DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-11, 13-15 remain pending.
The previous 35 USC 112 rejection of claim 12 is withdrawn due to the amendment cancelling the claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOI (US 2004/0029265) in view of in view of WANTABE (JP 2005229843) as supplied by applicant on the IDS dated 4/18/22, rejections based on the translation document, further in view of BENJES (US 4311593) (newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, DOI discloses a cell culture case (cell culture device) comprising:
A vessel 7 (cell culture part) which includes cell proliferation space 8 (accommodation space) in which a plurality of cell substrates 1 (support bodies for cell culture) are disposed (Fig 1, 0053);
A cell culture circuit 9 (culture medium supply part) which has a culture liquid tank 14 with 10L of medium (configured to store a predetermined amount of culture medium for supply), and communicates with a filter 16 (gas supply port) that uses a gas exchanger for adjusting the concentration of a carbon dioxide gas to 5% (use carbon dioxide from outside) in the culture liquid in the circuit (keep carbon dioxide concentration of medium stored therein constant) (Fig 2, 0054, 0058);
a pump 13 that supplies the culture liquid and connects the circuit 9 and culture liquid tank 14 to circulate medium (0054, 0058, Fig 2).
DOI discloses the culture liquid tank includes a housing with an inner space that stores 10L of medium (store a predetermined amount of culture medium), recovery and discharge ports to supply and recover the culture medium in which one port is nearer the bottom surface of the culture liquid tank than the other (0053-54, 0058, fig 2), but does not explicitly disclose which port is used for recovery and which for discharge.
However, WANTABE discloses a culture apparatus comprising a culture chamber 8 (cell culture part), a culture solution tank 10 (medium supply part) that are connected by a pump 14, in which the culture solution tank 10 has recovery and discharge lines with openings (ports) (on lines with parts 12, 14 respectively) to supply and recover the culture medium, and the discharge part (line with pump 14) is formed at a position closer to the bottom surface of the culture liquid tank than the recovery port (line with 12) (0053-54, 0058, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of DOI to include the liquid tank port arrangement with the discharge line being nearer the bottom than the recovery port as taught by WANTABE because it allows for supply to the culture chamber to continue even when the medium level in the tank drops, thereby assuring the cells being cultured receive enough medium to survive. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to arrange the ports as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
DOI and WANTABE do not explicitly disclose the medium housing having a partition wall that protrudes from the bottom surface to divide the storage space as claimed.
However, BENJES discloses a process for treating waste water comprising a digester 2 (culture system) having multiple recirculation loops including an outflow device 70 (medium housing) having an enclosed shape including a liquid trap 71 (at least one partition wall) protruding from a bottom surface such that one end is connected to an inner surface of the device while the other end is separated apart from the inner surface creating a communication path, and the device (storage space) is divided into a recovery space connected to the inlet 72 and supply space connected to the outlet 75 which leads to a recirculation loop or waste (Fig 1, 5, 6, Col. 6, lines 42-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the culture solution storing part of KIM and MATSUDA to include the partition wall as taught by BENJES because it would allow for separation of the fluids withdrawn from the culture device based on gravity such that the desired portion can be recirculated while the undesired portion is sent to waste.
Regarding claim 5, DOI discloses the vessel 7 (culture part formed in shape of vessel), the plurality of cell substrates 1, are disposed in multiple stages at predetermined intervals in the vessel space and have the shape of a plate with a predetermined area (Fig 1, 0057), and connection ports 3a, 3b, 4a, 4b for allowing medium circulated to enter and exit (inlet, outlet) (0053-54, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, DOI discloses partitions 6a and 6b (two guide members) inserted into the space at either end so that they face each other and they have slot grooves as recesses in the longitudinal direction so that the ends of the substrates are fitted onto the partitions facing each other (Fig 1, 0053, 0057).
Regarding claim 7, DOI discloses the culture liquid tank as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose a gas supply port provided in the medium housing or the inner space of the tank being divided into two spaces.
However, WANTABE discloses a gas partial pressure regulator for a culture device comprising a culture solution tank or gas regulator with water (culture medium housing) with an inner space, a recovery port, and discharge port, and a conduit with filter (gas supply port) which is provided in the tank (housing) to allow carbon dioxide supplied from outside the tank to enter (Fig 2, 4, 0002-0003, 0011, 0028-29); in which the gas regulator is divided into a lower liquid containing portion (first space) and an upper gas, including carbon dioxide, portion (second space) and there is a port connected to the outside from the second space (Fig 4, 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of DOI to include the medium supply with gas supply port and inner space divided as taught by WANTABE because it allow for improved efficiency of culture, the amount of gas consumed can be reduces and it improves the controllability of the culture environment and reliability of the culture (0022-24).
