Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s argument dated 12/23/25 has been fully considered but are moot in view new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 19-23, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200007247[herein after Gulati] in view of Kalhan et al U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170099689 [herein after Kalhan].
As per claim 15 and 23 Gulati discloses a method comprising:
obtaining, by user equipment (UE), information related to one or more candidate channels(see par.0037, 0049, 0054 where UE may transmitting UE may predict future channel conditions and may select transmission parameters (such as a precoder for a DFT beam, an SNR, etc. can be predicted by the transmitting UE);
transmitting, by the UE to a network through a first channel, channel state information related to the one or more candidate channel obtained base on sensing (see par. 0054, UE may predict channel condition or channel state );
receiving, by the UE from the network, information requesting a channel switching from first channel to a second channel (see par. 0054, 0059);
transmitting, by UE to the network, the second channel switched from the first channel, a message related to a state of the UE for safety service,(see par. 0037, 0053-0054 0059, where BSM message under certain radio propagation conditions, a transmitting UE may predict future channel conditions and may select transmission parameters (such as a precoder for a DFT beam, an SNR, etc. can be predicted by the transmitting UE. The prediction may be based, at least in part, on information from a BSM. (that is selecting a second channel or preferred channel with preferred transmission parameter (such channel condition and UE location. In this way UE determine and to apply a predictive link adaptation to select a second channel)
Here, even though Gulati discloses as illustrated( pars. 0037, 0053-0054 0059, where BSM message under certain radio propagation conditions, a transmitting UE may predict future channel conditions and may select transmission parameters (such as a precoder for a DFT beam, an SNR, etc. can be predicted by the transmitting UE. The prediction may be based, at least in part, on information from a BSM. (that is selecting a second channel or preferred channel with preferred transmission parameter (such channel condition and UE location ) in this way UE determine and to apply a predictive link adaptation to select a second channel).
In the event it is not clear Gulati does not clearly wherein the second channel is selected from among the one or more candidate channels, based on (i) the second channel satisfying a channel state required for the safety service and (ii) the UE being located within a geographic area related to the safety service.
Kalhan discloses wherein, based on the second channel being with a channel state required for supporting the safety service within the geographic area, the second channel is selected among the at least one candidate channel(see pars. 0010, 0029).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective failing date of the claimed to incorporate the teaching of Kalhan into the system of Gulati Thus, enabling UE device to select between a first channel and second channel communication link and a device-to-device (D2D) communication link for transmission for data from the transmitting UE device to a receiving UE device , such mechanism or techniques where the UE device selects the link require less signaling than techniques where the base station selects the communication link since the UE device must report information regarding the D2D communication link. For the examples herein, the UE device does not need to forward D2D channel information to the base station. In addition, as discussed below, the UE device may determine the cellular channel characteristics without specific information being provided by the base station.
As per claim 19, and 27 Gulati discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the second channel is a dedicated channel for the safety service of the UE(see par. 0053-0054 0059).
As per claim 20, and 28 Gulati discloses the method of claim 15, wherein based on the second channel being used with geographic area related to the safety service, a bandwidth of the second channel is configured to greater than a bandwidth of the first channel(see par. 0031).
As per claim 21, Klahan discloses the method of claim 15, wherein, based on an interference level related to the second channel being lowest among the one or more candidate channels, the second channel is determined to satisfy the channel state required for the safety service(see pars. 0010, 0029).
As per claim 22, and 30 Gulati discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the UE is a terminal of a vulnerable road user (VRU)(see par. 036).
Claims 16-17 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati in view of Kalhan and further in view of Abraham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0248630[hereinafter Abraham].
As per claim 16 and 24 Gulati-Kalhan disclose substantially features of the claimed invention as discussed above with respect to 15 and 23 However,
Gulati-Kalhan does not explicitly disclose wherein the second channel is re-switched to the first channel from the second channel based on at least one of (i) an expiration of time-out, for use of the second channel , (ii) the UE being located outside the predetermined geographic area and (III) reception of release control information .
Abraham discloses a system for managing multiple channels in a wireless communication network, wherein the second channel is re-switched to the first channel from the second channel based on at least one of expiration of the time-out, out of the predetermined geographic area and reception of release control information (see fig. 8 and par.0079, 0093-0094). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective failing date of the claimed to incorporate the teaching of Abraham into the system of Pan-KIM thus enabling identifying multiple stations and to which channels they should switch, thus allowing multiple STAs to be switched to appropriate channels. For example, if no data is received after the CTS NAV expires, the AP may consider the STA1 channel location to be VC1 and wherein , if no ACK is received and the NAV on VC1 has expired, the STA may assume the AP has returned/maintained the STA1 channel location to be VC1.
As per claim 17, and 25 Abraham discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the message related to the safety service of the UE includes information on time-out, and wherein, based on the expiration of the time-out, the UE transmits a message related to a state of the UE by switching from the second channel to the first channel. (see par. 0093-0095).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDULLAHI ELMI SALAD whose telephone number is (571)272-4009. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30AM-6:PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on 571-272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466