DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-10, 12-15, 17 and 19 are amended. Claims 11, 16 and 23-24 are cancelled. Claims 15, 17 and 26 are withdrawn. Claims 25-26 are newly added. Claims 1-10, 12-14, 18-22 and 25 are presently examined.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the objection to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of 7/28/2025 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the objections to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of 7/28/2025 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the objections to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of 7/28/2025 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 7/28/2025 is overcome.
Specification
The use of the term Drambuie (page 47, line 5), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-14, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John (US 2018/0271153) in view of King, Jr. (US 4,306,358) and Han (US 12,268,235).
Regarding claims 1, 9-10 and 12-14, John discloses an aerosol generating material (abstract) that is relatively dry so that an aerosol is generated at a comfortable temperature for a user and energy consumption is reduced [0138]. The composition is made by placing wet aerosol generating material (figure 14, reference numeral 60) in recesses (figure 14, reference numeral 57a) of a receptacle ([0122], figure 14, reference numeral 57), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a carrier. It is evident that the material is shaped when placed in the recesses since the recesses have a shape (figure 14). The material is considered to be set after being placed in the recesses since it remains set inside the recesses. The composition is then actively dried so that water is present only in a relatively small amount [0130] so that it forms a dried gel [0132]. This dried gel is considered to be an amorphous solid since applicant’s specification discloses that drying a gel produces an amorphous solid (page 9, lines 14-22). The material has a composition on a dry weight basis [0124] of 1-30 wt% alginate [0127], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a gelling agent, 10-60 wt% glycerol [0126], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an aerosol forming material, and 0-50 wt% of a tobacco extract [0129], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an active constituent. John does not explicitly disclose (a) a temperature of the drying process, (b) a time of the drying process and (c) the recesses having a planar shape.
Regarding (a), King, Jr. teaches an apparatus for drying a slurry (abstract) of reconstituted tobacco to remove moisture in a rapid and uniform manner (column 1, lines 6-12). The slurry is exposed to a stream atmosphere that heats the slurry to a temperature of 200 °F (column 6, lines 60-68, column 7, lines 1-6).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the drying apparatus and operating parameters of King, Jr. to dry the slurry of modified John. One would have been motivated to do so since King, Jr. teaches an apparatus that dries a tobacco slurry in a rapid and uniform manner.
Regarding (b), Han teaches a process for manufacturing a reconstituted tobacco sheet in which the sheet is dried for about 5 minutes at a temperature over 100 °C (column 15, lines 40-51) based on a measured moisture content (column 4, lines 10-14) so that a specific moisture content is achieved (column 16, lines 57-64).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the drying of modified John for the time of Han. One would have been motivated to do so since Han teaches a suitable time for heating a tobacco material to achieve a desired moisture content.
Regarding (c), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to shape the recesses such that they are planar recesses that contain planar material. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Regarding claim 2, modified John teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. John additionally discloses that the drying reduces the weight of water from around 40 to 90% of the composition to around 5 to 40% [0131]. Modified John does not explicitly teach the amount of water removed during the drying being within the claimed range.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manipulate the starting and final water weights so that the percent change fall within the claimed range. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 3, modified John teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. John additionally teaches that water is present in the composition at around 5 to 40 wt% after drying [0131]. Modified John does not explicitly teach the weight of water in the composition range being obvious.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the claimed range is obvious. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, modified John teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. John additionally discloses that the aerosol forming substrate forms a layer in the recesses (figure 14). Modified John does not explicitly teach a thickness of the layer.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the layer have the claimed thickness. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding claim 6, modified John teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. John additionally discloses that the aerosol forming substrate forms a layer in the recesses both before and after drying (figure 14). Modified John does not explicitly teach a percentage by which the layer shrinks during drying.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the layer shrink by the claimed percentage. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding claim 7, King, Jr. teaches that the steam is heated to 215 °F to 218 °F (column 6, lines 60-68, column 7, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 8, King, Jr. teaches that the drying air is supplied at a velocity of about 3,400 ft./min. (column 7, lines 6-20).
Regarding claim 18, John discloses that the composition may or may not contain a filler [0033]. It is therefore evident that the composition of modified John need not contain a filler, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of less than 20 wt%.
Regarding claim 21, John discloses that the receptacle is formed from a ceramic material [0041].
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John (US 2018/0271153) in view of King, Jr. (US 4,306,358) and Han (US 12,268,235) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Capelli (US 12,011,028).
Regarding claim 19, modified John teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified John does not explicitly teach a basis weight of the amorphous solid.
