Response to Amendment
The amendment dated 5/20/26 has been received and made of record.
Applicant argument with respect to claims 15 and 23 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
For example, applicant alleges it is submitted that the cited references fail to teach or suggest all of the limitations of claim 15 as amended, including at least :
"receiving, by the first UE, from a network, information related to a second channel for channel switching, based on the first UE entering a geographic area related to the safety service, wherein the second channel is configured by the network for use by a plurality of UEs including the first UE for the safety service within the geographic area, based on the network receiving channel state information related to one or more candidate channels from the plurality of UEs obtained based on sensing; transmitting, by the first UE, a second message related to a state of the first UE for the safety service using the second channel."
Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts based on the following response and/or newly cited art.
First Gulati discloses transmitting, by a first user equipment( UE) a first message related to a state of the first UE for a safety service using first channel (see par.0106, where transmitting a signal to, or receiving the signal from, a second UE; receiving information about the second UE from a sensor at the first UE or from a basic safety message (BSM), wherein the information comprises operation information about a vehicle associated with the second UE; and determining whether the first UE and the second UE are in a line-of-sight (LOS) condition based on a correlation of the information about the second UE with one or more of a channel estimation, , UE may predict channel condition or channel state ), receiving, by the UE from the network, information requesting a channel switching based on the first UE entering geographic area related to the safety service (see par. 0006, 0053-0054, 0059, where based on a location, may lead to a channel changes in channel conditions between transmissions). For example, where BSM message under certain radio propagation conditions, a transmitting UE may predict future channel conditions and may select transmission parameters (such as a precoder for a DFT beam, an SNR, etc. can be predicted by the transmitting UE. The prediction may be based, at least in part, on information from a BSM. (that is selecting a second channel or preferred channel with preferred transmission parameter (such channel condition and UE location. In this way UE determine and to apply a predictive link adaptation to select a second channel).
performing, by the first UE, the channel switching from the first channel to the second channel(see par. 0074-0075) and transmitting, by the first UE, a second message related to a state of the first UE for the safety service using the second channel (see par. 0102).
Second, as per newly added limitation wherein the second channel is configured by the network for use by a plurality of UEs including the first UE for the safety service within the geographic area, based on the network receiving channel state information related to one or more candidate channels from the plurality of UEs obtained based on sensing.
Examiner newly cited reference (Hubert) discloses wherein the second channel is configured by the network for use by a plurality of UEs including the first UE for the safety service within the geographic area, based on the network receiving channel state information related to one or more candidate channels from the plurality of UEs obtained based on sensing(see figs 8-10 pars. 0054, 57-59, where dynamic channel allocation is described order facilitate a channel selection in response to an assessment of the data points and identifying a channel for the resource, channels can be manually assigned by a network operator within a fixed channel allocation system, and access points can automatically select frequency channels within a dynamic channel allocation system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 19-23, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200007247[herein after Gulati] in view of Huber et al U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0135070 [herein after Huber ].
As per claim 15 and 23 Gulati discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, by a first user equipment( UE) a first message related to a state of the first UE for a safety service using first channel (see par.0106, where transmitting a signal to, or receiving the signal from, a second UE; receiving information about the second UE from a sensor at the first UE or from a basic safety message (BSM), wherein the information comprises operation information about a vehicle associated with the second UE; and determining whether the first UE and the second UE are in a line-of-sight (LOS) condition based on a correlation of the information about the second UE with one or more of a channel estimation, , UE may predict channel condition or channel state );
receiving, by the UE from the network, information requesting a channel switching based on the first UE entering geographic area related to the safety service (see par. 0006, 0053-0054, 0059, where based on a location, may lead to a channel changes in channel conditions between transmissions). For example, where BSM message under certain radio propagation conditions, a transmitting UE may predict future channel conditions and may select transmission parameters (such as a precoder for a DFT beam, an SNR, etc. can be predicted by the transmitting UE. The prediction may be based, at least in part, on information from a BSM. (that is selecting a second channel or preferred channel with preferred transmission parameter (such channel condition and UE location. In this way UE determine and to apply a predictive link adaptation to select a second channel).
performing, by the first UE, the channel switching from the first channel to the second channel(see par. 0074-0075);
transmitting, by the first UE, a second message related to a state of the first UE for the safety service using the second channel (see par. 0102).
