DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner notes that the claim markings of claim 31 is not in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(c). However, in an effort to support compact prosecution, the examiner is interpreting claim 31 lines 6-7 “receive, from a second network entity, a first protocol data unit (PDU) session request message;” as --receive, from a second network entity, a first protocol data unit (PDU) session request message;--
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-9, 11-14, 17, 19-20, 22-23, 25-26, 28, 31-34, 36, 39, and 62-64, the applicant argued, “…That is, the UE generates a first PDU session pair ID for the first PDU session establishment message to the first SMF and generates a different, second PDU session pair ID for the second PDU session establishment message to the second SMF…Kim does not disclose that the UE includes the first PDU session pair ID (which the Office alleges is associates the PDU sessions as redundant) of the first PDU session establishment message in the second PDU session establishment message…” on pages 10-13.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
In ¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B Kim clearly teaches a value of the pair ID is an indication shared by redundant PDU sessions and configured to associate PDU sessions together as redundant (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B: PDU session ID is a value shared with PDU session pair ID which identify the PDU sessions as redundant; see at least page 39 of KR priority document “…the PDU session pair ID which is identical to the first PDU session ID” – see also pages 32-45); and transmit a second PDU session establishment message and the pair ID (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B: transmit redundant PDU session establishment message including PDU session pair ID which is identical to the first PDU session ID; see at least page 39 of KR priority document “…the PDU session pair ID which is identical to the first PDU session ID” – see also pages 32-45).
The applicant’s citations of Kim describe establishing a new PDU session. When the UE establishes a new PDU session, it does indeed generate a new PDU Session ID. Then when establishing a redundant PDU session, the PDU Session ID of the first session is used as the PDU session pair ID. Kim, in at least ¶71 (and page 39 of the cited KR priority document) states “PDU session pair ID, which is identical to the identifier of the first PDU session”. Therefore, generating a new PDU session ID is different than generating a PDU session pair ID. The applicant erroneously equates each PDU session ID as a PDU session pair ID.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-14, 17, 19-20, 22-23, 25-26, 28, 31-34, 36, 39, and 62-64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP S2-1900342 “URLLC KI-1 Solution 1 – Updates related to the URLLC support by the network” (hereinafter referred to as “3GPP”) in view of Kim et al. US 2021/0250788 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Kim”) on the basis of KR 10-2019-0123065. Note 3GPP was cited by the applicant in the IDSs received 9 July 2022 and 25 September 2024.
As to claim 1, 3GPP teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit a first protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment message (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 7-9; figure 6.1.1-4: UE includes RSN in the PDU Session Establishment Request message for first PDU session being established);
determine a pair identifier (ID) (page 4, lines 1-3: UE determines RSN for indicating the presence of redundant handling); and
transmit a second PDU session establishment message and the pair ID (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 7-9; figure 6.1.1-4: UE includes RSN in the PDU Session Establishment Request message for the second PDU session being established).
Although 3GPP teaches “An apparatus…pair identifier (ID); and transmit…the pair ID,” 3GPP does not explicitly disclose “a value of the pair ID is an indication shared by redundant PDU sessions and configured to associate PDU sessions together as redundant”.
However, Kim teaches a value of the pair ID is an indication shared by redundant PDU sessions and configured to associate PDU sessions together as redundant (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B: PDU session ID is a value shared with PDU session pair ID which identify the PDU sessions as redundant; see at least page 39 of KR priority document “…the PDU session pair ID which is identical to the first PDU session ID” – see also pages 32-45); and
transmit a second PDU session establishment message and the pair ID (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B: transmit redundant PDU session establishment message including PDU session pair ID which is identical to the first PDU session ID; see at least page 39 of KR priority document “…the PDU session pair ID which is identical to the first PDU session ID” – see also pages 32-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in 3GPP by including “a value of the pair identifier is an indication shared by redundant PDU sessions and configured to associate PDU sessions together as redundant” as taught by Kim because it provides 3GPP’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improved handling of redundant PDU sessions handled via different SMFs (Kim, ¶286; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
As to claim 2, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein the first PDU session establishment message includes the pair ID (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 7-9; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 3, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein, to transmit the pair ID, the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit a message including the pair ID, wherein the message including the pair ID is separate from the first PDU session establishment message (page 4, lines 1-3 and 18-20 and page 5, lines 7-9; figure 6.1.1-3: RSN included in second PDU session establishment message).
