DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action acknowledges the applicant’s amendment filed on 5/12/2025. Claims 1-17 are pending in the application. Claims 11-17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KU et al. US 2013/0126378 A1, previously cited.
With regards to claim 1, KU discloses a clamping device 32 for an EUV inner pod (EIP), the EIP comprising: two or more components 20/22 and containing an EUV reticle 9, wherein the clamping device is configured to immobilize the two or more components of the EIP and the reticle relative to one another; and to only partially cover the EIP.
With regards to claim 2, KU discloses further configured to act upon a retention means 40 of the EIP, the retention means being configured to immobilize the reticle therein, when acted upon from outside the EIP, to immobilize the reticle within the EIP.
With regards to claim 4, KU discloses an upper clamping element 32 and a lower clamping element 30, wherein the upper and the lower clamping elements are configured to be attachable to one another while accommodating the two or more EIP components between them.
With regards to claim 5, KU discloses one clamping element 32/40 with one, two or more fixation means, wherein the fixation means are biased towards a closed position and are configured to be moved into an open position; wherein the clamping device is configured to be attachable to an EIP, when the fixation means are in the open position and to immobilize the EIP components and the reticle relative to one another, when the fixation means are in the closed position.
With regards to claim 6, KU discloses one clamping element 32/40 comprises actuators configured to act upon the retention means, when the clamping device is attached to the EIP.
With regards to claim 8, KU discloses further comprising a logging element 70 comprising one or more components including an information carrying element configured for identification of the clamping device, a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a concentration sensor, configured to detect or measure a concentration of one or more chemical substances in an atmosphere surrounding the clamping device, and/or an acceleration sensor, wherein the logging element is configured to store and/or make available information generated using the one or more components of the logging element.
With regards to claim 9, KU discloses a storage system comprising a clamping device 32 according to claim 1, and an EUV inner pod (EIP), wherein the EIP is configured to accommodate an EUV reticle; and comprises two or more components 20/22 and retention means 40 configured to immobilize the reticle when acted upon from outside the EIP; and wherein the clamping device is attachable to the EIP to immobilize the two or more components relative to one another and act upon the retention means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KU et al. US 2013/0126378 A1, previously cited.
With regards to claim 3, KU discloses the claimed invention as stated above but it does not specifically disclose at least 75%, 80%, 90%, 95% or 99% of metallic materials with respect to its mass and/or volume.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the clamping device have at least 75%, 80%, 90%, 95% or 99% of metallic materials with respect to its mass and/or volume., since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With regards to claims 7 and 10, KU discloses an envelope to hold the EIP but it does not specifically disclose having an envelope volume of less than 130%, 120%, 110%, 105% or less than 100% of an envelope volume of an EIP to which the clamping device is attachable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the envelope volume of less than 130%, 120%, 110%, 105% or less than 100% of an envelope volume of an EIP, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues the reference Ku does not disclose “a clamping device configured to "immobilize the two or more components of the EIP and the reticle relative to one another; and to only partially cover the EIP.". The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ku discloses a clamping device with 32 that is attached to outer cover 12, that connects to outer cover 10, to enclose the inner container. The outer cover 10 includes openings to allow drainage of the device, therefore, the EIP, would not be entirely covered, and would therefore meet the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENINE PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736