DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 12/23/2025. As directed by the amendment, no claims have been amended, claims 1-46 have been cancelled, and claims 47-661 have been newly added. Thus, claims 47-66 are presenting pending in this application.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 46-65 have been renumbered to claims 47-66, respectively (i.e. claim 46 has been renumbered to claim 47, claim 47 has been renumbered to claim 48, etc).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A vibration generator for vibrating the vibratable aperture plate in claims 47, 57, and 62.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 63, lines 1-2 recites, “wherein the first sealing member axially overlaps the first electrically conductive spring pin”. As shown in the annotated fig 10 above, body (70) of first sealing member and first and second conducting pins (31, 32) are considered to radially overlap because first sealing member (70) and first and second conducting pins (31, 32) are shown in the annotated fig 10 to be disposed on a radial plane shown by horizontal line and therefore radially overlap. However, fig 10 does not show that the first sealing member (70) and first and second conducting pins (31, 32) because the vertical lines showing the axial disposition of first and second conducting pins (31, 32) does not intersect with the first sealing member (70), as first pin (31) is shown to extend past first sealing member (70) and therefore does not axially overlap, and first sealing member (70) has a cutout through which second conducting pin (32) is disposed and therefore would not axially overlap. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the first sealing member axially overlaps the first electrically conductive spring pin” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 62 and 66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hogan et al (2012/0111970).
Regarding claim 62, Hogan in figs 1-4 discloses a nebulizer comprising: an upper housing element (29) forming a pin support part (portion of upper housing element (10) containing first (10) and second (11) conducting pins) (para [0065]), a tubular outlet (lower tubular outlet portion below aperture plate (1)) (para [0066]), and a reservoir (101) upstream of the tubular outlet (see fig 4), the reservoir (101) including a tubular top part, a funnel-shaped lower part, and an internal surface forming a throat over a vibratable aperture plate (1) (as shown in fig 4, an upper portion of the reservoir (101) includes a tubular top part, a middle portion of the reservoir (101) includes a funnel-shaped lower part, and the lower portion of the reservoir (101) forms a throat over the variable aperture plate (1) (see fig 4); a reservoir cap upstream of the reservoir (101) of the upper housing element (29) (as shown in figs 3-4, reservoir (101) is connected to a reservoir cap) (see figs 3-4); a lower housing element (27) (lower retainer clip) configured to engage with the upper housing element (29) (para [0066]); a pair of electrically conductive spring pins (10, 11) (conducting pins) extending through the pin support part of the upper housing element (29) and configured to convey power to a vibration generator (2) (piezoelectric generator) for vibrating the vibratable aperture plate (1) (para [0069]); and an aerosol generator (vibratable member) assembly disposed between the upper housing element (29) and the lower housing element (27) (para [0062]), the aerosol generator assembly comprising: an annular member (3) (support washer); the vibratable aperture plate (1) (para [0062]), the vibratable aperture plate including a plurality of apertures (para [0063]); the vibration generator (3) (para [0062]); a first sealing (28) (upper O-ring); the first sealing member (28) radially overlapping a first electrically conductive spring pin (10) of the pair of electrically conductive spring pins (10, 11) (as shown in fig 4, both the first sealing member (28) and the first spring pin (10) are disposed in a plane perpendicular to a central axis of the lower housing member (27), and therefore radially overlap one another); and a second sealing member (25) (lower O-ring) (para [0066]).
Regarding claim 66, Hogan discloses a cross section of the first sealing member \taken along a plane parallel to a central axis of the lower housing element has a different shape than that of the second sealing member (as shown in fig 4, first sealing member (28) is shown to be smaller than second sealing member (25), and therefore has a different curvature along a plane parallel to a central axis of the lower housing element (27))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogan et al as applied to claim 62 above, and further in view of Gallem et al (2006/0207591).
Regarding claim 65, Hogan discloses a first sealing member.
Hogan does not disclose a cross section of the first sealing member taken along a plane parallel to a central axis of the lower housing element includes a first portion having a first height and a second portion having a second height that is different than the first height.
