ratio of Martinez-Torres that the claimed weight ratio cannot be regarded as routine optimization that is obvious over the prior art ratio. Further to this point, Applicant asserts that the recited 250:1 ratio provides unexpected synergistic effects (i.e. unexpected results). As Applicant states:
[t]hrough extensive creative research and experimentation, Applicant finalized the critical ratio of 250: 1, which produces unexpected synergistic effects that could not have been predicted or derived from the prior art.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive.
First, the record does not appear to support the contention of criticality of the recited 250:1 weight ratio of acyclovir to dexamethasone. In particular, the instant specification describes testing of the acyclovir/dexamethasone combination only at this ratio, in comparison to acyclovir or dexamethasone monotherapy (see, e.g. paragraphs [0066] and [0069]-[0077]), but without comparison to the combination at any other weight ratio. While such a comparison may support the importance of the combination therapy in comparison to monotherapy, it does not appear to establish the criticality, or even test the importance, of the recited weight ratio relative to other weight ratios. Furthermore, this testing was done in a murine model. It is therefore at least debatable, even if one assumes a reasonable showing of criticality within that model, that the critical ratio is applicable to other species, e.g. humans.
As discussed in the slightly modified rejection, a recited proportion will not render an otherwise-obvious combination nonobvious if the proportion is not shown to be critical. In the present case, the recited 250:1 weight ratio of acyclovir to dexamethasone does not, of itself, make the claim patentable because of the lack of showing of criticality of the ratio.
In addition, the claim scope exceeds the relevant scope of the alleged critical ratio. The allegation of criticality relates solely to the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease discussed in the instant specification and in Applicant’s remarks, however the claims are directed to a pharmaceutical composition (or medicament containing the same pharmaceutical composition), and are not limited to the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease. As such, even if one assumes that the recited weight ratio of 250:1 is critical for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease, the current claim scope, which is not limited to such treatment, exceeds the applicable scope in which the ratio is allegedly critical.
Applicant further argues that in the formulation of the present application, acyclovir and dexamethasone must be administered concomitantly throughout the whole course of treatment to achieve the optimal synergistic effect on cognitive decline (pg. 6 of Applicant’s Remarks, first. This argument is inapplicable to a question of the obviousness of the present claims, however, because the present claims recite a composition, not a method of treating any condition, nor any step of administering combination therapy. Similarly, Applicant’s remarks about the etiology of Alzheimer’s disease are irrelevant to the obviousness of the present claims as the present claims are directed to a composition, not to a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease.
The rejections for obviousness, as modified slightly in view of the amendment, are maintained.
Claims 21 and 24 are obvious over Martinez-Torres and Pourkavoos:
Claims 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the non-patent publication, Protocol for German trial of Acyclovir and corticosteroids in Herpes-simplex-virus-encephalitis (GACHE): a multicenter, multinational, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled German, Austrian and Dutch trial [ISRCTN45122933], BMC Neurol., 8, art. 40, pgs. 1-10 (2008) by Martinez-Torres et al. (hereinafter, “Martinez-Torres”), in view of the non-patent publication, Unique Risks, Benefits, and Challenges of Developing Drug-Drug Combination Products in a Pharmaceutical Industrial Setting, Comb. Prod. Ther., 2, art. 2, pgs. 1-31 (2012) by Pourkavoos (hereinafter, “Pourkavoos”).
Claim 21 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising acyclovir and dexamethasone, present at a weight ratio of 250:1.
Martinez-Torres teaches a clinical trial of acyclovir and adjuvant dexamethasone, as compared with acyclovir and placebo, for the treatment of herpes-simplex-virus-encephalitis (HSVE - Abstract). Martinez-Torres teaches that subjects in the experimental group received 10 mg/kg intravenous acyclovir three times daily for 14 days and 40 mg intravenous dexamethasone daily for the first four days. Thus, once per day for the first for days, acyclovir and dexamethasone were co-administered. Given a typical body weight of about 70 kg, the daily weight ratio of acyclovir to dexamethasone would be about 50:1, distinct from the recited weight ratio of 250:1.
outside but adjacent to the recited range. However, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, as a matter of routine optimization, to utilize other concentrations and ratios, at least similar to the concentrations explicitly taught by Martinez-Torres A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close.
Martinez-Torres does not expressly teach that, when acyclovir and dexamethasone were co-administered, they were co-formulated (i.e. present together in a single intravenous pharmaceutical composition), however it would have been obvious to co-formulate the acyclovir and dexamethasone for the treatment of HSVE because it was well-known in the art that co-administered active pharmaceutical ingredients can be co-formulated for convenience. See, for example, Pourkavoos.
