Claims Status
The remarks and amendments filed 9/22/2025 are acknowledged.
Claims 21 and 24-32 are pending.
Claims 1-20 and 22-23 are cancelled.
Claims 21 and 24-25 are amended.
Claims 28-32 are new.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group V, claims 21 and 24, in the reply filed on 09/22/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that amended claims 25, 26, 27-31, and 32 comprise the technical feature of the CD7-blocking molecule with the specific structure of Formula II. This is not found persuasive because claims 25-32 do not share the same technical feature as claims 21 and 24. Group V, claims 21 and 24, relate to a CD7-blocking molecule, which is a protein, while the remaining claims, i.e. 25-32, relate to a nucleic acid molecule encoding the CD7-blocking molecule. There is no similar structure or function between a protein and a nucleic acid.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 25-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/22/2025.
Therefore, claims 21 and 24 are under examination.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/CN2020/130945 and claims priority to People’s Republic of China application CN201911150678.7.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C.
119 (a)-(d) and receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37
CFR 1.55. Although the certified copy of the foreign priority document was received, the
Examiner is unable to determine whether or not the Chinese foreign priority document
discloses what is presently claimed because the document is in Chinese. Therefore,
priority is given with the effective filing date of 11/23/2020, which is the PCT filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2022 and 07/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Notably, the disclosure statement filed lists a Search Report. The listing of the references cited in a Search Report itself is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, "the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper." Therefore, the references cited in the Search Report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information or any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the IDS, including all "statement" requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Note: If copies of the individual references cited on the Search Report are also cited separately on the IDS (and these references have not been lined-through) they have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 4A, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13A, 13B, 15, 19, 20, 23B, 23C, 23D, 24A, 24B and 25B comprise multiple panels. 37 CFR 1.84(u) states that the different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals and that "partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter". Each panel should be separately numbered.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 21 recites an acronym (i.e. CD7). The first time an acronym is used, it must be accompanied by the definition of the abbreviation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 21 recites the limitation “…wherein the CD7-blocking molecule has a structure as shown in the following Formula II…”. The “has” is being interpretated as “comprising” the components of Formula II in the specific order N to C terminus as recited in instant claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “an amino acid sequence” in regards to the endoplasmic reticulum retention sequence of SEQ ID NO: 10. The “an” makes it unclear if this requires the entire amino acid sequence of the named SEQ ID NO, or if only two consecutive recited amino acids within the sequence of the named SEQ ID NO are required. Therefore, the scope of this claim is indefinite.
Note: The 112(b) rejection can be overcome by amending the claim to say “the
amino acid sequence.”
Additionally, claim 21 recites “anti-CD7 nanobodies”. The term “nanobody” is trademarked. While not per se indefinite, the term must be analyzed to determine how the mark or name is used in the claim. Here, the trademark is used as a claim limitation to describe a particular structure and thus the claim scope is uncertain since the mark or name cannot be used to properly identify any particular material or product but rather only identifies the source of the material. See MPEP 2173.05(U).
Note: The Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite “anti-CD7 VHH antibodies” in place of “anti-CD7 nanobodies” to overcome this rejection.
Further, claim 21 recites “A CD7-blocking molecule, which comprises one or more anti-CD7 nanobodies… wherein the CD7-blocking molecule has a structure as shown in the following Formula II: L’-VHH-ER (II) wherein,…VHH’ is a binding region comprising two anti-CD7 nanobodies…”. It is unclear how the molecule could comprise only one anti-CD7 nanobody, as recited in the preamble, since the body of the claim also recites that that the VHH comprises two anti-CD7 nanobodies. Therefore, the scope of this claim is indefinite.
Claim 24, which depends from claim 21, is therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 24, which depends from claim 21, recites the CD7-blocking molecule according to claim 21, whose amino acid sequence is set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2 or SEQ ID NO: 1. SEQ ID NO: 1 is a nucleic acid sequence but depends from a claim requiring a CD7-blocking molecule, i.e. a protein. Therefore, SEQ ID NO: 1 does not further limit the CD7-blocking molecule of claim 21. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al., 2016 (7/10/2025 IDS) in view of Feldman (WO 2015112830; instant PTO-892) and Png (US 20180179280; instant PTO-892).
