DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Rejected Claims: 29-30, 35, and 40-41
Withdrawn Claims: 36-39
Cancelled Claims: 1-28 and 31-34
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 21 MAY 2026 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the amendment of claims 29 and 40-41 has been acknowledged.
In view of the amendment to claims 29 and 40-41, the claim objections have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claim 29, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been modified to account for the newly added limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 21 MAY 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, regarding instant claim 29, that Gorrell teaches the use of pH adjustment to prevent scale prior to sending water to the high temperature reverse osmosis as an essential feature which cannot be omitted (Paragraphs 0034 and 0104) and so Gorrell now teaches away from the newly added limitations “wherein no pH adjustment is performed on the partially filtered aqueous material stream prior to or during the subjecting the partially filtered aqueous material stream to reverse osmosis”. Therefore, the prior art of record fails to teach all of the limitations of instant claim 29 and so instant claim 29 and all claims that depend upon instant claim 29 are now allowable (Arguments filed 21 MAY 2026, Pages 5-7).
Regarding Applicant’s argument, Gorrell explicitly teaches alternative methods of scale control to pH adjustment which include operating the reverse osmosis under conditions of supersaturation if antiscalants or chelants are part of pretreatment or simply by reducing the recovery of water (Paragraph 0103). The quoted paragraph 0104 starts off “Scale control is also accomplished through pH adjustment”, emphasis added. The preferred option by Gorrell is to use pH adjustment. If a reference merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed, the reference does not teach away (See MPEP 2145(X)(D)(1)). Therefore, Gorrell teaches the newly added limitations of instant claim 29 and so instant claim 29 and the claims that depend upon instant claim 29 are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29, 30, 35, and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummins et al (International Patent No. WO 2011000052 A1) hereinafter Cummins, in view of Allen (US Patent No. 20040164005 A1) hereinafter Allen, in view of Gorrell et al (US Patent No. 20170166468 A1) hereinafter Gorrell in view of Henis et al (US Patent No. 4794002 A) hereinafter Henis.
Regarding Claim 29, Cummins teaches the complex overall system and process described in the instant claim. Allen, Gorrell, and Henis are brought in to demonstrate that details specific to each particular step/individual apparatus element that are missing from Cummins are well known modifications in the art. Regarding complex processes and systems, individual components tend to be described at a higher level of detail.
Cummins teaches a process for treating an aqueous stream from a polymerization process (i.e., a method of removing contaminants from an aqueous material feed stream derived from a polymerization process) with the treated aqueous stream being recycled to the polymerization process (i.e., to form a recovered aqueous stream having a reduced contaminant concentration for re-use in another polymerization process; Abstract) where a centrate stream from a PVC production plant (i.e., providing an aqueous material feed stream) is fed to a water treatment plant (Fig. 2, #40) to reduce suspended solids and dissolved solids content (i.e., comprising one or more contaminants including particulate and non-particulate contaminants; Page 9, Lines 28-31 to Page 10, Lines 1-10) with the water treatment set up as a three stage process with step one using hydrocyclones to initially remove solids (i.e., centrifuging the aqueous material feed stream in a first hydrocyclone to form a first overflow stream and a first underflow stream wherein the first overflow stream comprises a reduced concentration of particulate contaminants compared to the first underflow stream), step two using microfiltration to remove suspended solids (i.e., passing the first overflow stream through at least one microfiltration membrane thereby forming a partially filtered aqueous material stream), and step three using reverse osmosis to removed dissolved solids (i.e., subjecting the partially filtered aqueous material stream to reverse osmosis to remove at least part of the non-particulate contaminants; Page 10, Lines 18-22). Cummins further teaches that permeate leaving the microfiltration stage is essentially free of suspended solids of size greater than 0.2 µm (i.e., to substantially remove particulate contaminants having a particle size larger than 0.5 µm; Page 11, Lines 32-33 to Page 12, Lines 1-3), that the water fed to the reverse osmosis membrane should be cooled to be below the maximum recommended membrane operating temperature (Page 12, Lines 22-27), and that the hydrocyclone assembly (Fig. 2, #44) has hydrocyclones (Fig. 2, #45) in two stages (Page 10, Lines 23-30). Cummins does not teach pH adjustment prior to reverse osmosis (i.e., wherein no pH adjustment is performed on the partially filtered aqueous material stream prior to or during the subjecting the partially filtered aqueous material stream to reverse osmosis; Pages 9-13).
Cummins does not explicitly teach the step of directing the first underflow stream to a second hydrocyclone to form a second overflow stream that is combinable with the aqueous material feed stream.
However, Allen teaches two hydrocyclones in sequence (Fig. 5, #505, 535) in which the underflow of the first stage separator (Fig. 5, #515) is fed to the underflow-fed separator (Fig. 5, #535) where the overflow of the underflow-fed separator is fed back into the feed stream (Fig. 5, #520) of the first stage separator (Paragraphs 0062-0064) for the purpose of improving density separation performance and controlling the particle size distribution of slurried media (Paragraph 0007).