Capelli teaches an aerosol generating article comprising a layer of aerosol generating film applied to a carrier (abstract). The film has a basis weight of at least about 100 grams per square meter to about no more than 260 grams per square meter (column 8, lines 43-56).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the amorphous solid of modified John with the basis weight of Capelli. One would have been motivated to do so since Capelli teaches a suitable basis weight for an aerosol generating material held on a carrier.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John (US 2018/0271153) in view of King, Jr. (US 4,306,358) and Han (US 12,268,235) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grollimund (US 4,585,016) and Keritsis (US 4,506,684).
Regarding claim 20, modified John teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified John not explicitly disclose (a) applying a setting agent onto the slurry and (b) spraying the setting agent.
Regarding (a), Grollimund teaches a web that is formed into a specific shaped and retained in that shape by a setting agent (column 4, lines 32-38).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the amorphous solid of modified John with the setting agent of Grollimund. One would have been motivated to do so since Grollimund teaches a setting agent that retains a flexible structure in a desired shape.
Regarding (b), Keritsis teaches a process for producing a synthetic smoking material (abstract) that is sprayed with a coating of polymeric material that stabilizes the smoking product (column 18, lines 63-68, column 19, lines 1-9).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the setting agent of modified John using the spraying of Keritsis. One would have been motivated to do so since Keritsis teaches that spraying is a suitable method to apply a stabilizing coating to a smoking material.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John (US 2018/0271153) in view of King, Jr. (US 4,306,358) and Han (US 12,268,235) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Serrano (US 4,991,606).
Regarding claim 22, modified John teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified John does not explicitly teach the receptacle being made from a paper foil laminate.
Serrano teaches a smoking article having a flavored aerosol in the form of a flavor bed (abstract) that is located on an inner sleeve made from paper/foil laminate strips that prevent ignition of the tobacco material but reflect heat for maximum flavor generation (column 6, lines 53-68, column 7, lines 1-8).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the receptacle of modified John from the paper/foil laminate of Serrano. One would have been motivated to do so since Serrano teaches that paper/foil laminate strips prevent ignition of the tobacco material but reflect heat for maximum flavor generation.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John (US 2018/0271153) in view of King, Jr. (US 4,306,358) and Han (US 12,268,235) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Beeson (US 2017/0055576).
Regarding claims 23 and 24, modified John teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified John does not explicitly teach the receptacle comprising tobacco.
Beeson teaches a wrapping material for a smoking article (figure 1, reference numeral 90) that is engaged with an outer wrapping material that defines an exterior portion of the article ([0029], figure 1, reference numeral 75). The wrapping material is cigarette paper/foil/tobacco tri-laminate material that facilitates further improvement of the taste or sensory perception of the generated aerosol by reducing scorching and charring [0034].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to line the receptacle of modified John with the tri-laminate of Beeson. One would have been motivated to do so since Beeson teaches a material that facilitates further improvement of the taste or sensory perception of the generated aerosol by reducing scorching and charring.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mua (US 7,428,905) in view of Phil (US 2,971,517) and Wrenn (US 7,946,296).
Regarding claim 25, Mua discloses a method of making a smoking article including a sheet produced via a papermaking process (column 2, lines 38-63). The process includes mixing a tobacco slurry with wood pulp such that the tobacco material makes up from about 10-20% dry weight of the finished sheet (column 3, lines 54-67, column 4, lines 1-9), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an active constituent. An alginate binder solution is added such that the finished sheet contains 5-25% dry weight binder on a dry weight basis (column 4, lines 12-24), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a gelling agent since applicant’s specification discloses that alginate is a gelling agent (page 8, lines 3-7). A glycerol humectant is also added such that the finished sheet contains about 8-15% dry weight humectant (column 4, lines 12-24), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an aerosol forming material. The sheet is formed by a bandcasting process and then shredded (column 4, lines 12-24). The sheet is considered to form a gel and an amorphous solid since it contains the claimed amount of gelling agent. Mua does not explicitly disclose (a) a drying temperature and surface.
Regarding (a), Phil teaches a process for the preparation a tobacco sheet comprising tobacco mixed with a binder (column 2, lines 21-28) in which a slurry is spread onto a platen, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of shaping and setting to form a gel on a planar sheet, and then dried at 80 °C (column 2, lines 61-72).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the process of Phil to form the tobacco sheet of Mua. One would have been motivated to do so since Phil teaches a suitable method for the preparation of a tobacco sheet.