However, Gallem in fig 1 teaches an aerosol generating device including an upper housing element (5) (upper portion of encapsulating means) (para [0013]) and an aerosol generator comprising an annular member (4) (substrate shown in fig 1 to have an annular washer shape), a vibratable plate (2) (membrane), a vibration generator (3) (oscillation generator) (para [0012]), a first sealing member (6a) (sealing lips) upstream of the vibratable aperture plate (2) (para [0014]), and as shown in fig 1, a cross section of the first sealing member taken along a plane parallel to a central axis of the lower housing element includes a first portion having a first height and a second portion having a second height that is different than the first height (as shown in fig 1, a first portion of first sealing member (6a) at a top portion adjacent to upper housing element (5) has a smaller first height, and a second portion of first sealing member (6a) between the upper housing element (5) and annular member (4) has a larger height).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Hogan by configuring the first and second sealing members to be formed as sealing lips, wherein the cross section of the first sealing member taken along a plane parallel to a central axis of the lower housing element includes a first portion having a first height and a second portion having a second height that is different than the first height as taught by Gallem in order to provide a mounting by means of a flexible passage such that oscillatory motions of the oscillating assembly are not negatively affected and the membrane is exposed for the supply of liquid and the generation of an aerosol, whereas the remaining parts of the oscillating assembly are protected (Gallem, abstract).
Claims 47-48, 50-59, and 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogan et al (2012/0111970) in view of Gallem et al (2006/0207591).
Regarding claim 47, Hogan in figs 1-4 discloses a nebulizer comprising: an upper housing element (29) forming a pin support part (portion of upper housing element (10) containing first (10) and second (11) conducting pins) (para [0065]), a tubular outlet (lower tubular outlet portion below aperture plate (1)) (para [0066]), and a reservoir (101) upstream of the tubular outlet (see fig 4), the reservoir (101) including a tubular top part, a funnel-shaped lower part, and an internal surface forming a throat over a vibratable aperture plate (1) (as shown in fig 4, an upper portion of the reservoir (101) includes a tubular top part, a middle portion of the reservoir (101) includes a funnel-shaped lower part, and the lower portion of the reservoir (101) forms a throat over the variable aperture plate (1) (see fig 4); a reservoir cap upstream of the reservoir (101) of the upper housing element (29) (as shown in figs 3-4, reservoir (101) is connected to a reservoir cap) (see figs 3-4); a lower housing element (27) (lower retainer clip) configured to engage with the upper housing element (29) (para [0066]); a pair of electrically conductive spring pins (10, 11) (conducting pins) extending through the pin support part of the upper housing element (29) and configured to convey power to a vibration generator (2) (piezoelectric generator) for vibrating the vibratable aperture plate (1) (para [0069]); and an aerosol generator (vibratable member) assembly disposed between the upper housing element (29) and the lower housing element (27) (para [0062]), the aerosol generator assembly comprising: an annular member (3) (support washer); the vibratable aperture plate (1) (para [0062]), the vibratable aperture plate including a plurality of apertures (para [0063]); the vibration generator (3) (para [0062]); a first sealing (28) (upper O-ring) member upstream of the vibratable aperture plate (1) and axially compressed between the throat and the annular member (3) (para [0066]), the first sealing member (28) including a ring shape and an opening (sealing member (28) is an O-ring); and a second sealing member (25) (lower O-ring) downstream of the vibratable aperture plate (1) (para [0066]).
Hogan does not disclose the first sealing member including an opening having an internal surface forming an extension of the throat.
However, Gallem in fig 1 teaches a aerosol generating device including an upper housing element (5) (upper portion of encapsulating means) (para [0013]) and an aerosol generator comprising an annular member (4) (substrate shown in fig 1 to have an annular washer shape), a vibratable plate (2) (membrane), a vibration generator (3) (oscillation generator) (para [0012]), a first sealing member (6a) (sealing lips) upstream of the vibratable aperture plate (2) (para [0014]), the first sealing member (6a) including a ring shape and an opening having an internal surface forming an extension of a throat of the upper housing element (as shown in fig 1, internal diameter of sealing lip (6a) forms an extension of throat formed by internal diameter of opening of hole formed in upper housing element (5) (para [0014]); and a second sealing member (6b) (sealing lip) downstream of the vibratable aperture plate (2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Hogan by configuring the first and second sealing members to be formed as sealing lips, wherein the first sealing member includes an opening having an internal surface forming an extension of the throat as taught by Gallem in order to provide a mounting by means of a flexible passage such that oscillatory motions of the oscillating assembly are not negatively affected and the membrane is exposed for the supply of liquid and the generation of an aerosol, whereas the remaining parts of the oscillating assembly are protected (Gallem, abstract).
Regarding claim 48, the modified Hogan’s reference in fig 1 of Hogan discloses that the internal surface of the of the opening of the first sealing member forms a continuation of an internal surface of the reservoir (as shown in fig 1 of Gallem, internal diameter of top portion of first sealing member (6a) is shown to have the same diameter as a hole formed in the upper housing element (5) (Gallem, fig 1).
