DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on April 2nd, 2026:
Claims 1-13 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 7, 9, and 13 have been amended.
The previous objection to the claims has been overcome in light of the amendment.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Remarks on April 2nd, 2026 with respect to Claims 1-13 are based on the claims as amended. While Applicant’s arguments are acknowledged, they are found to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, presented below, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the Claims.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Prior Art
Previously cited Kim US PG Publication 2015/0243953 (“Kim”)
Previously cited Fu CN111211279 (“Fu”)
Lee US PG Publication 2008/0152997 (“Lee”)
Previously cited Zeng US PG Publication 2020/0044234 (“Zeng”)
Previously cited Joo US PG Publication 2018/0337379 (“Joo”)
Previously cited Hiroshi JP2015210944 (“Hiroshi”) **cited in IDS received on April 15th, 2022
Previously cited Kwon US PG Publication 2016/0099456 (“Kwon”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2015/0243953 in view of Fu CN111211279 (machine translation provided, for purposes of examination US PG Publication 2020/0168872 is cited throughout) and Lee US PG Publication 2008/0152297.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a secondary battery ([0006], entire disclosure dependent upon) comprising:
an electrode assembly 120 comprising a negative electrode plate 122 (first electrode plate) comprising a negative electrode tab 125 (first electrode tab) that has a non-coating portion 122b (non-coated portion) of the first electrode plate 122 that protrudes in one direction (Fig. 8, [0064]-[0065]),
a positive electrode plate 121 (second electrode plate), and
a separator 123 between the first electrode plate 122 and the second electrode plate 121 ([0006], [0064]-[0065]),
a case 130 in which the electrode assembly 120 is received (Fig. 2, Abstract, [0036]);
a cap plate 133 for sealing an upper end portion of the case 130 (Fig. 2, [0040]); and
a negative electrode pin 134 in combination with the first electrode tab 125 (first terminal part) electrically connected to the first electrode plate 122, the first terminal part 134/125 being exposed to an outside of the cap plate 133 (Fig. 2, [0040], [0055]),
While Kim does not explicitly disclose a coating layer disposed on the surface of the separator 123, Kim does teach a coating layer 118 formed by coating the surface of a separator with a heat-resistant material such as a heat-resistant ceramic in order to improve the stability of a separator ([0012]-[0013], [0059]).
Further, Fu discloses a separator for a lithium ion battery (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon).
Fu teaches disposing the separator on the outmost surface of the electrode assembly such that when the battery is subject to force, the outermost separator is the first part of the electrode assembly subjected to force, thereby providing timely protection ([0049]), and that it is beneficial to include at least one coating layer on the separator that comprises temperature resistant materials such as polyimide in order to achieve a high thermal stability (Fig. 1-3, [0019], [0042]-[0044]).
Additionally, Lee discloses a lithium rechargeable battery comprising an electrode assembly including a cathode plate, an anode plate, and a separator (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon).
Lee teaches disposing an outer layer of the separator on an outer portion of the electrode assembly and coated with an insulation tape formed by a polymer material that coats the outer layer of the separator ([0010]-[0015]) and prevents heat generation ([0029]) in order to prevent the cathode plate and the anode plate from directly contacting the inner circumference of the can ([0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the secondary battery of Kim such that an outermost portion of the separator is positioned at an outermost part of the electrode assembly in order to prevent contact between the electrode plates and the battery casing, as taught by Lee; and such that a coating layer comprising a heat-resistant polymer material, such as polyimide, is coated on a surface of the outermost portion of the separator that is an exterior surface of the electrode assembly in order to achieve a high thermal stability, as taught by Fu, prevent heat generation, as taught by Lee, and improve the thermal stability, as taught by Kim.
Regarding Claim 11, Kim in view of Fu and Lee teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 1, and Kim discloses wherein the separator 123 is a porous film (i.e. sheet) including at least one selected from the group consisting of polyurethane (PO) ([0008], [0023], [0050]) (which meets the claim limitation of polystyrene (PS), polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdF), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyurethane (PU), polymethyl pentene (PMP), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polycarbonate (PC), polyester, polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyacrylonitrile (PAN), silicon acrylic rubber, ethylene-methyl acrylate copolymer, polymethylene oxide (PMO), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polyethylene oxide (PEO), polyamide (PA), polyamideimide (PAI), Polysulfone (PSF), polyethylsulfone (PES), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyarylate (PAR), polyimide (PI), polyaramid (PA), cellulose, modified cellulose, a melamine-based resin, and a phenol-based resin).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim in view of Fu and Lee teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 1, and (as previously disclosed in the rejection of Claim 1) Kim in view of Fu and Lee discloses wherein the coating layer is a single substance selected from the group consisting of polyimide (Fu [0019]) (which meets the claim limitation of a single substance or a mixture of two or more selected from the group consisting of polyimide, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT), polyamideimide (PAI), perfluoroalkoxy (PFA), Polysulfone (PSF), polyarylsulfone (PAS), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP), ethylene tetrafluoroethylene (ETFE), and polyethylene naphthalene (PEN)).