Pourkavoos teaches fixed-ratio combination drug products can have multiple benefits (Abstract), including improved patient compliance and cost (Abstract, and pg. 14, Simplification of Dosage Regimen). It would have been obvious to combine the acyclovir and dexamethasone of Martinez-Torres into a single fixed-ratio, combination pharmaceutical composition, as taught by Pourkavoos, in order to simplify the dosing regimen.
While the weight ratio in the composition of Martinez-Torres/Pourkavoos is distinct from that of instant claim 21, it is well established that “[c]hanges in proportions of agents used in combinations... in order to be patentable, must be critical as compared with the proportions of the prior processes.” In re Wells, 56 F.2d 674 (CCPA 1932). Similarly, “[a] difference of degree is not as persuasive as a difference in kind – i.e., if the range produces ‘a new property dissimilar to the known property,’ rather than producing a predictable result but to an unexpected extent.” See also MPEP 2144.05(III)A, and cases cited therein. As such, absent a showing that the recited weight ratio of acyclovir to dexamethasone is critical – produces an effect different in kind, not merely in degree, compared to other weight ratios – this difference in proportion of the components of the pharmaceutical composition is insufficient to render the composition non-obvious.
With respect to claim 22, while the weight ratio of acyclovir to dexamethasone is not within the range recited in claim 22, the difference in weight ratio would have been a matter of routine optimization, particularly where, as here, there is no evidence of criticality of the recited weight ratio. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 23, the acyclovir and dexamethasone of Martinez-Torres are administered intravenously. With respect to claim 24, the acyclovir and dexamethasone of Martinez-Torres are, by virtue of being administered via intravenous infusion, in solution in a physiologically acceptable medium (e.g. an aqueous solution). Thus, the intravenous solution of Martinez-Torres modified by Pourkavoos constitutes a medicament of claim 24.
With respect to claim 27, as discussed above, this method claim is construed as merely requiring the recited step of administering a composition or medicament of any of claims 21-24 to a patient. Martinez-Torres discloses administering acyclovir and dexamethasone to patients as treatment for HSVE (pg. 2, right column, Treatment with Acyclovir and Study medication (dexamethasone/placebo)). Furthermore, while the recited pathological indicators are not given patentable weight, it is known that HSVE causes, for example, elevated levels of pro-inflammatory cytokines such as IL-6 in the hippocampus (see, for example, the non-patent publication, Experimental herpes simplex virus encephalitis: a long-term study of interleukin-6 expression in mouse brain tissue, Neurosci. Lett., 367, pgs. 289-292 (2004) by Dvorak et al.) and thus the method of Martinez-Torres and Pourkavoos could reasonably be expected to lessen such elevated levels.
Claim 25 is obvious over Martinez-Torres, Pourkavoos, Karpe, and Queckenberg:
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Torres, in view of Pourkavoos, and further in view of the non-patent publication, Formulation Development and Evaluation of Acyclovir Orally Disintegrating Tablets, J. Appl. Pharm. Sci., 2, pgs. 101-105 (2012) by Karpe et al. (hereinafter, “Karpe”) and the non-patent publication, Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics, and Comparative Bioavailability of Single, Oral 2-mg Doses of Dexamethasone Liquid and Tablet Formulations: A Randomized, Controlled, Crossover Study in Healthy Adult Volunteers, Clin. Therap., 33, pgs. 1831-1841 (2011) by Queckenberg et al. (hereinafter, “Queckenberg”).
Claim 25 recites the medicament of claim 24, in a dosage form selected from various orally administrable dosage forms, such as a tablet. Neither Martinez-Torres nor Pourkavoos expressly teaches this feature, but it would have been obvious to formulate the acyclovir/dexamethasone composition/medicament of Martinez-Torres and Pourkavoos in such an oral form, because oral forms of acyclovir and dexamethasone were well-known in the art and known to carry advantages such as convenience. See, for example, Karpe and Queckenberg.
Karpe teaches orally disintegrating tablets of acyclovir (Abstract) and teaches that oral tablets for drugs such as acyclovir carry many benefits of other administration routes such as avoiding patient non-compliance (pg. 102, left column, third paragraph). Similarly, Queckenberg teaches a comparison of oral liquid and tablet forms of dexamethasone (Abstract), and teaches that both have satisfactory pharmacodynamic parameters. It thus would have been obvious to formulate the formulate the acyclovir/dexamethasone composition/medicament of Martinez-Torres and Pourkavoos as a tablet, as this form of both drugs was well-known and would carry advantages such as convenience and improved patient compliance.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER K. SHOWALTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629