Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sensor for monitoring tension of the material within the flexible conduit” of claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In this case, the limitation in claim 1, “at least one sensor for monitoring tension of the material within the flexible conduit” is not described or disclosed in the specification or drawings. Sensor 92 described in the specification paragraph [0024] is “buffer sensor 92 which determines a numerical position of material buffer 80” which is located outside of the flexible conduit (Fig. 3; Paragraph [0030]) and thus does not monitor tension of the material within the flexible conduit. The only other sensor mentioned in the specification is sensor 60 which is “an accumulator position sensor” (Paragraph [0021], line 3) and is not monitoring tension within the flexible conduit but rather a position of the accumulated material outside the conduit (Fig. 2A).
Claims 2-21 are rejected because they depend from rejected base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koller et al., US4486261 in view of Oly, US4655873.
Regarding independent claim 1, Koller et al. discloses a feeding system configured to transport a material to a tape applicator ("The adhesive film strip is originally on a carrier tape and is on a storage reel from which it is drawn off by conveying rollers" Abstract, lines 5-7), the feeding system (System shown in Figure 7) comprising: a flexible conduit (119, Fig. 7) coupled between a spool unloading device (121, Fig. 7) and a tape applicator (101, 102, Fig. 7), wherein the flexible conduit (119, Fig. 7) receives the material from a source (spool 121, Fig. 7), wherein one end of the material is fed into the flexible conduit ("two synthetic resin plastic hoses 119 and 120, serving, respectively, for guiding the TK-tape from a storage reel 121 into the supply channel 117, and for guiding the carrier tape T from the removing channel 118 to a suctioning-off device 122" Column 9, lines 14-19); and a fluid amplifier ("suctioning-off device" Column 9, lines 18-19) coupled to a flexible conduit (120, Fig. 7) to facilitate movement of the material therein by creating a vacuum effect ("two synthetic resin plastic hoses 119 and 120, serving, respectively, for guiding the TK-tape from a storage reel 121 into the supply channel 117, and for guiding the carrier tape T from the removing channel 118 to a suctioning-off device 122" Column 9, lines 14-19), at least one sensor for monitoring tension of the material within the flexible conduit ("limit switches" Column 9, line 68); and a control unit that receives input from the at least one sensor for monitoring the tension of the material within the flexible conduit ("the electronic circuit 123 is also devised for stopping abruptly the movement of the manipulating device (a robot), in cooperation with limit switches (not shown), whenever one of the possibilities of movement...of the diverse parts of the tape-application apparatus will exceed a certain limit set by the limit switches. It is thereby possible to avoid damaging of the application device or the sheet, or possibly of the robot" Column 9, line 66 - Column 10, line 6); and wherein the fluid amplifier is operable in response to the control unit that receives input from the at least one sensor for monitoring the tension of the material within the flexible conduit (Column 9, line 66 - Column 10, line 6), and wherein the control unit dynamically adjusts the vacuum effect to maintain a predetermined tension range and minimize material jams or breakage (Column 9, line 66 - Column 10, line 6; the limit switch would be capable of detecting a breakage of material and generating a fault signal to dynamically adjust the vacuum effect and maintain a predetermined tension range).
Koller et al. does not disclose a fluid amplifier coupled to the flexible conduit to facilitate movement of the material from a spool unloading device towards a tape applicator.
Oly teaches a device for applying tape having a fluid amplifier ("an air flow", Abstract, line 6) coupled to a flexible conduit coupled to the flexible conduit to facilitate movement of the material from a spool unloading device towards a tape applicator ("said trough (6) being adapted for guiding the tape (14) to be wrapped which is driven through said trough (6) by means of an air flow" Abstract, lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the tape applicator with a flexible conduit and fluid amplifier creating a vacuum effect as disclosed by Koller et al. to couple a fluid amplifier to the flexible conduit between the spool unloading device and the tape applicator as taught by Oly so that the tape applicator could “operate faster” (Column 1, line 17; Oly). One would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce friction between the tape and the flexible conduit thus minimizing damage to the tape.
Regarding claim 2, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and the material (TK, Fig. 1) is unwound from the source (121, Fig. 7) and fed into the flexible conduit (119, Fig. 7) capable of bending in a non-linear path (conduit 119 bends in a no-linear path, Fig. 7) at a metered rate ("The potentiometer 127 is connected with the electronic circuit 123 and controls, together with the latter, the driving motor 114 for the conveyance of the tape, so that the pull in the adhesive film K always remains constant" Column 9, lines 47-51).
