DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 11-12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US# 2021/0135830) in view of Jang et al. (US# 2022/0345195 hereinafter referred to as Jang) and Liu et al. (US# 2022/0345903 hereinafter referred to as Liu).
RE Claim 7, Yu discloses a terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives configuration information for a plurality of sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets (See Yu FIGs 2-3; Summary; [0007]-[0009], [0206]-[0207], [0211] – receiving configuration information for SRS resource sets); and
a processor that, when spatial relation information included in the configuration information is not configured for a first SRS resource and a second SRS resource included in a first SRS resource set within the plurality of SRS resource sets (See Yu FIG 2; [0087] – first and second SRS resource in a first SRS resource set (i.e. 210)), and is not configured for a third SRS resource and a fourth SRS resource included in a second SRS resource set within the plurality of SRS resource sets (See Yu FIG 2; [0087] – third and fourth SRS resource in a second SRS resource set (i.e. 220)), uses a same spatial relation for the first SRS resource, second SRS resource, third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource (See Yu FIGs 2-3; Summary; [0007]-[0009], [0206]-[0207], [0211] – if no spatial relation information is included in configuration information, using a default spatial relation for plurality of resources).
Yu does not specifically disclose
Receiving configuration information for antenna switching; or
Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively.
However, Jang teaches of receiving configuration information for antenna switching (See Jang [0097], [0278], [0315]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the SRS resource set configuration system, as disclosed in Yu, comprising receiving configuration information for antenna switching, as taught in Jang. One is motivated as such in order to improve transmission performance (See Jang [0002]-[0007]).
Yu, modified by Jang, does not specifically disclose
Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively.
However, Liu teaches of
Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively (See Liu FIGs 3-4, [0003]-[0004], [0009], [0054], [0056], [0061], [0070], [0072] – for multiple SRS resources on multiple respective slots, if SRS spatial relation configuration is not configured, using same default spatial relation for each respective SRS resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the SRS resource set configuration system, as disclosed in Yu, modified by Jang, Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively, as taught in Liu. One is motivated as such in order to better determine spatial relation information for uplink transmissions (See Liu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 8, Yu, modified by Jang and Liu, discloses a terminal, as set forth in claim 7 above, wherein when the spatial relation information is not configured for at least one SRS resource within at least one SRS resource set among the plurality of SRS resource sets, and at least one control resource set (CORESET) is configured on a component carrier (CC) of the at least one SRS resource, the processor uses, as a spatial relation for the at least one SRS resource, a spatial relation for a reference signal (RS) of quasi-co-location (QCL) type D in QCL assumption of a CORESET with a lowest CORESET ID (See Yu [0061], [0068] – if CORESET is configured on CC, using lowest CORESET ID).
RE Claim 9, Yu, modified by Jang and Liu, discloses a terminal, as set forth in claim 7 above, wherein when the spatial relation information is not configured for at least one SRS resource within at least one SRS resource set among the plurality of SRS resource sets, and a control resource set (CORESET) is not configured on a component carrier (CC) of the at least one SRS resource, the processor uses, as a spatial relation for the at least one SRS resource, a spatial relation for a reference signal (RS) of quasi-co-location (QCL) type D in an activated transmission configuration indication (TCI) state with a lowest ID which is applicable to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in an active downlink bandwidth (DL BWP) of the CC (See Yu [0062], [0069] – if CORESET is not configured on CC, using TCI state with lowest ID applicable to PDSCH in active DL BWP).
RE Claim 11, Yu discloses a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising:
receiving configuration information for a plurality of sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets (See Yu FIGs 2-3; Summary; [0007]-[0009], [0206]-[0207] – receiving configuration information for SRS resource sets); and
when spatial relation information included in the configuration information is not configured for a first SRS resource and a second SRS resource included in a first SRS resource set within the plurality of SRS resource sets (See Yu FIG 2; [0087] – first and second SRS resource in a first SRS resource set (i.e. 210)), and is not configured for a third SRS resource and a fourth SRS resource included in a second SRS resource set within the plurality of SRS resource sets (See Yu FIG 2; [0087] – third and fourth SRS resource in a second SRS resource set (i.e. 220)), uses a same spatial relation for the first SRS resource, second SRS resource, third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource (See Yu FIGs 2-3; Summary; [0007]-[0009], [0206]-[0207], [0211] – if no spatial relation information is included in configuration information, using a default spatial relation for plurality of resources).
Yu does not specifically disclose
Receiving configuration information for antenna switching; or
Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively.
However, Jang teaches of receiving configuration information for antenna switching (See Jang [0097], [0278], [0315]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the SRS resource set configuration system, as disclosed in Yu, comprising receiving configuration information for antenna switching, as taught in Jang. One is motivated as such in order to improve transmission performance (See Jang [0002]-[0007]).
Yu, modified by Jang, does not specifically disclose
Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively.