Regarding claim 21, Tang teaches PG002, a bivalent CD7 nanobody-based immunotoxin [see Abstract], comprising two VHH6’s (i.e. two anti-CD7 nanobodies) linked by a flexible linker, with a KDEL (i.e. endoplasmic reticulum retention motif) on the C terminus [see Page 34076; Figure 4A].
However, Tang does not specifically teach that the PG002 comprises a signal peptide on the N-terminus or that the endoplasmic reticulum retention sequence comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 10.
Feldman teaches a GM-CSF receptor leader sequence (i.e. signal peptide) that may be positioned at the amino terminus of a polypeptide that may facilitate expression of the polypeptide on the surface of the cell [0021] and CARs comprising an antigen binding domain and can comprise the receptor leader sequence.
Png teaches compositions comprising an anti-CD7 CAR and an anti-CD7 protein expression blocker [see Abstract] which can comprise a localizing domain linked to the target-binding molecule [0006], and that the localizing domain can be SEQ ID NO: 8, an endoplasmic reticulum (ER) retention peptide [0087].
SEQ ID NO: 8 of Png has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 10 of the instant claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bivalent CD7 nanobody-based immunotoxin of Tang to comprise a signal peptide linked to the N terminus of the VHH, as taught by Feldman. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Feldman teaches that the GM-CSF receptor leader sequence can be used for chimeric antigen receptors to facilitate protein expression. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the endoplasmic reticulum retention motif of Tang to specifically be the ER retention peptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 8 of Png. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Png teaches this sequence is a ER retention peptide sequence and can be used in anti-CD7 CARs. Further, one would have been motivated to use this sequence for the ER retention sequence because it is a known sequence in the art, and it is obvious to use known variations in the prior art for predictable outcomes. See MPEP 2143 (F).
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 11, 13, and 14 of copending Application No. 18/253,819 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 21, claim 1 of the reference application teaches a method for preparing CD7-CAR-T cells, which comprises the following steps: (i) providing a sample to be processed containing T cells, (ii) sorting and activating the T cells contained in the sample, thereby obtaining activated T cells, (iii) introducing a first viral vector for expressing a CD7-blocking molecule into the activated T cells, thereby obtaining CD7-blocked T cells, and (iv) introducing a second viral vector for expressing a CD7-CAR into the CD7-blocked T cells, thereby obtaining the CD7-CAR-T cells, wherein, after the T cells are co-incubated with an activator for 12-36 h, preferably 18-30 h, more preferably 22-26 h, the first viral vector for expressing a CD7-blocking molecule is introduced into the activated T cells, claim 8 of the reference application teaches wherein the CD7-blocking molecule comprises one or more anti-CD7 nanobodies and an endoplasmic reticulum retention sequence, claim 11 of the reference application teaches wherein the CD7-blocking molecule has a structure as shown in the following Formula II: L’-VHH’-ER (II), wherein, each "-" is independently a linking peptide or peptide bond; L' is a signal peptide sequence; VHH' is a binding region comprising two anti-CD7 nanobodies; and ER is an endoplasmic reticulum retention sequence, claim 13 of the reference application teaches wherein the amino acid sequence of the ER is
shown in SEQ ID NO: 10.
SEQ ID NO: 10 of the reference application has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 10 of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 24, claim 14 of the reference application teaches wherein the amino acid sequence of the CD7-blocking molecule is shown in SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2,
SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 of the reference application have 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 of the instant claim, respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A. NCT04004637 (instant PTO-892) and Wang et al., 2025 (instant PTO-892)
- This is pertinent art to the instant application because it discloses CD7 CAR-T cells. Wang et al., 2025 (instant PTO-892) teaches that the CD7 CAR-T cells comprise a tandem CD7 nanobody to an ER/golgi retention signal peptide [page 207, left column, third paragraph]. However, NCT04004637 is not an enabling disclosure because it does not explicitly teach that the CD7 CAR-T cells comprise the structure of Formula II, as claimed in instant claim 21.
/B.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/JEFFREY STUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1675