DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed 8/15/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Maintained)
1. Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandula (WO 2019/186357, Oct. 3, 2019) (hereinafter Kandula).
Kandula teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising compounds of formula I or intermediates thereof and one or more of pharmaceutically acceptable excipients and/or pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, wherein formula I represents ketamine and RH comprises acids such as pamoic acid (¶ [0008]).
In the compound of formula I, the ketamine moiety can exist as R enantiomer, S enantiomer or a mixture thereof in equal proportions and one of the enantiomer could be selected for the salt preparation process (satisfies active of claim 1) (¶ [0010]). The pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of formula I is formulated as a dosage form such as intramuscular and sustained release (satisfies forms of claim 1 & 12) (¶ [0018]). Suitable pharmaceutically acceptable excipients include wetting agents and buffering agents (satisfies claim 9) (¶ [0030]). Suitable pharmaceutically acceptable carriers include sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, propylene glycol, glycerin (satisfies carrier of claim 1, 3, 5, & 8) (¶ [0031]). The composition may utilize nanoparticles in drug delivery (¶ [0055]). The pharmaceutical compositions can be formulated by combining the compositions and the pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and/or carriers in the form of injectable solutions (satisfies form of claim 7) (¶ [0056]). The active ingredient can be presented in the pharmaceutical compositions for parenteral use in a concentration of from about 0.05 to about 50% w/v (satisfies claim 10-11) (¶ [0062]). Suitable carriers include lubricants such as steric acid (satisfies carrier of claim 6) and antioxidants such as lactic acid (¶ [0065, 0067, &, 0069]).
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as this combination must be selected from different lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to have made a sustained release pharmaceutical composition comprising a ketamine pamoate salt along with pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and excipients, as instantly claimed, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A).
Regarding the particle size recited in instant claim (i.e., (d50) of less than 20 microns), as discussed above, Kandula discloses wherein the composition may utilize nanoparticles in its drug delivery mechanism. As such, since Kandula discloses the use of nanoparticles and nanoparticles have a particle size of less than 100 nm (i.e., 0.1 micron), it would reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that Kandula’s particles would have average particle sizes that encompass the d(50) values recited in the instant claim.
Regarding the specific surface area recited in instant claim 4 (i.e., 300 m2/g) and resistance to heat recited in instant claim 13, specific surface area and heat resistance are descriptive and thus would be properties of the claimed product. Kandula discloses substantially the same composition comprising substantially the same actives, pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients. Kandula further discloses a particle size encompassed by the instant claims and substantially the same administration methods. Therefore, it would reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the particles/product of Kandula would have substantially the same specific surface area and heat resistance as the particle/product of the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Regarding allegations of unexpected results, an affidavit or declaration must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 716.02(e).
Applicant does not appear to have compared their compositions to the closest prior art. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot appreciate the significance of the data presented. Absent a direct comparison with a comparative formulation, it is unclear if the alleged improvement is indeed a surprising and unexpected change or if these results fall within the range of expected outcomes in the art, and a meaningful assessment cannot be made.
Furthermore, Applicant has the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness. MPEP § 716.02(b)(II).
Applicant has not adequately explained the results. For instance, it is entirely unclear what aspect of Applicant’s formulation is critical and how this criticality is reflected in the data. Without Applicant clarifying which feature is critical and why it is critical, it is difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand and evaluate the invention’s contribution over the prior art.
Moreover, any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some difference in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. The burden is on applicant to establish that the results are in fact really unexpected and of statistical and practical significance. Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See also MPEP § 716.02.
Applicant does not appear to have discussed same with respect to objective data. For example, Applicant pointed to Example 17 demonstrating that utilizing the instant invention’s formulations can lead to increased drug loading. The instant specification makes no mention of any increased drug loading and does not appear to establish that results relating to this are unexpected. Furthermore, when looking to the pharmacokinetic performance of the solutions obtained in Example 17, SL01, an example with less “drug loading”, performed just as well as, if not better than, SL03, an example with higher “drug loading”, in the average plasma concentration in rats as well as ketamine release percentages. SL02, another example with less “drug loading”, outperformed SL03 in the average plasma concentration in rats as well as ketamine release percentages since it had a release time of 14 days instead of 10 days. As such, it is unclear if Applicant’s finding that “using the specific pharmaceutically acceptable carrier as recited in the independent claim 1, and the specific excipient as recited in claim 6” is indeed advantageous or unexpected.
Applicant also points to Example 18 and the particle sizes achieved. It is unclear if said particle sizes are the result of “using the specific pharmaceutically acceptable carrier claimed” or if they are the result of the milling processes the compositions were subjected to.
Regarding Example 24, since Applicant did not also test R,S, R, or S, Ketamine HCL, it is unclear if the alleged improvement in immobility and sedation is due to the use of the enantiomers of ketamine or due to the use of the pamoate salt, and/or if the effect is additive or synergistic.
