DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 65 and 67-76 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 7/23/25.
Claims 65 and 67-76 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. The oath filed on 7/23/25 has been acknowledged.
4. In light of Applicant’s amendment to the claims field on 7/23/25, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), 102 (a) (in part) and the double patenting rejections has been withdrawn (see sections 5, 6, 10, 13-17 of the office action mailed on 4/25/25).
5. The following rejections remain.
8. Claim(s) 65 and 67-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furie et al (Arthritis and Rheumatology, vol. 69, no.2, pp. 376-386, IDS reference) as evidenced by p. 22 of the instant specification for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed on
Furie et al. teaches treatment of SLE comprising administering 300mg-1000mg of anifrolumab and SLE is assessed by BILAG with BICLA response. Furie et al. further teaches intravenous or subcutaneous administration of anifrolumab every four weeks (p. 376-384). As evidenced by the specification in p. 22, anifrolumab inherently comprises CDR’s set forth in SEQ ID NO:3-8 and heavy and light chain variable chains set forth in SEQ ID NO:1-2. Therefore, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
Applicant’s response filed on 7/23/25 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that the prior art reference fails to teach the currently amended limitations where the IFNGS measures IFI27, IFI44, IFI44L and RSADS.
Unlike Applicant’s assertion, the Furie reference discloses in p. 378 that the IFN gene signature was determined to analytically validate 4 genes IFI27, IFI44, IFI44L and RSADS and the patient having SLE has lower IFN gene than baseline.
10. Claims 65-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2017/0051066 (of record) in view of Furie et al (Arthritis and Rheumatology, vol. 69, no.2, pp. 376-386, IDS reference, of record) for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed on 4/25/25.
The ‘066 publication teaches treatment of SLE comprising administering anifrolumab (p. 3, 10-11) As evidenced by the specification in p. 22, anifrolumab inherently comprises CDR’s set forth in SEQ ID NO:3-8 and heavy and light chain variable chains set forth in SEQ ID NO:1-2.
The teachings of the ‘066 publication and Furie et al. have been discussed, supra.
Claims 66-67 are included in this rejection as the SLE patient would be expected to have greater than 2 fold expression of IFI27, IFI44, IFI44L and RSAD2.
The disclosure of the ‘066 differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the assessment and/or dose as in claims 65 and 71-75 of the instant application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize dosage, clinical studies and patient groups that is taught by the Furie reference into the anifrolumab formulation or method of treating SLE as in the ‘066 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known regimen and studies of SLE treatment taught by the Furie reference would facilitate optimization or treatment of SLE with different anifrolumab formulation.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s response filed on 7/23/25 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that the combination of the references does not result in the claimed invention as the references fails to teach the currently amended claims.
IN light of the discussion above in section 8 of the office action, the combination of the references remains obvious and the rejection is maintained.
11. The following new ground rejections are necessitated by Applicant’s amendment filed on 7/23/25.
13. Claims 65, and 67-76 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-36 of U.S. Application No. 18/248,280 in view of Furie et al (Arthritis and Rheumatology, vol. 69, no.2, pp. 376-386, IDS reference, of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘280 application discloses treatment of SLE comprising anifrolumab.
The claims of the ‘280 application from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the assessment and/or dose as in claims 65 and 71-75 of the instant application.
Furie et al. teaches treatment of SLE comprising administering 300mg-1000mg of anifrolumab and SLE is assessed by BILAG with BICLA response. Furie et al. further teaches intravenous or subcutaneous administration of anifrolumab every four weeks (p. 376-384). As evidenced by the specification in p. 22, anifrolumab inherently comprises CDR’s set forth in SEQ ID NO:3-8 and heavy and light chain variable chains set forth in SEQ ID NO:1-2. In addition, Furie et al. disclose in p. 378 that the IFN gene signature was determined to analytically validate 4 genes IFI27, IFI44, IFI44L and RSADS and the patient having SLE has lower IFN gene than baseline.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize dosage, clinical studies and patient groups that is taught by the Furie reference into the anifrolumab formulation or method of treating SLE as in the ‘280 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known regimen and studies of SLE treatment taught by the Furie reference would facilitate optimization or treatment of SLE with different anifrolumab formulation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
14. Claims 65 and 67-76 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-18, 20, 27, 28 and 34-40 of U.S. Application No. 18/698,343 in view of Furie et al (Arthritis and Rheumatology, vol. 69, no.2, pp. 376-386, IDS reference, of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘343 application discloses treatment of SLE comprising anifrolumab.