Allen is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to material separations and recycling plastics (Paragraph 0002) utilizing hydrocyclones (Paragraph 0009). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the two stage hydrocyclone system as taught by Cummins to feed the underflow of the first stage hydrocyclone to the second stage hydrocyclone and then recycle the overflow of the second hydrocyclone back to the feed as taught by Allen because the method taught by Allen would improve the density separation and control the particle size distribution.
Cummins in view of Allen does not teach the combination of performing reverse osmosis at a temperature higher than 50°C and wherein no pH adjustment is performed on the partially filtered aqueous material stream prior to or during the subjecting the partially filtered aqueous material stream to reverse osmosis.
However, Gorrell teaches a high temperature membrane that can tolerate 170°F or 76.6 °C (i.e., performing reverse osmosis at a temperature higher than 50°C) with the benefit of allowing hot water reuse which results in significant savings of heat energy and natural gas energy (Paragraphs 0041-0042) and that there are alternative scale control methods to pH control including the supersaturation of scale through the use of antiscalants or chelants as part of the pretreatment process or by reducing the recovery of the reverse osmosis process (i.e., wherein no pH adjustment is performed on the partially filtered aqueous material stream prior to or during the subjecting the partially filtered aqueous material stream to reverse osmosis; Paragraph 0103-0104).
Gorrell is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a high temperature reverse osmosis membrane (Abstract) in the field of industrial and commercial wastewater filtration (Paragraph 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process for treating an aqueous stream from a polymerization process as made obvious by Cummins in view of Allen with the high temperature reverse osmosis membrane without pH control as taught by Gorrell because the high temperature membrane would result in significant energy savings and there are known alternatives to pH control including antiscalants and chelants.
Cummins in view of Allen in view of Gorrell does not teach wherein the at least one microfiltration membrane includes modifiers, mixed with a polymer of the at least one microfiltration membrane, to convert the at least one microfiltration membrane form being substantially hydrophobic to being substantially hydrophilic.
However, Henis teaches the surface modification of hydrophobic support micro-filtration membranes with a surface modifying hydrophilic polymer (i.e., teach wherein the at least one microfiltration membrane includes modifiers, mixed with a polymer of the at least one microfiltration membrane, to convert the at least one microfiltration membrane form being substantially hydrophobic to being substantially hydrophilic) for the purpose of imparting the mechanically strong support membrane with desirable surface interactions, with an explicit example of modifying a polyethersulfone support membrane to reduce fouling (Col. 1, Line 45 to Col. 2, Line 46).
Henis is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to modifying support surfaces with a polymeric modifying material (Col. 1, Lines 10-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the microfiltration membrane made obvious by Cummins in view of Allen in view of Gorrell with the polymeric coating as taught by Henis because the coating would impart desirable surface interactions for the filtration process.
Regarding Claim 30, Allen further teaches an example operation of a hydrocyclone in which the hydrocyclone concentrates particles coarser than 10 microns substantially (Paragraph 0077) and that the particle size distribution of a classified slurry can be from about 5 to 25 microns (i.e., wherein centrifuging the aqueous material feed stream includes removing particulate contaminants having a diameter of at least 10 µm; Paragraph 0013).
Regarding Claim 35, Cummins further teaches that the temperature of the centrate entering the solid/liquid separation step is at 50-80 °C (i.e., wherein subjecting the overflow stream to microfiltration is conducted at temperatures in the range from about 70°C to about 90°C; Page 6, Lines 16-26) and that the aqueous stream is advantageously cooled prior to the reverse osmosis step such that the water is not above the maximum operating temperature of the membrane (Page 7, Lines 19-24) and that it is desirable to keep the water temperatures in the hydrocyclone assembly and microfiltration steps as high as possible to prevent the polyvinyl alcohol in solution to the greatest extent possible (Page 12, Lines 4-21). Cummins in view of Allen in view of Gorrell does not explicitly teach the microfiltration temperature range of about 70°C to about 90°C in the instant claim. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected temperatures that correspond to the claimed range while experimenting with the range taught by Cummins in view of Allen in view of Gorrell.
Regarding Claim 40, Henis further teaches that the modifying polymer is absorbed onto the surface of the support polymer (i.e., wherein the modifiers include a coating at a surface of the at least one microfiltration membrane; Abstract).
Regarding Claim 41, Henis further teaches that the support membrane should be porous enough that the modifying polymer can diffuse through the surface pores to treat the interior of the support membrane (i.e., wherein the modifiers include a coating at surfaces of respective pores of the at least one microfiltration membrane; Col. 2, Lines 45-50).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/Ryan B Huang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772