DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 02/02/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-21, 23-27, and 29-30 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 10-12, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-21, 23-27, and 29-30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) rejections made, as is necessitated by amendment, under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Rahman et al (US 20210067979 A1) You et al (US 20220200763 A1) for claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-21, 23-27, and 29-30. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to specify that “indicating the corresponding TCI-states comprises including a bitmap in the signal, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the corresponding TCI-states is activated or deactivated”, where independent claims 5, 10, 14, 19, 23, 25, and 29 are also amended in a similar way such that they contain analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 10-12 of Remarks that Rahman and Yi do not teach this feature. This argument is however moot, as You does teach this feature, and a claim mapping has been provided below. For more details, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-21, 23-27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al (US 20210067979 A1), and further in view of You et al (US 20220200763 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rahman teaches
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising ([Fig. 3] UE 116):
a memory ([0057] and [Fig. 3] UE comprises memory); and
one or more processors coupled with the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to ([0060] and [Fig. 3] UE comprises processor which executes OS stored on the memory):
receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a set of lists ([0143] there are up to M lists of CCs that are configured by RRC signaling; [0179], [0187], and [Fig. 14] step 1402 the UE receives configuration information including the list of CCs (set of lists), which is one of the M lists of CCs that are configured by higher layer (RRC) signaling);
receive a signal indicating a plurality of component carriers (CCs) and corresponding transmission configuration indicator states (TCI-states) for the CCs, wherein each list includes one or more of the CCs ([0180], and [Fig. 14] UE receives an activation command (signal received) via MAC-CE to activate N TCI states for the list of CCs (indicating a plurality of CCs and corresponding TCI states for the CCs)),
receive a physical channel according to one of the corresponding TCI-states on one or more of the CCs ([0184]-[0185] and [Fig. 14] the UE receives PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC in the list of CCs based on the TCI state (according to one of the corresponding TCI states)).
Rahman does not explicitly teach wherein indicating the corresponding TCI-states comprises including a bitmap in the signal, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the corresponding TCI-states is activated or deactivated; and
However, You does teach wherein indicating the corresponding TCI-states comprises including a bitmap in the signal, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the corresponding TCI-states is activated or deactivated ([0094]-[0096], and [Fig. 23] shows bitmap where bits are mapped to different values in a field of the MAC CE, where the field indicates the activation/deactivation status of the TCI state, and the TCI states activation/deactivation is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as is specified in Table 1; [0053], [0072]-[0073] and [Table 1] TCI states activation/deactivation is a value of logical channel identity LCID, which is in the MAC PDU subheader); and
Rahman and You are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TCI states. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahman to include the teachings of You where the TCI state activation/deactivation is indicated in a field of the MAC CE. The rationale behind this would be to save signaling overhead, provide better communication, and/or improve reliability ([0006] You).
Regarding claim 2, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 1, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the signal comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([0180] and [Fig. 14] UE receives a MAC CE command).
Regarding claim 3, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 1, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the physical channel comprises at least one of (1) a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), (2) a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or (3) a downlink control information (DCI) comprising at least a first codepoint and a second codepoint and wherein the signal indicates a first plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the first codepoint and a second plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the second codepoint ([0184]-[0185] and [Fig. 14] the UE receives PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC (the physical channel comprises (1) a PDCCH or (2) a PDSCH)).
Regarding claim 5, Rahman teaches
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising ([Fig. 3] UE 116):
memory ([0057] and [Fig. 3] UE comprises memory); and
one or more processor coupled with the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to ([0060] and [Fig. 3] UE comprises processor which executes OS stored on the memory):
receive a signal indicating a plurality of component carriers (CCs) and corresponding transmission configuration indicator states (TCI-states) for the CCs ([0180], and [Fig. 14] UE receives an activation command (signal received) via MAC-CE to activate N TCI states for the list of CCs (indicating a plurality of CCs and corresponding TCI states for the CCs)),
receive a physical channel according to one of the corresponding TCI-states on one or more of the CCs ([0184]-[0185] and [Fig. 14] the UE receives PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC in the list of CCs based on the TCI state (according to one of the corresponding TCI states)).