Regarding claim 50, Hogan discloses the first sealing member is axially compressed between the throat and the annular member (3 of Hogan) (Hogan, para [0066]), and the modified Hogan’s reference in fig 1 of Gallem discloses the first sealing member (6a of Gallem) is axially disposed between a lower extremity of a wall defining the internal surface forming the throat and the annular member (4 of Gallem)) (Gallem, fig 1).
Regarding claims 51-52, modified Hogan in fig 1 of Gallem discloses the first sealing member (6a) including an opening with a diameter slightly larger than a diameter of the aperture plate (2).
Although Hogan is silent as to the diameter of the opening of the first sealing member being greater than 5 mm, or greater than 6 mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Hogan so that a diameter of the opening of the first sealing member being greater than 5 mm, or greater than 6 mm, as it appears that the device of modified Hogan would perform equally well to support an aerosol generator assembly, and, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 53, the modified Hogan’s reference discloses in fig 1 of Gallem a diameter of the opening of the first sealing member (6a of Gallem) is wider than a diameter of an active area of the vibratable aperture plate (2 of Gallem) (as shown in fig 1 of Gallem, diameter of first sealing member (6a of Gallem) where first sealing member 96a) contacts the annular member (4 of Gallem) is shown to be larger than diameter of aperture plate (2 of Gallem)) (Gallem, fig 1).
Regarding claim 54, Hogan discloses the pair of electrically conductive pins (10, 11) includes a first electrically conductive spring pin (11) (second pin) in electrical contact with the annular member (3) and a second electrically conductive spring pin (10) (first pin) in electrical contact with the vibration generator (2) (para [0065]).
Regarding claim 55, the modified Hogan’s references discloses the opening of the first sealing member (28 of Hogan, 6a of Gallem) is circular (Hogan, fig 3, para [0066]; Gallem, fig 1).
Regarding claim 56, the modified Hogan’s reference in fig 1 of Gallem discloses a diameter of an opening defined by the throat is substantially equivalent to a diameter of the opening of the first sealing member (as shown in fig 1 of Gallem, diameter of top portion of first sealing member (6a of Gallem) is substantially equivalent to a diameter of the opening in the encapsulation means (5)).
Regarding claim 57, Hogan in figs 1-4 discloses a nebulizer comprising: an upper housing element (29) forming a pin support part (portion of upper housing element (10) containing first (10) and second (11) conducting pins) (para [0065]), a tubular outlet (lower tubular outlet portion below aperture plate (1)) (para [0066]), and a reservoir (101) upstream of the tubular outlet (see fig 4), the reservoir (101) including a tubular top part, a funnel-shaped lower part, and an internal surface forming a throat over a vibratable aperture plate (1) (as shown in fig 4, an upper portion of the reservoir (101) includes a tubular top part, a middle portion of the reservoir (101) includes a funnel-shaped lower part, and the lower portion of the reservoir (101) forms a throat over the variable aperture plate (1) (see fig 4); a reservoir cap upstream of the reservoir (101) of the upper housing element (29) (as shown in figs 3-4, reservoir (101) is connected to a reservoir cap) (see figs 3-4); a lower housing element (27) (lower retainer clip) configured to engage with the upper housing element (29) (para [0066]); a pair of electrically conductive spring pins (10, 11) (conducting pins) extending through the pin support part of the upper housing element (29) and configured to convey power to a vibration generator (2) (piezoelectric generator) for vibrating the vibratable aperture plate (1) (para [0069]); and an aerosol generator (vibratable member) assembly disposed between the upper housing element (29) and the lower housing element (27) (para [0062]), the aerosol generator assembly comprising: an annular member (3) (support washer); the vibratable aperture plate (1) (para [0062]), the vibratable aperture plate including a plurality of apertures (para [0063]); the vibration generator (3) (para [0062]); a first sealing (28) (upper O-ring) member upstream of the vibratable aperture plate (1) and axially compressed between the throat and the annular member (3) (para [0066]), the first sealing member (28) including a ring shape and an opening (sealing member (28) is an O-ring); and a second sealing member (25) (lower O-ring) downstream of the vibratable aperture plate (1) (para [0066]).
Hogan does not disclose the first sealing member including an opening having an internal surface forming an extension of the throat, wherein, in a cross section of the first sealing member along a plane parallel to a central axis of the lower housing element, the internal surface of the opening the first sealing member is flat.
