Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted Claim 19 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claim 19 discloses a cutting and conveying system which includes first and second distance measuring sensors arranged on both sides of a measurement position through which the package being moved toward the opening position by the belt conveyor passes, the first and second distance measuring sensors being configured to continuously measure respective distances to the package until the package completely passes through the measurement position (see fig 11, and see par. 0009, 0033). This is distinct from the originally claimed invention of a cutting and holding device for cutting packages with a cutting effector, and would require a new search in the area of sensing devices, e.g. Y10T83/148.
Since Applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 19 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 11-12, 18-19, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of Claim 1, reading “where the sheet lid is cut and opened, without peeling the sheet lid from the tub, thereby preventing the adhesive from falling off”, is indefinite. In figs 7B and 8 the device 60 is shown to remove the portion of the lid that has been cut from the package.
Also, in par 0078 it is noted that “According to the present embodiment, it is possible to open the package 100 while maintaining adhesion between the opening edge 104b of the tab 104 and the outer peripheral edge of the lid 106, that is, without peeling off the lid 106 from the tab 104. Therefore, the adhesive is prevented from falling off the tab 104 or the lid 106, and thus contamination by the adhesive is prevented.”. Thus, it appears that as long as a lid portion is removed after being cut, and that there is no adhesive which continues to adhere a portion of the cut portion to the tub, then the lid that is cut is opened without peeling, as claimed, as best understood in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5833071, Ray, in view of US 2296073, Walgo, and in view of USPN 6739061, Sherri and USPN 9877462, Taneja.
Regarding Claim 1, Ray discloses A package opening system (10 and 50) configured to open a package (10), the package comprising: a tub (12) storing a stored object (composite of the plurality of depressions 20) including a plurality of drug containers (tablets or capsules 15, which each contain drugs) and having a flange-shaped opening (24a); and
a sheet lid (14) closing the flange-shaped opening with an outer peripheral edge of the sheet lid being peel-able and being bonded to the flange-shaped opening via an adhesive (13, col. 4, lines 20-40), and the package opening system being configured to open the package by cutting the sheet lid (by cutter 50) at an opening position (30) where the sheet lid is cut and opened (col. 4, 50-60), without peeling the sheet lid from the tub, thereby preventing the adhesive from falling off (see fig. 3 and see col 4 lines 33-53; where it is disclosed that adhesive may be applied at parts 14b, which are outside of the areas to be cut, e.g. at 24, and where it is disclosed that the adhesive in some embodiments is not applied at parts 35; thus, in some embodiments the lid is cut along cut lines 24, and the cut lid parts are removed with no adhesive remaining holding the cut portions to the tub, thus the cut portions are removed without peeling as defined and as best understood as claimed), the package opening system comprising:
a cutter blade (50) capable of cutting the sheet lid at the opening position where the sheet lid is cut and opened (col. 4, 50-70);
a cutter blade mover (hand, fig 4) configured to support the cutter blade, stick the cutter blade into the sheet lid (fig 4, col. 4, 50-70), and move the cutter blade stuck into the sheet lid in an annular cutting path along an entire contour of an opening (30) of the tub (col. 4, 50-70) with respect to the package which is stationary (col. 4, 50-70 and col 5, 1-10);
Ray lacks a lid holder including a plurality of suction nozzles configured to apply suction to and hold a top surface of the sheet lid, and configured to maintain in a constant posture a portion surrounded by the annular cutting path in the top surface of the sheet lid sucked and held by the nozzles during a cutting of the sheet lid by the cutter blade; and a lid holder mover supporting the lid holder, and configured to rotate, raise, and lower the lid holder such that the lid holder applies suction to and holds the portion of the sheet lid.