Here, even though Gulati discloses as illustrated( pars. 0037, 0053-0054 0059, where BSM message under certain radio propagation conditions, a transmitting UE may predict future channel conditions and may select transmission parameters (such as a precoder for a DFT beam, an SNR, etc. can be predicted by the transmitting UE. The prediction may be based, at least in part, on information from a BSM. (that is selecting a second channel or preferred channel with preferred transmission parameter (such channel condition and UE location ) in this way UE determine and to apply a predictive link adaptation to select a second channel).
In the event it is not clear Gulati discloses clearly “wherein the second channel is configured by the network for use by a plurality of UEs including the first UE based on the network receiving channel state information related to one or more candidate channels from the plurality of UEs obtained based on sensing”.
Huber discloses wherein the second channel is configured by the network for use by a plurality of UEs including the first UE within the geographic area, based on the network receiving channel state information related to one or more candidate channels from the plurality of UEs obtained based on sensing(see figs 8-10 pars. 0054, 57-59).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective failing date of the claimed to incorporate the teaching of Huber into the system of Gulati to facilitate a channel selection in response to an assessment of the data points and identifying a channel for the resource, thus Channels can be manually assigned by a network operator within a fixed channel allocation system, and access points can automatically select frequency channels within a dynamic channel allocation system.
As per claim 19, and 27 Gulati discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the second channel is a dedicated channel for the safety service of the UE(see par. 0053-0054 0059).
As per claim 20, and 28 Gulati discloses the method of claim 15, wherein based on the second channel being used with geographic area related to the safety service, a bandwidth of the second channel is configured to greater than a bandwidth of the first channel(see par. 0031).
As per claim 21, Gulati discloses the method of claim 15, wherein, based on an interference level related to the second channel being lowest among the one or more candidate channels, the second channel is determined to satisfy the channel state required for the safety service(see pars.0029-0031).
As per claim 22, and 30 Gulati discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the UE is a terminal of a vulnerable road user (VRU)(see par. 036).
Claims 16-17 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati in view of Huber and further in view of Abraham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0248630[hereinafter Abraham].
As per claim 16 and 24 Gulati-Huber disclose substantially features of the claimed invention as discussed above with respect to 15 and 23 However,
Gulati-Huber does not explicitly disclose wherein the second channel is re-switched to the first channel from the second channel based on at least one of (i) an expiration of time-out, for use of the second channel , (ii) the UE being located outside the predetermined geographic area and (III) reception of release control information .
Abraham discloses a system for managing multiple channels in a wireless communication network, wherein the second channel is re-switched to the first channel from the second channel based on at least one of expiration of the time-out, out of the predetermined geographic area and reception of release control information (see fig. 8 and par.0079, 0093-0094). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective failing date of the claimed to incorporate the teaching of Abraham into the system of Pan-KIM thus enabling identifying multiple stations and to which channels they should switch, thus allowing multiple STAs to be switched to appropriate channels. For example, if no data is received after the CTS NAV expires, the AP may consider the STA1 channel location to be VC1 and wherein , if no ACK is received and the NAV on VC1 has expired, the STA may assume the AP has returned/maintained the STA1 channel location to be VC1.
As per claim 17, and 25 Abraham discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the message related to the safety service of the UE includes information on time-out, and wherein, based on the expiration of the time-out, the UE transmits a message related to a state of the UE by switching from the second channel to the first channel. (see par. 0093-0095).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDULLAHI ELMI SALAD whose telephone number is (571)272-4009. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30AM-6:PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on 571-272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466