DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 10/14/2025. Claim 20 has been added. Claims 5, 7-9, 11-15 and 20 are now pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 sets forth “comprising at least unit selected from” in line two. This is assumed to be an error of omission and read as “comprising at least one unit selected from” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 sets forth “comprising at least unit selected from” in line two. This is assumed to be an error of omission and read as “comprising at least one unit selected from” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is rejected as being indefinite because claim 20 refers to A, n1, n2, n3, R, R2, and R3, none of which are defined in the claim. For purposes of examination, these moieties will be interpreted as the same moieties set forth in Claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2016050788 to Schultze et al. (as found on the IDS dated 5/18/2022).
Regarding Claim 5 and 12-14 Schultze teaches a sulfhydryl modified polymer compound which is obtained from hyaluronic acid (reading on the polymer compound to be modified, which comprises -OH groups). The hyaluronic acid is then modified with acrylic anhydride [Page 23, lines 12-25] and further reacted with dithiothreitol [page 28, Example 1a’].
Schultze teaches the sulfhydryl modified polymer compound wherein an acrylate modified polymer compound (hyaluronic acid reacted with acrylic anhydride) has the below structure (left) without the indicated methyl group, and is reacted with dithiothreitol [page 28, Example 1a’] to form the structure (right) without the indicated methyl group.
(see figure 12 of instant application)
Though Schultze does not expressly show the structure of the obtained sulfhydryl modified polymer compound, the reaction disclosed by Schulze is substantially the same reaction as in instant application’s Example 4 wherein methacrylic anhydride is reacted with hyaluronic acid [instant application, 0184] and further reacted with dithiothreitol [Instant application, 0226]. The only difference between applicant’s process in Example 4 and the process of Schulze is that applicant uses methacrylic anhydride, while Schulze uses acrylic anhydride. Methacrylic anhydride differs from acrylic anhydride only by the presence of a single methyl group. It is then the Office’s position that it would be reasonably expected that the process of preparing a sulfhydryl-modified polymer compound in Example 1a’ of Schultze yields the above structure except that the above indicated methyl group is absent. Such a compound reads on the sulfhydryl-modified polymer compound shown below
in which at least part of the OH-groups of the hyaluronic acid polymer have been modified to form a polymer compound wherein R1, R2, and R3 are hydrogen, R4 is the fragment of dithiothreitol (reading on the -S-R4-SH fragment is introduced from a polysulfhydryl compound selected from
, A is a fragment of the hyaluronic acid polymer compound comprising at least one of the -OH groups, n1 is n2 represent the number of acrylate modified groups, and n3 represent the number of acrylate modified groups that have been further sulfhydryl-modified.
Schultze is silent regarding the sulfhydryl content of the sulfhydryl-modified polymer compound as determined by an Ellman method.
However, Schultze, when modified in the manner proposed above, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. sulfhydryl content of the sulfhydryl-modified polymer compound as determined by the Ellman method is 0.01-30 mmol/g - would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 11, Schultze teaches the sulfhydryl-modified polymer of claim 5, wherein the -s-R4-SH fragment is introduced from dithiothreitol [page 28, Example 1a’] corresponding to the below structure
wherein n4, n5, and n6, are not required, therefore reading on the limitations set forth in claim 11.
Regarding Claim 15, Schultze teaches the sulfhydryl-modified polymer of claim 5, comprising the following structure as set forth in the rejection of claim 5:
reading on the following structure:
Wherein * represents the linking site between repeating units of the main chain and ** represents a linking site between -OH and the fragment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016050788 to Schultze et al. (as found on the IDS dated 5/18/2022).
Regarding Claim 20, Schultze teaches a sulfhydryl modified polymer compound which is obtained from hyaluronic acid (reading on the polymer compound to be modified, which comprises -OH groups). The hyaluronic acid is then modified with acrylic anhydride [Page 23, lines 12-25] and further reacted with dithiothreitol [page 28, Example 1a’].
Schultze teaches the sulfhydryl modified polymer compound wherein an acrylate modified polymer compound (hyaluronic acid reacted with acrylic anhydride) has the below structure (left) without the indicated methyl group, and is reacted with dithiothreitol [page 28, Example 1a’] to form the structure (right) without the indicated methyl group.
(see figure 12 of instant application)
Though Schultze does not expressly show the structure of the obtained sulfhydryl modified polymer compound, the reaction disclosed by Schulze is substantially the same reaction as in instant application’s Example 4 wherein methacrylic anhydride is reacted with hyaluronic acid [instant application, 0184] and further reacted with dithiothreitol [Instant application, 0226]. The only difference between applicant’s process in Example 4 and the process of Schulze is that applicant uses methacrylic anhydride, while Schulze uses acrylic anhydride. Methacrylic anhydride differs from acrylic anhydride only by the presence of a single methyl group. It is then the Office’s position that it would be reasonably expected that the process of preparing a sulfhydryl-modified polymer compound in Example 1a’ of Schultze yields the above structure except that the above indicated methyl group is absent. Such a compound reads on the sulfhydryl-modified polymer compound shown below
in which at least part of the OH-groups of the hyaluronic acid polymer have been modified to form a polymer compound wherein R1 is hydrogen.
Schultze does not particularly teach that R1 is halogen, an aliphatic group, or an aromatic group in the selected embodiment.
However, Schultze teaches the hyaluronic acid grafted with (meth)acrylate groups can be obtained by reaction of hyaluronic acid with (meth)acrylic anhydride [P4, L7-L12], thereby including methacrylic anhydride or acrylic anhydride as suitable options. The reaction of methacrylic anhydride with hyaluronic acid, and further reacted with dithiothreitol will yield the above structure wherein R1 is a methyl group, thereby reading on R1 is an aliphatic group.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute acrylic anhydride for methacrylic anhydride.
The motivation would have been that it is obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. (MPEP 2144.06) Schultze teaches that both acrylic anhydride and methacrylic anhydride are suitable modifiers for the sulfhydryl-modified polymer compounds, thus providing evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in the disclosed compositions.
Double Patenting
Claims 5, 11-15, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 8, and 11-15 of copending Application No. 17/756183. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
It is clear that all the elements of the instant claims are to be found in the claims of Application No. 17/756183, as the instant claims fully encompass the claims of Application No. 17/756183. The difference between the instant claims and the claims of Application No. 17/756183 lies in the fact that the latter claims include more elements, e.g. the hydrogel set forth in Application No. 17/756183 comprises the instantly claimed polymer, and is therefore more specific. The invention of the claims of Application No. 17/756183 is thus in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of the instant claims. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In Re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of Application No. 17/756183, they are not patentably distinct from these claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states amended claim 5 is not anticipated by Schultze, since R’ groups in the amended units neither contain a heteroatom nor a methylene group. However, claim 5 recites a Markush group for the sulfhydryl-modified polymer compound including the multiple structures. Attention is drawn to the rejection of claim 5 in which Schultze is found to anticipate the following structure of claim 5:
The limitations directed to R’ do not further limit the above embodiment because this embodiment lacks an R’ moiety. As such, the Office maintains the position that claim 5 is properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by expressly teaching one of the members of the Markush group as set forth above.
CorrespondenceAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING whose telephone number is (703)756-5411. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30am - 5:00pm.
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764