DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are pending and subject to this Office Action. Claim 1, 3, and 6 have been amended. Claims 5 and 13 have been cancelled. Claim 21 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, pages 5-8, filed 09/18/2025, with respect to the
rejections of claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-17, and 20-21 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Claim 1 has been amended to incorporate limitations previously found in claims 12 and 13. Claim 3 has been amended to incorporate limitations previously found in claim 1. Claim 6 has been amended to depend from claim 3.
Applicant argues, pages 6-7, that the prior art fails to teach the requirement that the sealing plug itself defines a connecting groove that passes through its cover body and extends into its column body, with the connecting column of the connecting seat inserted into both. The applicant goes on to argue that the pin-and-slot arrangement of Li involves separate components and provides no suggestion of forming the slot and pin as an integrated sealing plug. Applicant further argues that there is no rational to combine the teachings of Li and Lin.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Li teaches an aerosol generating device that comprises an oil storage cavity, a base (fixing seat) that houses the heating element, and a silicone sealing seat. The silicone seat is installed at the lower end of the oil storage chamber and is used to seal the liquid storage chamber and prevent leaks. (p8 [0047]) Li goes on to teach that the silicone sealing seat can also provide a base for the installation of the atomizer component. (p8 [0047]) Li teaches that the silicone sealing seat is installed over the fixing seat using positioning slots. (p9 [0053], Fig 7) Li disclose this installation extends over the entire fixing seat (base).
The fixing seat has a positioning pin that is provided on the fixing seat. The positioning pins is considered to read on the column body. The silicone sealing seat has a positioning slot for the insertion and installation of the positioning pin. The slot disclosed by Li is an integral portion of the silicone sealing seat. A groove is defined as “a long narrow channel or depression” ( Merriam-Webster) Based on the definition of a groove and the lack of further description of said groove, the positioning slot is considered to read on the limitation of the groove that the column body passes through. Li discloses that when the silicone sealing seat is installed on the fixing seat (base) the positioning pins extend through the base of the silicone sealing seat projecting upward toward the oil storage cavity. (Fig 1)
Applicant further argues, page 7, that there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Li and Lin.
Li discloses that the components are designed to be replaced so that the device can be reused. (p5 [0031], p12 [0060-0061]) A person having ordinary skill would recognize that in order for the aerosol generating device to be reused the oil-storage cavity would need to be refilled. Li is silent as to the specifics as to how the oil storage cavity would be re-filled.
Lin, directed to the design of electronic cigarettes, teaches “the bottom of the vaporizing base defines a liquid filling through-hole which is in communication with the liquid storage chamber. The bottom cap is arranged with a plug extending upward to seal the liquid filling through-hole.” (p2 [0011]) Lin teaches that this configuration is more convenient for refilling the e-liquid in the device. As such a person would look to the teachings of Lin to make the filling of the oil storage chamber easier and more convenient.
The following is a modified rejection based on the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6- 7, 9, 12, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, et al (CN209106324U, cited in IDS dated 02/13/2024, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) and further in view of Nettenstrom (US20190099561A1) and Lin, et al (US20210059308A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches an electronic atomization assembly, configured to combine with a battery assembly to form an electronic cigarette, Li teaches “the electronic cigarette product includes an atomization device and a power supply device axially assembled with each other” (p 5 [0030])
an e-liquid storage body, atomizing sleeve has an oil storage cavity for storing tobacco oil (p3 [0010])
an atomizing core, atomizing assembly (p3 [0010])
a connecting seat and an electrode,
Li teaches that “the atomizing assembly further comprises a fixing seat, the fixing seat having an electrode mounting hole arranged opposite to the electrode connecting end of the printed heating circuit;” (p3 [0012]) Li teaches a fixing seat that is located at the base of the atomizing sleeve and this is considered analogous to the connecting seat of the instant claim. Li also teaches that “an electrode is arranged in the electrode installation hole,” (p3 [0013]) Li teaches that the electrode mounting hole is located on the bottom of the fixing seat (connecting seat) and that an electrode is installed in the electrode mounting holes.
