DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the amendment filed on October 13, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claims 2 and 13-15 have been amended.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, , the controller, the processor, the memory, steering wheel, vehicle seat bolster, computer controller, games console controller and a surgical simulation instrument must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, the limitations: “comprising a controller communicatively coupled to the first taxel and the second taxel, and configured with instructions stored in non-transitory memory that when executed by a processor of the controller cause the controller to” found in claim 13 recites NEW MATTER.
With regard to this limitation the Specification and drawings are silent with regard to any mention of a processor or a memory storing instructions with regard to the controller, any coupling, or otherwise. Therefore, the specification and drawings do not provide a written description supporting this limitation.
As a result, the amended claim 13 contains subject matter which lacks adequate written description, and for at least these reasons, claim 13 is found to fail the written description requirement.
Claims 14 and 15 depend from a rejected base claim, and therefore also lack written description based on their dependency.
As a result, claims 13-15 contain subject matter which lacks adequate written description, and for at least these reasons, claims 13-15 are found to fail the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2018/0253147 by Sodemann et al. (“Sodemann”).
In re claim 1, Sodemann discloses an apparatus comprising: a solenoid having a first electrical input signal at a first frequency and a second electrical input signal at a second frequency [Fig. 2 #220, ¶¶29, 51-53, among others, describe exciting magnet and coil to provide a plurality of different frequencies]; a first taxel, comprising a magnetic portion, located above an end of the solenoid, wherein the first taxel has a first mechanical resonance frequency such that applying the first electrical input signal to the solenoid causes the first taxel to vibrate [Figs. 1, 2, ## 10, 20, 30, 230, ¶¶4-7,27, 35, among others, describe pins 10-30 (taxels) located above 220. Each pin may have a slightly different length, cross-sectional area, and cross-sectional shape, so that each pin has a different resonant frequency. The pins may be fashioned of stainless steel. Table 2 indicates a density of 7800 kg/m3 which corresponds to 400 series which is Ferromagnetic, which means the end of the pin includes a magnetic portion]; a second taxel, comprising a magnetic portion located above the end of the solenoid, wherein the second taxel has a second mechanical resonance frequency, different from the first mechanical resonance frequency, such that applying the second electrical input signal to the solenoid causes the second taxel to vibrate [Figs. 1, 2, ## 10, 20, 30, 230, ¶¶4-7,27, 35, among others, describe pins 10-30 (taxels) located above 220. Each pin may have a slightly different length, cross-sectional area, and cross-sectional shape, so that each pin has a different resonant frequency. The pins may be fashioned of stainless steel. Table 2 indicates a density of 7800 kg/m3 which corresponds to 400 series stainless steel which is Ferromagnetic, which means the end of the pin includes a magnetic portion].
In re claim 2, Sodemann discloses wherein the first and second taxels each comprise a cantilever beam attached to a frame at an attached end, wherein the magnetic portion is located at an unattached end of the cantilever beam [Figs. 1, 2, ## 10, 20, 30, 230, ¶¶23, 35, among others, Table 2, describe pins 10-30 (taxels) attached to base 40 (frame) are cantilever beams. The pins may be fashioned of stainless steel. Table 2 indicates a density of 7800 kg/m3 which corresponds to 400 series stainless steel which is Ferromagnetic, which means the end of the pin includes a magnetic portion].
In re claim 3, Sodemann discloses wherein the first taxel cantilever beam and the second taxel cantilever beam each have different dimensions [¶¶23, among others, describe pins, which function similar to beams, each with a slightly different length, cross-sectional area, and cross-sectional shape, so that each pin has a different resonant frequency].
In re claim 4, Sodemann discloses wherein the first taxel cantilever beam and the second taxel cantilever beam each have different widths [¶¶23, among others, describe varying the cross-section area (width)].
In re claim 5, Sodemann discloses wherein the first taxel cantilever beam and the second taxel cantilever beam each have different masses located at their unattached ends [¶¶23, among others, describe pins, which function similar to beams, each with a slightly different length, cross-sectional area, and cross-sectional shape, as such the mass of the end of each pin with vary].
In re claim 6, Sodemann discloses the first taxel cantilever beam comprises a different material from the second taxel cantilever beam [¶27, among others, describes varying the material used to fabricate the pins to have different resonant frequencies].