Regarding claim 3, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and the material (TK, Fig. 1) exiting the flexible conduit (119, Fig. 7) at the tape applicator is wound around a variable loop (113, 125, Fig. 13) to account for any variations in the metered rate and maintain tension within the material ("The control roller 116 is mounted on a guide arm 124 which can be swiveled about the shaft of the guide roller 113 and which is biased by a tension spring 125, whereby the adhesive film K is always lightly tensioned... The guide arm 124 is coupled with a potentiometer 127, whereby a swiveling of the control roller 116 causes a corresponding shift of the potentiometer 127. The potentiometer 127 is connected with the electronic circuit 123 and controls, together with the latter, the driving motor 114 for the conveyance of the tape, so that the pull in the adhesive film K always remains constant" Column 9, lines 38-51).
Regarding claim 4, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 3, and a positioning sensor (127, Fig. 13) detects an amount of the material within the variable loop ("The guide arm 124 is coupled with a potentiometer 127, whereby a swiveling of the control roller 116 causes a corresponding shift of the potentiometer 127. The potentiometer 127 is connected with the electronic circuit 123 and controls, together with the latter, the driving motor 114 for the conveyance of the tape, so that the pull in the adhesive film K always remains constant" Column 9, lines 44-51).
Regarding claim 5, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 4, and a material drive mechanism (motor 114, Fig. 13) replenishes the material in the variable loop based on a detected amount of the material within the variable loop ("The guide arm 124 is coupled with a potentiometer 127, whereby a swiveling of the control roller 116 causes a corresponding shift of the potentiometer 127. The potentiometer 127 is connected with the electronic circuit 123 and controls, together with the latter, the driving motor 114 for the conveyance of the tape, so that the pull in the adhesive film K always remains constant" Column 9, lines 44-51).
Regarding claim 6, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 4, and the positioning sensor (127, Fig. 13) determines when the material should be fed into the flexible conduit (potentiometer 127 controls driving motor 114, to pull material from supply through conduit 119, Figs. 13, 7).
Regarding claim 7, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 5, and wherein the positioning sensor (127, Fig. 13) determines whether the detected amount of the material within the variable loop is with a predefined range ("The guide arm 124 is coupled with a potentiometer 127, whereby a swiveling of the control roller 116 causes a corresponding shift of the potentiometer 127. The potentiometer 127 is connected with the electronic circuit 123 and controls, together with the latter, the driving motor 114 for the conveyance of the tape, so that the pull in the adhesive film K always remains constant" Column 9, lines 44-51).
Regarding claim 8, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 7, and a feeding system.
Koller et al., in view of Oly, does not teach wherein the predefined range is between a low threshold and a high threshold.
Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known that a range is between a low threshold and a high threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the feeding system of Koller et al., in view of Oly, to have high and low thresholds for the detected amount of material in the variable loop, so that the tape is constantly properly tensioned.
Regarding claim 9, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 8, and wherein the material drive mechanism (114, Fig. 13) is caused to stop feeding the material (TK, Fig. 13) when an amount of the material in the variable loop reaches the high threshold ("The guide arm 124 is coupled with a potentiometer 127, whereby a swiveling of the control roller 116 causes a corresponding shift of the potentiometer 127. The potentiometer 127 is connected with the electronic circuit 123 and controls, together with the latter, the driving motor 114 for the conveyance of the tape, so that the pull in the adhesive film K always remains constant" Column 9, lines 44-51).
Regarding claim 10, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 8, and the at least one sensor ("limit switches" Column 9, line 68) detects loss of tension within the material and generates a fault signal ("the electronic circuit 123 is also devised for stopping abruptly the movement of the manipulating device (a robot), in cooperation with limit switches (not shown), whenever one of the possibilities of movement...of the diverse parts of the tape-application apparatus will exceed a certain limit set by the limit switches. It is thereby possible to avoid damaging of the application device or the sheet, or possibly of the robot" Column 9, line 66 - Column 10, line 6; the limit switches would be capable of detecting loss of tension and generating a fault signal).
Regarding claim 11, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and the at least one sensor ("limit switches" Column 9, line 68) detects a breakage of the material and generates a fault signal ("the electronic circuit 123 is also devised for stopping abruptly the movement of the manipulating device (a robot), in cooperation with limit switches (not shown), whenever one of the possibilities of movement...of the diverse parts of the tape-application apparatus will exceed a certain limit set by the limit switches. It is thereby possible to avoid damaging of the application device or the sheet, or possibly of the robot" Column 9, line 66 - Column 10, line 6; the limit switch would be capable of detecting a breakage of material and generating a fault signal).