Regarding (b), Wrenn teaches a tobacco film strip containing tobacco, a binder, and a humectant (abstract) that is formed by casting and then drying the film (column 1, lines 22-28). The drying occurs in an hour or less when the film is heated (column 5, lines 51-62).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dry the tobacco sheet of Mua for the time of Wrenn. One would have been motivated to do so since Wrenn teaches a suitable time for heating a tobacco film to dry it. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-8 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 12-20 of copending Application No. 17/780,193 (hereafter referred to as Abi Aoun) in view of King, Jr. (US 4,306,358).
Regarding claim 1, Abi Aoun claims a method of making an amorphous solid comprising forming a slurry comprising 0.5-60 wt% of a gelling agent, 5-80 wt% of an aerosol forming material, and 0-60 wt% of an active constituent, wherein these weights are calculated on a dry weight basis, shaping the slurry, setting the slurry to form a gel, and drying the gel to form an amorphous sold (claim 1), wherein the slurry is shaped on a carrier (claim 17). The drying comprises flowing air over the gel for a period of less than 60 minutes (claim 4). The amorphous solid is formed into a layer (claim 14), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a planar sheet. Abi Aoun does not explicitly claim the temperature to which the gel is heated during the drying.
King, Jr. teaches an apparatus for drying a slurry (abstract) of reconstituted tobacco to remove moisture in a rapid and uniform manner (column 1, lines 6-12). The slurry is exposed to a stream atmosphere that heats the slurry to a temperature of 200 °F (column 6, lines 60-68, column 7, lines 1-6).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the drying apparatus and operating parameters of King, Jr. to dry the slurry of Abi Aoun. One would have been motivated to do so since King, Jr. teaches an apparatus that dries a tobacco slurry in a rapid and uniform manner.
Regarding claim 3, Abi Aoun claims the resulting amorphous sold comprising from about 1 wt% to about 15 wt% water, calculated on a wet weight basis (claim 13).
Regarding claim 4, Abi Aoun claims the shaping comprising forming a layer of layer having a thickness of less than about 4 mm (claim 14).
Regarding claim 5, Abi Aoun claims the thickness of the layer being in the range of about 1 mm to about 3 mm (claim 15).
Regarding claim 6, Abi Aoun claims the drying resulting in the amorphous solid having a thickness that is between about 5% and about 20% of the thickness of the layer (claim 16).
Regarding claim 7, Abi Aoun claims the drying including flowing air having a temperature between about 80 °C and about 140 °C (claim 4).
Regarding claim 8, King, Jr. teaches that the drying air is supplied at a velocity of about 3,400 ft./min. (column 7, lines 6-20).
Regarding claim 12, Abi Aoun claims the slurry comprising 10-60 wt% of the active constituent (claim 180.
Regarding claim 13, Abi Aoun claims the gelling agent being a pectin (claim 19).
Regarding claim 14, Abi Aoun claims the aerosol forming material being erythritol (claim 20).
Claims 1-7, 12-14, 18 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-20 of copending Application No. 17/780,243 (hereafter referred to as Leah).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Leah claims a method of making an amorphous solid comprising forming a slurry comprising 0.5-60 wt% of a gelling agent, 5-80 wt% of an aerosol forming material, and 0-60 wt% of an active constituent, wherein these weights are calculated on a dry weight basis, shaping the slurry, setting the slurry to form a gel, and drying the gel to form an amorphous solid (claim 1), wherein the drying comprises heating the gel to a temperature in the range of about 80 °c to about 140 °C for a period of less than 60 minutes (claim 9) and flowing air over the gel (claim 10). The shaping occurs on a carrier (claim 17). The slurry is formed into a layer (claim 7), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a planar sheet.
Regarding claim 2, Leah claims the drying removing 50-95 wt% of water in the slurry on a wet weight basis (claim 12).
Regarding claim 3, Leah claims the resulting amorphous solid comprising from about 1 wt% to about 15 wt% water, calculated on a wet weight basis (claim 13).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Leah claims the thickness of the layer being in a range of about 1 mm to about 3 mm (claim 15).
Regarding claim 6, Leah claims the drying resulting in an amorphous solid which has a thickness that is between about 5% and 20% of the thickness of the layer (claim 16).
Regarding claim 12, Leah claims the slurry comprising 10-60 wt% of the active constituent (claim 17).
Regarding claim 13, Leah claims the gelling agent being a pectin (claim 19).
Regarding claim 14, Leah claims the aerosol forming material being glycerol (claim 20).