In re claim 7, Sodemann discloses the first and second taxels are attached to a single frame [Figs. 1, 2, show pins ##10, 20, 30, 230, attached to single base (frame) 40].
In re claim 8, Sodemann discloses the first and second taxels and the frame are formed by 3D printing techniques [¶¶34, 48, among others, describe 3D printing to form the elements].
In re claim 9, Sodemann discloses a soft ferromagnet [¶¶34, Table 2 describe stainless steel of series 400 which is soft ferromagnetic material].
In re claim 10, Sodemann discloses the first and second taxels each comprise a tactile protrusion arranged to be touchable by a user of the apparatus [¶¶23, 24, among others, describe pins have end which is touched by user for tactile display].
In re claim 11, Sodemann discloses wherein the solenoid has a third electrical input signal at a third frequency; the apparatus further comprising a third taxel, comprising a magnetic portion, located at an end of the solenoid, wherein the third taxel has a third mechanical resonance frequency, different from the first and second mechanical resonance frequencies, such that applying the third electrical input signal to the solenoid causes the third taxel to vibrate [Figs. 1, 2, ## 10, 20, 30, 230, ¶¶4-7,27-29, 35, among others, describe 3 pins, having different resonant frequencies, therefore, microcontroller 210 which varies signal to the coil to create different resonant frequencies to control the haptic display must have at least three signals].
In re claim 12, Sodemann discloses the solenoid has a fourth electrical input signal at a fourth frequency; the apparatus further comprising a fourth taxel, comprising a magnetic portion located above the end of the solenoid, wherein the fourth taxel has a fourth mechanical resonance frequency, different from the first, second and third mechanical resonance frequencies, such that applying the fourth electrical input signal to the solenoid causes the fourth taxel to vibrate [Figs. 1, 2, ## 10, 20, 30, 230, ¶¶4-7,27-29, 35, among others, describe 4 pins, having different resonant frequencies, therefore, microcontroller 210 which varies signal to the coil to create different resonant frequencies to control the haptic display must have at least four signals].
In re claim 13, Sodemann discloses a communicatively coupled to the first taxel and the second taxel, and configured with instructions stored in non-transitory memory that when executed by a processor of the controller cause the controller to apply the first electrical input signal to the solenoid to vibrate the first taxel, and/or apply the second electrical input signal to the solenoid to vibrate the second taxel, and apply the first and second frequencies to vibrate the first taxel and the second taxel, either simultaneously or individually [Fig. 2, shows microcontroller #210 ¶¶27-30, describe microcontroller1 210 which varies signal to create different resonant frequencies to control the plurality of pins in the haptic display].
In re claim 14, Sodemann discloses the controller to control an amplitude of the first and/or second electrical input signal in order to control a vibration amplitude of the first and/or second taxel [Figs. 2 and 7, ¶¶27-30, 59, among others, describe microcontroller 210 which varies signal to create different resonant frequencies to control the haptic display to produce many frequencies at varying amplitudes simultaneously].
In re claim 15, Sodemann discloses wherein the controller is suitable to control the first and second electrical input signals to each have a relatively higher amplitude when both the first and second electrical input signals are applied to the solenoid simultaneously and is to control the first and second electrical input signals to each have a relatively lower amplitude when the first and second electrical input signals are applied to the solenoid individually [Fig. 2, shows microcontroller #210 ¶¶8, 24, 27-30, describe microcontroller 210 which varies signal to create different resonant frequencies to control the haptic display to produce many frequencies at varying amplitudes simultaneously].
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2016/0239086 by Do et al. (“Do”).
In re claim 18, Do discloses a taxel array [Fig. 8 #100] comprising: a first taxel, comprising a magnetic portion, the first taxel having a first mechanical resonance frequency such that first taxel vibrates in response to the magnetic portion being energized by a first electromagnetic signal having a first frequency [Fig 8, #110 ¶¶70-78]; and a second taxel, comprising a magnetic portion, the second taxel having a second mechanical resonance frequency such that second taxel vibrates in response to the magnetic portion being energized by a second electromagnetic signal having a second frequency [Fig 8, #110 ¶¶70-78].
