DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 2 and 4-15 are pending.
Claims 1 and 12 have been amended.
Claims 3 and 16 remain cancelled.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 8, 10, 13 and 15 remain withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/16/2026, with respect to Abramov have been fully considered and are persuasive. Abramov does not cause a plurality of aerosol generating components to generate an amount of aerosol based on the distance of the respective portion of aerosol generating material from an outlet. Rather, Abramov selectively volatizes one portion of the smokable material and heats a second portion to a temperature which is lower than a volatizing temperature. The rejection of claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 11 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abramov has been withdrawn.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 2/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argument A:
John relates to heating aerosol generating material contained in one or more cavities to generate an inhalable aerosol and/or gas. (John, Abstract) Similar to Abramov, while John discusses that an aerosolization process can be performed on different portions of a material, there is no disclosure or suggestion in John that different amounts of aerosol are generated from those different portions, let alone an amount that depends on the distance of a respective portion from an outlet. Instead, the Office Action cites to page 7, lines 29-32 and page 10, lines 26-27 of John which describes that the heater elements can be powered independently of each other, simultaneously, or sequentially. However, none of these operations require different amounts of aerosol to be generated from any of the respective portion of the aerosol generating material. For example, sequentially turning one heater off and turning on another heater is not an aerosolization process, let alone one that generates different amounts of aerosol at a plurality of respective portions of an aerosol generating material, depending on a respective distance from an outlet. Thus, John does not teach or suggest control circuitry "configured to cause a plurality of respective portions of the aerosol generating material to aerosolize by an amount depending on the distance from the outlet."
Examiner Response A:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. John states that, “The electrical control circuitry 15 and the power connections 11b to the heater elements 11a are preferably arranged such that at least two, and more preferably all, of the heater elements 11a can be powered independently of each other, for example in turn (over time) or together (simultaneously) as desired,” (page 7, lines 29-32) and “In examples in which the heater elements 11a can be powered independently of each other, the particular heating element 11a or combination of heating elements 11a that are powered on each given draw may vary from draw to draw in accordance with a predetermined power control sequence controlled by the control circuitry 15,” (page 10, lines 20-24) and “Preferably, the heating elements 11a can be powered sequentially, one per draw by a user, such that aerosol and/or gas is generated in a consistent basis on each draw,” (page 10, lines 26-27) and “The electrical power drawn by each heating element 11a can be controlled by pre-programming the electrical control circuitry 15 to suit the individual heating requirements of each of the plurality of recesses 7a containing aerosol generating material 9 formed in the receptacle 7,” (page 11, lines 6-9) thus while John does not expressly state the term “depending on the distance from the outlet” given that the controller independently heats respective portions of aerosol generating material, including sequentially, it is inherent that the controller is heating respective portions of aerosol generating material based on their position, or location, which meets the limitation, “depending on the distance from the outlet.”
Claim Interpretation
In this instance, the original disclosure states “In some implementations, the aerosol generating component is a heater capable of interacting with the aerosolisable material so as to release one or more volatiles from the aerosolisable material to form an aerosol. In some embodiments, the aerosol generating component is capable of generating an aerosol from the aerosolisable material without heating. For example, the aerosol generating component may be capable of generating an aerosol from the aerosolisable material without applying heat thereto,” which serves to limit the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “at least one aerosol generating component configured to perform an aerosolization process on one or more of the portions of aerosol generating material when the article is received in the receptacle”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO 2016120344 (John hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, John discloses an aerosol provision device for generating aerosol from an article comprising portions of aerosol generating material (abstract), the device comprising:
a receptacle (7) for receiving the article comprising portions of aerosol generating material (9);
an outlet (in “mouthpiece,” 3 in Fig. 2) fluidly coupled to the receptacle;
at least one aerosol generating component configured to perform an aerosolization process on one or more of the portions of aerosol generating material when the article is received in the receptacle (“heater,” 11); and
control circuitry (15) for controlling the aerosol generating component, wherein the control circuitry is configured to cause a plurality of respective portions of the aerosol generating material to aerosolize by an amount depending on the distance from the outlet, specifically John states that, “The electrical control circuitry 15 and the power connections 11b to the heater elements 11a are preferably arranged such that at least two, and more preferably all, of the heater elements 11a can be powered independently of each other, for example in turn (over time) or together (simultaneously) as desired,” (page 7, lines 29-32) and “ In examples in which the heater elements 11a can be powered independently of each other, the particular heating element 11a or combination of heating elements 11a that are powered on each given draw may vary from draw to draw in accordance with a predetermined power control sequence controlled by the control circuitry 15,” (page 10, lines 20-24) and “Preferably, the heating elements 11a can be powered sequentially, one per draw by a user, such that aerosol and/or gas is generated in a consistent basis on each draw,” (page 10, lines 26-27) and “The electrical power drawn by each heating element 11a can be controlled by pre-programming the electrical control circuitry 15 to suit the individual heating requirements of each of the plurality of recesses 7a containing aerosol generating material 9 formed in the receptacle 7,” (page 11, lines 6-9) thus while John does not expressly state the term “depending on the distance from the outlet” given that the controller independently heats respective portions of aerosol generating material, including sequentially, it is inherent that the controller is heating respective portions of aerosol generating material based on their position, or location, which meets the limitation, “depending on the distance from the outlet.”
Regarding claims 6 and 7, John teaches that “The electrical control circuitry 15 and the power connections 11b to the heater elements 11a are preferably arranged such that at least two, and more preferably all, of the heater elements 11a can be powered independently of each other, for example in turn (over time) or together (simultaneously) as desired,” (page 7, lines 29-32) and “Preferably, the heating elements 11a can be powered sequentially, one per draw by a user, such that aerosol and/or gas is generated in a consistent basis on each draw,” (page 10, lines 26-27).
Thus the controller of John is configured to set the temperature of the heating elements closer to the outlet to be lower, specifically powered off, than the operational temperature of the heating elements further from the outlet, which are powered on.
Regarding claim 9, John teaches that the portions of aerosol generating material are arranged in an N x M array, wherein N is rows and M is columns, with respect to the outlet when received in the receptacle (page 7, lines 6-12 and Fig. 3).
John teaches that all the portions of the aerosol generating material are independently heated (page 7, lines 29-32). Thus, the controller is configured to heating each portion to a different temperature, which results in each portion generating a different amount of aerosol. Therefore, the number of portions of the aerosol generating material is the same as the maximum number of different amounts of aerosol. The controller is also configured to heat just one portion of the aerosol generating material, or just two portions of the aerosol generating material, or just three portions of the aerosol generating material, etc. up to all of the portions of the aerosol generating material. Since X is less than or equal to the number of portions of the aerosol generating material, this limitation is met.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, John teaches that the system comprising the aerosol provision device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1, above) and further comprising an article (9) comprising portions of aerosol generating material (9), wherein each portion of aerosol generating material is substantially identical (Fig. 7a-7c and Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 14, John teaches that the aerosol generating material is an amorphous solid, specifically a wet gel or slurry (page 22, lines 16-17).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755