However, Liu teaches of
Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively (See Liu FIGs 3-4, [0003]-[0004], [0009], [0054], [0056], [0061], [0070], [0072] – for multiple SRS resources on multiple respective slots, if SRS spatial relation configuration is not configured, using same default spatial relation for each respective SRS resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the SRS resource set configuration system, as disclosed in Yu, modified by Jang, Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively, as taught in Liu. One is motivated as such in order to better determine spatial relation information for uplink transmissions (See Liu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 12, Yu discloses a system comprising a terminal and a base station (See Yu Background; Summary), wherein the terminal comprises:
a receiver that receives configuration information for a plurality of sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets (See Yu FIGs 2-3; Summary; [0007]-[0009], [0206]-[0207], [0211] – receiving configuration information for SRS resource sets); and
a processor that, when spatial relation information included in the configuration information is not configured for a first SRS resource and a second SRS resource included in a first SRS resource set within the plurality of SRS resource sets (See Yu FIG 2; [0087] – first and second SRS resource in a first SRS resource set (i.e. 210)), and is not configured for a third SRS resource and a fourth SRS resource included in a second SRS resource set within the plurality of SRS resource sets (See Yu FIG 2; [0087] – third and fourth SRS resource in a second SRS resource set (i.e. 220)), uses a same spatial relation for the first SRS resource, second SRS resource, third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource (See Yu FIGs 2-3; Summary; [0007]-[0009], [0206]-[0207], [0211] – if no spatial relation information is included in configuration information, using a default spatial relation for plurality of resources); and
the base station comprises:
a transmitter that transmits the configuration information (See Yu FIGs 2-3; Summary; [0007]-[0009] – UE receiving configuration information from cell base station).
Yu does not specifically disclose
Receiving configuration information for antenna switching; or
Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively.
However, Jang teaches of receiving configuration information for antenna switching (See Jang [0097], [0278], [0315]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the SRS resource set configuration system, as disclosed in Yu, comprising receiving configuration information for antenna switching, as taught in Jang. One is motivated as such in order to improve transmission performance (See Jang [0002]-[0007]).
Yu, modified by Jang, does not specifically disclose
Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively.
However, Liu teaches of
Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively (See Liu FIGs 3-4, [0003]-[0004], [0009], [0054], [0056], [0061], [0070], [0072] – for multiple SRS resources on multiple respective slots, if SRS spatial relation configuration is not configured, using same default spatial relation for each respective SRS resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the SRS resource set configuration system, as disclosed in Yu, modified by Jang, Wherein the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource and the fourth SRS resource are located in different slots, respectively, as taught in Liu. One is motivated as such in order to better determine spatial relation information for uplink transmissions (See Liu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 16, Yu, modified by Jang and Liu, discloses a terminal, as set forth in claim 7 above, wherein the processor uses the same spatial relation for the first SRS resource, the second SRS resource, the third SRS resource, and the fourth SRS resource in a case where the spatial relation information included in the configuration information is not configured in a Frequency Range 2 (FR2) (See Liu [0003]-[0004] – default spatial relation for SRS resources when spatial relation information is not configured in FR2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant's argument that Liu does not specifically teach four SRS resources being located in different slots, respectively, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant has argued that Liu only describes multiple SRS resources located in the latest “N” slots. The Examiner submits that firstly, Liu teaches that different respective slots can hold respective resources (See Liu FIG 3, [0061] – i.e. respective PUCCH resource transmitted in a slot). Secondly, Liu teaches transmitting SRS resources using the same relation as PUCCH resources (See Liu [FIG 4; [0072] – i.e. one resource per slot). Furthermore, even if Liu did not teach transmitting SRS resources in respective slots, arguendo, based on Liu’s teaching that the SRS resources can be located in the latest “N” slots, transmitting the SRS resources each on a different slot would also be obvious as a matter of design choice since transmitting the resources over “N” slots can be open ended in terms of where to put the resources in which slot (i.e. if “N” is set to be equal to or greater than the number of SRS resources). See In re Launder, 42 CCPA 886, 222 F.2d 371, 105 USPQ 446 (1955); Flour City Architectural Metals v. Alpana Aluminum Products, Inc., 454 F. 2d 98, 172 USPQ 341 (8th Cir. 1972); National Connector Corp. v. Malco Manufacturing Co., 392 F.2d 766. 157 USPQ 401 (8th Cir.) cert. denied, 393 U.S. 923, 159 USPQ 799 (1968).
Regarding Applicant's argument that it would not have been obvious to combine Yu, Jang, and Liu, based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, Liu teaches of transmitting SRS resources in the same manner as PUCCH resources (See above, i.e. a resource on a respective slot). In addition, Liu teaches of the ability to transmit SRS resources over “N” different slots which covers cases of a respective resource on a respective slot (i.e. if “N” is set to be equal to or greater than the number of SRS resources) as well as other transmission combinations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477