DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments in the Request for Continued Examination, filed Apr. 24, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (New)
1. Claims 1, 4, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandula (WO 2019/186357, Oct. 3, 2019) (hereinafter Kandula) in view of Fava et al. (US 2017/0042878, Feb. 16, 2017) (hereinafter Fava).
Kandula teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising compounds of formula I or intermediates thereof and one or more of pharmaceutically acceptable excipients and/or pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, wherein formula I represents ketamine and RH comprises acids such as pamoic acid (¶ [0008]).
In the compound of formula I, the ketamine moiety can exist as R enantiomer, S enantiomer or a mixture thereof in equal proportions and one of the enantiomer could be selected for the salt preparation process (satisfies active of claim 1) (¶ [0010]). The pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of formula I is formulated as a dosage form such as intramuscular and sustained release (satisfies forms of claim 1 & 12) (¶ [0018]). Suitable pharmaceutically acceptable excipients include wetting agents and buffering agents (satisfies claim 9) (¶ [0030]). Suitable pharmaceutically acceptable carriers include sodium carboxymethyl cellulose and polyethylene glycol (satisfies carrier of claim 1) (¶ [0031]). The composition may utilize nanoparticles in drug delivery (¶ [0055]). The pharmaceutical compositions can be formulated by combining the compositions and the pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and/or carriers in the form of injectable solutions (¶ [0056]). The active ingredient can be presented in the pharmaceutical compositions for parenteral use in a concentration of from about 0.05 to about 50% w/v (satisfies claim 10-11) (¶ [0062]).
Kandula differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the formulation is in the form of injectable aqueous suspension.
However, Fava discloses compositions and methods for administering scopolamine and ketamine (Abstract). In an embodiment, ketamine or scopolamine are injected into the blood stream, a body cavity or a subcutaneous tissue of the human subject (¶ [0019]). Aqueous suspensions can contain an active agent such as ketamine for the manufacture of aqueous suspensions, e.g., for aqueous intradermal injections (¶ [0061]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of instant application to have formulated the composition of Kandula to be in the form of an injectable aqueous suspension since this is a known an effective administration route for ketamine as taught by Fava.
Regarding claim 1 reciting a composition comprising a crystal form of the active, Kandula discloses the use compounds or its pharmaceutical acceptable polymorphs, solvates, enantiomers, stereoisomers and hydrates thereof (Abstract). The term "polymorph" refers to one crystal structure of a given compound (¶ [0026]). Accordingly, the compound of Kandula may be in the crystal form and satisfies the instantly recited limitation.
Regarding claim 1 reciting a stoichiometry of 2:1 between the ketamine and pamoate, pamoic acid contains two carboxyl groups. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that each carboxyl group can form a carboxylate salt with ketamine, which would result in two ketamines for each pamoic acid, i.e., a 2 to 1 ratio of ketamine to pamoate or a stoichiometry of 2:1.
Regarding the particle size recited in instant claim 4 (i.e., (d50) of less than 20 microns), as discussed above, Kandula discloses wherein the composition may utilize nanoparticles in its drug delivery mechanism. As such, since Kandula discloses the use of nanoparticles and nanoparticles have a particle size of less than 100 nm (i.e., 0.1 micron), it would reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that Kandula’s particles would have average particle sizes that encompass the d(50) values recited in the instant claim.
Regarding the specific surface area recited in instant claim 4 (i.e., 300 m2/g) and resistance to heat recited in instant claim 13, specific surface area and heat resistance are descriptive and thus would be properties of the claimed product. Kandula discloses substantially the same composition comprising substantially the same actives, pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients. Kandula further discloses a particle size encompassed by the instant claims and substantially the same administration methods. Therefore, it would reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the particles/product of Kandula would have substantially the same specific surface area and heat resistance as the particle/product of the instant claims.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1, 4, and 9-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,981,617 B2 (hereinafter ‘617).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both disclose a ketamine pamoate salt having a stoichiometry of 2:1 of ketamine to pamoate and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same. The difference between the instant claims and the ‘617 claims lies in the fact that the instant claims recite a “sustained release pharmaceutical composition” comprising the compound of the patented claims. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the ketamine pamoate salt of ‘671 in the sustained release pharmaceutical composition of the instant claim since it is the same active recited in the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, and 9-13 have been considered but are moot because new rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment have been made. As discussed in the current rejections Kandula discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula I (i.e., ketamine) as an active ingredient in a therapeutically effective amount and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, wherein the RH in Formula I is pamoic acid (namely, the compound is ketamine pamoate salt), the ketamine moiety in Formula I is selected from an R enantiomer, an S enantiomer, or a racemic mixture comprising equal portions of R and S enantiomers of ketamine. Fava’s teaching in reference to aqueous ketamine suspensions for injection is applied to meet the requirements of the new limitation “wherein the sustained-release pharmaceutical composition is an injectable aqueous suspension”.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4, and 9-13 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/LEZAH ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612