Claim Status
Claims 2, 3, 10, 11, 19-28, 30-35 and 37-43 are cancelled.
Claims 44-46 are new.
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-18, 29, 36 and 44-46 are pending and under examination. Applicants’ amendment has necessitated new ground of rejection. Accordingly, this Action is FINAL.
Withdrawn rejections
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 9/30/26 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn. Claims 30, 32 and 34 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Applicant has cancelled these claims.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-18, 29 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keswani et al. (US20160220710; of record) and Bannigan et al. (Cryst. Growth Des. 2016, 16, 7240−7250; or record).
Applicant claims, for example:
Examiner comment: The MPEP provides, “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure.” See M.P.E.P § 2111.04; see also M.P.E.P §§ 2103(C) and 2173.05(h).
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a pharmaceutical formulation research scientist with knowledge of formulations for dry powder inhalation, as is the case here, then one can assume comfortably that such an educated artisan will draw conventional ideas from particle formulation engineering, carrier selection of excipients for flowability and powder stability, aerosol physics and inhalation techniques/devices for administration1— without being told to do so.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1, 5, 16-18 and 29, Keswani et al. teach a composition comprising clofazimine crystals with a monoclinic, triclinic or orthorhombic structural form (Claims 1 and 4-6; [0009]), hence polymorphs of clofazimine, where the crystals have a size of 0.001-20 µm (Claim 8) and is in a complex with a salt (Claim 2) and in the form of a powder for a metered inhaler or a dry powder inhaler [0153-0155]. Keswani et al. teach: “The dose when using the compounds and formulations described herein can vary within wide limits and as is customary and is known to the physician, it is to be tailored to the individual conditions in each individual case. It depends, for example, on the nature and severity of the illness to be treated, on the condition of the patient, on the compound employed or on whether an acute or chronic disease state is treated or prophylaxis is conducted or whether further active compounds are administered in addition to the compounds. Representative doses include, but not limited to, about 0.001 mg to about 5000 mg, about 0.001 mg to about 2500 mg, about 0.001 mg to about 1000 mg, 0.001 mg to about 500 mg, 0.001 mg to about 250 mg, about 0.001 mg to 100 mg” [0135]. Keswani et al. teach: “The amount of active ingredient, or an active salt or derivative thereof, for use in treatment will vary not only with the particular salt selected but also with the route of administration, the nature of the condition being treated and the age and condition of the patient and will ultimately be at the discretion of the attendant physician or clinician.” [0136]. Keswani et al. teach: “A representative amount in a powder or tablet may contain from 0.5 to about 90 percent of the active compound; however, an artisan would know when amounts outside of this range are necessary. Suitable carriers for powders and tablets are magnesium carbonate, magnesium stearate, talc, sugar, lactose, pectin, dextrin, starch, gelatin, tragacanth, methylcellulose, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, a low melting wax, cocoa butter and the like.” Those pharmacologically inert excipients would be physiologically acceptable. Thus, the amount of active compound overlaps the claimed amount of about 30% and about 75 mg of clofazimine and the size of the clofazimine crystal particles overlaps the median particle size of less than 5 microns. MPEP 2144.05(I): In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claims 7-9 and 29, Keswani et al. teach a particle size of 50 microns or less [0154] and where the crystals have a size of 0.001-20 µm (Claim 8), which overlaps the claimed mass median aerodynamic diameter of less than 5 microns and between 1-3 microns, and that a finely divided solid mixture with the carrier [0140], which would be homogenous.
Regarding claims 12-15, Keswani et al. teach adding phospholipids (Claim 14), surfactants [0153], the amino acid glutamic acid [0158], and polymers [0155].
Regarding claim 19, the intended use of the composition for use in the treatment and/or prophylaxis of pulmonary infections caused by mycobacteria or other gram positive bacteria is implicit in the composition of Keswani et al. The limitation has been considered but is not given patentable weight. An intended use will not limit the scope of the claim because it merely defines a context in which the invention operates. Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Further regarding claim 29, Keswani et al. teach blister packs and capsules for the powder [0155], thereby teaching a system for use in in providing antibiotic activity when treating or providing prophylaxis against a pulmonary infection caused by mycobacteria or other gram positive bacteria. See intended use discussion above.
