DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/23/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding at least independent claim 1, the applicant argues the rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 is improper over Yang US 2020/0066758 in view of Xing CN 107316874A and Lu US 2021/0359063 and Wang WO 2021227115A1 fails to teach “the first source electrode is L-shaped and comprises a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on atop end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, the first drain electrode is L-shaped and comprises a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode, and two end portions of the protective layer located respectively at two opposite ends of the first active layer are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively, wherein an inner end of the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode, facing the first drain electrode, does not extend beyond an inner side of the top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, and an inner end of the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode, facing the first source electrode, does not extend beyond an inner side of the top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode” (see pages 2-9 of Remark). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding applicant’s argument, Yang does disclose the first source electrode is L-shaped (see fig.1) and comprises a vertical portion (a vertical portion of the 223, see fig.1) and a laterally outward extending portion (a horizontal portion of the 223, see fig.1) formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, the first drain electrode is L-shaped (see fig.1) and comprises a vertical portion (a vertical portion of the 224, see fig.1) and a laterally outward extending portion (a horizontal portion of the 224, see fig.1) formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode, and two end portions of the protective layer located respectively at two opposite ends of the first active layer (see fig.1), and the two end portions of the protective layer are aligned with the two end portions of the first active layer respectively (see fig.1); wherein an inner end (see fig.1) of the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode, facing the first drain electrode, does not extend beyond an inner side of the top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode (see fig.1), and an inner end (see fig.1) of the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode, facing the first source electrode, does not extend beyond an inner side of the top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode (see fig.1).
Yang does not explicitly disclose the protective layer is transparent and is partially covered and partially exposed by the first source electrode and the first drain electrode, and a material of the protective layer comprises indium tin oxide or indium gallium zinc oxide; the two end portions of the protective layer are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively.
Xing discloses an array substrate, in at least fig.1, the protective layer (181 and 182) is transparent and is partially covered and partially exposed by the first source electrode and the first drain electrode, and a material of the protective layer comprises indium tin oxide or indium gallium zinc oxide (ITO, last paragraph of page 5 to first paragraph of page 6) for the purpose of forming etch stop layer or protective layer and improving the etching efficiency (the last two paragraphs of page 5).
Lu discloses an array substrate, in at least figs.1A and 3, the two end portions of the active layer (9; or 19) are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode (013b; or 115b, see figs.1A and 3) and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode (013b; or 115c, see figs.1A and 3) oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the active layer respectively (see figs.1A or 3) for the purpose of forming source and drain electrodes connecting with the active layer (para.51).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protective layer is transparent and is partially covered and partially exposed by the first source electrode and the first drain electrode, and a material of the protective layer comprises indium tin oxide or indium gallium zinc oxide; the two end portions of the active layer are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the active layer respectively as taught by Xing and Lu respectively in the array substrate of Yang in order to have the protective layer is transparent and is partially covered and partially exposed by the first source electrode and the first drain electrode, and a material of the protective layer comprises indium tin oxide or indium gallium zinc oxide; the two end portions of the protective layer are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively because Yang discloses the two end portions of the protective layer are aligned with the two end portions of the first active layer respectively (see fig.1) for the purpose of forming etch stop layer or protective layer and improving the etching efficiency and forming source and drain electrodes connecting with the active layer.
In response to applicant's argument that “Xing fails to disclose any features relevant to the first source electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, the first drain electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode, and two end portions of the protective layer located respectively at two opposite ends of the first active layer covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively as claimed in claim 1 of the present application”, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The secondary reference Xing does not require to teach other claim limitations such as “the first source electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, the first drain electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode, and two end portions of the protective layer located respectively at two opposite ends of the first active layer covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively as claimed in claim 1 of the present application”. Xing is used for teaching the protective layer (181 and 182) is transparent and is partially covered and partially exposed by the first source electrode and the first drain electrode, and a material of the protective layer comprises indium tin oxide or indium gallium zinc oxide (ITO, last paragraph of page 5 to first paragraph of page 6) for the purpose of forming etch stop layer or protective layer and improving the etching efficiency (the last two paragraphs of page 5).
