DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 51 and 53-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garneau et al. in view of Arcidiacono et al.(WO 2017/220327) and Green.
Garneau et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a pipe comprising winding a first sheet of composite tape(armor) from a first roll around a core layer(pipe), overlapping the end of the sheet with the beginning of another sheet of composite tape when the first composite tape on the first roll is depleted, joining them together via gluing[0057], and continuing forming the pipe by winding the new sheet onto the core layer.()[0028];[00057]) The reference does not disclose the strength of the lap joint or the specifics of how it is formed. Arcidiacono et al. discloses joining together two composites using ultrasonic welding along to form a bond with an with a join that will not separate during normal use.(Pg. 3, ll. 5-30) The reference does not disclose the actual shear strength, but states that the join will not separate under pulling forces of 40N and lists tensile strength of up to 346N.(Table 3) The reference discloses the ultrasonic welding applies pressure(Pg. 2, ll. 13-15, and one in the art would understand that vibrating the material would generate heat. Green discloses a method of overlapping and joining two composite layers wherein heat and pressure are applied to form a joint with an average shear strength of over 11 MPa.(Table 2; Pg. 6, ll. 19- Pg. 7, ll. 21) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the bonding method of Arcidiacono et al. to form a joint in Garneau since this results in a joint hat will not separate during normal use and for the shear strength to be above 11 MPa since Green shows that a good shear strength for a joint in composites is above 11 MPa.(Table 2)
Regarding claims 53-55, while Arcidiacono et al. appears to teach a vertical sonotrode the use of a rotary sonotrode(roll) is well-known and conventional I the ultrasonic arts and would have been obvious for this reason. This would apply pressure via a roller which would apply pressure progressively from one end of the joint to the other and would result in uneven application of pressure as the roller moved across the joint.
Regarding claims 56 and 57, since ultrasonic welders generate the heat, the pressure application occurs first and then the heat commences due to the vibrations. This would commerce the application of pressure at a different time than the application of heat.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 52 and 58 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 52, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest using a pressure plate to apply the pressure in addition to the ultrasonic sonotrode. Regarding claim 58, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest pre-heating the end region of at least one of the lengths of tape prior to overlapping.
Response to Arguments
Examiner apologizes for the previous indication of allowability which is now withdrawn. Examiner notes she attempted to contact applicant multiple times to suggest an examiner’s amendment but did not receive a response.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746