Examiner’s Note
Applicant is reminded that a marked up version of the amended claims is required as per MPEP 714 and 37 CFR 1.121. For the sake of compact prosecution, the amendment filed January 8, 2025 has been entered and claims have been examined on the merits. Applicant is encouraged to comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c)(2) for future amendments to prevent any issues of noncompliance.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: at line 21 there is an extra comma. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the transverse groove" in line 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the recited “transverse groove” is the same as the previously recited “transverse channel” in the claim.
Claims 12-29 are rejected due to dependency on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, 15, 24, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US D86,800 (Moss).
Regarding claim 11, Moss discloses a utility vehicle tire comprising sidewalls and a tread with shoulder-side profile ribs (see Figure 1), wherein the shoulder-side profiled ribs have shoulder-side profile blocks which are separated from each other by transverse channels and which have in each case a ground contact surface and one flank surface running in a circumferential direction of the adjoining sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below),
The flank surface (within dashed lines of annotated Figure 2 below) adjoining the ground contact surface and being circumferentially delimited at two edges by the respective transverse channels in which the flank surface has an overall extent length in the circumferential direction between the two edges (see annotated Figure 2 below and Figure 3),
Wherein, on at least one of the sidewalls, there is formed a flank guard which adjoins the shoulder-side profile blocks and which is elevated in relation to a level of the sidewall (see annotated Figure 2 below),
Wherein the flank guard is formed from a multiplicity of wedge-shaped elevations, wherein each wedge-shaped elevation adjoins one respective flank surface directly below the respective flank surface and has an outer surface which, in a tire cross section, transitions without a kink into the respective flank surface and extends away from the respective flank surface to protrude outwardly relative to the sidewall (see annotated Figure 2 below, and Figure 3), and
Wherein each of the wedge-shaped elevations extends in the circumferential direction between two ends that terminate at the respective transverse channels such that each respective wedge-shaped elevation spans the overall extent length of the flank surface (see annotated Figure 2 below which shows that wedge-shaped elevation 1 and wedge-shaped elevation 2 have an end that spans the overall extent length of the flank surface),
Wherein each shoulder-side profile block is the same as a directly adjacent shoulder-side profile block separated by the transverse channel, such that the shoulder-side profile blocks repeat continuously and uniformly around the circumference of the tire (see Figures 1 and 2), and
Wherein each wedge-shaped elevation is the same as a directly adjacent wedge-shaped elevation separated by the transverse channel, such that these same wedge-shaped elevations repeat continuously and uniformly around the tire (see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 12, Moss also discloses that each of the wedge-shaped elevations adjoins the flank surface over its length as measured in a circumferential direction (see annotated Figure 2 above).
Regarding claim 15, Moss also discloses that each of the wedge-shaped elevations has a thickness measured perpendicular to the level of the sidewall, which thickness, as viewed in the tire cross section, increases over the extent of the outer surface in the direction of the sidewall proceeding from the flank surface of the shoulder-side profile block (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 24, Moss also discloses that each of the wedge-shaped elevations has a shape which deviates from an isosceles trapezoidal shape as seen in a view directed toward the sidewall (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 26, Moss also discloses that as flank guard composed of a plurality of the wedge-shaped elevations is formed on each of the sidewalls (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 27, Moss also discloses that each of the wedge-shaped elevations has delimiting surfaces (boundaries) which run between its outer surface and a respective sidewall (see annotated Figure 2 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims16, 17, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US D86,800 (Moss).
Claims 16 and 17 are directed to absolute dimensions and it is well taken that tire distances/thickness values are a function of the tire size and ultimately the intended use of the tire. Larger tires are generally associated with larger dimensions. Additionally, thickness values between 1 and 3 mm are consistent with the general order of thickness values in tires and Applicant has not provided a conclusive showing of unexpected results for the claimed thickness range.
Regarding claims 28 and 29, Moss discloses a tire as discussed above. While Moss does not specifically state the angle of the relationship of the wedge-shaped elevations with the respective sidewall; this claimed relationship would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date since Figures 3 and 4 show an angle between the wedge-shaped elevations and the sidewall that is on the order of greater than 90 degrees and less than 180 degrees, which overlaps the claimed ranges of 90-130 degrees and at least 100 degrees. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). While patent drawings are not to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11, 12, 15, 24 and 26-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-23 and 25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a tire as claimed wherein as viewed in the tire cross section an outer surface of each of the wedge shaped elevations is continuously inwardly curved or in a shape of a circular arc. The wedge shaped elevations of the Moss reference (Figure 3) have outer surfaces that are straight rather than curved. The Moss reference also does not disclose or suggest that each of the wedge-shaped elevations has an isosceles trapezoidal shape or a rectangular shape in a view directed toward a sidewall as recited in claims 20 and 25 (see annotate Figure 2 above, which shows some of the wedge-shaped elevations are triangular in shape).
Conclusion
/WENDY L BOSS/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749