DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee US 20160349369 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a distance measuring sensor comprising:
a pixel array section configured to have pixels arrayed two-dimensionally, each of the pixels receiving reflected light from an object under irradiation light from a lighting apparatus and outputting a detection signal corresponding to an amount of the received light (light inputting unit 110 with plurality of pixels 132, Fig. 2, [0047-49]); and
a control section configured to control a light emission condition for the lighting apparatus according to an operation of each of the pixels in the pixel array section (controlling unit 140 in Fig. 1 controls light source to be on when in phase pixels 132-1 are active and off when out phase pixels 132-2 are active, Fig. 3, [0046-49], can also adjust to focus on whole region or partial region; control unit 15 in Fig. 7 controls the first and second light sources in synchronization with odd and even frame periods to irradiate different regions, [0082-105]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the distance the measuring sensor according to claim 1, wherein the control section performs control to change the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus during a pixel read period in which the detection signal is output from each of the pixels (Figs. 3, 9, 13, [0100-105], irradiation is switched while image signal is being output).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the distance the distance measuring sensor according to claim 1, wherein the control section performs control to change a light emission source in controlling the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus (light source 11a emits during odd frames and 11b emits during even frames, Fig. 13, [0127]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 1, wherein the control section performs control to change an irradiation method in controlling the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus (light source 11a emits during odd frames and 11b emits during even frames, Fig. 13, [0127]; using a different light source is changing an irradiation method).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 1, wherein the control section performs control to change an irradiation area in controlling the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus (adjust to focus on whole region or partial region, Fig. 4, [0046-50, 54-62]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 1, wherein the control section performs control to change the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus in units of a micro frame (In phase and out phase can be considered micro frames, Fig. 3; odd and even frames are micro frames used to merge into a whole depth image with deinterlacer 32, [0104]; additionally, “units of a micro frame” is recited broadly such that changing the light emission condition could happen after any number of micro frames).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 1, wherein the control section performs control to change the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus in units of a depth frame (In phase and out phase can be considered half depth frames, Fig. 3; odd and even frames are micro frames used to merge into a whole depth image with deinterlacer 32, [0104]; additionally, “units of a depth” is recited broadly such that changing the light emission condition could happen at partial depth frames (e.g. half depth frames as Lee teaches)).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 1, wherein the control section supplies the lighting apparatus with the light emission condition acquired from a broader-concept control section for the lighting apparatus, in keeping with a timing commensurate with the operation of each of the pixels in the pixel array section (PC chooses which partial region in Fig. 5 and acts as a broader-concept control section, [0052-58]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 1, wherein the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus according to a light reception result of each of the pixels in the pixel array section, the control section further supplying the lighting apparatus with the determined light emission condition in keeping with a timing commensurate with the operation of each of the pixels in the pixel array section (PC chooses which partial region after entire region is irradiated in Fig. 5, [0052-58]).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches a distance measuring system comprising:
a lighting apparatus configured to emit irradiation light to an object (light source 112 or 11 in Figs. 1, 7, 12, [0045]); and
a distance measuring sensor configured to receive reflected light from the object under the irradiation light, the distance measuring sensor including a pixel array section configured to have pixels arrayed two-dimensionally, each of the pixels receiving the reflected light and outputting a detection signal corresponding to an amount of the received light (light inputting unit 110 with plurality of pixels 132, Fig. 2, [0047-49]), and
a control section configured to control a light emission condition for the lighting apparatus according to an operation of each of the pixels in the pixel array section (controlling unit 140 in Fig. 1 controls light source to be on when in phase pixels 132-1 are active and off when out phase pixels 132-2 are active, Fig. 3, [0046-49], can also adjust to focus on whole region or partial region; control unit 15 in Fig. 7 controls the first and second light sources in synchronization with odd and even frame periods to irradiate different regions, [0082-105]).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches Electronic equipment comprising:
a distance measuring system (Figs. 1, 7, 12) including a lighting apparatus configured to emit irradiation light to an object (light source 112 or 11 in Figs. 1, 7, 12, [0045]), and
a distance measuring sensor configured to receive reflected light from the object under the irradiation light, the distance measuring sensor including a pixel array section configured to have pixels arrayed two-dimensionally, each of the pixels receiving the reflected light and outputting a detection signal corresponding to an amount of the received light (light inputting unit 110 with plurality of pixels 132, Fig. 2, [0047-49]), and