wherein the e-liquid storage body is internally provided with an e-liquid storage cavity for accommodating an e-liquid, Li teaches that the “atomizing sleeve has an oil storage cavity for storing tobacco oil” (p3 [0010])
the atomizing core comprises an electric heating element having a connecting pin,
Li teaches that the atomizer contains “a printed heating circuit arranged on the porous body” (p3 [0010]) The printed heating circuit of Li is considered to read on the electric heating element of the instant claim.
and the electric heating element is used for atomizing at least part of the e-liquid supplied to the electric heating element from the e-liquid storage cavity,
Li teaches “an atomizing assembly, wherein the atomizing assembly comprises a porous body for conducting tobacco oil, and a printed heating circuit arranged on the porous body;” (p3 [0010]). Li teaches that the porous body is used to transport the liquid from the storage chamber to the heating element for vaporization.
the connecting seat is connected to the e-liquid storage body,
Li teaches that “the fixing seat 24 is fixedly connected to the atomizing sleeve 10” (p 12 [0060]) Li teaches the fixing seat is connected to the bottom of the atomizing sleeve which also makes up the oil storage chamber inside the sleeve.
Li does not teach a heating element having a connecting pin, the electrode defines thereon a connecting hole passing through the electrode and an accommodating recess, a hole opening at one end of the connecting hole is located in the accommodating recess to communicate with the accommodating recess, and at least part of the connecting pin is inserted into the connecting hole and extends into the accommodating recess, thereby forming a connection with the electrode.
Li teaches that the electrode extends up to make contact with contacts located on the heating element and as such fails to teach a heating element with pins that extend downward to the electrode portion of the connecting seat and attach to the electrode portion via a connecting hole that is accommodating recess having a hole shaped and has a bigger diameter than the hole opening of the connecting hole.
Nettenstrom, directed to the design of electronic vapor provision systems, teaches the use of an electric heating element that vaporizes a liquid stored in a reservoir in a cartomizer. The heating element has pins that extend down towards the electrode portion of the cartomizer assembly. [0084] The electrode portion of the cartomizer has holes that the pins of the heating element extends into and is attached via solder. [0085] Nettenstrom discloses that the electrode can have through-holes that allow the heating element pins to extend into the electrode contact pad. The holes are then filled with solder to form the electrical connection between the contact pad and the heating element pins. The hole that the heating element pin extends into is considered to read on the accommodating recess.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li by using the heating element that has pins that attach to the electrode portion via a soldered connection as taught Nettenstrom because Li and Nettenstrom are directed to electronic cigarettes, Nettenstrom teaches that the use of this type of soldering improves the mechanical connection between the wires and the pad [0079], and this involves applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Li teaches the atomization assembly, further comprising a
sealing plug, Li teaches the use of a “sealing member” (p3 [0014]) which is considered analogous to the sealing plug.
the sealing plug is located between the e-liquid storage body and the connecting seat, and the column body is inserted into the e-liquid filling hole.
Li teaches “the atomizing assembly further comprises a sealing member disposed between the atomizing assembly and the oil storage chamber” (p3 [0014]) Li teaches the use of a sealing member, also called a silicone seat, located between the bottom of the oil storage chamber and above the fixing seat.
wherein the sealing plug comprises a cover body and a column body, the column body is located on one side of the cover body away from the connecting seat and is connected to the cover body,
Li teaches “in order to facilitate the fixed assembly and accurate alignment of the fixing seat 24 and the silicone seat 21 , a positioning slot 214 is provided on the silicone seat 21 , and then a positioning pin 244 is provided on the fixing seat 24 to cooperate with the positioning slot 214 for positioning and installation.” (p12 [0061]) The positioning pin on the fixing seat is considered to read on the column body and the positioning slot is cover body of the instant claim.
Li does not teach the e-liquid storage body defines an e-liquid filling hole, the e-liquid filling hole is communicated with the e-liquid storage cavity,
Lin, directed to the design of electronic cigarettes, teaches “the bottom of the vaporizing base defines a liquid filling through-hole which is in communication with the liquid storage chamber. The bottom cap is arranged with a plug extending upward to seal the liquid filling through-hole.” (p2 [0011]) Lin teaches the use of a e-filling hole and plug in an electronic cigarette device.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li and Nettenstrom by using an e-liquid filling hole and plug as taught Lin because Li, Nettenstrom, and Lin are directed to electronic cigarettes, Lin teaches this gives a “convenient to add cigarette liquid” (p4 [0046]), and this involves use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses electrodes that are mounted into the fixing base of the atomizer. the electrodes Li teaches are round in shape. See annotated figure 1 below. However, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B. Therefore, it would be obvious to change the round shape into a sheet shape with a reasonable expectation of success in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Annotated Figure 1.