Walgo discloses a can opener, in the same field of endeavor as the can opener of Laro and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include the can opener having: a lid holder (26, 27, 21, 24) including a suction cup (26) configured to apply suction to and hold a top surface of the sheet lid (“can end”, fig. 4), and configured to maintain in a constant posture a portion surrounded by the annular cutting path in the top surface of the sheet lid sucked and held by the nozzle during a cutting of the sheet lid by the cutter blade (col. 2 pg. 2, 10-45); and a lid holder mover (13) supporting the lid holder (fig 3-4), and configured to rotate, raise, and lower the lid holder (fig 1-2, since the raising involves pivoting/rotation) such that the lid holder applies suction to and holds the portion of the sheet lid so as to not to hinder the cutting of the sheet lid by the cutting blade (col. 2 pg. 2, 10-46), the lid holder mover being separate from a cutter blade mover (28; see fig 3), wherein the lid holder mover is configured to move the lid holder such that the lid holder is moved from and to the opening position (fig 4, opening position being where the cup is placed onto the lid), in a top view, and wherein the lid holder mover is configured to move the lid holder such that, when a cutter blade (15) cuts a part of the annular cutting path other than an uncuttable part caused by the lid holder applying suction to and holding the portion of the sheet lid (col 2, pg 2, 10-30), the lid holder applies suction to and holds the portion of the sheet lid (col. 2 pg. 2, 10-40); in order to remove the can top simultaneously when an end of cut is achieved and thus prevent the lid from falling in to the can after cutting is complete, col 1, pg 1, lines 20-40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ray by having in order to a lid holder including a plurality of suction nozzles configured to apply suction to and hold a top surface of the sheet lid, and configured to maintain in a constant posture a portion surrounded by the annular cutting path in the top surface of the sheet lid sucked and held by the nozzles during a cutting of the sheet lid by the cutter blade; and a lid holder mover supporting the lid holder, and configured to rotate, raise, and lower the lid holder such that the lid holder applies suction to and holds the portion of the sheet lid so as to not to hinder the cutting of the sheet lid by the cutting blade, the lid holder mover being separate from the cutter blade mover, wherein the lid holder mover is configured to move the lid holder such that the lid holder is moved from and to the opening position in a top view, and wherein the lid holder mover is configured to move the lid holder such that, when the cutter blade cuts a part of the annular cutting path other than an uncuttable part caused by the lid holder applying suction to and holding the portion of the sheet lid, the lid holder applies suction to and holds the portion of the sheet lid, in order to remove the can top simultaneously when an end of cut is achieved and thus prevent the lid from falling in to the can after cutting is complete, as taught by Walgo.
As modified above, the can opener of Laro includes a single suction cup, and thus Laro lacks the lid holder comprising a plurality of suction nozzles.
Sherri discloses that in a can opening and holding device that it is known to include a series of suction cups 58 for holding a can being cut during the cutting (col. 3, lines 10-25), and Taneja discloses that in a can opening and holding apparatus, it is known to have a can holding suction cup be connected to a vacuum and thus making the cup be a nozzle (fig. 8, and col 6, 50-65).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laro by replacing the single non vacuum connected suction cup of the device to being a multiple suction nozzle holding device in order to better grip the portion being cut during cutting since multiple suction cups instead of a single one, and the use of a vacuum to hold and release the portion being cut would make for a more secure holding function.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ray a disposal receptacle for the lid, wherein the lid holder is configured to carry the portion of the lid toward the disposal receptacle when the held portion of the lid is separated from the tub.
Taneja discloses an electronic can opener, in the same field of endeavor as the package with a lid opener of Ray and discloses that such a system includes a disposal receptacle (“trash container”) for the lid (Col. 6, 40-60), wherein a lid holding device 2RG carries the portion of the lid toward the disposal receptacle when the held portion of the lid is separated from the tub (col 6 lines 40-60) in order to.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ray by having the device thereof include a disposal receptacle for the lid, wherein the lid holder is configured to carry the portion of the lid toward the disposal device when the held portion of the lid is separated from the tub in order to allow the lid to be disposed of and to allow the holding device to work on further cans.
The limitation: “configured to carry the portion of the lid toward the disposal receptacle when the held portion of the lid is separated from the tub” is considered a statement of intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. The only requirement is that the prior art reference be capable of said intended use. See MPEP 2114. In this case, the Laro device as modified over Brown and in view of Taneja is capable of performing the above cited functions as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 9, Ray lacks the lid holder mover configured for movement between a first position where the lid holder mover does not overlap the annular cutting path in the top view and a second position where the lid holder mover overlaps a limited part of the annular cutting path when the lid holder is positioned to apply suction to the sheet lid, and the cutter blade mover is configured so that the cutter blade cuts the area of overlap along the annular cutting path when the lid holder mover is in the first position.
