DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 11/17/25, have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments, starting on page 6, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 14, 16, 20, and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 14, applicant argues that Park in view of Won and Fard do not disclose all the features of the instant claim because Park in view of Won and Fard does not disclose “transmitting a second service request message via non-3GPP access”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Park in paragraph 274 discloses a backoff message for request messages to the AMF and discloses in 256 that the UE cannot transmit an MO signal (e.g. a request message) while the back-off timer is running. While it is not explicitly stated that the UE sends a second request message after the timer, it is heavily implied such that one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably able to interpret the teachings of Park as corresponding to the instant feature. Examiner also notes that Fig. 2 in US 20200367149 A1 and Fig. 7 in US 20190313473 A1 explicitly disclose this feature. Examiner emphasizes that these are not additional references to show obviousness, but rather merely examples to show what is well known in the art.
Also regarding claim 14, applicant also argues that Park in view of Won and Fard do not disclose “in response to initiating a service request procedure based on the UE being in idle mode, the indication, and the T3346 timer being expired.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Park discloses “in response to initiating a service request procedure based on… the T3346 timer being expired” in paragraph 274 and Won discloses “in response to initiating a service request procedure based on the UE being in idle mode, the indication...” in paragraphs 401 and 407, and it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine them as discussed later in this action. Thus, Park in view of Won do disclose this feature of the instant claim, and Park in view of Won and Fard disclose all the features of the instant claim.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 20 are based on its similarity to claim 14 and are respectfully disagreed with for similar reasons.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the remaining claims are based on their dependence to claims 14 and 20 and are respectfully disagreed with based on their dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16, 20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20210360569 A1) in view of Won (US 20220078871 A1) and Fard (US 20200389835 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses:
“A method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising…transmitting, to an access and mobility function (AMF), a first service request message over a 3GPP access; receiving, from the AMF, a service reject message in response to the first service request message over the 3GPP access, the service reject message including first information for a T3346 timer; starting the T3346 timer based on the first information for the T3346 timer” ([para 0272]: “After the UE performs registration through non-3GPP access according to an initial registration procedure, the UE may receive a reject message, including a value of the back-off timer (e.g., T3346), while performing a service request procedure and a mobility registration procedure.” Also see steps 1 and 2 in Fig. 8.)
“identifying that a T3346 timer is expired; and in response to initiating a service request based on… the T3346 timer being expired, transmitting, to an access and mobility function (AMF), a service request message over the non-3GPP access.” ([para 0274]: “Referring to FIG. 8, when the AMF 410 transmits a reject message in response to a service request message of the UE 100, the AMF 410 may transmit the reject message including a new value of the fourth timer, that is, the non-3GPP de-registration timer to be used by the UE 100 as well as a value of the back-off timer (e.g., T3346).” Wherein the implication of the backoff timer being in response to a service request to an AMF is that the UE will not send a new service request message to the AMF until the back-off timer has expired.)
Park does not explicitly disclose “identifying that the UE is in idle mode over non-3rd generation partnership project (non-3GPP) access; receiving, from lower layers of the non-3GPP access, an indication indicating that an access stratum connection has been established between the UE and a network” within the context that the service request message is sent in response to “the UE being in idle mode, receiving the indication,” nor “wherein the UE is registered with same public land mobile network (PLMN) over both a 3GPP access and the non-3GPP access, the T3346 timer is applied to both the 3GPP access and the non-3GPP access.”
However, Won discloses the missing feature “identifying that the UE is in idle mode over non-3rd generation partnership project (non-3GPP) access; receiving, from lower layers of the non-3GPP access, an indication indicating that an access stratum connection has been established between the UE and a network” within the context that the service request message is sent in response to “the UE being in idle mode, receiving the indication.” ([para 0401, 407]: “The UE shall invoke the service request procedure when… f) the UE in 5GMM-IDLE mode over non-3GPP access, receives an indication from the lower layers of non-3GPP access, that the access stratum connection is established between UE and network;” [para 0218]: “In step 610, the NAS layer function of the UE may send the SERVICE REQUEST message to a NAS layer function of the CN. The NAS layer function of the CN may be an access management function (AMF).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Park and Won, to modify the technique as disclosed by Park, to only perform the technique in response to the conditions as outlined by Won. The motivation for doing so is that it is a standard means of doing so and thus enhances system interoperability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Park with Won to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Park in view of Won do not explicitly disclose “wherein the UE is registered with same public land mobile network (PLMN) over both a 3GPP access and the non-3GPP access, the T3346 timer is applied to both the 3GPP access and the non-3GPP access.”
However, Fard discloses the missing feature “wherein the UE is registered with same public land mobile network (PLMN) over both a 3GPP access and the non-3GPP access, the T3346 timer is applied to both the 3GPP access and the non-3GPP access.” ([para 0257]: “If the UE is registered in the same PLMN over the 3GPP access and non-3GPP access, and the UE receives the timer T3346 from the AMF, the timer T3346 may apply to both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Park, Won, and Fard to use the T3346 timer as disclosed by Park, for both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access when both are of the same PLMN as disclosed by Fard. The motivation for doing so is that it doesn’t require the transmission of separate timers, thus improving efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Park with Won and Fard to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 16, Park in view of Won and Fard disclose all the features of the parent claim.
Park further discloses “wherein the service reject message further includes second information indicating that the network is congested.” ([para 0244]: “The value of the back-off timer (e.g., T3346 value) may be transmitted to the UE in a network congestion situation. Specifically, when a congestion situation occurs in a network, the network may apply MM congestion control through the AMF. For the congestion control, the network provides the UE with a reject message, including a cause value (cause #22) indicative of the congestion situation and a value of the back-off timer (e.g., T3346), in response to a mobility management request from the UE.” ; [para 0272]: “After the UE performs registration through non-3GPP access according to an initial registration procedure, the UE may receive a reject message, including a value of the back-off timer (e.g., T3346), while performing a service request procedure and a mobility registration procedure.”)
Claims 20 and 22 are similar to claims 14 and 16 with the differences amounting to that claims 20 and 22 are directed towards a method while claims 14 and 16 are directed towards an apparatus containing generic hardware. Such hardware is taught by Park in paragraph 316. Thus claims 20 and 22 are rejected for similar reasons to claims 14 and 16.
Conclusion
/SAAD KHAWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412