The skilled artisan would recognize that the polyimide of Kim in view of Fu and Lee is a liquid polymer material having strong heat resistance (as evidenced by Applicant’s own PG Publication paragraph [0042]).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim in view of Fu and Lee teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 1, and (as previously disclosed in the rejection of Claim 1) Kim in view of Fu and Lee discloses wherein the coating layer is coated on an exterior surface of the outermost portion of the separator (not on an inner portion of the separator that is within the electrode assembly) (Lee [0010]-[0015], [0029]).
Claims 2-4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2015/0243953 in view of Fu CN111211279 and Lee US PG Publication 2008/0152297, as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Zeng US PG Publication 2020/0044234.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim in view of Fu and Lee teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 1, and Kim discloses wherein the electrode assembly 120 has a jelly roll shape that is formed by winding a stack of the first electrode plate 122, the separator 123, and the second electrode plate 121 (Fig. 8, [0064]-[0066]), and a second electrode tab 121b/124 that is a non-coated portion of the second electrode plate 121 (Fig. 9, [0065]).
While Kim discloses that a coating portion of each of the first and second electrode plates (i.e. coating portions 121a and 122a) are opposite to one another ([0065]), Kim in view of Fu and Lee fails to disclose wherein the second electrode tab protrudes in the other direction opposite to the first electrode tab.
However, Zeng discloses an electrode assembly (Abstract) comprising a first electrode 100 with a first electrode tab 110 with an uncoated portion 102 and a second electrode 120 with a second electrode tab 130 with an uncoated portion 122 (Fig. 1C, [0030]-[0033]).
Zeng teaches disposing the first electrode tab 110 opposite the second electrode tab 130 in the other direction of a first surface of the second electrode 120 in order to avoid directly stacking the electrode tabs so as to reduce the overall thickness and volume of the electrode assembly thereby improving the battery energy density (Fig. 1C, [0033], [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the secondary battery of Kim in view of Fu and Lee such that the second electrode tab that is a non-coated portion of the second electrode plate protrudes in the other direction opposite to the first electrode tab against the surface of the second electrode plate in order to avoid directly stacking the first and second electrode tabs so as to reduce the overall thickness and volume of the electrode assembly thereby improving the battery energy density, as taught by Zeng.
Regarding Claim 3, Kim in view of Fu and Lee teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 1, and Kim discloses wherein the electrode assembly 120 is in a stack form in which the first electrode plate 122, the separator 123, and the second electrode plate 121 are sequentially stacked (Fig. 8, [0064]-[0066]), and a second electrode tab 121b/124 that is a non-coated portion of the second electrode plate 121 (Fig. 9, [0065]).
While Kim discloses that a coating portion of each of the first and second electrode plates (i.e. coating portions 121a and 122a) are opposite to one another ([0065]), Kim in view of Fu and Lee fails to disclose wherein the second electrode tab protrudes in the other direction opposite to the first electrode tab.
However, Zeng discloses an electrode assembly (Abstract) comprising a first electrode 100 with a first electrode tab 110 with an uncoated portion 102 and a second electrode 120 with a second electrode tab 130 with an uncoated portion 122 (Fig. 1C, [0030]-[0033]).
Zeng teaches disposing the first electrode tab 110 opposite the second electrode tab 130 in the other direction of a first surface of the second electrode 120 in order to avoid directly stacking the electrode tabs so as to reduce the overall thickness and volume of the electrode assembly thereby improving the battery energy density (Fig. 1C, [0033], [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the secondary battery of Kim in view of Fu and Lee such that the second electrode tab that is a non-coated portion of the second electrode plate protrudes in the other direction opposite to the first electrode tab against the surface of the second electrode plate in order to avoid directly stacking the first and second electrode tabs so as to reduce the overall thickness and volume of the electrode assembly thereby improving the battery energy density, as taught by Zeng.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 2, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Kim in view of Fu and Lee discloses wherein the coating layer is coated on an all of the exterior surfaces of the outermost portion of the separator (Lee [0010]-[0015], [0029]).
Further, Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng discloses wherein the first electrode tab 122b/125 and the second electrode tab 121b/124 protrude from the coating layer 118 attached to both sides of the separator 123 in the longitudinal direction of the electrode assembly 120, respectively (Kim Figs. 8-9, [0064]-[0065] and Zeng Fig, 1C, [0030]-[0033], [0037]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 2, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng discloses wherein the coating layer is coated on an all of the exterior surfaces of the outermost portion of the separator which would include the surface of the separator disposed along the long side of the electrode assembly (Lee [0010]-[0015], [0029]).
Further, Kim discloses wherein the separator 123 is exposed to the outside of the electrode assembly 120 through upper and lower surfaces of the electrode assembly 123 ([0064]-[0065]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 3, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng discloses wherein the coating layer is coated to cover the outermost surfaces of the separator (Lee [0010]-[0015], [0029]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2015/0243953 in view of Fu CN111211279, Lee US PG Publication 2008/0152297, and Zeng US PG Publication 2020/0044234, as applied to Claim 4, further in view of Joo US PG Publication 2018/0337379.