In Walgo, the lid holder mover 13 is configured for movement between a first position (See: fig. 2) where the lid holder mover 13 does not overlap the annular cutting path in the top view and a second position (fig 1) where the lid holder mover 13 overlaps a limited part of the annular cutting path when the lid holder is positioned to apply suction to the sheet lid (fig 1), and the cutter blade mover 28 is configured so that the cutter blade cuts the area of overlap along the annular cutting path when the lid holder mover is in the first position (fig 1 and col. 2, 1-15).
Thus, in modifying Ray to include the suction holder of Walgo, an artisan would also have included the lid holder mover being configured for movement between a first position where the lid holder mover does not overlap the annular cutting path in the top view and a second position where the lid holder mover overlaps a limited part of the annular cutting path when the lid holder is positioned to apply suction to the sheet lid, and the cutter blade mover is configured so that the cutter blade cuts the area of overlap along the annular cutting path when the lid holder mover is in the first position in order to remove the can top simultaneously when an end of cut is achieved and thus prevent the lid from falling in to the can after cutting is complete, in the manner shown in Walgo.
Regarding Claim 20, in Ray wherein the annular cutting path includes cutting path portions extending in two directions orthogonal to each other in a horizontal direction (e.g. at least at tangential portions of the cutting path, as shown in annotated fig 4 below).
Also, the terms “wherein the annular cutting path includes cutting path portions extending in two directions orthogonal to each other in a horizontal direction” are considered statements of intended use.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. The only requirement in these limitations, respectively, is that the prior art reference be capable of said intended use. See MPEP 2114. In this case, the Ray system is capable of cutting in the claimed path/directions, since it a user can manipulate the blade of Ray in an number of directions. Thus, the Ray system is capable of performing the claimed cutting path.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray in view of Walgo, Sherri and Taneja as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of USPN, 9457474, Lisso.
Regarding Claim 2, Ray lacks the cutter blade mover being an articulated robot including the cutter blade as an end effector (Claim 2).
Lisso discloses workpiece cutting device for cutting a workpiece while the workpiece is conveyed along a conveyance path in the same field of endeavor as the workpiece cutting device for cutting a workpiece while the workpiece is conveyed along a conveyance path of the present application and discloses that such a system includes the cutter blade mover being an articulated robot including the cutter blade as an end effector (abstract) in order to allow the cutters to quickly perform the cutting and to perform the cutting in an automated manner and thereby increase efficiency col 3, 38-50.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ray by having the device thereof include the cutter blade mover being an articulated robot including the cutter blade as an end effector (Claim 2), in order to allow the cutters to quickly perform the cutting and to perform the cutting in an automated manner and thereby increase efficiency as taught by Lisso.
Claims 11-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray in view of Walgo, Sherri and Taneja as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of USPN 6003417, Finkowski.
Regarding Claims 11-12, Ray lacks the device further comprising a belt conveyor conveying the package to the opening position, a fixing device fixing the tub of the package at the opening position on the belt conveyor, wherein the cutter blade mover is configured so that the cutter blade cuts the sheet lid of the stationary package fixed at the opening position on the belt conveyor by the fixing device (Claim 11) and the fixing device is a clamping device clamping and fixing the tub of the package and includes a fixed clamp bar and a movable clamp bar configured to move toward and away from the fixed clamp bar (Claim 12), the belt conveyor includes two endless conveyor belts arranged in parallel with a gap therebetween and synchronously driven (Claim 18).
