Claim amendment filed on April 14, 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 1-12, 14-17 and 20 are pending in this application.
Claims 18-19 have been cancelled.
Claims 4-12 remain withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-3, 14-17 and 20 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejection of claims 1-3 and 14-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu patent (US Patent No. 6312755, filed with IDS), is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of the claim.
Rejection of claims 1-3 and 14-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu patent (US Patent No. 6312755, filed with IDS) in view of Davis et al (US 2005/0142249, cited in the previous office action), is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Please note, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
New Rejections
35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the blend" in the claim, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 20 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites, “
”. Claim 1 does not recite “a blend”. Therefore, there is lack of antecedent basis.
35 U.S.C. 112(d)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 17 recites, “The method of claim 1, wherein the synthetic nutritional composition comprises the alpha-lactalbumin enriched WPE in a concentration between 0.8 to 10 g/L.” Claim 17 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites, “
”. Claim 1 already recites “0.8 to 10 g/L of alpha-lactalbumin enriched WPE”. Therefore, claim 17 does not further limit instant claim 1.
U.S.C. 102
18. Claim(s) 1-3, 14-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brosnan et al (WO 2019/122363, filed with IDS).
19. Brosnan et al teach blending appropriate quantities of the alpha-lactalbumin-enriched whey protein concentrate with skimmed milk, lactose, vegetable oils and fat soluble vitamins in water…The mixture may then be homogenized and cooled…The mixture may then be standardized with deionized water to a final total solids concentration of about 120 to about 135 for example about 123 grams per liter, which is equivalent to about 670 kcal per liter (see p. 8, lines 30-42), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1, 3, 15-17 and 20. Brosnan et al teach that the synthetic nutritional composition comprises the alpha-lactalbumin enriched WPE in a concentration within a range of 0.8 to 10 g/L, for example, 0.8 to 8, 0.8 to 5 g/L, 0.85 to 4.5 g/L, 3 to 4.5 g/L (see p. 6, lines 25-26), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1 and 17. Brosnan et al teach that in a preferred embodiment, the synthetic nutritional composition has a low total protein content…the protein content is of at most 20 g/L…at most 18 g/L…at most 15 g/L…between 5 and 20 g/L…8 to 18 g/L…10 to 16 g/L…11 to 15 g/L…(see p. 7, lines 25-31), meeting the limitation of instant claim 1. Brosnan et al teach that the synthetic nutritional composition for an infant or child can also comprise any other ingredients or excipients known to be employed in the type of synthetic nutritional composition in question e.g., infant formula (see p. 7, lines 33-35), meeting the limitation of instant claim 14.
With respect to the limitation in the preamble of claim 1, “A method for preparing a synthetic nutritional composition having a final concentration of cholesterol found in human breast milk and comprising an alpha-lactalbumin enriched whey protein extract (WPE)...”, please note that MPEP 2111.02 II states "a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention." In the instant case, the preamble does not affect the method steps. The preamble in this case recites a statement of purpose or use, and therefore was not treated as a claim limitation.
With respect to claims 3 and 16, the claims 3 and 16 recite end results. Thus, since Brosnan et al teach ALL of the active method steps of blending the same amount of alpha-lactalbumin enriched WPE with skimmed milk powder, lactose, vegetable oils, and fat soluble vitamins in water, the method taught by Brosnan et al would have the same end result, meeting the limitation of instant claims 3 and 16.
With respect to claim 15, Brosnan et al is silent as to an isolated cholesterol. Therefore, there is no isolated cholesterol in the composition.
Since Brosnan et al teach ALL of the active method steps of instant claims, Brosnan et al anticipates instant claims 1-3, 14-17 and 20.
20. Claim(s) 1-3, 14-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brosnan et al (WO 2019/122363, filed with IDS).
The applied reference has a common assignee and Inventor (Jonathan O’Regan) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
21. Brosnan et al teach blending appropriate quantities of the alpha-lactalbumin-enriched whey protein concentrate with skimmed milk, lactose, vegetable oils and fat soluble vitamins in water…The mixture may then be homogenized and cooled…The mixture may then be standardized with deionized water to a final total solids concentration of about 120 to about 135 for example about 123 grams per liter, which is equivalent to about 670 kcal per liter (see p. 8, lines 30-42), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1, 3, 15-17 and 20. Brosnan et al teach that the synthetic nutritional composition comprises the alpha-lactalbumin enriched WPE in a concentration within a range of 0.8 to 10 g/L, for example, 0.8 to 8, 0.8 to 5 g/L, 0.85 to 4.5 g/L, 3 to 4.5 g/L (see p. 6, lines 25-26), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1 and 17. Brosnan et al teach that in a preferred embodiment, the synthetic nutritional composition has a low total protein content…the protein content is of at most 20 g/L…at most 18 g/L…at most 15 g/L…between 5 and 20 g/L…8 to 18 g/L…10 to 16 g/L…11 to 15 g/L…(see p. 7, lines 25-31), meeting the limitation of instant claim 1. Brosnan et al teach that the synthetic nutritional composition for an infant or child can also comprise any other ingredients or excipients known to be employed in the type of synthetic nutritional composition in question e.g., infant formula (see p. 7, lines 33-35), meeting the limitation of instant claim 14.
With respect to the limitation in the preamble of claim 1, “A method for preparing a synthetic nutritional composition having a final concentration of cholesterol found in human breast milk and comprising an alpha-lactalbumin enriched whey protein extract (WPE)...”, please note that MPEP 2111.02 II states "a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention." In the instant case, the preamble does not affect the method steps. The preamble in this case recites a statement of purpose or use, and therefore was not treated as a claim limitation.
With respect to claims 3 and 16, the claims 3 and 16 recite end results. Thus, since Brosnan et al teach ALL of the active method steps of blending the same amount of alpha-lactalbumin enriched WPE with skimmed milk powder, lactose, vegetable oils, and fat soluble vitamins in water, the method taught by Brosnan et al would have the same end result, meeting the limitation of instant claims 3 and 16.
With respect to claim 15, Brosnan et al is silent as to an isolated cholesterol. Therefore, there is no isolated cholesterol in the composition.
Since Brosnan et al teach ALL of the active method steps of instant claims, Brosnan et al anticipates instant claims 1-3, 14-17 and 20.
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
/JULIE HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
10/27/2026