Detailed Action
Status of Application
1. Applicants’ arguments/remarks filed 26 December 2025 are acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-17, 19-20, and 22-23 are currently pending. Claims 5, 13, 18, 21, and 24 are cancelled. Claims 20 and 22-23 were previously withdrawn. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-17, and 19 are examined on the merits within.
Withdrawn Rejections
2. Applicants’ arguments, filed 26 December 2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) Rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) Rejections of claims 1-4, 7-12, 14-17, and 19 have been withdrawn.
Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
4. Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-17, and 19 is/are again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson et al. (WO2011/017367) in view of Coleman (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0266852).
Regarding instant claims 1-4, 7, and 10, Richardson et al. teach a composition that can comprise 1 to 100% organic acids. Of the organic acid compound, 2 to 20% is pelargonic acid and the remaining 98 to 80% is acetic acid or propionic acid. The composition may contain 0 to 20% terpenes, preferably 0.5 to 10%. See page 7.
Regarding instant claims 8-9, preferred terpenes are allyl disulfide, thymol, citral, eugenol, carvacrol, and carvone, or mixtures thereof. See page 6.
Regarding instant claims 11-12 and 14-15, the composition may contain 0 to 99% water. See page 7.
Regarding instant claims 16-17 and 19, the composition comprises 0 to 20% surfactant, preferably 0.5 to 5%. See page 7.
Richardson et al. do not teach caprylic or capric acid as the fatty acid.
Coleman teaches fungicide compositions including one or more fatty acids and one or more organic acids different from the fatty acid. The organic acid functions as a potent synergist for the fatty acid as a fungicide. See abstract. Fatty acids include caprylic acid, capric acid, and pelargonic acid. See paragraph [0018]. Organic acids include trichloroacetic and oxalacetic acid. See paragraph [0021]. The composition can additionally comprise emulsifiers, adjuvants, surfactants, and diluents. See abstract.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to substitute one fatty acid for another to yield predictable results because Coleman teaches the functional equivalency of caprylic acid, capric acid, and pelargonic acid in formulations comprising acetic acids.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 26 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
5. Applicant argued, “Specific compositions of Coleman comprise high proportions of the medium chain fatty acid that is at least 70 wt% or less than 1 wt%. Thus one does not provide motivation to substitute pelargonic acid with caprylic acid at 5-25 wt%.”
In response to applicants’ argument, Coleman teaches caprylic acid and capric acid as fatty acid compounds used in the invention. It further states that “in preferred embodiments, a concentrated formulation of the agricultural composition comprises between about 1% v/v and about 99% v/v of a fatty acid; more preferably, between about 50 and about 90% v/v based upon the total volume of the concentrated formulation.” See paragraph [0019]. Example 1 shows that even as little as 0.75% caprylic acid demonstrated significant reduction in the fungal growth on soybean foliage. Although Coleman’s preferred embodiment is higher values, the prior art teaches values of 1 to 99% which reads on the claimed 5-25%, while also showing effectiveness at lower values. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to substitute one fatty acid for another to yield predictable results because Coleman teaches the functional equivalency of caprylic acid, capric acid, and pelargonic acid in formulations comprising acetic acids.
Thus this rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
7. No claims are allowed.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615