Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I. in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected grouping of invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “make” and “size” in claims 1-8 and 14-18 are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The term “make” and “size” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims are confusing as to intent because the “make” and “size” are utilized to identify two different components with each being identified as being a “coat”. However, the claims do not set forth any definition of these referred to identifiers in order for it to be definitively ascertained what coat materials may or may not be “make” and/or “size” coat materials. Further, it can not be definitively be ascertained how or if these separately recited “coat” materials are intended and/or required to be different.
Appropriate correction is required.
For purposes of examination, the terms “make” and “size” as connected to “coat” have been treated as adding no further definition and/or limitation to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-4353634 in view of KR-101860998.
JP-4353634 discloses foam products comprising a foam main body that includes grains/particles that are affixed to the foam through an adhesive “make” coat with further coating of the particles through a “size” coat {see abstract and paras [0012]-[0031]}.
JP-4353634 differs from applicants’ claims in that a thermoplastic polyurethane material is not particularly required in order to affix its particles to its foam. However, thermoplastic adhesives are allowed for by JP-4353634 {para [0023]} and KR-101860998 discloses thermoplastic polyurethanes to be known adhesive materials for bonding and affixing particles to substrate surfaces{see pages 3 & 8 of translation}. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the thermoplastic polyurethane adhesive material of KR-101860998 as the allowed for thermoplastic adhesive material in forming the foam products of JP-4353634 for the purpose of achieving acceptable particle attachment and/or incorporation in articles formed in order to arrive at the products of applicants’ claims with the expectation of success in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 4, JP-4353634 discloses adhesives for its “coats” that are sufficient to meet the adhesives of this claim {see paras [0023]-[0031]}.
Regarding claims 5-8 & 15-18, though specific surface weights, hardness, tensile and elongation effects are not particularly expressed by JP-4353634 in their described “size coat” materials, in that the “coat” materials, which include “size coat” materials, disclosed by JP-4353634 are sufficient in meeting the “size coat” materials in constitutional make-up to the degree as defined by applicants’ claims {see paras [0012]-[0031]}, it is held that it would necessarily follow that the “coat”, including “size coat” materials, materials of JP-4353634 would possess the surface weights, hardness, tensile and elongation effects as set forth by these claims. Further, it is noted that case law holds that a material and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir.1990).
Regarding claim 14, JP-4353634 discloses that its foam material may be polyurethane foam {see para [0020]}.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-4353634 in view of KR-101860998 as applied to claims 1, 4-8 and 14-18 above, and further in view of Martin et al.(5,618,904).
Claim 2 differs from JP-4353634 combined with KR-101860998 in that reactive one-component adhesive as claimed is not required to be included. However, Martin et al. discloses one-part, reactive, hot melt adhesives meeting the reactive one-component adhesive requirements of applicants’ claim to be known adhesive materials for bonding and affixing particles to substrate surfaces{see abstract, Summary of the Invention and column 5 lines 28-45}. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the one-part, reactive, hot melt adhesive material of Martin et al. as an adhesive coat material in forming the foam products of the combination of JP-4353634 and KR-101860998 for the purpose of achieving acceptable adhesion and coating effects in articles formed in order to arrive at the products of applicants’ claim with the expectation of success in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-4353634 in view of KR-101860998 as applied to claims 1, 4-8 and 14-18 above, and further in view of WO 2016/204978.
Claim 3 differs from JP-4353634 combined with KR-101860998 in that two-component adhesive as claimed is not required to be included. However, WO 2016/204978 discloses two-component adhesives meeting the requirements of applicants’ claim to be known adhesive materials for bonding and affixing materials to substrate surfaces{see abstract, page 1 and Examples, as well as the entire document}. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the two-component adhesive material of WO 2016/204978 as an adhesive coat material in forming the foam products of the combination of JP-4353634 and KR-101860998 for the purpose of achieving acceptable adhesion and coating effects in articles formed in order to arrive at the products of applicants’ claim with the expectation of success in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to John Cooney whose telephone number is 571-272-1070. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9 to 6. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Heidi Riviere Kelley, can be reached on 571-270-1831. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN M COONEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765