DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 4-6, 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, recites “…a transmission timing of an uplink from the communication node” in lines 4-5. However, this is also recited in line 2-3. It is unclear if they refer to the same “transmission timing of an uplink from the communication node…”.
Claim 1, recites “transmit an uplink” in line 7. However, the claim does not specify what is transmitted in “uplink”. Merely stating “transmit an uplink” and not specifying anything further is an incomplete and indefinite feature of the claimed invention making the claimed invention also indefinite.
Claim 1, recites “…distinct timing parameters are maintained” It unclear where or who is maintaining these parameters. It might be the claimed “radio communication node” OR could be anywhere in the network, which makes the invention indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the indicated case" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Same problems occur in the method counterpart claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by IYER et al (US 2021/0250884), hereinafter also “IYER”, in view KESKITALO et al (US 2020/0145952), hereinafter also “KESKITALO”
Regarding claim 1, 8 IYER et al (US 2021/0250884) discloses a radio communication node/method comprising:
processor configured (IYER: ¶151, a processor that performs functions of IAB nodes (donor, parent and child nodes)) to, when a specific case related to alignment of a transmission timing of an uplink from the radio communication node is used (IYER: Fig. 8, ¶195, ¶189, the UL-B (uplink transmission of the IAB Node) needs to be aligned with at least its parent IAB node),
determine a transmission timing of an uplink from the radio communication node using timing information used to determine a transmission timing of an uplink from a user terminal and an offset value from the timing information (IYER: Fig. 8, ¶189, ¶192, ¶195, timing for UL-B (uplink transmission) of the IAB node is determined (equivalent to, transmission timing of the uplink from the IAB node) based on TAdj (timing information) and an offset value (TAparent1) from the TAdj (timing information); (¶196) TAdj is used to determine the uplink transmission of a UE i.e. UL-A); and
transmitter configured to transmit an uplink from the radio communication node based on the determined transmission timing of the uplink (IYER: ¶189, the UL-B (uplink transmission) is synchronized and perform based on the determined transmission timing TAparent2 =TAparent1 +2.TAdj);
IYER remains silent regarding distinct timing parameters are maintained respectively for a first case aligning downlink transmissions and for a second case aligning downlink transmission and uplink reception, and the processor uses the parameter associated with the indicated case; wherein the distinct timing parameters comprise a timing delta parameter used for the first case aligning downlink transmissions and a timing-advance offset parameter used for the second case aligning downlink transmission and uplink reception.
However, KESKITALO et al (US 2020/0145952) discloses that distinct timing parameters are maintained respectively for a first case aligning downlink transmissions and for a second case aligning downlink transmission and uplink reception, and the processor uses the parameter associated with the indicated case; wherein the distinct timing parameters comprise a timing delta parameter used for the first case aligning downlink transmissions and a timing-advance offset parameter used for the second case aligning downlink transmission and uplink reception. (KESKITALO: ¶114, ¶122-123, Fig. 5, 505-525-NO case, where parameters (
∆
T
p
) are kept/maintained and used for downlink transmission synchronization/alignment for parent IAB nodes, child IAB nodes and UEs; ¶127-128, Fig. 5, 525-YES Case through 540, downlink transmission (DL TX) and UL reception (UL RX) is aligned for which a different parameter is used e.g. TA (timing alignment) is used together with an average of TA and
∆
T
p
).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of IYER modified by KESKITALO would have been motivated to use the teachings of KESKITALO as it use the core hardware of an IAB node to communicate with the uplink backhaul device and maintains the standard IAB equipment configuration for the NR network. Further, it also detects timing misalignments and corrects them when a parent does not directly control its child nodes BH UL timing (¶116). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of IYER modified by ISLAM modified by BI with teachings of KESKITALO in order to improve compatibility by using standard IAB node hardware configuration.
Regarding claim 4, IYER modified by KESKITALO discloses radio communication node according to 1, wherein the processor is configured to obtain the offset value using a control element of a medium access control layer (IYER: ¶219, ¶192, MAC CE is used to receive TA values at the IAB node).
Regarding claim 5, IYER modified by KESKITALO discloses radio communication node according to 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine a transmission timing of the uplink in an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) Mobile Termination (MT) function (KESKITALO: ¶92, Fig. 1B, the MT of IAB is responsible for the UL-B communication)
Regarding claim 6, IYER modified by KESKITALO discloses radio communication node according to 1. wherein the specific case being align a transmission timing of a downlink from the radio communication node and a reception timing of an uplink at the radio communication node. (IYER: ¶195, ¶190, a DL-A and UL-A are both aligned at the IAB node)
IYER modified by KEKITALO remains silent regarding the specific case being Case #7
However, another embodiment KESKITALO discloses Case #7 (KESKITALO: ¶111, Case # 7 is used in which DL transmissions and uplink reception are aligned)
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of IYER modified by KESKITALO would have been motivated to use the teachings of the embodiment of KESKITALO as it provides a scenario which is part of the 3GPP specifications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of IYER modified by KESKITALO with teachings of the embodiment KESKITALO in order to improve compatibility and conformity with standard specifications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue,
“
…
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments. Applicants take a position that IYER does not disclose, “distinct timing parameters are maintained respectively for a first case aligning downlink transmissions and for a second case aligning downlink transmission and uplink reception, and the processor uses the parameter associated with the indicated case.”
