DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the two of the cathode contact holes" in the 11th line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the cathode contact holes” in the last two lines of the claim. It is unclear whether it refers to “a corresponding one of cathode contact holes” in the third line of the claim, or “one of the cathode contact holes” in the 8th and 9th lines, or "the two of the cathode contact holes" in the 11th line of the claim.
Claims 5-8 are rejected because they depend on the rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2022/0020827 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. teach a display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a; [0275]), comprising a cathode (51; Fig. 14c, [0275]) and an auxiliary electrode (6; Fig. 14c, [0275]) arranged in a layer (81; Fig. 14c, [0277]) different from the cathode (51), wherein the auxiliary electrode (6) is electrically connected to the cathode (51) through a corresponding one of cathode contact holes (one of the Via3; Figs. 14a-c, [0277]), the display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a) further comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (R, G, B sub-pixels, i.e. red, green, blue sub-pixels; Fig. 14b, [0024, 0342]) arranged in an array (see Fig. 14b), an extension length of each of the sub-pixels (R, G, B, sub-pixels) along a first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) is less than an extension length of each of the sub-pixels (R, G, B, sub-pixels) along a second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below), and the second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) intersects the first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below); and wherein the sub-pixels (R, G, B sub-pixels) are arranged in a plurality of row sets (row sets each having three immediately adjacent rows of the sub-pixels), each of the row sets (each of the row sets having three immediately adjacent rows of the sub-pixels) comprises at least three adjacent rows of the sub-pixels (three immediately adjacent rows of the sub-pixels), one of the cathode contact holes (the Via3 at the center of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) is defined between adjacent two of the row sets of the sub-pixels (between two row sets having three immediately adjacent rows of the sub-pixels with the top row being the B sub-pixel row of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise) and extends along the second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below), outermost two of the sub-pixels of each of the row sets (the left B subpixel and the left G sub-pixels of each of the two row sets with the top row being the B sub-pixel row) are located adjacent to the two of the cathode contact holes (two of Via3 at the bottom edge and top edge of each of the row sets with the top row being the B sub-pixel row of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) respectively, and intervening one or more of the sub-pixels of each of the row sets (the left R subpixel of each of the two row sets with the top row being the B sub-pixel row) between and adjacent to the outermost two (the left B subpixel and the left G sub-pixels of each of the row sets) are located away from the cathode contact holes (at least the two of Via3 at the bottom edge and top edge of each of the row sets with the top row being the B sub-pixel row of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 14b of Liu et al. turning 90° counter-clockwise
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al. teach the display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a) according to claim 1, wherein each of the sub-pixels (R, G, B, sub-pixels) corresponds to one of the cathode contact holes (Via3; see Fig. 14b above).
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al. teach the display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a) according to claim 1, wherein the sub-pixels (R, G, B, sub-pixels) are red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels), green sub-pixels (G sub-pixels), or blue sub-pixels (B sub-pixels); the red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels), the green sub-pixels (G sub-pixels), and the blue sub-pixels (B sub-pixels) are repeatedly arranged in any combination as repeating units (units of a set of G/R/B sub-pixels); and each of the repeating units (units of a set of G/R/B sub-pixels) is correspondingly provided with one of the cathode contact holes (Via3; see Fig. 14b).
Regarding claim 7, Liu et al. teach the display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a) according to claim 6, wherein an extension length of each of the red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels) in the second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above), an extension length of each of the green sub-pixels (G sub-pixels) in the second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above), and an extension length of each of the blue sub-pixels (B sub-pixels) in the second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above) are all equal, and an extension length of each of the red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels) along the first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above) is greater than an extension length of each of the green sub-pixels (G sub-pixels) along the first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above), an extension length of each of the blue sub-pixels (B sub-pixels) along the first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above) is greater than the extension length of each of the red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels) along the first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above).
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al. teach the display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a) according to claim 7, wherein the cathode contact holes (Via3) are disposed between the red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels) and the green sub-pixels (G sub-pixels).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 03/09/2026, overcome the rejections to claims 1 and 5-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112. The rejections to claims 1 and 5-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu et al. (US 12396348 B2) teach a display substrate having cathode contact holes.
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 3/12/2026