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the connecting seat defines a through hole, the electrode is provided with a locating protrusion at the hole opening of the connecting hole, the locating protrusion is inserted into the through hole,
Li teaches the fixing seat had an electrode mounting hole, considered to be analogous to the through hole of the instant application. Li further teaches that the electrode needle extends through the fixing seat mounting hole. This is considered to read on the locating protrusion of the instant application.
Li does not teach that the connecting pin passes through the through hole to connect to the electrode.
As discussed above, Nettenstrom teaches that the heating element conductive pin extends through a hole in the electrode to a soldering point on the opposite face of the electrode.
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the “fixing seat having an electrode mounting hole arranged opposite to the electrode connecting end of the printed heating circuit” (p3 [0012]) Li teaches that “assembly process only requires the electrode needle to be inserted into the electrode mounting hole of the fixing seat” (p5 [0031]). Li teaches the fixing seat has holes (recesses) for the electrode to be inserted into. and that the electrode is inserted into the holes of the fixing seat (connecting seat).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches “the hollow portion between the outer wall of the smoke channel 13 and the inner wall of the atomizer sleeve 10 forms an oil storage chamber 14 for storing smoke oil.” (p8 [0046]) Li teaches that the oil storage chamber (e-liquid storage body) is created between the outer wall of the smoke channel (air channel) and the inner wall of the atomizer sleeve. Li further discloses that the air inlet is located away from the electrode mounting hole in the fixing seat as shown in annotated figure 1.
Regarding claim 12, Li does not teach the e-liquid storage body defines an e-liquid filling hole, the e-liquid filling hole is communicated with the e-liquid storage cavity,
Lin, directed to the design of electronic cigarettes, teaches “the bottom of the vaporizing base defines a liquid filling through-hole which is in communication with the liquid storage chamber. The bottom cap is arranged with a plug extending upward to seal the liquid filling through-hole.” (p2 [0011]) Lin teaches the use of a e-filling hole and plug in an electronic cigarette device.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li, Nettenstrom, and Deng by using an e-liquid filling hole and plug as taught Lin because Li, Nettenstrom, Deng, and Lin are directed to electronic cigarettes, Lin teaches this gives a “convenient to add cigarette liquid” (p4 [0046]), and this involves use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches an electronic cigarette, comprising the atomization assembly according to claim 1.
A modified Li teaches the atomization assembly as discussed in claim 1. Li also teaches “the electronic cigarette product includes an atomization device and a power supply device axially assembled with each other” (p5 [0030]) Li teaches that the atomizer of claim 1 would be coupled with a power supply to form an electronic cigarette.
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the “fixing seat having an electrode mounting hole arranged opposite to the electrode connecting end of the printed heating circuit” (p3 [0012]) Li teaches that “assembly process only requires the electrode needle to be inserted into the electrode mounting hole of the fixing seat” (p5 [0031]) Li teaches the fixing seat has holes (recesses) for the electrode to be inserted into. and that the electrode is inserted into the holes of the fixing seat (connecting seat).
Claim 3, 4, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, et al (CN209106324U, cited in IDS dated 02/13/2024, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided), Nettenstrom (US20190099561A1), and Lin, et al (US20210059308A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deng (US20200359704A1.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Li fails to teach an accommodating recess that allows the heating element pins to pass through the heating element sheet and be filled with solder to form an electrical connection.
As discussed in Claim 1, Li as modified by Nettenstrom discloses that the electrode would have a hole on the electrode that faces away from the connecting seat allowing for the soldering of the heating element pin to the electrical contact pad creating the ability for the control unit to power the heating element. Nettenstrom discloses that the pins of the heating element extend into a through hole of the electrode for the solder connection, the hole is not described with specific details that the recess is hole shaped and has a bigger diameter than the hole opening of the connecting hole.
