DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application claims priority from Foreign application 202019106375.0, filed 11/15/2019
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 and 12 are pending.
Claims 10 and 11 have been cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because the applicant failed to amend it to be consistent with the amendments to claim 1. Claim 3 should have the requirement for it to be an inner portion deleted because that was added to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Defelice et al (Defelice) US 2011/0144752 A1.
(It is noted that for claims 1-5, the claims are directed at the implant not a method of making it, and the recitations addressing these methods are given limited weight. Accordingly, any implant capable of being 3-D printed and having the claimed structures anticipates the claims.)
1. Defelice discloses an orthopedic implant [0049] wherein the implant is a 3D printed part [0035] and comprises at least one first portion ( scaffolding [0049]) and at least one second portion (the encapsulating carrier for the drugs [0051]), the first portion forming a support structure [0049] and the second portion being at least partially made of a biodegradable material ([0051] discloses the biodegradable polymer PLA), wherein the first portion surrounds the second portion (scaffolding surrounds and contains pores which receive the encapsulated drugs [0051]) and contacts the second portion (scaffolding includes pores which are in contact with the encapsulated drugs [0051]), wherein the second portion is an inner portion of the orthopedic implant (the pores are considered inner portions because the very nature of a pore requires it to extend within something else).
2. Defelice discloses the first portion is an outer portion at least partially made of PEEK and/or PEKK and/or PAEK and/or PEI and/or PPSU and/or PSU and/or PAI ([0025] discloses the use of PEEK for the implant scaffold).
3. Defelice discloses the second portion is an inner portion (see explanation above) at least partially made of a biodegradable material, the biodegradable material being one of the following materials or material combinations: polydioxanone (PDS or PPDX or PPDO), polylactide (PLA), poly(lactide-co-glycolide) (PLGA), a mixture of polylactide (PLA) and poly(lactide-co-glycolide) (PLGA) ([0051] discloses the use of PLA for the second portion).
4. Defelice discloses the first portion and/or the second portion is/are formed to be porous at least in parts (Defelice discloses a variety of pores throughout the lattice [0049], specifically discloses pores for containing the drugs [0051], and the second portion inherently has a central pore because it encapsulates another portion [0051]).
5. The implant of Defelice is disclosed as being capable of use within a backbone cage ([0049]-[0051] and Claim 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 and 12is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Defelice.
Defelice generally discloses the invention substantially as claimed being an implant which is 3D printed, see rejection above. Defelice discloses the different portions and different materials but fails to specifically say that each aspect of the implant is 3D printed or get into if and when each portion is joined.
The methods of combining the two portions initially with the same process, printing a second portion onto a first portion, or joining two previously printed portions are all extremely well known methods of manufacturing. Forming an object as a unitary object with all portions directly joined or printed together is one of the principal advantages of 3D printing because it speeds up production and forms a seamless product. Forming two things separately and then joining them is one of the oldest forms of production.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the implant of Defelice including the first and second portions by 3D printing them as a single project in order to print the entire object with a single printer taking up less space (claims 7-8) or if printing each portion separately then then joining by a method other than printing such as adhesive or heat welding in order to allow multiple printers in order to print smaller portions faster (Claim 9).
6. Defelice discloses a method of manufacturing an orthopedic implant [0049] comprising at least the following steps: a first portion of the implant (scaffolding [0049] identified above) is produced by means of 3D printing [0035], wherein the first portion forms a support structure of the implant (see explanation with respect to claim 1 above); a second portion (the encapsulating carrier for the drugs [0051]) is produced by means of 3D printing (See 103 explanation above), wherein the second portion is at least partially made of a biodegradable material ([0051] discloses the biodegradable polymer PLA), wherein the first portion surrounds and contacts the second portion which is an inner portion of the implant (see explanation with respect to claim 1 above).
12. Defelice discloses the implant is produced by means of a FLM method [0045].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally the applicant is advised to review the following prior art as they also anticipate the claims along or in combination.
("7226481" "7682400" "5192326" "6620196")
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER D. PRONE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3774
/Christopher D. Prone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774