Rahman does not explicitly teach wherein indicating the corresponding TCI-states comprises including a bitmap in the signal, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the corresponding TCI- states is activated or deactivated; and
However, You does teach wherein indicating the corresponding TCI-states comprises including a bitmap in the signal, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the corresponding TCI- states is activated or deactivated ([0094]-[0096], and [Fig. 23] shows bitmap where bits are mapped to different values in a field of the MAC CE, where the field indicates the activation/deactivation status of the TCI state, and the TCI states activation/deactivation is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as is specified in Table 1; [0053], [0072]-[0073] and [Table 1] TCI states activation/deactivation is a value of logical channel identity LCID, which is in the MAC PDU subheader); and
Rahman and You are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TCI states. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahman to include the teachings of You where the TCI state activation/deactivation is indicated in a field of the MAC CE. The rationale behind this would be to save signaling overhead, provide better communication, and/or improve reliability ([0006] You).
Regarding claim 6, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 5, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the signal comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([0180] and [Fig. 14] UE receives a MAC CE command).
Regarding claim 7, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 5, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the physical channel comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0184]-[0185] and [Fig. 14] the UE receives PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC (the physical channel comprises (1) a PDCCH or (2) a PDSCH)).
Regarding claim 8, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 5, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the physical channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0184]-[0185] and [Fig. 14] the UE receives PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC (the physical channel comprises (1) a PDCCH or (2) a PDSCH)).
Regarding claim 9, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 5, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the physical channel comprises a downlink control information (DCI) comprising at least a first codepoint and a second codepoint, and wherein the signal indicates a first plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the first codepoint and a second plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the second codepoint ([0184]-[0185] and [Fig. 14] the UE receives PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission; [0185] UE received a codepoint of the TCI field in DCI, where the TCI state IDs map to codepoints of a TCI field (codepoints corresponding to TCI states), value of N up to 8 (at least a first and second codepoint, multiple codepoints per TCI field); [0183] and [Fig. 14] UE receives a signal including list of CCs and a plurality of TCI states, which includes a TCI state ID; [0183] N TCI state IDs correspond to each CC; [0137] activation for the set of TCI state IDs for any cell groups).
Regarding claim 10, Rahman teaches
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising ([Fig. 2] base station 102):
memory ([0047] and [Fig. 2] base station comprises memory); and
one or more processors coupled with the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to ([0052] and [Fig. 2] base station comprises processor which executes OS stored on the memory):
transmit, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a set of lists ([0143] there are up to M lists of CCs that are configured by RRC signaling; [0189], [0198], and [Fig. 15] step 1506 the base station sends configuration information including the list of CCs (set of lists), which is one of the M lists of CCs that are configured by higher layer (RRC) signaling);
transmit a signal indicating a plurality of component carriers (CCs) and corresponding transmission configuration indicator states (TCI-states) for the CCs, wherein each list includes one or more of the CCs ([0190], [0192], and [Fig. 15] base station generates and transmits activation command via MAC-CE to activate N TCI states for the list of CCs (indicating a plurality of CCs and corresponding TCI states for the CCs)),
transmit a physical channel according to one of the corresponding TCI-states on one or more of the CCs ([0195]-[0196] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC in the list of CCs based on the TCI state (according to one of the corresponding TCI states)).
Rahman does not explicitly teach wherein the corresponding TCI-states in the signal are indicated by including a bitmap in the signal, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the corresponding TCI-states is activated or deactivated; and
However, You does teach wherein the corresponding TCI-states in the signal are indicated by including a bitmap in the signal, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the corresponding TCI-states is activated or deactivated ([0094]-[0096], and [Fig. 23] shows bitmap where bits are mapped to different values in a field of the MAC CE, where the field indicates the activation/deactivation status of the TCI state, and the TCI states activation/deactivation is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as is specified in Table 1; [0053], [0072]-[0073] and [Table 1] TCI states activation/deactivation is a value of logical channel identity LCID, which is in the MAC PDU subheader); and
Rahman and You are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TCI states. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahman to include the teachings of You where the TCI state activation/deactivation is indicated in a field of the MAC CE. The rationale behind this would be to save signaling overhead, provide better communication, and/or improve reliability ([0006] You).
Regarding claim 11, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 10, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the signal comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([0192] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits the activation command via MAC-CE).
Regarding claim 12, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 10, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the physical channel comprises at least one of (1) a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), (2) a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or (3) a downlink control information (DCI) comprising at least a first codepoint and a second codepoint and wherein the signal indicates a first plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the first codepoint and a second plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the second codepoint ([0195]-[0196] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission (the physical channel comprises (1) a PDCCH or (2) a PDSCH)).