Finkowski discloses a workpiece cutting device for cutting a workpiece while the workpiece is conveyed along a conveyance path, in the same field of endeavor as the workpiece cutting device for cutting a workpiece while the workpiece is conveyed along a conveyance path of the present invention, and discloses that in such a system it is beneficial to have the device comprise a belt conveyor 48 conveying a workpiece 44 to an opening position (where the work is clamped by the clamps 82 during cutting, col 3, 60-70, fig 3), a fixing device (80/82, fig 3) fixing the workpiece at the opening position on the belt conveyor (fig 3), wherein a cutter blade mover is configured so that a cutter blade cuts the stationary workpiece fixed at the opening position on the belt conveyor by the fixing device (col 3, lines 60-70, and col 4, 1-10) (Claim 11) and the fixing device is a clamping device clamping and fixing the workpiece (col 3, lines 60-70) and includes a fixed clamp bar (80) and a movable clamp bar (82) configured to move toward and away from the fixed clamp bar (fig 3, col 3, lines 60-70) (Claim 12), the belt conveyor includes two endless conveyor belts (82 and 84, fig 3) arranged in parallel with a gap therebetween (fig 3) and synchronously driven (col 3, 10-30) (Claim 18), and discloses that the workpiece is held while cutting in order to have the workpiece be securely held during cutting to ensure a “cleaner and more accurate cutting” of the work, col 3, lines 60-70, and col 4, 1-10, and also discloses that the conveyor comprises the two parallel conveyors, in order to allow the workpiece to transported to a packaging machine after being cut (col 3, 10-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ray by having the device thereof include further comprise a belt conveyor conveying the package (which is the workpiece to be cut in Ray) to an opening position, a fixing device fixing the tub of the package at the opening position on the belt conveyor, wherein the cutter blade mover is configured so that the cutter blade cuts the sheet lid of the stationary package fixed at the opening position on the belt conveyor by the fixing device (Claim 11) and the fixing device is a clamping device clamping and fixing the tub of the package and includes a fixed clamp bar and a movable clamp bar configured to move toward and away from the fixed clamp bar (Claim 12), in order to have the workpiece be securely held during cutting to ensure a “cleaner and more accurate cutting” of the work, as taught by Finkowski, and to have the the belt conveyor include two endless conveyor belts arranged in parallel with a gap therebetween and synchronously driven (Claim 18), in order to allow the workpiece to transported to a packaging machine after being cut as taught by Finkowski.
Also, further Regarding Claim 12, in Ray the opening of the tub and a side wall defining the opening have rectangular shapes with rounded corners as viewed in a height direction of the package; thus, in modifying Ray as above, to have the package be conveyed and held during cutting, it would further have been obvious to have the cutter cut the package of Ray as taught in Ray in order to affect the cutting already disclosed by Ray, while maintain the benefits of a clean cut as taught in Finkoswki.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray, in view of Walgo, Sherri and Taneja as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of USPGPUB 20100243508 Sekiguchi.
Regarding Claim 21, in Ray, the cutter blade is configured to cut the sheet lid by slide-moving with being stuck into the sheet lid, and the cutter blade mover is configured to stick the cutter blade into the sheet lid and slide-move the cutter blade stuck into the sheet lid in the annular cutting path extending along the entire contour of the opening of the tub (see fig 4, and col. 4, 50-70 and col 5, 1-10)
Ray lacks wherein the sheet lid is made from a resin material.
Sekiguchi discloses a system for holding medicines/drugs in a container covered by a lid, and for cutting the lid to remove the drugs, in the same field of endeavor as the system for holding medicines/drugs in a container covered by a lid, and for cutting the lid to remove the drugs of the present invention, and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to have the film thereof covering the drugs and being cut into be made of resin material (par 0040), in order to allow the film to be easily broken to remove the drugs (par 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ray by having the covering film be resin in order to allow the film to be easily broken to remove the drugs as taught by Sekiguchi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 8-5-2026, with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims as the claims have been amended have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ray.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 20110203924 6026726 and 20050194059 disclose state of the art package opening systems for vials/syringes while USPN/USPGPUB 5833071 5851333 10501245 20190177026 20050160704 20210275709 2449222 2554628 0683201 5975024 20240150059 and 9457474 disclose state of the art conveying and cutting systems, and thus each of these references disclose pertinent subject matter to the present invention.
/FERNANDO A AYALA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722