Regarding claim 12, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 10, and wherein the fault signal causes an automatic interruption of feeding of the material ("the electronic circuit 123 is also devised for stopping abruptly the movement of the manipulating device, in cooperation with limit switches" Column 9, lines 66-68; this abrupt stopping of manipulating device would also interrupt feeding of the material).
Regarding claim 13, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 10, and a feeding system.
Koller et al., in view of Oly, does not teach wherein the fault signal requires manual interruption of feeding of the material.
Examiner takes official notice that it is well known to have a fault signal that requires manual interruption of feeding of the material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the feeding system of Koller et al., in view of Oly, to allow the operator to manually interrupt the feeding of the material at a fault signal as it would give the operator freedom to allow the feeder to continue operation in the event the fault signal is inaccurate. One would have been motivated to make this modification to simplify the system design.
Regarding claim 14, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 10, and a corrective action is taken to address an event leading to the fault signal ("the electronic circuit 123 is also devised for stopping abruptly the movement of the manipulating device, in cooperation with limit switches" Column 9, lines 66-68; this abrupt stopping of manipulating device would also interrupt feeding of the material), and the material drive mechanism is caused to feed the material following the corrective action ("The guide arm 124 is coupled with a potentiometer 127, whereby a swiveling of the control roller 116 causes a corresponding shift of the potentiometer 127. The potentiometer 127 is connected with the electronic circuit 123 and controls, together with the latter, the driving motor 114 for the conveyance of the tape, so that the pull in the adhesive film K always remains constant" Column 9, lines 44-51).
Regarding claim 15, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the material (TK, Fig. 7) is guided upon entry to the flexible conduit (119, Fig. 7) and after exiting the flexible conduit (117, 112, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and a device (112, Fig. 7) positioned at the flexible conduit exit (positioned at exit of 119, Fig. 7) re-orientates the material as desired (TK is re-oriented by 112 shown by the slight twisting of TK at 117, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 17, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and a limit switch resting on the material at the flexible conduit exit triggers new material to be fed into the flexible conduit ("the electronic circuit 123 is also devised for stopping abruptly the movement of the manipulating device (a robot), in cooperation with limit switches (not shown), whenever one of the possibilities of movement...of the diverse parts of the tape-application apparatus will exceed a certain limit set by the limit switches. It is thereby possible to avoid damaging of the application device or the sheet, or possibly of the robot" Column 9, line 66 - Column 10, line 6; a person of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of placing such a limit switch on the material at the flexible conduit exit so that the limit switch triggers new material to be fed into the flexible conduit, such a control is possible by the electronic circuit 123).
Regarding claim 18, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 3, and wherein the variable loop (113, 116, Fig. 7) of the material is formed of at least two pulleys (113, 116, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 18, and the at least two pulleys (113, 116, Fig. 7) guide the material in a linear fashion (tape is guided through pulleys 113, 116 in a linear fashion, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the spool unloading device (121, Fig. 7) is located outside a cell (applicator head is located away from spool unloading device, connected only by flexible conduit 119, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 21, Koller et al., in view of Oly, teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the spool unloading device (121, Fig. 7) is located outside a cell in any orientation (applicator head is located away from spool unloading device, connected only by flexible conduit 119 which allows for any orientation of spool unloading device 121 with respect to applicator, Fig. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments on pages 6-7 of Remarks filed 12/01/2025 that Koller and Oly do not disclose or teach the amended features of independent claim 1, it is noted that Koller does indeed disclose said features, namely Koller discloses at least one sensor for monitoring tension of the material within the flexible conduit ("limit switches" Column 9, line 68); and a control unit that receives input from the at least one sensor for monitoring the tension of the material within the flexible conduit ("the electronic circuit 123 is also devised for stopping abruptly the movement of the manipulating device (a robot), in cooperation with limit switches (not shown), whenever one of the possibilities of movement...of the diverse parts of the tape-application apparatus will exceed a certain limit set by the limit switches. It is thereby possible to avoid damaging of the application device or the sheet, or possibly of the robot" Column 9, line 66 - Column 10, line 6); and wherein the fluid amplifier is operable in response to the control unit that receives input from the at least one sensor for monitoring the tension of the material within the flexible conduit (Column 9, line 66 - Column 10, line 6), and wherein the control unit dynamically adjusts the vacuum effect to maintain a predetermined tension range and minimize material jams or breakage (Column 9, line 66 - Column 10, line 6; the limit switch would be capable of detecting a breakage of material and generating a fault signal to dynamically adjust, turn off, the vacuum effect and maintain a predetermined tension range). Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Conclusion
/K.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654