DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ reply has overcome the previous rejection dated 12/4/25. In view of this the Examiner has updated the prior art search and has found a new grounds of rejection. Because applicants’ amendment did not necessitate this new ground of rejection, this is a new non-final office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 to 15, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziche et al. in view of Wakabayashi et al.
Ziche et al. teach a crosslinkable organosilicon composition.
For claimed component a) see the polymer (A) found in line 52 of column 2. The
terminal group of formula (I) corresponds to the claimed general formula (I). Specifically the formulas found on column 3, line 53 to column 4, line 5, exemplify groups of formula (I). Lines 59-66 show various silanes meeting claimed (I) in which the N atom is attach-ed to a methyl group and an alkylene group, as well as attachment to the polymer itself.
For claimed component c) see the catalyst found in column 5, lines 50 to 61. This teaches multiple metal alkoxides.
Column 9, line 25, teaches alkyl aromatics as useful solvents. These are aprotic
organic solvents and meet claimed d).
Ziche et al. teach each of claimed a), c) and d). This differs from that claimed in that it does not teach claimed b). . Note, though, that the teachings in Ziche et al. are inclusive of all known and useful condensation catalysts (column 5, lines 48 and 49).
Wakabayashi et al. teach, as a condensation catalyst (c2), metal carboxylates having a quaternary carbon adjacent to the carbonyl group. See paragraph 109. This improves curability and adhesiveness. See paragraphs 104 and 105. Examples of the metal carboxylates are found in paragraph 115 to 118 and include potassium versatate (or potassium neodecanoic, as found in claims 4 and 20).
Wakabayashi et al. also teach that these catalyst can be used in combination with other metal carboxylate catalysts. See paragraph 130. This combination increases catalytic activity, curability and other properties.
From this one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the metal carboxylate (c2) in Wakabayashi et al. to the composition of Ziche et al. such that there is a combination of the claimed catalysts b) and c) therein, in an effort to take advantage of the properties and benefits thereof as taught by Wakabayashi et al., noted supra. In this manner claims 1, 4 and 20 are rendered obvious
For claim 3, again see the end groups shown in column 3, lines 59 to 66, which show formulas meeting this claim.
For claim 4, see column 5, lines 43 to 46. The preferred range of 20 to 40 wt% falls within the claimed range.
For claim 5, note that such a potassium catalyst is specifically disclosed in para-graph 118.
For claims 6 and 9, note that adjusting the amount of catalyst in the combined composition noted supra would have been well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, in an effort to optimize properties while not using an excess of catalyst. This is particularly true in view of the fact that Wakabayashi et al. teach adding two different catalysts.
For claims 7 and 8, note that paragraph 130 in Wakabayashi et al. teach each of these catalysts. They are also taught in Ziche et al. in column 5, lines 51 to 53.
For claim 10, note that no pigment or colorant is required such that the obvious composition noted above would be expected to be a clearcoat. Note that the claimed compositions are the same (with the exception of one catalyst) as that in Ziche et al. such that the appearance of the compositions would be expected to be the same.
For claim 11 note that of the required components in Ziche et al., none is a cross-linking agent or a tin containing compound such that these limitations are met. On the other hand, see column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 4, which teaches tin in this amount.
For claims 12 to 15, see column 10, line 16, which teaches using the composition as a coating. Note that multilayered coatings are extremely common and well known, in an effort to ensure optimal coverage and thickness and smoothness of the resulting layers. Column 9, line 50, through column 10, line 10, teaches the coating method as claimed.
For claim 21 again see paragraph 130 in Wakabayashi et al. and column 5, lines 51 to 53 of Ziche et al. Both sections teach catalysts having 4 alkoxy groups.
For claim 22, note that such polysiloxanes are not required in the composition of Ziche et al. Furthermore they are not embraced by the preferred composition as found in column 9, lines 34 to 44.
Conclusion
/MARGARET G MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765