a control section configured to control a light emission condition for the lighting apparatus according to an operation of each of the pixels in the pixel array section (controlling unit 140 in Fig. 1 controls light source to be on when in phase pixels 132-1 are active and off when out phase pixels 132-2 are active, Fig. 3, [0046-49], can also adjust to focus on whole region or partial region; control unit 15 in Fig. 7 controls the first and second light sources in synchronization with odd and even frame periods to irradiate different regions, [0082-105]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US 20160349369 A1 in view of Rhee US 20200184664 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 1,
Lee does not explicitly teach but Rhee teaches wherein the control section performs control to change a modulation frequency in controlling the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus ([0070-74]; adjust modulation frequency based on identified distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee such that the control section performs control to change a modulation frequency in controlling the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus similar to Rhee with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping synchronize the emitter and detector (Rhee: [0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 1,
Lee does not explicitly teach but Rhee teaches wherein the control section performs control to change light emission intensity in controlling the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus ([0075]; adjust intensity in accordance with identified distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee such that the control section performs control to change light emission intensity in controlling the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus similar to Rhee with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of improving eye safety and preventing detector saturation.
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 11,
Lee does not explicitly teach but Rhee teaches wherein the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus according to a measured distance value based on the light reception result of each of the pixels in the pixel array section ([0070-75]; adjust modulation frequency or intensity based on identified distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee such that the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus according to a measured distance value based on the light reception result of each of the pixels in the pixel array section similar to Rhee with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of improving eye safety and preventing detector saturation.
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 12,
Lee does not explicitly teach but Rhee teaches wherein the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus depending on whether or not the measured distance value represents a close range ([0075]; adjust intensity based on identified distance being shorter than a first distance (close to each other)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee such that the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus depending on whether or not the measured distance value represents a close range similar to Rhee with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of improving eye safety and preventing detector saturation.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 12,
Lee does not explicitly teach but Rhee teaches wherein the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus depending on whether or not the measured distance value represents measurement in an indoor environment ([0100-101]; adjust intensity based on location information including whether indoors or outdoors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee such that the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus depending on whether or not the measured distance value represents measurement in an indoor environment similar to Rhee with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping improve signal to noise (Rhee: [0100-101]).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US 20160349369 A1 in view of Tatara US 20180319320 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 1,
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus according to an environmental condition, the control section further supplying the lighting apparatus with the determined light emission condition in keeping with a timing commensurate with the operation of each of the pixels in the pixel array section.
Tatara teaches adjusting illumination state of illumination device based on temperature from an internal temperature sensor ([0203-204])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee such that the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus according to an environmental condition, the control section further supplying the lighting apparatus with the determined light emission condition in keeping with a timing commensurate with the operation of each of the pixels in the pixel array section similar to Tatara with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping improve lifetime of the lighting apparatus
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 15,
Lee does not explicitly teach further comprising: a temperature sensor for measuring an internal temperature, wherein the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus on a basis of a detection result of the temperature sensor as the environmental condition.
Tatara teaches adjusting illumination state of illumination device based on temperature from an internal temperature sensor ([0203-204])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee includes a temperature sensor for measuring an internal temperature, wherein the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus on a basis of a detection result of the temperature sensor as the environmental condition similar to Tatara with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping improve lifetime of the lighting apparatus
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches the distance measuring sensor according to claim 15,
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus on a basis of a detection result of a temperature sensor in the lighting apparatus as the environmental condition.
Tatara teaches adjusting illumination state of illumination device based on temperature from an internal temperature sensor ([0203-204])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee such that the control section determines the light emission condition for the lighting apparatus on a basis of a detection result of a temperature sensor in the lighting apparatus as the environmental condition similar to Tatara with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping improve lifetime of the lighting apparatus
Conclusion
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645