Regarding claim 14, Rahman teaches
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising ([Fig. 2] base station 102):
memory ([0047] and [Fig. 2] base station comprises memory); and
one or more processors coupled with the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to ([0052] and [Fig. 2] base station comprises processor which executes OS stored on the memory):
transmit a signal indicating a plurality of component carriers (CCs) and corresponding transmission configuration indicator states (TCI-states) for the CCs ([0190], [0192], and [Fig. 15] base station generates and transmits activation command via MAC-CE to activate N TCI states for the list of CCs (indicating a plurality of CCs and corresponding TCI states for the CCs));
transmit a physical channel according to one of the corresponding TCI-states on one or more of the CCs ([0195]-[0196] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC in the list of CCs based on the TCI state (according to one of the corresponding TCI states)).
Rahman does not explicitly teach wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to include a bitmap in the signal, wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the corresponding TCI-states is activated or deactivated; and
However, You does teach wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to include a bitmap in the signal, wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the corresponding TCI-states is activated or deactivated ([0094]-[0096], and [Fig. 23] shows bitmap where bits are mapped to different values in a field of the MAC CE, where the field indicates the activation/deactivation status of the TCI state, and the TCI states activation/deactivation is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as is specified in Table 1; [0053], [0072]-[0073] and [Table 1] TCI states activation/deactivation is a value of logical channel identity LCID, which is in the MAC PDU subheader); and
Rahman and You are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TCI states. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahman to include the teachings of You where the TCI state activation/deactivation is indicated in a field of the MAC CE. The rationale behind this would be to save signaling overhead, provide better communication, and/or improve reliability ([0006] You).
Regarding claim 15, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 14, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the signal comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([0192] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits the activation command via MAC-CE).
Regarding claim 16, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 14, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the physical channel comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0195]-[0196] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission (the physical channel comprises a PDCCH or a PDSCH)).
Regarding claim 17, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 14, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the physical channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0195]-[0196] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission (the physical channel comprises a PDCCH or a PDSCH)).
Regarding claim 18, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 14, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the physical channel comprises a downlink control information (DCI) comprising at least a first codepoint and a second codepoint, and wherein the signal indicates a first plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the first codepoint and a second plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the second codepoint ([0195]-[0196] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission; [0196] base station transmits a codepoint of the TCI field in DCI, where the TCI state IDs map to codepoints of a TCI field (codepoints corresponding to TCI states), value of N up to 8 (at least a first and second codepoint, multiple codepoints per TCI field); [0189], [0191], and [Fig. 15] base station transmits a signal including list of CCs and a plurality of TCI states, which includes a TCI state ID; [0137] activation for the set of TCI state IDs for any cell groups).
Regarding claim 19, Rahman teaches
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising ([Fig. 3] UE 116):
memory ([0057] and [Fig. 3] UE comprises memory); and
one or more processors coupled with the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to ([0060] and [Fig. 3] UE comprises processor which executes OS stored on the memory):
receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a set of lists ([0143] there are up to M lists of CCs that are configured by RRC signaling; [0179], [0187], and [Fig. 14] step 1402 the UE receives configuration information including the list of CCs (set of lists), which is one of the M lists of CCs that are configured by higher layer (RRC) signaling);
receive a signal indicating transmission configuration indicator states (TCI-states) for a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) to transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein each list including one or more component carriers (CCs) on which the plurality of TRPs are configured on the apparatus, ([0042] base station can comprise a collection of transmit-receive points TRPs (plurality of TRPs); [0180], and [Fig. 14] UE receives an activation command (signal received) via MAC-CE to activate N TCI states for the list of CCs (indicating a plurality of CCs and corresponding TCI states for the CCs)),
receive the PDSCH according to the indicated TCI-states from the TRPs ([0184]-[0185] and [Fig. 14] the UE receives PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC in the list of CCs based on the TCI state (according to one of the corresponding TCI states); [0042] base station can comprise a collection of transmit-receive points TRPs (plurality of TRPs)).
Rahman does not explicitly teach wherein the signal comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the TCI-states is activated or deactivated; and
However, You does teach, wherein the signal comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the TCI-states is activated or deactivated ([0094]-[0096], and [Fig. 23] shows bitmap where bits are mapped to different values in a field of the MAC CE, where the field indicates the activation/deactivation status of the TCI state, and the TCI states activation/deactivation is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as is specified in Table 1; [0053], [0072]-[0073] and [Table 1] TCI states activation/deactivation is a value of logical channel identity LCID, which is in the MAC PDU subheader); and
Rahman and You are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TCI states. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahman to include the teachings of You where the TCI state activation/deactivation is indicated in a field of the MAC CE. The rationale behind this would be to save signaling overhead, provide better communication, and/or improve reliability ([0006] You).