In re claim 19, Do discloses a third taxel, comprising a magnetic portion, the third taxel having a third mechanical resonance frequency such that the third taxel vibrates in response to the magnetic portion being energised by a third electromagnetic signal having a third frequency [Fig 8, #110 ¶¶70-78].
In re claim 20, Do discloses a fourth taxel, comprising a magnetic portion, the fourth taxel having a fourth mechanical resonance frequency such that the fourth taxel vibrates in response to the magnetic portion being energised by a fourth electromagnetic signal having a fourth frequency [Fig 8, #110 ¶¶70-78].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Do in view of Sodemann.
In re claim 1, Do discloses an apparatus comprising: a solenoid having a first electrical input signal at a first frequency and a second electrical input signal at a second frequency [Fig. 8, #210, ¶¶70-78]; a first taxel, comprising a magnetic portion, located above an end of the solenoid, such that applying the first electrical input signal to the solenoid causes the first taxel to vibrate [Fig 8, #110 ¶¶70-78]; a second taxel, comprising a magnetic portion located above the end of the solenoid, such that applying the second electrical input signal to the solenoid causes the second taxel to vibrate [Fig 8, #110 ¶¶70-78].
Do does not explicitly teach that the first taxel has a first mechanical resonance frequency and that the second taxel has a second mechanical resonance frequency, different from the first mechanical resonance frequency.
However, Sodemann teaches a tactile display with a plurality of tactile elements including a first taxel has a first mechanical resonance frequency and that the second taxel has a second mechanical resonance frequency, different from the first mechanical resonance frequency [Figs. 1, 2, ## 10, 20, 30, 230, ¶¶4-7,23, 24, 27-29, 35].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibrating pins 10 of Do to include vibrating pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide an improved haptic display, by improving resolution of the display, see, e.g., ¶¶3, 35.
In addition, Do and Sodemann each teach tactile displays with pins of an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute one type of pin array (pins 10 of Do) with another type of pin array (pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins of Sodemann), to achieve the predictable result of providing a varied tactile response to a user.
In re claim 2, Do discloses wherein the first and second taxels each comprise a cantilever beam attached to a frame at an attached end, wherein the magnetic portion is located at an unattached end of the cantilever beam [Fig. 8 ## 10, 110, describe pins 10 (taxels) attached to base (frame) at one end and unattached at other end (cantilever beams). The pins include magnetic particles, which means the end of the pin includes a magnetic portion]. As pointed out above Sodemann also discloses the pins are cantilevered beams.
In re claim 3, Do lacks, but Sodemann teaches, wherein the first taxel cantilever beam and the second taxel cantilever beam each have different dimensions [¶¶23, among others, describe pins, which function similar to beams, each with a slightly different length, cross-sectional area, and cross-sectional shape, so that each pin has a different resonant frequency].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibrating pins 10 of Do to include vibrating pins having varied different dimensions, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide an improved haptic display, by improving resolution of the display, see, e.g., ¶¶3, 35.
In addition, Do and Sodemann each teach tactile displays with pins of an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute one type of pin array (pins 10 of Do) with another type of pin array (pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins of Sodemann), to achieve the predictable result of providing a varied tactile response to a user.
In re claim 4, Do lacks, but Sodemann teaches, wherein the first taxel cantilever beam and the second taxel cantilever beam each have different widths [¶¶23, describe varying the cross-section area (width)].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibrating pins 10 of Do to include vibrating pins having varied different dimensions, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide an improved haptic display, by improving resolution of the display, see, e.g., ¶¶3, 35.
In addition, Do and Sodemann each teach tactile displays with pins of an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute one type of pin array (pins 10 of Do) with another type of pin array (pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins of Sodemann), to achieve the predictable result of providing a varied tactile response to a user.
In re claim 5, Do lacks, but Sodemann teaches, wherein the first taxel cantilever beam and the second taxel cantilever beam each have different masses located at their unattached ends [¶¶23 describe pins, which function similar to beams, each with a slightly different length, cross-sectional area, and cross-sectional shape, as such the mass of the end of each pin with vary].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibrating pins 10 of Do to include vibrating pins having varied different dimensions, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins (and therefore masses), as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide an improved haptic display, by improving resolution of the display, see, e.g., ¶¶3, 35.