However, Gallem in fig 1 teaches an aerosol generating device including an upper housing element (5) (upper portion of encapsulating means) (para [0013]) and an aerosol generator comprising an annular member (4) (substrate shown in fig 1 to have an annular washer shape), a vibratable plate (2) (membrane), a vibration generator (3) (oscillation generator) (para [0012]), a first sealing member (6a) (sealing lips) upstream of the vibratable aperture plate (2) (para [0014]), the first sealing member (6a) including a ring shape and an opening having an internal surface forming an extension of a throat of the upper housing element (as shown in fig 1, internal diameter of sealing lip (6a) forms an extension of throat formed by internal diameter of opening of hole formed in upper housing element (5) (para [0014]), wherein, in a cross section of the first sealing (6a) member along a plane parallel to a central axis of a lower housing member (7b) (second casing part), the internal surface of the opening the first sealing member (6a) is flat (as shown in fig 1, the inner diameter of top portion of first sealing member (6a) adjacent to encapsulating means is shown to have a smooth surface, which is in a cross section along a plane parallel to an axis through second housing member (7b)); and a second sealing member (6b) (sealing lip) downstream of the vibratable aperture plate (2) (para [0014])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Hogan by configuring the first and second sealing members to be formed as sealing lips, wherein the first sealing member includes an opening having an internal surface forming an extension of the throat, wherein, in a cross section of the first sealing member along a plane parallel to a central axis of the lower housing element, the internal surface of the opening the first sealing member is flat as taught by Gallem in order to provide a mounting by means of a flexible passage such that oscillatory motions of the oscillating assembly are not negatively affected and the membrane is exposed for the supply of liquid and the generation of an aerosol, whereas the remaining parts of the oscillating assembly are protected (Gallem, abstract).
Regarding claim 58, Hogan discloses the first sealing member (28) is axially compressed between the throat and the annular member (3) para [0066]).
Regarding claim 59, the modified Hogan’s reference in fig 1 of Gallem discloses a diameter of an opening defined by the throat is substantially equivalent to a diameter of the opening of the first sealing member (6a of Gallem) (as shown in fig 1 of Gallem, internal diameter of top portion of first sealing member (6a) is shown to have the same diameter as a hole formed in the upper housing element (5) (Gallem, fig 1).
Regarding claim 61, the modified Hogan’s reference in fig 1 of Gallem discloses that, in a cross section of the second sealing member along a plane parallel to the central axis of the lower housing element, an internal surface of an opening of the second sealing member (6b of Gallem) is rounded (as shown in fig 1 of Gallem, the shape of sealing member (6a) adjacent to annular member (4) is shown to have a rounded shape along a cross section along a plane parallel to an axis through second housing member (7b)).
Claims 49 and 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogan et al and Gallem et al as applied to claims 48 and 57 above, and further in view of Hyland et al (2017/0043106).
Regarding claims 49 and 60, modified Hogan discloses a first sealing member and a reservoir.
Modified Hogan does not disclose the internal surface of the opening of the first sealing member is textured differently than the internal surface of the reservoir.
However, Hyland in fig 3 teaches an aerosol generator including a reservoir (102) (liquid supply reservoir) including an internal surface along inner portion of reservoir wall (106) towards reservoir outlet (105), wherein the internal surface includes a plurality of bubble prevention ribs (103, 104) extending downwardly towards reservoir outlet (105) (para [0047]), and as shown in fig 9a-h, the reservoir can include different textures comprising different configurations of vertices (para [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Hogan by configuring an internal surface of the reservoir to include a textured surface comprising a plurality of bubble prevention ribs as taught by Hyland in order to prevent the formation of air bubbles between the aperture plate and medication (Hyland, abstract). The now-modified Hogan’s device is considered to disclose the internal surface of the opening of the first sealing member is textured differently than the internal surface of the reservoir, as Hyland discloses the reservoir having a textured surface comprising bubble prevention ribs (103, 104) (Hyland, para [0047]), and as shown in fig 1 of Gallem, an internal surface of the opening of the first sealing member has a different texture, as the first sealing member does not include ribs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 63 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 64 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement for reasons for allowance: The closest prior art of the record, Hogan et al (2012/0111970) discloses the limitations of claim 62. However, neither Hogan et al or the other prior art of record, disclose the first sealing member axially overlaps the first electrically conductive spring pin as recited in claim 63, or the first sealing member includes an opening that the first electrically conductive pin passes through as recited in claim 64.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Anzenberger et al (2018/0178240), Hijlkema (2019/0038851), Kawano (2015/0306623), and Zuber (2017/0119059) disclose nebulizer devices with upstream and/or downstream sealing elements.
/DOUGLAS Y SUL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
1 As discussed below, claims 46-65 as presented by applicant have been renumbered to claims 47-66, respectively.