Regarding claim 36, Keswani et al. teach methods of treating a disease in a subject by administering the composition to a subject diagnosed with the disease (Claim 15) caused by Mycobacterium or gram positive S. Aureus (Claim 17) by inhalation [0153].
Regarding claims 1, 4, 29 and 36, Bannigan et al. teach polymorphic forms of clofazimine including FI, FII and FIII (Abstract; Page 7241, Crystal growth) and that clofazimine “has also shown good in vitro activity against other members of the mycobacterium family, both slow and fast growing species, as well as activity against most other Gram positive bacteria species” (Page 7240, left column).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
The difference between the instant application and Keswani et al. is that Keswani et al. do not expressly teach clofazimine polymorphic forms FI, FII and FIII with excipients in the form of coarse particles. This deficiency in Keswani et al. is cured by the teachings of Bannigan et al. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use clofazimine polymorphic forms FI, FII and FIII, as suggested by Bannigan et al., with excipients in the form of coarse particles, and produce the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because Keswani et al. direct the artisan to employ polymorphic forms of clofazimine and Bannigan et al. teach the claimed polymorphic forms of clofazimine. The artisan would do so with a reasonable expectation of success. Regarding the limitation of the excipient(s) being in the form of coarse particles, since Keswani et al. teach and suggest the same excipients claimed, then it would appear that the excipients taught by Keswani et al. are also provided in the form of coarse particles. Especially when no degree of coarseness is defined by the claim.
Furthermore, it is merely routine optimization to obtain any of the claimed particle sizes based on the discloser of Keswani et al. See MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A): “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, in view of the combined references, the ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining the claimed pharmaceutical composition for dry powder inhalation comprising the claimed clofazimine polymorphs, coarse excipients and finely divided mass median aerodynamic diameter particle sizes and a system for use in providing antibiotic activity when treating or providing prophylaxis against a pulmonary infection caused by mycobacteria or other gram positive bacteria, wherein the system comprises:
1) a dry powder pharmaceutical formulation comprising:
a) about 75 mg of clofazimine polymorphic orthorhombic form FIii, and
b) lactose;
2) a container for the formulation selected from a capsule or blister package, and
3) a dry powder inhaler,
wherein the clofazimine is about approximately 30% of the formulation by weight and is present in the form of a dry powder, and wherein clofazimine containing particles have a mass median diameter of 1 to 5μm.
Claims 44-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keswani et al. (US20160220710; of record) and Bannigan et al. (Cryst. Growth Des. 2016, 16, 7240−7250; or record), as applied to claims 1, 4-9, 12-18, 29 and 36 above, in further view of Chimote et al. (WO2015107482).
Applicant claims:
The references of Keswani et al. and Bannigan et al. are discussed in detail above and those discussions are incorporated by reference.
Keswani et al. teach that the dose can vary on whether further active compounds are administered in addition to the compounds and that the amount of active ingredient will ultimately be at the discretion of the attendant physician or clinician. ([0135-0136}: “whether further active compounds are administered in addition to the compounds described herein and as part of a drug combination.”)