In response to applicant's argument that “Lu’s the first source and drain electrodes are T-shaped instead of L-shaped, and Lu fails to disclose the first source electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, the first drain electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode, and two end portions of the protective layer located respectively at two opposite ends of the first active layer covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively as claimed in claim 1 of the present application”, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The secondary reference Lu does not require to teach other claim limitations “the first source electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, the first drain electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode, and two end portions of the protective layer located respectively at two opposite ends of the first active layer covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively as claimed in claim 1 of the present application”. Lu is used for teaching the two end portions of the active layer (9; or 19) are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode (013b; or 115b) and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode (013b; or 115c) oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the active layer respectively (see figs.1A or 3) for the purpose of forming source and drain electrodes connecting with the active layer (para.51).
In response to applicant's argument that “Wang discloses T-shaped portions of the source and drain electrodes 108 and 109, and Lu fails to disclose the first source electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, the first drain electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode, and two end portions of the protective layer located respectively at two opposite ends of the first active layer covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively as claimed in claim 1 of the present application”, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The secondary reference Wang does not require to teach other claim limitations “the first source electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, the first drain electrode being L-shaped and comprising a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode, and two end portions of the protective layer located respectively at two opposite ends of the first active layer covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively as claimed in claim 1 of the present application”. Wang is used for teaching the material of the active layer (104) comprises low temperature polycrystalline oxide instead of low temperature poly-silicon (2nd paragraph of page 5) for the purpose of achieving higher charge mobility, stability and scalability at low production costs (2nd paragraph of page 5).
Thus, The Examiner finds that Yang US 2020/0066758 in view of Xing CN 107316874A and Lu US 2021/0359063 and Wang WO 2021227115A1 teach “the first source electrode is L-shaped and comprises a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on atop end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, the first drain electrode is L-shaped and comprises a vertical portion and a laterally outward extending portion formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode, and two end portions of the protective layer located respectively at two opposite ends of the first active layer are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively; wherein an inner end of the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode, facing the first drain electrode, does not extend beyond an inner side of the top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, and an inner end of the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode, facing the first source electrode, does not extend beyond an inner side of the top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode”.
Therefore, the Examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang US 2020/0066758 in view of Xing CN 107316874A (see document of 17756662_2025-03-24_CN_107316874_A_M.pdf) and Lu US 2021/0359063.
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses array substrate, in figs.1-4I, comprising:
an underlay (20);
a first insulation layer (23) disposed on the underlay;
a first active layer (221) disposed on the first insulation layer;
a protective layer (222a and 222b) disposed on the first active layer;
a first gate electrode (225) disposed on the first active layer and disposed at an interval from the protective layer;
a second insulation layer (24) disposed on the first insulation layer, the first active layer, the protective layer, and the first gate electrode; and
a first source electrode (223) and a first drain electrode (224), wherein the first source electrode and the first drain electrode are connected to the protective layer through first via holes (L1 and L2) defined in the second insulation layer;
wherein the protective layer is partially covered and partially exposed by the first source electrode and the first drain electrode (see fig.1);
wherein the first source electrode is L-shaped (see fig.1) and comprises a vertical portion (a vertical portion of the 223, see fig.1) and a laterally outward extending portion (a horizontal portion of the 223, see fig.1) formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode, the first drain electrode is L-shaped (see fig.1) and comprises a vertical portion (a vertical portion of the 224, see fig.1)and a laterally outward extending portion (a horizontal portion of the 224, see fig.1) formed on a top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode, and two end portions of the protective layer located respectively at two opposite ends of the first active layer (see fig.1), and the two end portions of the protective layer are aligned with the two end portions of the first active layer respectively (see fig.1);
wherein an inner end (see fig.1) of the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode, facing the first drain electrode, does not extend beyond an inner side of the top end of the vertical portion of the first source electrode (see fig.1), and an inner end (see fig.1) of the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode, facing the first source electrode, does not extend beyond an inner side of the top end of the vertical portion of the first drain electrode (see fig.1).