Regarding claim 20, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 19, as is described above.
wherein the signal comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([0180] and [Fig. 14] UE receives a MAC CE command).
Regarding claim 21, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 19, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to receive a physical channel that comprises a downlink control information (DCI) comprising at least a first codepoint and a second codepoint and wherein the signal indicates a first plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the first codepoint and a second plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the second codepoint ([0184]-[0185] and [Fig. 14] the UE receives PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission; [0185] UE received a codepoint of the TCI field in DCI, where the TCI state IDs map to codepoints of a TCI field (codepoints corresponding to TCI states), value of N up to 8 (at least a first and second codepoint, multiple codepoints per TCI field); [0183] and [Fig. 14] UE receives a signal including list of CCs and a plurality of TCI states, which includes a TCI state ID; [0183] N TCI state IDs correspond to each CC; [0137] activation for the set of TCI state IDs for any cell groups).
Regarding claim 23, Rahman teaches
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising ([Fig. 3] UE 116):
memory ([0057] and [Fig. 3] UE comprises memory); and
one or more processors coupled with the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to ([0060] and [Fig. 3] UE comprises processor which executes OS stored on the memory):
receive a signal indicating transmission configuration indicator states (TCI-states) for a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) to transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0042] base station can comprise a collection of transmit-receive points TRPs (plurality of TRPs); [0180], and [Fig. 14] UE receives an activation command (signal received) via MAC-CE to activate N TCI states for the list of CCs (indicating a plurality of CCs and corresponding TCI states for the CCs)),
receive the PDSCH according to the indicated TCI-states from the TRPs ([0184]-[0185] and [Fig. 14] the UE receives PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC in the list of CCs based on the TCI state (according to one of the corresponding TCI states); [0042] base station can comprise a collection of transmit-receive points TRPs (plurality of TRPs)).
Rahman does not explicitly teach wherein the signal comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the TCI-states is activated or deactivated; and
However, You does teach wherein the signal comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the TCI-states is activated or deactivated ([0094]-[0096], and [Fig. 23] shows bitmap where bits are mapped to different values in a field of the MAC CE, where the field indicates the activation/deactivation status of the TCI state, and the TCI states activation/deactivation is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as is specified in Table 1; [0053], [0072]-[0073] and [Table 1] TCI states activation/deactivation is a value of logical channel identity LCID, which is in the MAC PDU subheader); and
Rahman and You are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TCI states. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahman to include the teachings of You where the TCI state activation/deactivation is indicated in a field of the MAC CE. The rationale behind this would be to save signaling overhead, provide better communication, and/or improve reliability ([0006] You).
Regarding claim 24, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 23, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to receive a physical channel that comprises a downlink control information (DCI) comprising at least a first codepoint and a second codepoint and wherein the signal indicates a first plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the first codepoint and a second plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the second codepoint ([0184]-[0185] and [Fig. 14] the UE receives PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission; [0185] UE received a codepoint of the TCI field in DCI, where the TCI state IDs map to codepoints of a TCI field (codepoints corresponding to TCI states), value of N up to 8 (at least a first and second codepoint, multiple codepoints per TCI field); [0183] and [Fig. 14] UE receives a signal including list of CCs and a plurality of TCI states, which includes a TCI state ID; [0183] N TCI state IDs correspond to each CC; [0137] activation for the set of TCI state IDs for any cell groups).
Regarding claim 25, Rahman teaches
An apparatus for wireless communications performed, comprising ([Fig. 2] base station 102):
memory ([0047] and [Fig. 2] base station comprises memory); and
one or more processors coupled with the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to ([0052] and [Fig. 2] base station comprises processor which executes OS stored on the memory):
transmit, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a set of lists ([0143] there are up to M lists of CCs that are configured by RRC signaling; [0189], [0198], and [Fig. 15] step 1506 the base station sends configuration information including the list of CCs (set of lists), which is one of the M lists of CCs that are configured by higher layer (RRC) signaling);
transmit a signal indicating transmission configuration indicator states (TCI- states) for a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) to transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein each list including one or more component carriers (CCs) on which the TRPs are configured on a user equipment (UE) that is intended to receive the PDSCH ([0190], [0192], and [Fig. 15] base station generates and transmits activation command via MAC-CE to activate N TCI states for the list of CCs (indicating a plurality of CCs and corresponding TCI states for the CCs); [0042] base station can comprise a collection of transmit-receive points TRPs (plurality of TRPs)),
transmit the PDSCH according to the indicated TCI-states via the TRPs ([0195]-[0196] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC in the list of CCs based on the TCI state (according to one of the corresponding TCI states); [0042] base station can comprise a collection of transmit-receive points TRPs (plurality of TRPs)).