As to claim 4, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein, to transmit the first PDU session establishment message, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the first PDU session establishment message to a first network entity, and wherein the first PDU session establishment message is configured to cause the first network entity to send a PDU session request message to a second network entity (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 7-22; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 5, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 4. 3GPP further teaches wherein the PDU session request message includes the pair ID (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 7-9; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 6, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the second PDU session establishment message includes the pair ID and is configured to establish the redundant PDU sessions for the first and second PDU session establishment messages (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B: transmit second PDU session establishment request including the PDU session pair ID equal to the PDU session ID to establish the redundant PDU sessions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in 3GPP in view of Kim by including “wherein the second…establishment messages” as further taught by Kim for the same rationale as set forth in claim 1 (Kim, ¶286; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
As to claim 7, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein, to determine the pair ID, the at least one processor is configured to generate or allocate the value of the pair ID based on a service associated with a PDU session corresponding to the first PDU session establishment message (page 2, lines 15-16, page 4, lines 1-3, and page 5, lines 7-9; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 8, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein, to transmit the first PDU session establishment message, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the first PDU session establishment message to a first network entity and wherein the first PDU session establishment message includes the pair ID, and wherein, to transmit the second PDU session establishment message, the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit the second PDU session establishment message to a third network entity, wherein the second PDU session establishment message is configured to cause the third network entity to send a second PDU session request message to a second network entity (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 1-22; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 9, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 8. 3GPP further teaches wherein the second network entity comprise a radio access network (RAN); or the first and third network entities comprise Session Management Functions (SMFs) (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 1-22; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 11, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein, to determine the pair ID, the at least one processor is configured to determine a PDU session ID from a prior PDU session as the pair ID (page 4, lines 1-3, page 5, lines 7-9, and page 5, line 34 – page 6, line 8; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 12, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein, to determine the pair ID, the at least one processor is configured to determine the pair ID from a services table based on a corresponding service of a PDU session associated with the first PDU session establishment message (page 4, lines 1-3, page 5, lines 7-9, and page 5, line 34 – page 6, line 8; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 13, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein, to transmit the first PDU session establishment message, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the first PDU session establishment message to a first network entity and wherein the first PDU session establishment message excludes the pair ID and is transmitted prior to determination of the pair ID, and wherein, to transmit the second PDU session establishment message, the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit, after the determination of the pair ID, the second PDU session establishment message to a third network entity, wherein the second PDU session establishment message is configured to cause the third network entity to send a second PDU session request message to a second network entity (page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 7-11; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 14, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 13. 3GPP further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit, after transmission of the first PDU session establishment message a third PDU session establishment message to a fourth network entity, wherein the third PDU session establishment message includes the pair ID, and wherein the third PDU session establishment message is configured to cause the fourth network entity to send a third PDU session request message to the second network entity (page 4, lines 1-7 and page 5, lines 7-22; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 17, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to assign the pair ID to a particular service, wherein, to assign the pair ID to the particular service, the at least one processor is configured to edit a service table to correlate the pair ID with the particular service (page 4, lines 1-3, page 5, lines 7-9, and page 5, line 34 – page 6, line 8; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 19, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 17. 3GPP further teaches wherein the services table is a URLLC service table (page 1, page 4, lines 1-3, page 5, lines 7-9, and page 5, line 34 – page 6, line 8; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 20, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform a PDU session modification operation, wherein the PDU session modification operation includes transmitting a modification request to a service providing device including remove information corresponding to the pair ID (page 6, lines 15-19).
As to claim 22, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive first data via a first PDU session established by the first PDU session establishment message; and
receive second data via a second PDU session, the second data the same as the first data (page 3, lines 1-9 and page 5, lines 7-9, 12-14, and 24-26; figures 6.1.1-2 and 6.1.1-4).