Yang does not explicitly disclose the protective layer is transparent and is partially covered and partially exposed by the first source electrode and the first drain electrode, and a material of the protective layer comprises indium tin oxide or indium gallium zinc oxide; the two end portions of the protective layer are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively.
Xing discloses an array substrate, in at least fig.1, the protective layer (181 and 182) is transparent and is partially covered and partially exposed by the first source electrode and the first drain electrode, and a material of the protective layer comprises indium tin oxide or indium gallium zinc oxide (ITO, last paragraph of page 5 to first paragraph of page 6) for the purpose of forming etch stop layer or protective layer and improving the etching efficiency (the last two paragraphs of page 5).
Lu discloses an array substrate, in at least figs.1A and 3, the two end portions of the active layer (9; or 19) are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode (013b; or 115b, see figs.1A and 3) and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode (013b; or 115c, see figs.1A and 3) oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the active layer respectively (see figs.1A or 3) for the purpose of forming source and drain electrodes connecting with the active layer (para.51).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protective layer is transparent and is partially covered and partially exposed by the first source electrode and the first drain electrode, and a material of the protective layer comprises indium tin oxide or indium gallium zinc oxide; the two end portions of the active layer are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the active layer respectively as taught by Xing and Lu respectively in the array substrate of Yang in order to have the protective layer is transparent and is partially covered and partially exposed by the first source electrode and the first drain electrode, and a material of the protective layer comprises indium tin oxide or indium gallium zinc oxide; the two end portions of the protective layer are covered by the laterally outward extending portion of the first source electrode and the laterally outward extending portion of the first drain electrode oppositely extending laterally outward beyond the end portions of the protective layer respectively because Yang discloses the two end portions of the protective layer are aligned with the two end portions of the first active layer respectively (see fig.1) for the purpose of forming etch stop layer or protective layer and improving the etching efficiency and forming source and drain electrodes connecting with the active layer.
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the array substrate further comprises:
a second active layer (211) disposed on the underlay, wherein the first insulation layer covers the second active layer;
a second gate electrode (212) corresponding to the second active layer and disposed in the first insulation layer; and
a second source electrode (213) and a second drain electrode (214), wherein the second source electrode and the second drain electrode are connected to the second active layer through second via holes (L3 and L4) defined in the second insulation layer and the first insulation layer, and the second gate electrode are located between the second source electrode and the second drain electrode.
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the array substrate further comprises:
a first dielectric layer (221a), a first conductive layer (C1), a second dielectric layer (25b), and a second conductive layer (C2) sequentially disposed on the first insulation layer, wherein the first conductive layer, the second dielectric layer, and the second conductive layer are located between the second source electrode and the second drain electrode (see fig.1);
wherein projections of the first conductive layer, the second dielectric layer, and the second conductive layer on the underlay at least partially overlap with one another (see fig.1), a material of the first conductive layer is the same material as the protective layer and they are arranged at the same layer (para.96).
Yang in view Lu does not disclose the material of the first conductive layer comprises transparent conductive metal oxide.
Xing discloses the protective layer (181 and 182) comprises transparent conductive metal oxide (ITO, last paragraph of page 5 to first paragraph of page 6) for the purpose of forming etch stop layer or protective layer and improving the etching efficiency (the last two paragraphs of page 5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protective layer comprises transparent conductive metal oxide as taught by Xing in the array substrate of Yang in view of Lu in order to have the material of the first conductive layer comprises transparent conductive metal oxide because Yang discloses a material of the first conductive layer is the same material as the protective layer and they are arranged at the same layer (para.96) for the purpose of forming etch stop layer or protective layer and improving the etching efficiency and simplifying the fabrication process and lowering the fabrication cost (para.96).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses the array substrate further comprises a first gate electrode insulation layer (25a), the first gate electrode insulation layer is disposed between the first gate electrode and the first active layer (see fig.1), the first dielectric layer and the first active layer are disposed in a same layer (see fig.1), the first conductive layer and the protective layer are disposed in a same layer (see fig.1), the second dielectric layer and the first gate electrode insulation layer are disposed in a same layer (see figs.1 and 4F), and the second conductive layer and the first gate electrode are disposed in a same layer (see figs.1 and 4F).