IYER is relied upon to teach ”determine a transmission timing of an uplink from the radio communication node using timing information used to determine a transmission timing of an uplink from a user terminal and an offset value from the timing information; and
transmitter configured to transmit an uplink from the radio communication node based on the determined transmission timing of the uplink” in at least the following portions of IYER
[0189] In a further embodiment, a new parent in a BH link may employ a different scheme from that of the target IAB node. If the target IAB node becomes a child of a new parent, it may have to switch to the new parent's scheme. As shown in FIG. 8, the propagation delays T.sub.P,IAB-Parent1 and T.sub.P,IAB-Parent2 to Parent.sub.1 and Parent.sub.2 respectively, can be different and can affect the timing at IAB node. This can occur if the IAB node detaches from the current parent and attaches to a new parent due to a change in the topology. This is more likely to occur in dense small cell deployment in FR2 where a link may consist of several hops (possibly 5-10) and parent nodes may appear or drop out of the network depending on the traffic conditions or blockage. If so, the IAB node may need to resynchronize to the UL-B or DL-B. In turn, this may trigger resynchronization of DL-A or UL-A timings for accessing UEs and child nodes of the IAB node.
[0195] In an example, the required timing adjustment to resynchronize is given by T.sub.Adj=(T.sub.P,IAB-Parent2−T.sub.P,IAB-Parent1) The TA to Parent.sub.2 on the IAB node's UL-B is TA.sub.Parent2=TA.sub.parent1+2.Math.T.sub.Adj. Re-synchronization may also be required if the synchronization scheme (i.e., FIGS. 3-6) is switched and one or more timing references is changed. For example, if the synchronization scheme is changed from Scheme-1 (FIG. 3) to Scheme-3 (FIG. 4), the DL-A and UL-A timing have to change. It is assumed T.sub.Adj is the correction to be indicated to the access and child nodes in this case as well. T.sub.Adj may be transmitted periodically or aperiodically so that the access and child nodes can resynchronize.
IYER remains silent regarding distinct timing parameters are maintained respectively for a first case aligning downlink transmissions and for a second case aligning downlink transmission and uplink reception, and the processor uses the parameter associated with the indicated case; wherein the distinct timing parameters comprise a timing delta parameter used for the first case aligning downlink transmissions and a timing-advance offset parameter used for the second case aligning downlink transmission and uplink reception.
However, KESKITALO et al (US 2020/0145952) discloses that distinct timing parameters are maintained respectively for a first case aligning downlink transmissions and for a second case aligning downlink transmission and uplink reception, and the processor uses the parameter associated with the indicated case; wherein the distinct timing parameters comprise a timing delta parameter used for the first case aligning downlink transmissions and a timing-advance offset parameter used for the second case aligning downlink transmission and uplink reception. (KESKITALO: ¶114, ¶122-123, Fig. 5, 505-525-NO case, where parameters (
∆
T
p
) are kept/maintained and used for downlink transmission synchronization/alignment for parent IAB nodes, child IAB nodes and UEs; ¶127-128, Fig. 5, 525-YES Case through 540, downlink transmission (DL TX) and UL reception (UL RX) is aligned for which a different parameter is used e.g. TA (timing alignment) is used together with an average of TA and
∆
T
p
).
In the above section, the DL TXs are synchronized by using a parameter which is
∆
T
p
.
Furthermore, ¶127-129 show how another set of parameters is used for UL RX and DL TX alignment/synchronization. This includes Timing Advance parameter.
In the above, since each of the different cases have different parameters they maintain to use for the corresponding cases, it would be reasonably to interpret IYER modified by KESKITALO as, “wherein the distinct timing parameters comprise a timing delta parameter used for the first case aligning downlink transmissions and a timing-advance offset parameter used for the second case aligning downlink transmission and uplink reception”.
Furthermore, in response to argument stating that KESKITALO only teaches general timing adjustment or timing difference, Examiner respectfully submits that the claim is completely silent regarding how the claimed “Timing Advance” and “timing delta” are different than the “TA (Timing Advance)” and “
∆
T
p
”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret the teachings of KESKITALO as the claimed invention of claim 1 and 8.
All remaining arguments are based on the arguments addressed above.
Conclusion
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461