Deng, directed to the design of atomizing cores, teaches a soldering portion for attaching the lead wire to the electrode portion. Deng discloses a paste soldering portion that is a hole where the wire enters that has a smaller diameter than the opening at the electrode. (Fig 5)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li, Nettenstrom, and Lin by using soldering connection with the shape of the connection portion as disclosed by Deng because Li, Nettenstrom, Lin, and Deng are directed to electronic cigarettes, Deng teaches this allows the heating pin to work at high temperatures without fear of the pin separating from the electrode [0103], and this involves applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 21, as discussed above, Li as modified by Nettenstrom and Deng discloses that the pins of the heating element extend into a through hole of the electrode for the solder connection and that the hole where the wire enters has a smaller diameter than the opening at the electrode.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, et al (CN209106324U, cited in IDS dated 02/13/2024, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided), Nettenstrom (US20190099561A1), and Lin, et al (US20210059308A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US20140150783A1, referred to as Liu ('783)) .
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches that the atomizer and the power supply device are joined using a magnetic connection. Li teaches “a magnetic connector is also provided on the fixing seat” (p5 [0027]). However, the magnetic connector of Li is a separate structure from the electrode portion of the device.
Liu (‘783), directed to the design of electronic cigarettes, teaches the design of an “electronic cigarette having a connector for magnetic connection, including a sucking rod and a power rod detachably connected with the sucking rod” (Abstract) Liu (‘783) teaches the sucking rod includes an “atomizer and a connector for connecting the atomizer and the power rod and transporting electricity of the power rod to the atomizer” (Abstract). Liu (‘783) teaches “the first magnetically-attracted portion is entirely made of a conductive magnet or magnetic material, or partially made of a conductive material; the second magnetically-attracted portion is entirely made of a conductive magnet or magnetic material, or partially made of a conductive material.” (p [0018]) Liu (‘783) teaches the conductive portion, considered analogous to the electrode of the instant claim, is made of a conductive magnet.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li, Nettenstrom, and Deng by using conductive magnets for the electrodes as taught Liu ('783) because Li, Nettenstrom, Deng, and Liu ('783) are directed to electronic cigarettes, Liu teaches this connection has a “reliable connection with the atomizer and the power rod.” (p [0019]), and this involves applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, et al (CN209106324U, cited in IDS dated 02/13/2024, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided), Nettenstrom (US20190099561A1), and Lin, et al (US20210059308A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kalaydzhyan, et al (WO2019072971A1)
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Li fails to teach an atomization comprising a first filter screen, wherein the first filter screen is located between the atomizing core and the connecting seat, for filtering the e-liquid leaking towards the first air inlet. and that a surface of the connecting seat facing the e-liquid storage body defines a second fixing recess, the first filter screen is inserted into the second fixing recess, and an air exit of the first air inlet is located on a bottom wall of the second fixing recess.
Kalaydzhyan, directed to the design of electronic cigarettes, teaches a “filter layer is arranged at the at least one air inlet end” (p3 [0010]) Kalaydzhyan teaches the use of a filter element that would be located at the air inlet. The location that is taught by Kalaydzhyan would be located between the fixing seat and the atomizing region taught by Li.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li, Nettenstrom, and Deng by using a filter screen between the air inlet and the heating element as taught Kalaydzhyan because Li, Nettenstrom, Deng, and Kalaydzhyan are directed to electronic cigarettes, Kalaydzhyan teaches the “filter layer counteracts leakage from the liquid reservoir by inhibiting or preventing the passage of liquid through the air inlet end.” (p3 [0010]), and this involves applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Li teaches the connecting seat has a recessed area that is part of the atomizing section. Modified Li of claim 10, would have the filter screen in the recessed area of the atomizing region which reads on the first filter screen being inserted into the second recess in the fixing seat.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, et al (CN209106324U, cited in IDS dated 02/13/2024, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided), Nettenstrom (US20190099561A1), and Lin, et al (US20210059308A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US20160302487A1).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches:
the e-liquid storage body comprises an e-liquid storage sleeve and a separation sleeve, the separation sleeve comprises an air tube and a fixing seat,
Li teaches that the atomizing section has “a hollow atomizing sleeve, wherein the atomizing sleeve has an oil storage cavity for storing tobacco oil;” (p3 [0010]). The atomizing sleeve of Li is considered analogous to the e-liquid storage sleeve of the instant application. Li also teaches “the atomizing assembly further comprises a sealing member disposed between the atomizing assembly and the oil storage chamber” (p 3 [0014]), “An atomization chamber is formed between the sealing member and the fixing seat” (p3 [0015]), and “The sealing member is provided with a second air guide hole, one end of which is connected to the atomization chamber, and the other end of which is connected to the smoke channel.”(p4 [0022]) Li teaches that the sealing member, considered to read on the separation sleeve, has an air guide hole connecting the air inlet in the fixing seat and the smoke channel tube.