The combination of Keswani et al. and Bannigan et al. do not expressly teach a method wherein the composition is administered before, simultaneously or subsequently to the administration of an agent such as bedaquline and/or amikacin as claimed. However, Chimote et al. teach administration of one or more anti-tubercular agents by inhalation (Page 19, lines 24-27) where the effective doses of the compound I and/or anti-tubercular agents used for administration vary depending on the severity of the disease (tuberculosis), the severity of symptoms, the age, sex, body weight and sensitivity difference of the subject (the patient), the mode, time, interval and duration of administration, the nature and type of formulation (Page 20, lines 9-12). Chimote et al. also teaches that in the pharmaceutical combination and/or the method of treatment of tuberculosis and/or the use for the treatment of tuberculosis according to the present invention; the compound I and one or more anti-tubercular agents can be administered simultaneously or sequentially and when administered sequentially in any order. (Page 20, lines 16-19). Chimote et al. also teach that a suitable dosage of the anti-tubercular agents can be from about 0.01 mg/kg body weight per day to about 100 mg/kg body weight per day; particularly, from about 0.1 mg/kg body weight per day to about 50 mg/kg body weight per day or event 10 mg/day to about 1500 mg/day (Page 20, lines 26-31; see also claims 19-21). Chimote et al. teach, for example, clofazimine, amikacin and bedaquline as the at least one anti-tubercular agents (Claims 1, 4, 5 and 17-18), thereby rendering their combination obvious. Accordingly, it would be obvious to perform the method Keswani et al. as modified by Bannigan et al. and administer the clofazimine composition before, simultaneously or subsequently to the administration of bedaquline and/or amikacin and/or the other claimed species with a reasonable expectation of success. The artisan is motivated to do so because Keswani et al. suggest that further active compounds are administered in addition to the compounds and Chimote et al. provide similar functioning active agents that can be combined with clofazimine. The ordinary artisan would add the active agents together for at least an additive effect of the active agents in treating the same condition with a reasonable expectation of success.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments:
Applicants’ arguments filed 9/30/26 have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
On page 6 of remarks, Applicant asserts that Keswani does not teach the claimed 30 wt% of clofazimine because the facts here are different from those in Wertheim and the disclosure of Keswani spans countless possible formulations. Applicant cites Baird for support. Respectfully, the Examiner has a different perspective. First, Keswani expressly teaches that the amount of active is at the discretion of the artisan: “The amount of active ingredient, or an active salt or derivative thereof, for use in treatment will vary not only with the particular salt selected but also with the route of administration, the nature of the condition being treated and the age and condition of the patient and will ultimately be at the discretion of the attendant physician or clinician.” [0136] Secondly, pharmaceutical dose has been recognized as a result-effective parameter susceptible to routine optimization. See, e.g., Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Lastly, reliance on Baird is misplaced because the present case dose not involve millions of compounds but rather an optimized amount in the range from about 0.001 mg to about 100 mg ([0135]: “Depending on the individual and as deemed appropriate from the patient's physician or caregiver it may be necessary to deviate upward or downward from the doses described herein.”). Applicants claimed amount of 75 mg amount sits squarely within the range suggested by Keswani et al. Applicant has provided no objective evidence of any criticality for the 75 mg amount. Consequently, it is merely an arbitrary selection and obvious over the prior art and optimized by the artisan as also suggested by Keswani et al. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
On page 7 of remarks, Applicant directs the Examiner’s attention to the examples of Keswani utilizing 3 mg/mL clofazimine. However, it is well-established that consideration of a reference is not limited to the preferred embodiments or working examples, but extends to the entire disclosure for what it fairly teaches, when viewed in light of the submitted knowledge in the art, to a person of ordinary skill in the art. (Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989). In the present case, the examples of Keswani are not controlling. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
On page 8 of remarks, Applicant asserts hindsight reconstruction. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). The Examiner has shown by proper citation where each limitation is taught or rendered obvious by the combination of references. The test for obviousness is "what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Keller, 642 F.2d 4I3, 425 (CCPA I98I) (MPEP 2145(III)). Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
On pages 8-9 of remarks, Applicant asserts that Bannigan provides no motivation to select approximately 30 wt% clofazimine or 75 mg clofazimine from Keswani's broad ranges. However, Bannigan is not relied upon for those teachings. It is impermissible to attack references singly when the Examiner relies upon the combined teachings of the references, nor may they attack a reference for not teaching a limitation of the claim when the Examiner has explicitly relied upon another reference as teaching that limitation. See In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2000). Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
MPEP 2141 III states: “The proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts.” Respectfully, after review of all the facts, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The Examiner has reached a determination that the instant claims are not patentable in view of the preponderance of evidence and consideration of all the facts, which is more convincing than the evidence which has been offered in opposition to it.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNST V ARNOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613
1 See for example Piyush Mehta “Dry Powder Inhalers: A Focus on Advancements in Novel Drug Delivery Systems” Journal of Drug Delivery Volume 2016 article ID 8290963; 17 pages.