Regarding claim Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 38, 40, 43-44, 53 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dorsey (PG Pub. 2007/0074426).
Regarding claims 38, 53 and 58, Dorsey teaches a method of producing a biodegradable body fluid-absorbent layer for use in a hygiene article [0003, claim 16], the method including the steps of combining blending sheep (lamb) wool fibers and polymeric fibers [claim 16] together into a homogenous web [0168] formation, wherein the homogenous web formation comprises combined fibers comprise (i) about 20 to 80% wool fibers and (ii) about 80 to 20% polymeric fibers, and wherein the polymeric fibers are biodegradable and are selected from viscose fibers, polylactic acid fibers, cotton fibers and combinations thereof [claim 16], and bonding the wool fibers and the polymeric fibers in the homogenous web formation by a mechanical, thermal, or chemical process, or any combination thereof [0167], thereby producing the body fluid-absorbent layer for use in the hygiene article, the body fluid-absorbent layer exhibiting a rewet, strike through time and/or acquisition rate approximate to or superior to a petrochemical containing body fluid-absorbent layer, wherein the body fluid- absorbent layer does not include materials that are derived from petrochemicals. Dorsey is silent regarding the claimed body fluid absorbent layer property. However, given Dorsey teaches such a similar product made of such similar materials in such similar quantities, the claimed body fluid absorbent layer property is inherent to the body fluid absorbent layer of Dorsey. The body fluid absorbent layer does not include materials that are derived from petrochemicals as shown in claim 16.
Regarding claim 40, the homogeneous web formation is formed by carding [0167].
Regarding claim 43, the bonding step is chemical binding (adhesive use is taught) [0060 and 0174].
Regarding claim 44, the thermal bonding step is carried out at about 130 degrees C; or the mechanical bonding step includes a hydroentanglement step or a needle punching step [0167]; or the chemical bonding step is carried out using a binder [0060 and 0174].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsey (PG Pub. 2007/0074426).
Regarding claim 57, Dorsey is silent regarding the claimed wool fibers being scoured. However, it would have been more than obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to scour the wool fibers in order to degrease and clean the wool fibers as is known in the art and
arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsey (PG Pub. 2007/0074426) or in the alternative over Dorsey (PG Pub. 2007/0074426) in view of Kaizhu et al. (CN 1896358).
Regarding claim 39, Dorsey teaches rayon fibers can be used in place of cotton and can also provide elasticity [0047], so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use rayon(viscose) in lieu of cotton fibers in order to provide absorbency and elasticity and arrive at the claimed invention. In the alternative, Kaizhu et al. teach using viscose and wool fibers [0014 and Examples] in order to provide sanitary material with good skin effect that has elasticity property. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the viscose fibers in lieu of cotton fibers and with wool fibers in order to provide sanitary material with good skin effect that has elasticity property and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsey (PG Pub. 2007/0074426) as evidenced by Anderson (CN 1238671).
Regarding claims 41-42, Dorsey is silent regarding the claimed wetting agent. However, it would have been obvious to those skilled in the art to include a wetting agent applied to the web formation either before or after the bonding step in order to improve the wicking properties of the web and wool fibers as is known in the art as is evidenced by Anderson et al. who teaches surfactant (wetting agent) in order to affect the level of desired hydrophilicity and wettability. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dry the web formation after the wetting agent is applied to make the diaper useful and moreover drying would naturally occur with time.
Claims 54-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsey (PG Pub. 2007/0074426) in view of Kaizhu et al. (CN 1896358).
Regarding claim 54-55, Dorsey et al. are silent regarding the claimed length of the wool and polymeric fibers. However, Kaizhu et al. teach wool fibers and polymeric fibers have a length in the claimed range in order to provide liquid absorption capacity and biocompatibility and balance of strength and softness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the length of wool and polymeric fibers of Kaizhu et al. in Dorsey in order to provide liquid absorption capacity and biocompatibility and balance of strength and softness and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsey (PG Pub. 2007/0074426) in view of Anderson (CN 1238671).
Regarding claim 45, Dorsey is silent regarding the claimed binding agent after the bonding step. However, Anderson et al. teach it is known in the art to use binder fiber and/or
adhesive as an alternative to or in addition to needling nonwovens in order to tailor the properties
of the web including the breathability and strength. Anderson teaches use of multiple bonding
techniques to influence properties including strength so it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to for example needle the web and then apply a binding agent such as a
binder to enhance strength as taught by Anderson et al. and arrive at the claimed invention. It
would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to use the chemical bonding of
Anderson in Dorsey in order to and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsey (PG Pub. 2007/0074426) in view of Huang (CN 104480742).
Regarding claim 56, Dorsey teaches wool and polyester fibers and teaches using up to 50% of fiber including polyester fiber to improve elasticity [0069]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use 50% wool and 50% polyester fiber in order to provide balance of properties including absorbency, and improved elasticity. Dorsey teaches polyester fiber, but silent regarding the specific type of polyester fibers. However, Huang teaches polylactic fibers used in blends in fabric for hygiene articles because they are biodegradable with excellent processability and provide high sanitary standards. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the polylactic fibers of Huang in the absorbing layer of Dorsey because they are biodegradable with excellent processability and provide high sanitary standards and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsey (PG Pub. 2007/0074426) in view of Memari (“Liquid Absorption and Wiping Behaviour of Hydroentangled Baby Wipe Fabrics”, Dissertation, The University of Leeds School of Design, October 2017).
Regarding claim 59, Dorsey teaches carding, but is silent regarding the claimed carding method. However, Memari teaches the forming step comprises carding the blended fiber material in a first pass to form a first carded fibred web; and rotating the first carded fibred web 90 degrees; and carding the rotated first carded fibred web in a second pass to form the homogenous
web formation in order to improve blending efficiency (page prior to the page that has Table 4). It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to use the carding method of Memari in Dorsey in order to improve blending efficiency and arrive at the claimed invention.
Prior Art Not Used but Relevant
US 5,916,798 teaches wool/rayon blend fabric.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789