In addition, Do and Sodemann each teach tactile displays with pins of an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute one type of pin array (pins 10 of Do) with another type of pin array (pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins of Sodemann), to achieve the predictable result of providing a varied tactile response to a user.
In re claim 6, Do lacks, but Sodemann teaches, the first taxel cantilever beam comprises a different material from the second taxel cantilever beam [¶27 describes varying the material used to fabricate the pins to have different resonant frequencies].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibrating pins 10 of Do to include vary the materials of the pins, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide an improved haptic display, by improving resolution of the display, see, e.g., ¶¶3, 35.
In addition, Do and Sodemann each teach tactile displays with pins of an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute one type of pin array (pins 10 of Do) with another type of pin array (pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins of Sodemann), to achieve the predictable result of providing a varied tactile response to a user.
In re claim 7, Do discloses the first and second taxels are attached to a single frame [Fig. 8 ## 10, 110, describe multiple pins 10 (taxels) attached to base (frame)].
In re claim 8, Do lacks, but Sodemann teaches, the first and second taxels and the frame are formed by 3D printing techniques [¶¶34, 48, among others, describe 3D printing to form the elements].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Do to create the pins using 3D printing, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide an efficient mass production.
In re claim 9, Do discloses a soft ferromagnet [¶53].
In re claim 10, Do discloses the first and second taxels each comprise a tactile protrusion arranged to be touchable by a user of the apparatus [Fig. 8 ## shows projections 10 the ends of which protrude for touching by user ¶¶67].
In re claim 11, Do teaches multiple taxels (e.g., 9 per solenoid thus a third taxel). Do lacks, but Sodemann teaches a third electrical input signal at a third frequency; the apparatus further comprising a third taxel, comprising a magnetic portion, located at an end of the solenoid, wherein the third taxel has a third mechanical resonance frequency, different from the first and second mechanical resonance frequencies, such that applying the third electrical input signal to the solenoid causes the third taxel to vibrate [Figs. 1, 2, ## 10, 20, 30, 230, ¶¶4-7,27-29, 35, among others, describe 3 pins, having different resonant frequencies, therefore, microcontroller 210 which varies signal to the coil to create different resonant frequencies to control the haptic display must have at least three signals]. Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibrating pins 10 of Do to include 3 vibrating pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide an improved haptic display, by improving resolution of the display, see, e.g., ¶¶3, 35.
In addition, Do and Sodemann each teach tactile displays with pins of an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute one type of pin array (pins 10 of Do) with another type of pin array (pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins of Sodemann), to achieve the predictable result of providing a varied tactile response to a user.
In re claim 12, Do teaches multiple taxels (e.g., 9 per solenoid thus a 4th taxel). Do lacks, but Sodemann teaches a fourth electrical input signal at a fourth frequency; the apparatus further comprising a fourth taxel, comprising a magnetic portion located above the end of the solenoid, wherein the fourth taxel has a fourth mechanical resonance frequency, different from the first, second and third mechanical resonance frequencies, such that applying the fourth electrical input signal to the solenoid causes the fourth taxel to vibrate [Figs. 1, 2, ## 10, 20, 30, 230, ¶¶4-7,27-29, 35, among others, describe 4 pins, having different resonant frequencies, therefore, microcontroller 210 which varies signal to the coil to create different resonant frequencies to control the haptic display must have at least four signals].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibrating pins 10 of Do to include 4 vibrating pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide an improved haptic display, by improving resolution of the display, see, e.g., ¶¶3, 35.
In addition, Do and Sodemann each teach tactile displays with pins of an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute one type of pin array (pins 10 of Do) with another type of pin array (pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins of Sodemann), to achieve the predictable result of providing a varied tactile response to a user.
In re claim 13, Do discloses a haptic display with an array of pins controlled by controlling at least one of the intensity, direction and frequency of a magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generator 200, but does not explicitly disclose a controller.