Regarding claim 8-9, WANTABE discloses it was known to include a filter (0007) or a gas permeable tube (filter member is gas permeable film member) disposed in the second space and spaced apart from the culture medium (0029, Fig 2, 4).
Regarding claim 10, WANTABE discloses a carbon dioxide sensor to determine the CO2 concentration in the second space (0033-34, 0046).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOI (US 2004/0029265) in view of in view of WANTABE (JP 2005229843) and BENJES (US 4311593) (newly cited) as applied above, further in view of JOHNSON (US 2015/0056703).
Regarding claim 2-3, DOI discloses the plurality of cell substrates 1 (support bodies for cell culture) (Fig 1, 0053) are fiber bundles (0057) but does not disclose the support body includes a plate shaped nanofiber membrane coated with a protein motif or the nanofiber membrane with a support member attached to one surface through an adhesive layer.
However, JOHNSON discloses fiber scaffolds (nanofiber membrane) coated with at least one compound to promote cellular attachment including proteins (coated with protein motif) (0024), the scaffolds can be various shapes such as a sheet (plate shaped) (Fig 2), that can be placed in a bioreactor (supporter) for cell culture, the fiber structure attached to the bioreactor (supporter) walls (support member) on one side using an adhesive (0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cell substrates of DOI to include the plate shaped coated nano-fiber scaffolds adhered to a wall as taught by JOHNSON because it provides an improved substrate that allows for the desired growth of large numbers of usable adherent cells while allowing the cells to be harvested efficiently (0002-3, 0024, 0027-29).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOI (US 2004/0029265) in view of in view of WANTABE (JP 2005229843) and BENJES (US 4311593) (newly cited) as applied above, further in view of in view of UBUKATA (US 20180201891).
Regarding claim 4, DOI discloses the plurality of cell substrates 1 (support bodies for cell culture) (Fig 1, 0053) are fiber bundles (0057) but does not disclose the support body is a plasma treated plate shaped film member.
However, UBUKATA discloses a cell holding container (supporter) with a sheet or plate shaped elastic body capable of stretch (plate shaped film member) with a cell contacting face (Fig 1, 6, 0053, 0076) that is adherent to cells due to a plasma treatment (0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cell substrates of DOI to include the plasma treated cell holding plate shaped film member as taught by UBUKATA because it allows for observation of the cells, is thin enough to reversibly deform into a predetermined shape to improve visibility of cells as need and no air bubbles are mixed into the cells (0030-32).
Claim(s) 11, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOI (US 2004/0029265) in view of in view of WANTABE (JP 2005229843) and BENJES (US 4311593) (newly cited) as applied above, and further in view of HUGH (US 6117687) as cited by applicant on the IDS dated 4/18/22.
Regarding claim 11, DOI and WANTABE do not explicitly disclose a circulation fan configured to circulate the carbon dioxide gas. However, HUGH discloses a control atmosphere incubator in which a fan is provided to circulate air within the incubator and control gas flow of carbon dioxide (Col. 10, lines 17-21, Col. 12, lines 46-59). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of DOI to include the fan for circulation as taught by HUGH because it would allow for better control over air flow and help maintain more even gas concentrations within the space. Further, it involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13-15, constant temperature maintenance means is interpreted under 35 USC 112f (see above) to be a heating jacket as recited in the Specification and dependent claim 15. DOI does not explicitly disclose a constant temperature maintenance means. However, HUGH discloses growing cell cultures in an incubator cabinet that operates at a specific temperature, the cabinet being heated by a surrounding water-jacket (constant temperature maintenance means is heating jacket) (Col. 1, lines 27-46, Col. 6, lines 66-Col. 7, line 20, Col. 10, lines 5-16, Fig 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of DOI to include the constant temperature maintenance heating jacket surrounding the cell culture part of HUGH because it maintains all interior surfaces at a constant temperature to prevent undesirable cold spots or condensation (Col. 1, lines 28-46).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 (including base claims 1, 15) of copending Application No. 17/293741 (reference application). The culture medium supply part including a partition with an end that is spaced apart from the inner side that divides the culture medium housing into two spaces and the ports located above/below one another elements amended into claim 1 of the present application are found in claim 16 (including base claims 1, 15) of the reference application. The difference lies in the fact that the reference application claim includes many more elements of the cell culture part structure and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 16 of the reference application is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claim # of the present application. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Circ. 1993).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined claims in this instant application are either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over the reference claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2308866 is cited as it represents the state of the art concerning media housing with partial dividers creating two compartments each connected to an inlet/outlet respectively.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799