Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 20, 22, 26-27, and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20, line 3, “the substrate” should read “the metal substrate”
Claim 20, line 8, “rubber modified” should read “rubber-modified”
Claim 22, line 1, “moleculeof” should read “molecule of”
Claim 26, line 1, “The aqueous epoxy resin-based shop primer of claim 1” should read “The article of claim 20”.
Claim 27, line 1, “The aqueous epoxy resin-based shop primer of claim 9” should read “The article of claim 26”.
Claim 29, line 1, “of claim 20” should read “of claim 28”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. (CN 110256938 A) in view of Teragaki et al. (US 2021/0214549) and Lee et al. (US 2016/0150644).
Regarding Claims 20-22, 28, and 30, Cai discloses a two-component aqueous epoxy primer, where component (a) comprises an aqueous epoxy resin emulsion (i.e. epoxy matrix in an aqueous epoxy resin emulsion) and an epoxy-terminated polysulfide primer, and component (b) comprises an aqueous curing system with epoxy reactive curing agent (pg 1, para 5). The primer may be applied to a metal substrate (pg 2, para 10) including steel (Table 2, 3rd last line).
Cai discloses zinc may be used, but it is not required (pg 4, para 5). Therefore it would be obvious to produce the primer not comprising zinc.
Cai does not disclose the rubber modified epoxy resin as claimed.
Teragaki discloses a two component epoxy resin composition (paras 0001, 0174) comprising rubber modified epoxy resin that has glass transition temperature of -25 C or lower (paras 0135, 0142). The rubber modified epoxy resin is made by reacting epoxy compound such as bisphenol A with rubber such as carboxyl group terminated NBR (para 0136). Teragaki discloses this produces primer with adhesion and impact peel-resistant adhesion (para 0136).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Cai to incorporate the teachings of Teragaki and produce the two-component aqueous epoxy primer of Cai using the rubber modified epoxy resin of Teragaki. Doing so would produce primer with adhesion and impact peel-resistant adhesion. When the rubber modified epoxy resin is included in the aqueous carrier of the film-forming composition of Cai, it would be in the form of a dispersion in an aqueous solvent.
Cai in view of Teragaki does not disclose the EEW of the rubber modified epoxy.
Lee discloses a resin composition comprising epoxy resin and rubber modified epoxy resin (para 0016) where the rubber modified epoxy resin has an epoxy equivalent weight of 300-500 g/eq and a weight average molecular weight of 30,000-60,000 to increase the adhesiveness, heat resistance and insulation properties of the resin composition (para 0020).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Cai in view of Teragaki to incorporate the teachings of Lee and use a rubber modified epoxy resin having an epoxy equivalent weight of 300-500 g/eq and a weight average molecular weight of 30,000-60,000. Doing so would increase the adhesiveness, heat resistance and insulation properties of the resin composition.
There is no disclosure in Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee that the primer is applied in an amount to form a 20 micron dry paint film thickness. However, Cai discloses epoxy primer may be applied to a variety of wet film thicknesses which are then dried and cured (pg 5, para 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the primer at any thickness, including that presently claimed, depending on the end use of the primer and the desired properties.
While Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee disclose a primer comprising the materials as claimed, there is no explicit disclosure that the primer is a shop primer as claimed. However, given that Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee disclose primer as presently claimed, it is clear that the primer would necessarily function as a shop primer.
Regarding Claim 23, Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 20 above, including that the rubber modified epoxy resin of Lee has an epoxy equivalent weight of 300-500 g/eq. Therefore, the epoxy block of the rubber modified epoxy resin of Lee has an epoxy equivalent weight of at least 300-500 g/eq.
Alternatively, Cai discloses that the lower the epoxy equivalent weight, the higher the reactivity (see page 2, para 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the epoxy equivalent weight of the epoxy resin component of Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee to values, including those presently claimed, in order to produce an epoxy resin component with desired reactivity.
Regarding Claims 24 and 29, Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claims 20 and 28 above. Cai further discloses the aqueous epoxy resin emulsion (i.e. epoxy matrix in an aqueous epoxy resin emulsion, also including rubber modified epoxy resin of Lee) may have a solids content of 40-60 wt% (pg 3, para 9).
Regarding Claim 25, Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 20 above. Cai further discloses that the epoxy resin matrix has an epoxy equivalent weight of 400-2500 (page 2, para 0031).
Regarding Claim 26, Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee discloses all the limitations of the present claims according to Claim 20 above. Cai further discloses the aqueous epoxy resin emulsion comprises epoxy resin selected from polyglycidyl ethers of phenolic resins (pg 2, para 16).
Regarding Claim 27, Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee discloses all the limitations of the present claims according to Claim26 above. Cai further discloses the epoxy resin the epoxy resin is a diglycidyl ether of a polyhydric phenol having a structural formula as claimed (pg 3, para 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Cai discloses a primer that is a “thick coating” applied at a thickness of about 45-200 microns in order to demonstrate impact resistance, and therefore does not read on the claimed dry film thickness of about 20 microns.
However, while Cai discloses “thick coating” primers, Cai does not define or limit this thickness. Cai discloses “a variety of wet film thicknesses….preferably… from about 45 to about 200 microns” (pg 5, para 5), and clarifies that, “The terms "preferred" and "preferably" refer to embodiments of the invention that may provide certain benefits in some instances. However, other embodiments may be preferred under the same or other circumstances. In addition, the recitation of one or more preferred embodiments does not imply that other embodiments are not available and are not intended to exclude other embodiments from the scope of the invention” (pg 2, para 12).
Since the 45 microns is only a preferable embodiment, there is nothing in the disclosure of Cai that teaches away from using other thicknesses, and since applicant has provided no evidence establishing the criticality of the claimed 20 micron thickness, Examiner maintains the rejection above, that it would be obvious to apply the primer of Cai at thicknesses including that claimed.
Applicant argues that Cai does not disclose the primer is a “shop primer” as claimed. Further, applicant argues that conventional shop primers comprise zinc, which is excluded in the present claims, and that the disclosure of Cai which discloses an optional use of zinc, does not establish motivation to use the primer of Cai as a shop primer that is free of zinc.
However, applicant has provided no evidence that the term “shop primer” would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art to require an amount of zinc, that a shop primer requires a structural difference different to the primer of Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee, or that a shop primer performs a function that that cannot be achieved by the primer of Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee. Given that Cai in view of Teragaki and Lee discloses primer as presently claimed, it is clear that the primer would be capable of functioning as a shop primer and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787