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Xing and Lu discloses a display panel, in figs.1-4I, comprising an opposite substrate (an opposite substrate of a LCD panel, para.101) and the array substrate according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the opposite substrate and the array substrate are disposed oppositely at an interval (an interval for liquid crystal layer in a LCD panel, para.101).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses the array substrate further comprises:
a second active layer (211) disposed on the underlay, wherein the first insulation layer covers the second active layer;
a second gate electrode (212) corresponding to the second active layer and disposed in the first insulation layer; and
a second source electrode (213) and a second drain electrode (214), wherein the second source electrode and the second drain electrode are connected to the second active layer through second via holes (L3 and L4) defined in the second insulation layer and the first insulation layer, and the second gate electrode are located between the second source electrode and the second drain electrode.
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses the array substrate further comprises:
a first dielectric layer (221a), a first conductive layer (C1), a second dielectric layer (25b), and a second conductive layer (C2) sequentially disposed on the first insulation layer, wherein the first conductive layer, the second dielectric layer, and the second conductive layer are located between the second source electrode and the second drain electrode (see fig.1);
wherein projections of the first conductive layer, the second dielectric layer, and the second conductive layer on the underlay at least partially overlap with one another (see fig.1), a material of the first conductive layer is the same material as the protective layer and they are arranged at the same layer (para.96).
Yang in view Lu does not disclose the material of the first conductive layer comprises transparent conductive metal oxide.
Xing discloses the protective layer (181 and 182) comprises transparent conductive metal oxide (ITO, last paragraph of page 5 to first paragraph of page 6) for the purpose of forming etch stop layer or protective layer and improving the etching efficiency (the last two paragraphs of page 5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protective layer comprises transparent conductive metal oxide as taught by Xing in the display panel of Yang in view of Lu in order to have the material of the first conductive layer comprises transparent conductive metal oxide because Yang discloses a material of the first conductive layer is the same material as the protective layer and they are arranged at the same layer (para.96) for the purpose of forming etch stop layer or protective layer and improving the etching efficiency and simplifying the fabrication process and lowering the fabrication cost (para.96).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses the array substrate further comprises a first gate electrode insulation layer (25a), the first gate electrode insulation layer is disposed between the first gate electrode and the first active layer (see fig.1), the first dielectric layer and the first active layer are disposed in a same layer (see fig.1), the first conductive layer and the protective layer are disposed in a same layer (see fig.1), the second dielectric layer and the first gate electrode insulation layer are disposed in a same layer (see figs.1 and 4F), and the second conductive layer and the first gate electrode are disposed in a same layer (see figs.1 and 4F).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses a material of the first active layer comprises indium tin oxide or indium gallium zinc oxide (para.47).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses a projection of the first via holes on the underlay is located within a projection of the protective layer on the underlay (see figs.1 and 4H).
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses an organic layer (26), an inorganic layer (27), and a first buffer layer (28) are sequentially disposed on the underlay and are located between the underlay and the second active layer (see fig.1).
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses the first insulation layer comprises a gate electrode insulation layer (231), an interlayer insulation layer (232), and a second buffer layer (233).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang US 2020/0066758 in view of Xing CN 107316874A and Lu US 2021/0359063 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wang WO 2021227115A1 (see document of 17756662_2025-03-25_WO_2021227115_A1_M.pdf).
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses a material of the second active layer comprises low temperature poly-silicon (para.69, 65 and 3 discloses the second active layer 211 is a low-temperature poly-silicon).
Yang in view of Xing and Lu does not explicitly disclose the material of the second active layer comprises low temperature polycrystalline oxide.
Wang discloses the material of the active layer (104) comprises low temperature polycrystalline oxide instead of low temperature poly-silicon (2nd paragraph of page 5) for the purpose of achieving higher charge mobility, stability and scalability at low production costs (2nd paragraph of page 5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the material of the active layer comprises low temperature polycrystalline oxide instead of low temperature poly-silicon as taught by Wang in the array substrate of Yang in view of Xing and Lu in order to have the material of the second active layer comprises low temperature polycrystalline oxide for the purpose of achieving higher charge mobility, stability and scalability at low production costs.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIA X PAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871