The claims of the ‘343 application from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the assessment and/or dose as in claims 65 and 71-75 of the instant application.
Furie et al. teaches treatment of SLE comprising administering 300mg-1000mg of anifrolumab and SLE is assessed by BILAG with BICLA response. Furie et al. further teaches intravenous or subcutaneous administration of anifrolumab every four weeks (p. 376-384). As evidenced by the specification in p. 22, anifrolumab inherently comprises CDR’s set forth in SEQ ID NO:3-8 and heavy and light chain variable chains set forth in SEQ ID NO:1-2. In addition, Furie et al. disclose in p. 378 that the IFN gene signature was determined to analytically validate 4 genes IFI27, IFI44, IFI44L and RSADS and the patient having SLE has lower IFN gene than baseline.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize dosage, clinical studies and patient groups that is taught by the Furie reference into the anifrolumab formulation or method of treating SLE as in the ‘343 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known regimen and studies of SLE treatment taught by the Furie reference would facilitate optimization or treatment of SLE with different anifrolumab formulation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
15. Claims 65 and 67-76 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-66 of U.S. Application No. 18/435,476 in view of Furie et al (Arthritis and Rheumatology, vol. 69, no.2, pp. 376-386, IDS reference, of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘476 application discloses treatment of SLE comprising anifrolumab.
The claims of the ‘476 application from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the assessment and/or dose as in claims 65 and 71-75 of the instant application.
Furie et al. teaches treatment of SLE comprising administering 300mg-1000mg of anifrolumab and SLE is assessed by BILAG with BICLA response. Furie et al. further teaches intravenous or subcutaneous administration of anifrolumab every four weeks (p. 376-384). As evidenced by the specification in p. 22, anifrolumab inherently comprises CDR’s set forth in SEQ ID NO:3-8 and heavy and light chain variable chains set forth in SEQ ID NO:1-2. In addition, Furie et al. disclose in p. 378 that the IFN gene signature was determined to analytically validate 4 genes IFI27, IFI44, IFI44L and RSADS and the patient having SLE has lower IFN gene than baseline.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize dosage, clinical studies and patient groups that is taught by the Furie reference into the anifrolumab formulation or method of treating SLE as in the ‘476 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known regimen and studies of SLE treatment taught by the Furie reference would facilitate optimization or treatment of SLE with different anifrolumab formulation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
16. Claims 65 and 67-76 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 43-56 and 67-70 of U.S. Application No. 18/474,601 in view of Furie et al (Arthritis and Rheumatology, vol. 69, no.2, pp. 376-386, IDS reference, of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘601 application discloses treatment of SLE comprising anifrolumab.
The claims of the ‘601 application from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the assessment and/or dose as in claims 65 and 71-75 of the instant application.
Furie et al. teaches treatment of SLE comprising administering 300mg-1000mg of anifrolumab and SLE is assessed by BILAG with BICLA response. Furie et al. further teaches intravenous or subcutaneous administration of anifrolumab every four weeks (p. 376-384). As evidenced by the specification in p. 22, anifrolumab inherently comprises CDR’s set forth in SEQ ID NO:3-8 and heavy and light chain variable chains set forth in SEQ ID NO:1-2. In addition, Furie et al. disclose in p. 378 that the IFN gene signature was determined to analytically validate 4 genes IFI27, IFI44, IFI44L and RSADS and the patient having SLE has lower IFN gene than baseline.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize dosage, clinical studies and patient groups that is taught by the Furie reference into the anifrolumab formulation or method of treating SLE as in the ‘601 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known regimen and studies of SLE treatment taught by the Furie reference would facilitate optimization or treatment of SLE with different anifrolumab formulation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
17. No claims are allowable.
18. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
September 18, 2025
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641