Regarding Claim 5, Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 4.
Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng fails to disclose wherein the coating layer is formed such that a plurality of holes are arranged in a dot array or matrix form, and the separator is exposed to the outside through the plurality of holes.
However, Joo discloses a separator for a battery ([0004]). Joo teaches coating the separator in a porous film ([0007], [0020]) wherein the porous film is a ceramic coating having a continuous matrix ([0020]) with a pattern of pores ([0061]) in order to allow the electrolyte to infiltrate the pores ([0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the secondary battery of Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng such that the coating layer is formed such that a plurality of holes, such as pores, are arranged in a matrix form in order to allow an electrolyte to infiltrate through the pores, as taught by Joo.
The skilled artisan would recognize that if the coating layer of Kim in view of Fu, Lee, Zeng, and Joo separates the separator from the outside, then holes in the separator would allow the separator to be exposed to the outside through the plurality of holes of the coating layer.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2015/0243953 in view of Fu CN111211279, Lee US PG Publication 2008/0152297, and Zeng US PG Publication 2020/0044234, as applied to Claim 6, further in view of Joo US PG Publication 2018/0337379.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 6.
Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng fails to disclose wherein the coating layer is formed such that a plurality of holes are arranged in a dot array or matrix form, and the separator is exposed to the outside through the plurality of holes.
However, Joo discloses a separator for a battery ([0004]). Joo teaches coating the separator in a porous film ([0007], [0020]) wherein the porous film is a ceramic coating having a continuous matrix ([0020]) with a pattern of pores ([0061]) in order to allow the electrolyte to infiltrate the pores ([0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the secondary battery of Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng such that the coating layer is formed such that a plurality of holes, such as pores, are arranged in a matrix form in order to allow an electrolyte to infiltrate through the pores, as taught by Joo.
The skilled artisan would recognize that if the coating layer of Kim in view of Fu, Lee, Zeng, and Joo separates the separator from the outside, then holes in the separator would allow the separator to be exposed to the outside through the plurality of holes of the coating layer.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2015/0243953 in view of Fu CN111211279, Lee US PG Publication 2008/0152297, and Zeng US PG Publication 2020/0044234, as applied to Claim 2, further in view of Hiroshi JP2015210944 (machine translation provided in a previous office action).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 2.
While Kim discloses the first and second terminal parts 125/134, 124/134 connected to the cap plate 133 ([0040]), Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng fails to disclose a first and second current collector plate.
However, Hiroshi discloses a secondary battery ([0001], [0007]) comprising a wound electrode body comprising a separator interposed between a positive electrode and a negative electrode ([0008]).
Hiroshi teaches a positive electrode current collector 180 and a negative electrode current collector 190 that are respectively joined to the positive and negative electrodes via a positive electrode foil 34c and a negative electrode foil 32c via ultrasonic welding inside a battery can 1 such that the wound group can fit within the battery can 1 allowing the insulating protective sheet to electrically insulate the battery can 1 ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the secondary battery of Kim in view of Fu, Lee, and Zeng such that the first electrode tab is connected to a first current collector plate accommodated inside the case at the first terminal part, and the second electrode tab is connected to a second current collector plate accommodated inside the case at the second terminal part exposed to the outside of the cap plate in order to allow the electrode assembly to fit within the case and thereby allow the heat resistant coating layer to protect the contents within the case, as taught by Hiroshi.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2015/0243953 in view of Fu CN111211279, Lee US PG Publication 2008/0152297, Zeng US PG Publication 2020/0044234, and Hiroshi JP2015210944, as applied to Claim 9, further in view of Kwon US PG Publication 2016/0099456.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim in view of Fu, Lee, Zeng, and Hiroshi teaches the instantly claimed secondary battery according to Claim 9.
Kim in view of Fu, Lee, Zeng, and Hiroshi fails to disclose wherein the coating layer is coated to cover a fixing tape for fixing the outermost separator to the outermost surface of the electrode assembly, and the first and second current collector plates.
However, Kwon discloses an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator interposed between ([0009]) and wherein each electrode plate comprises a current collector ([0010]). Kwon teaches the use of a fixing member ([0047]) including tapes 21a, 21b, and 21c for fixing the wound electrode assembly by covering the entire area of the upper surfaces of the electrode assembly and bonded with the separator in order to effectively prevent direct electrical contact between the electrode plates by fixing the separator ([0117]-[0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the secondary battery of Kim in view of Fu, Lee, Zeng, and Hiroshi such that wherein the coating layer is coated to cover a fixing tape for fixing the outermost separator to the outermost surface of the electrode assembly, and the first and second current collector plates in order to effectively prevent direct electrical contact between the electrode plates by fixing the separator, as taught by Kwon.
Conclusion
/O.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729