the air tube comprises a first end and a second end which are arranged opposite to each other, Li discloses the air channel (air tube) comprises a first end and second end opposite one another in the device as shown in annotated figure 1.
the air tube is located inside the e-liquid storage sleeve, Li teaches “the atomizing sleeve has an air inlet and a smoke outlet” (p4 [0018]). Li teaches that the atomizing sleeve has a tube that extends through the atomizing sleeve.
the first end of the air tube is connected to the e-liquid storage sleeve, the second end of the air tube is connected to the fixing seat, Li discloses that the smoke channel (first end of the air tube) is connected to the atomizing sleeve (e-liquid storage sleeve) and that the air inlet (second of the air tube) is connected to the fixing seat as shown in annotated figure 1.
and the atomizing core is accommodated inside the air tube; the fixing seat is connected to the e-liquid storage sleeve, Li teaches “the atomizing sleeve has an oil storage cavity for storing tobacco oil; the atomizing sleeve is also provided with an atomizing assembly” (p3 [0010]) and “sealing member is provided with a second air guide hole, one end of which is connected to the atomization chamber, and the other end of which is connected to the smoke channel.” (p4 [0022])
Li, does not teach that the air tube and the fixing seat are a one-piece structure shaped by injection in a mold.
Chen, directed to the design of electronic cigarettes, teaches “the base 21 and the second air flowing pipe 22 are integrally formed as one-piece by injection molding” (p2 [0032]) Chen teaches that mounting base, considered to read on a fixing seat to the fixing seat, is formed integrally with an air pipe through injection molding.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li, Nettenstrom, and Deng by using injection molding to for the base and air flow pipe as taught Chen because Li, Nettenstrom, Deng, and Chen are directed to electronic cigarettes, Chen teaches this injection molding is the optimal design (p2 [0032]), and this involves use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the atomizer has a smoke channel (first vent section), an atomization chamber (second vent section), and these two sections are joined using silicone base (connecting section). ([0053], [0057]) Li further teaches that the porous body that contains the heating element is in the receiving cavity in the second vent section. [0048] Li discloses that the second vent section of the atomizer has a larger area than the first vent section of the atomizer. (Figure 2)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, et al (CN209106324U, cited in IDS dated 02/13/2024, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided), Nettenstrom (US20190099561A1), and Deng (US20200359704A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Liu (US20160150823A1).
Regarding claim 15, the atomization assembly according to claim 14, wherein the air tube is a part made of a metallic material, and the fixing seat is a part made of a non-metallic material, Chen teaches the base (fixing seat) material is a plastic material. However, Chen does not teach that the air tube part is made of metal.
Liu (‘823), directed to the design of electronic cigarettes, teaches “the smoke passage 130 is made of a material such as plastic or metal.” (p2 [0005]) Liu (‘823) teaches that the air flow passage would be made of a metal material.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li, Nettenstrom, Deng, and Chen by using a metal smoke channel as taught Liu (‘823) because Li, Nettenstrom, Deng, Chen, and Liu (‘823) are directed to electronic cigarettes, Liu (‘823) teaches this connection has a “so that the smoke channel 130 can absorb the heat of the smoke. After the smoke channel 130 absorbs the heat, the smoke is easily and quickly cooled and condensed into smoke oil.” (p2 [0005]), and this involves simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755