Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 16-29 in the reply filed on 10/09/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 20, 22-24, 28, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Krogstrup (US 2020/0227636).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Krogstrup teaches a hybrid device (abstract) comprising a semiconductor component (fig. 3d, #4; para. Para. 0040), ferromagnetic insulator component (fig. 3d, #6; para. 0040), superconductor component (fig. 3d, #10; para. 0040), wherein the semiconductor component has at least three facets (fig. 3d, #4), wherein the ferromagnetic insulator component is arranged on a first and second facet (from the right to the left, fig. 3d), wherein the superconductor component is arranged on a third facet and extends over the ferromagnetic insulator component on at least the second facet (third facet is top flat facet going from left to right to the second facet; fig. 3d, #10).
Regarding claim 17, Krogstrup teaches that the superconductor does not extend over the ferromagnetic insulator on the first facet (first facet is the facet perpendicular to the substrate on the right side; fig. 3d).
Regarding claim 20, Krogstrup teaches a oxide layer formed over the heterostructure (arranged on the ferromagnetic layer, claim does not requirement abutment; para. 0037, fig. 3d, #8).
Regarding claims 22-24, Krogstrup teaches that the semiconductor is InAs and the ferromagnetic insulator comprises EuS (abstract).
Regarding claim 28-29, Krogstrup teaches a network of the devices and a quantum computing device comprising the device (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krogstrup.
Krogstrup fails to teach that the semiconductor component having a generally hexagonal cross section formed integrally with a substrate.
However, it appears that the shape of the semiconductor component would be prima facie obvious such that the trapezoid and hexagonal shape recited in the claims is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (B).
Additionally regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to provide the semiconductor and substrate as integrally formed as a matter of engineering choice. MPEP 2144.04 (V) (B).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krogstrup in view of Eickelmann (US 20160372617).
Krogstrup teaches a product as described above in claim 16, but fails to teach that the protective insulator comprises aluminum oxide.
Krogstrup, however, teaches that the protective insulator is a dielectric (para. 0037).
Eickelmann teaches that aluminum oxide is a well known dielectric (para. 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the protective insulator of Krogstrup comprising aluminum oxide in order to provide a dielectric known in the art as taught by Eickelmann and because Krogstrup teaches that the protective insulator is a dielectric.
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krogstrup in view of Winkler (US 2021/0126181).
Krogstrup teaches a product as described above in claim 16, but fails to teach that the superconductor component comprises alumni and has a thickness of 3-10 nm.
Winkler, however, teaches a semiconductor superconductor hybrid device (abstract) wherein the superconductor has a thickness of 4-10 nm for the purpose of providing coupling to the InAs (para. 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the superconductor of Krogstrup has a thickness of 4-10 nm in order to provide coupling to the InAs as taught by Winkler.
Krogstrup teaches that the superconductor is aluminum (para. 0023).
Regarding claim 27, Krogstrup fails to teach that the device further comprises a gate electrode for applying an electrostatic field to the semiconductor component.
Krogstrup, however, teaches gating part of the nanowire with an electrostatic potential (para. 0021)
Winkler teaches an gate electrode for gating the nanowire (para. 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a gate electrode in Krogstrup in order to gate the nanowire as taught by Winkler and because Krogstrup teaches gating part of the nanowire with an electrostatic potential.
Regarding claim 25, as the thickness of the ferromagnetic layer appears to be substantially similar in thickness to that of the superconductor layer (see Krogstrup at 3d) and Winkler teaches the thickness of the superconductor is 4-10 nm as described above, it appears that the combined prior art teaches a thickness of the ferromagnetic layer overlapping with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735