Finally, assuming purely arguendo that unexpected results have been established, the probative value of the evidence as compared to the invention as claimed must then be determined, i.e., the claims must be “commensurate in scope” with the showing. MPEP § 716.02(d). See also MPEP § 2145. Applicant must explain the “manner in which the specific compositions illustrated are considered to be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention”; see Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992); see also MPEP 716.02, citing same.
For instance, Applicant’s claim 1 requires the presence of any one of 20 carriers. However, the examples tested for pharmacokinetics, releasability, stability, etc. (i.e., SL01-SL04, AS01-AS07, & AS11) only contained 6 of said 20 carriers (i.e., NaCMC/NaCL, DMAc, NMP, & PEG4000/Tween 80). Furthermore, some example contained palmitic acid which is not required by instant claim 1 at all. As such, it is unclear if only using the carriers tested would result in the alleged unexpected results or if using all carriers encompassed by the instant claims would as well. Further, it is not clear if the results would vary if other carriers were used in place of the ones tested. In order for this to be established, the tested carriers must be reasonably representative of pharmaceutical carriers in general. However, no evidence of this has been provided. As such, Applicant’s data is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Kandula teaches the use of different acids, and provides no motivation for using pamoic acid as the RH group, the Examiner submits that a reference is relied upon for all it teaches and suggests, even non-preferred embodiments. See MPEP § 2141.02 (VI). Although the acids disclosed by Kandula have divergent properties, Kandula specifically teaches pamoic acid as a suitable acid for use as the RH group. Furthermore, Kandula goes on to claim pamoic acid as one of the possible acids for use as the RH group (Ref. Claim 1). Therefore, one would be motivated to use pamoic acid in the composition of Kandula because Kandula discloses the use of this acid and goes on to claim the use of this acid as well. Accordingly, it would have been reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated Kandula’s compounds of formula I to comprise pamoic acid as the RH group since Kandula teaches this acid to be suitable for use with this compound.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments about Kandula’s teaching of “hydrobromic acid”, the Examiner points out that this acid is listed among other suitable acids for use as the RH group. Kandula does not designate hydrobromic acid as a preferred acid nor is it used in an example. Hydrobromic acid is not reasonably representative of all the acids that Kandula discloses. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there are chemical differences between hydrobromic acid and hydrochloric acid. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that it is not reasonable for one to draw a generic conclusion that the instant compositions outperform those of Kandula. Nonetheless, Kandula does disclose that suitable acids for use as the RH group include pamoic acid. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success when formulating Kandula’s ketamine composition to comprise pamoic acid as the RH group since it is suitable for use as taught by Kandula.
In light of the foregoing, the Examiner does not find Applicant’s arguments to be persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
2. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandula (WO 2019/186357, Oct. 3, 2019) (hereinafter Kandula) in view of Tyler et al. ((Advanced Drug Delivery Rev., 2016) (hereinafter Tyler).
Kandula is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose polylactic acid as a carrier.
Tyler disclose polylactic acid (PLA) and its copolymers a long history of safety in humans and an extensive range of applications. PLA is biocompatible, biodegradable by hydrolysis and enzymatic activity, has a large range of mechanical and physical properties that can be engineered appropriately to suit multiple applications, and has low immunogenicity. Formulations containing PLA have also been Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved for multiple applications making PLA suitable for expedited clinical translatability. These biomaterials can be fashioned drug delivery systems. PLA's application as drug-loaded nanoparticles drug carriers, such as liposomes, polymeric nanoparticles, dendrimers, and micelles, can encapsulate otherwise toxic hydrophobic anti-tumor drugs and evade systemic toxicities (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have used polylactic acid as a carrier for the drug delivery systems of Kandula motivated by the desire to use a carrier that is biocompatible, has low immunogenicity and can be used as a drug-loaded nanoparticle drug carrier as disclosed by Tyler.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that due to the unpredictability of pharmaceutical compositions one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated by to combine Kandula and Tyler to use polylactic acid.
The Examiner does not find these arguments persuasive.
The Examiner submits that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, and conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success. . See MPEP § 2143.02. Tyler provides strong motivation where they disclose that PLA is biocompatible, has low immunogenicity and can be used as a drug-loaded nanoparticle drug carrier. Furthermore, Tyler does not teach away from using PLA in ketamine compositions. As such, in light of the Tyler disclosure, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate Kandula’s composition to comprise PLA as part of routine optimization with a reasonable expectation of success.
In light of the foregoing, the Examiner does not find Applicant’s arguments to be persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,981,617 B2 (hereinafter ‘617).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both disclose a ketamine pamoate salt having a stoichiometry of 2:1 of ketamine to pamoate and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same. The difference between the instant claims and the ‘617 claims lies in the fact that the instant claims recite a “sustained release pharmaceutical composition” comprising the compound of the patented claims. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the ketamine pamoate salt of ‘671 in the sustained release pharmaceutical composition of the instant claim since it is the same active recited in the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant requested that the double patenting rejections recited above be held in abeyance until otherwise allowable subject matter is identified. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/FREDERICK F KRASS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1612