Regarding claim 18, Leah is silent as to a filler, and is therefore considered to have no filler, which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 20, Leah claims the setting agent being applied to a surface of the slurry after the slurry is shaped (claim 1) by spraying (claim 3).
Claims 8 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-20 of copending Application No. 17/780,243 (hereafter referred to as Leah) in view of King, Jr. (US 4,306,358).
Regarding claim 8, Leah claims all the claim limitations as set forth above. Leah does not explicitly claim an air flow speed during drying.
King, Jr. teaches an apparatus for drying a slurry (abstract) of reconstituted tobacco to remove moisture in a rapid and uniform manner (column 1, lines 6-12). King, Jr. teaches that the drying air is supplied at a velocity of about 3,400 ft./min. (column 7, lines 6-20).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the drying apparatus and operating parameters of King, Jr. to dry the slurry of Leah. One would have been motivated to do so since King, Jr. teaches an apparatus that dries a tobacco slurry in a rapid and uniform manner.
Regarding claim 10, Leah claims all the claim limitations as set forth above. Leah does not explicitly claim the gel being heated to a temperature within the claimed range.
King, Jr. teaches an apparatus for drying a slurry (abstract) of reconstituted tobacco to remove moisture in a rapid and uniform manner (column 1, lines 6-12). The slurry is exposed to a stream atmosphere that heats the slurry to a temperature of 200 °F (column 6, lines 60-68, column 7, lines 1-6).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the drying apparatus and operating parameters of King, Jr. to dry the slurry of Leah. One would have been motivated to do so since King, Jr. teaches an apparatus that dries a tobacco slurry in a rapid and uniform manner.
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-20 of copending Application No. 17/780,243 (hereafter referred to as Leah) in view of Han (US 12,268,235).
Regarding claim 9, Leah claims all the claim limitations as set forth above. Leah does not explicitly claim the drying occurring within the claimed timeframe.
Han teaches a process for manufacturing a reconstituted tobacco sheet in which the sheet is dried for about 5 minutes at a temperature over 100 °C (column 15, lines 40-51) based on a measured moisture content (column 4, lines 10-14) so that a specific moisture content is achieved (column 16, lines 57-64).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the drying of Leah for the time of Han. One would have been motivated to do so since Han teaches a suitable time for heating a tobacco material to achieve a desired moisture content.
Claim 19 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-20 of copending Application No. 17/780,243 (hereafter referred to as Leah) in view of Capelli (US 12,011,028).
Regarding claim 19, Leah claims all the claim limitations as set forth above. Leah does not explicitly claim a basis weight of the amorphous solid.
Capelli teaches an aerosol generating article comprising a layer of aerosol generating film applied to a carrier (abstract). The film has a basis weight of at least about 100 grams per square meter to about no more than 260 grams per square meter (column 8, lines 43-56).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the amorphous solid of Leah with the basis weight of Capelli. One would have been motivated to do so since Capelli teaches a suitable basis weight for an aerosol generating material held on a carrier.
Claims 21-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-20 of copending Application No. 17/780,243 (hereafter referred to as Leah) in view of Beeson (Us 2017/0055576).
Regarding claims 21-24, Leah claims all the claim limitations as set forth above. Leah does not explicitly claim the carrier having a paper-tobacco laminate structure.
Beeson teaches a wrapping material for a smoking article (figure 1, reference numeral 90) that is engaged with an outer wrapping material that defines an exterior portion of the article ([0029], figure 1, reference numeral 75). The wrapping material is cigarette paper/foil/tobacco tri-laminate material that facilitates further improvement of the taste or sensory perception of the generated aerosol by reducing scorching and charring [0034]. The foil is a metal foil [0030].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to line the carrier of Leah with the tri-laminate of Beeson. One would have been motivated to do so since Beeson teaches a material that facilitates further improvement of the taste or sensory perception of the generated aerosol by reducing scorching and charring.
Claim 25 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-20 of copending Application No. 17/780,243 (hereafter referred to as Leah) in view of Jurgensen (US 2,734,509).
Regarding claim 25, Leah claims all the claim limitations as set forth above. Leah does not explicitly claim shredding the sheet following dyring.
Jurgensen teaches that tobacco sheets are shredded into a size suitable for formation into cigarettes (column 6, lines 27-35).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to shred the sheet of Leah. One would have been motivated to do so since Jurgensen teaches shredding a tobacco sheet to form a cigarette.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are entered as set forth above.
Regarding the double patenting rejections, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive since both Abi Aoun and Leah claim forming the amorphous solid into a layer, which is considered to be planar.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755