Rahman does not explicitly teach wherein the signal includes a bitmap, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the TCI-states is activated or deactivated; and
However, You does teach wherein the signal includes a bitmap, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the TCI-states is activated or deactivated ([0094]-[0096], and [Fig. 23] shows bitmap where bits are mapped to different values in a field of the MAC CE, where the field indicates the activation/deactivation status of the TCI state, and the TCI states activation/deactivation is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as is specified in Table 1; [0053], [0072]-[0073] and [Table 1] TCI states activation/deactivation is a value of logical channel identity LCID, which is in the MAC PDU subheader); and
Rahman and You are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TCI states. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahman to include the teachings of You where the TCI state activation/deactivation is indicated in a field of the MAC CE. The rationale behind this would be to save signaling overhead, provide better communication, and/or improve reliability ([0006] You).
Regarding claim 26, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 25, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the signal comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([0192] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits the activation command via MAC-CE).
Regarding claim 27, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 25, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the memory and the processor are further configured to transmit a physical channel that comprises a downlink control information (DCI) comprising at least a first codepoint and a second codepoint and wherein the signal indicates a first plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the first codepoint and a second plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the second codepoint ([0195]-[0196] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission; [0196] base station transmits a codepoint of the TCI field in DCI, where the TCI state IDs map to codepoints of a TCI field (codepoints corresponding to TCI states), value of N up to 8 (at least a first and second codepoint, multiple codepoints per TCI field); [0189], [0191], and [Fig. 15] base station transmits a signal including list of CCs and a plurality of TCI states, which includes a TCI state ID; [0137] activation for the set of TCI state IDs for any cell groups).
Regarding claim 29, Rahman teaches
An apparatus for wireless communications performed, comprising ([Fig. 2] base station 102):
memory ([0047] and [Fig. 2] base station comprises memory); and
one or more processors coupled with the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to ([0052] and [Fig. 2] base station comprises processor which executes OS stored on the memory):
transmit a signal indicating transmission configuration indicator states (TCI- states) for a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) to transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0190], [0192], and [Fig. 15] base station generates and transmits activation command via MAC-CE to activate N TCI states for the list of CCs (indicating a plurality of CCs and corresponding TCI states for the CCs); [0042] base station can comprise a collection of transmit-receive points TRPs (plurality of TRPs)),
transmit the PDSCH according to the indicated TCI-states via the TRPs ([0195]-[0196] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission for the CC in the list of CCs based on the TCI state (according to one of the corresponding TCI states); [0042] base station can comprise a collection of transmit-receive points TRPs (plurality of TRPs)).
Rahman does not explicitly teach wherein the signal includes a bitmap, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the TCI-states is activated or deactivated; and
However, You does teach wherein the signal includes a bitmap, and wherein each bit in the bitmap indicates whether a respective TCI-state of the TCI-states is activated or deactivated ([0094]-[0096], and [Fig. 23] shows bitmap where bits are mapped to different values in a field of the MAC CE, where the field indicates the activation/deactivation status of the TCI state, and the TCI states activation/deactivation is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as is specified in Table 1; [0053], [0072]-[0073] and [Table 1] TCI states activation/deactivation is a value of logical channel identity LCID, which is in the MAC PDU subheader); and
Rahman and You are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TCI states. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahman to include the teachings of You where the TCI state activation/deactivation is indicated in a field of the MAC CE. The rationale behind this would be to save signaling overhead, provide better communication, and/or improve reliability ([0006] You).
Regarding claim 30, Rahman modified by You teaches The apparatus of claim 29, as is described above.
Rahman further teaches wherein the memory and the processor are further configured to transmit a physical channel that comprises a downlink control information (DCI) comprising at least a first codepoint and a second codepoint and wherein the signal indicates a first plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the first codepoint and a second plurality of activated TCI-states corresponding to the second codepoint ([0195]-[0196] and [Fig. 15] the base station transmits PDCCH or PDSCH in the DL transmission; [0196] base station transmits a codepoint of the TCI field in DCI, where the TCI state IDs map to codepoints of a TCI field (codepoints corresponding to TCI states), value of N up to 8 (at least a first and second codepoint, multiple codepoints per TCI field); [0189], [0191], and [Fig. 15] base station transmits a signal including list of CCs and a plurality of TCI states, which includes a TCI state ID; [0137] activation for the set of TCI state IDs for any cell groups).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478