DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the two cathode contact holes" in the 13th line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “each row set” in the last line of the claim. It is unclear whether it refers to “a plurality of row sets” in the 7th line of the claim. It is recommended to replace the limitation with “each of the row sets.”
Claims 5-8 are rejected because they depend on the rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2022/0020827 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. teach a display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a; [0275]), comprising a cathode (51; Fig. 14c, [0275]) and an auxiliary electrode (6; Fig. 14c, [0275]) arranged in a layer (81; Fig. 14c, [0277]) different from the cathode (51), wherein the auxiliary electrode (6) is electrically connected to the cathode (51) through a corresponding one of cathode contact holes (one of the topmost one, the center one and the bottommost one of Via3 in Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below; Figs. 14a-c, [0277]), the display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a) further comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (R, G, B sub-pixels, i.e. red, green, blue sub-pixels; Fig. 14b, [0024, 0342]) arranged in an array (see Fig. 14b), an extension length of each of the sub-pixels (R, G, B, sub-pixels) along a first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) is less than an extension length of each of the sub-pixels (R, G, B, sub-pixels) along a second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below), and the second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) intersects the first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below); wherein the sub-pixels (R, G, B sub-pixels) are arranged in a plurality of row sets (row sets each having the top B row, the middle R row and the bottom G row of the sub-pixels adjacent to each other of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below, and two row sets are explicitly shown in Fig. 14b below), each of the row sets (each of the two row sets of B/R/G rows in Fig. 14b below) comprises at least three adjacent rows of the sub-pixels (the top B row, the middle R row and the bottom G row of the sub-pixels, i.e. B/R/G rows; “adjacent” in the claims is interpreted as “immediately preceding or following with nothing similar intervening” based on https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/adjacent), one of the cathode contact holes (the Via3 at the center of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) is defined between adjacent two of the row sets of the sub-pixels (between two row sets of B/R/G rows in Fig. 14b shown below) and extends along the second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below), outermost two of the at least three adjacent rows of the sub-pixels of each of the row sets (the top B row and the bottom G row of each of the two row sets of B/R/G rows in Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) are located adjacent to two of the cathode contact holes (two of Via3 at the bottom edge and top edge of each of the row sets of B/R/G rows of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) respectively, and intervening one or more of the at least three adjacent rows of the sub-pixels of each of the row sets (the middle R row of each of the two row sets of B/R/G rows of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) between and adjacent to the outermost two (the top B row and the bottom G row of each of the row sets of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) are located away from the two cathode contact holes (two of Via3 at the bottom edge and top edge of each of the row sets of B/R/G rows of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) that are adjacent to the outermost two of the at least three adjacent rows (the top B row and the bottom G row of each of the two row sets of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below); and wherein none of the cathode contact holes (none of the topmost one, the center one and the bottommost one of Via3 in Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown below) is located among the at least three adjacent rows (B/R/G rows) of each row set (each of the two row sets shown in Fig. 14b below).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 14b of Liu et al. turning 90° counter-clockwise
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al. teach the display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a) according to claim 1, wherein each of the sub-pixels (R, G, B, sub-pixels) corresponds to one of the cathode contact holes (the topmost one, the center one and the bottommost one of Via3 in Fig. 14b as shown above; see Fig. 14b above).
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al. teach the display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a) according to claim 1, wherein the sub-pixels (R, G, B, sub-pixels) are red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels), green sub-pixels (G sub-pixels), or blue sub-pixels (B sub-pixels); the red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels), the green sub-pixels (G sub-pixels), and the blue sub-pixels (B sub-pixels) are repeatedly arranged in any combination as repeating units (units of a set of G/R/B sub-pixels); and each of the repeating units (units of a set of G/R/B sub-pixels) is correspondingly provided with one of the cathode contact holes (the topmost one, the center one and the bottommost one of Via3 in Fig. 14b as shown above; see Fig. 14b).
Regarding claim 7, Liu et al. teach the display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a) according to claim 6, wherein an extension length of each of the red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels) in the second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above), an extension length of each of the green sub-pixels (G sub-pixels) in the second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above), and an extension length of each of the blue sub-pixels (B sub-pixels) in the second direction (the horizontal direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above) are all equal, and an extension length of each of the red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels) along the first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above) is greater than an extension length of each of the green sub-pixels (G sub-pixels) along the first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above), an extension length of each of the blue sub-pixels (B sub-pixels) along the first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above) is greater than the extension length of each of the red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels) along the first direction (the vertical direction of Fig. 14b turning 90° counter-clockwise as shown above).
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al. teach the display panel (display substrate; Fig. 14a) according to claim 7, wherein the cathode contact holes (the topmost one, the center one and the bottommost one of Via3 in Fig. 14b as shown above) are disposed between the red sub-pixels (R sub-pixels) and the green sub-pixels (G sub-pixels; the center one of Via3 is disposed between the R sub-pixels and G sub-pixels).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 06/16/2026, overcome the rejections to claims 1 and 5-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112. The rejections to claims 1 and 5-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lu et al. (WO 2021190334 A1) teach a display substrate having an auxiliary cathode layer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 8/22/2026