However, Sodemann teaches a communicatively coupled to the first taxel and the second taxel, and configured with instructions stored in non-transitory memory that when executed by a processor of the controller cause the controller to apply the first electrical input signal to the solenoid to vibrate the first taxel, and/or apply the second electrical input signal to the solenoid to vibrate the second taxel, and apply the first and second frequencies to vibrate the first taxel and the second taxel, either simultaneously or individually [Fig. 2, shows microcontroller #210 ¶¶27-30, describe microcontroller 210 which varies signal to create different resonant frequencies to control the plurality of pins in the haptic display].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display of Do to include a microcontroller, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide a simple and cheap option to control output of the display.
In re claim 14, Do discloses a haptic display with an array of pins controlled by controlling at least one of the intensity, direction and frequency of a magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generator 200, but does not explicitly disclose a controller.
However, Sodemann teaches discloses the controller to control an amplitude of the first and/or second electrical input signal in order to control a vibration amplitude of the first and/or second taxel [Figs. 2 and 7, ¶¶27-30, 59, among others, describe microcontroller 210 which varies signal to create different resonant frequencies to control the haptic display to produce many frequencies at varying amplitudes simultaneously].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display of Do to include a microcontroller, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide a simple and cheap option to control output of the display.
In re claim 15, Do discloses a haptic display with an array of pins controlled by controlling at least one of the intensity, direction and frequency of a magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generator 200, but does not explicitly disclose a controller.
However, Sodemann wherein the controller is suitable to control the first and second electrical input signals to each have a relatively higher amplitude when both the first and second electrical input signals are applied to the solenoid simultaneously and is to control the first and second electrical input signals to each have a relatively lower amplitude when the first and second electrical input signals are applied to the solenoid individually [Fig. 2, shows microcontroller #210 ¶¶8, 24, 27-30, describe microcontroller 210 which varies signal to create different resonant frequencies to control the haptic display to produce many frequencies at varying amplitudes simultaneously].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display of Do to include a microcontroller, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide a simple and cheap option to control output of the display.
In re claim 16, Do discloses a vibrotactile display comprising a plurality of solenoids arranged in an array [Fig. 8 #210], wherein each solenoid has a first electrical input signal at a first frequency and a second electrical input signal at a second frequency [Fig. 8, #210, ¶¶70-78]; a first taxel, comprising a magnetic portion, located above an end of each solenoid, wherein the first taxel has a first mechanical resonance frequency such that applying the first electrical input signal to each solenoid causes the first taxel to vibrate [Fig. 8, #110, ¶¶70-78]; a second taxel, comprising a magnetic portion located above the end of each solenoid, wherein the second taxel has a second mechanical resonance frequency, such that applying the second electrical input signal to each solenoid causes the second taxel to vibrate [Fig. 8, #110, ¶¶70-78].
Do does not explicitly teach that the first taxel has a first mechanical resonance frequency and that the second taxel has a second mechanical resonance frequency, different from the first mechanical resonance frequency.
However, Sodemann teaches a tactile display with a plurality of tactile elements including a first taxel has a first mechanical resonance frequency and that the second taxel has a second mechanical resonance frequency, different from the first mechanical resonance frequency [Figs. 1, 2, ## 10, 20, 30, 230, ¶¶4-7,23, 24, 27-29, 35].
Do and Sodemann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tactile output devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibrating pins 10 of Do to include vibrating pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins, as taught by Sodemann, in order to provide an improved haptic display, by improving resolution of the display, see, e.g., ¶¶3, 35.
In addition, Do and Sodemann each teach tactile displays with pins of an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute one type of pin array (pins 10 of Do) with another type of pin array (pins having varied resonant frequencies by varying the length, cross-sectional area, material, and cross-sectional shape of the pins of Sodemann), to achieve the predictable result of providing a varied tactile response to a user.
In re claim 17, Do discloses the apparatus comprises one of a steering wheel, a vehicle seat bolster, a computer controller, a games console controller and a surgical simulation instrument [¶17].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 13, 2025 have been fully considered.
The objection to the drawings is partially withdrawn. The objection is maintained for the reasons given above which were not addressed by Applicant’s amendments or remarks.
The objection to claims 2 and 13-15 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The interpretation of claims 13-15 under 112(f) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 13-15 under 112(b) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to anticipation and obviousness of claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/ANDREW BODENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715
1 A microcontroller contains one or more processor cores along with memory and programmable input/output peripherals.