Kim further teaches a second PDU session established by the second PDU session establishment message (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B: second PDU session establishment request including the PDU session pair ID equal to the PDU session ID to establish the redundant PDU sessions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in 3GPP in view of Kim by including “established by the second PDU session establishment message” as further taught by Kim for the same rationale as set forth in claim 1 (Kim, ¶286; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
As to claim 23, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 22. 3GPP further teaches wherein:
to receive the first data, the at least one processor is configured to receive the first data from a particular servicing device via a first base station; and to receive the second data, the at least one processor is configured to receive the second data from the particular servicing device via a second base station (page 3, lines 1-9, page 4, lines 21-22, and page 5, lines 1-26; figures 6.1.1-2 and 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 25, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured with a redundancy handling function (RHF) that is configured to generate or determine the pair ID (page 2, lines 26-35, page 4, lines 1-3, and page 5, lines 7-9 and 24-26; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 26, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive an apparatus policy from a network entity, and wherein, to determine the pair ID, the at least one processor is configured to cause generation or determination of the pair ID based on the apparatus policy (page 2, lines 26-35, page 4, lines 1-3, page 5, lines 7-9 and 24-26, and page 6, lines 20-21; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 28, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. 3GPP further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine a first service associated with a first PDU session
determine a second service associated with a second PDU session;
compare the first service to the second service; and
determine to generate a redundant PDU session based on the comparison (page 2, lines 15-16, page 4, lines 1-3, page 5, lines 7-9 and 24-26, and page 5, line 34 – page 6, line 8; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 31, 3GPP teaches a first network entity for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a second network entity, a first protocol data unit (PDU) session request message (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 7-22; figure 6.1.1-4: RAN receives PDU Session Establishment Request message from SMF 1);
receive, from a third network entity, a second PDU session request message including a pair identifier (ID) (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 7-22; figure 6.1.1-4: RAN receives PDU Session Establishment Request message including RSN from SMF 2); and
associate a PDU session indicated by the PDU session request message with the pair ID (page 5, lines 12-14 and page 5, line 34 – page 6, line 8; figure 6.1.1-4: determine PDU Session establishment for redundant PDU session using the RSN).
Although 3GPP teaches “A first network entity…the pair ID,” 3GPP does not explicitly disclose “a value of the pair ID is an indication shared by redundant PDU sessions and configured to associate PDU sessions together as redundant”.
However, Kim teaches receive, from a third network entity, a second PDU session request message including a pair identifier (ID) (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B: receive redundant PDU request message including PDU pair ID which is identical to the first PDU session ID; see at least page 39 of KR priority document “…the PDU session pair ID which is identical to the first PDU session ID” – see also pages 32-45); and
associate, a PDU session indicated by the first PDU session request message with the pair ID, wherein a value of the pair ID is an indication shared by redundant PDU sessions and configured to associate PDU sessions together as redundant (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B: PDU session ID is a value shared with PDU session pair ID which identify the PDU sessions as redundant; see at least page 39 of KR priority document “…the PDU session pair ID which is identical to the first PDU session ID” – see also pages 32-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in 3GPP by including “a value of the pair ID is an indication shared by redundant PDU sessions and configured to associate PDU sessions together as redundant” as taught by Kim because it provides 3GPP’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improved handling of redundant PDU sessions handled via different SMFs (Kim, ¶286; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
As to claim 32, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the first network entity of claim 31. 3GPP further teaches wherein the pair ID comprises an apparatus-determined pair ID and is included in a N2 session management (SM) container of the second PDU session request message, and wherein the second PDU session request message is responsive to a second PDU session establishment message which included the apparatus-determined pair ID (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 7-22; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 33, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the first network entity of claim 32. 3GPP further teaches wherein, to associate the PDU session with the pair ID, the at least one processor is configured to modify one or more entries of a PDU table to indicate the pair ID (page 4, lines 1-3, page 5, lines 7-9, and page 5, line 34 – page 6, line 8; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 34, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the first network entity of claim 31. 3GPP further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive the second PDU session request message responsive to a second PDU session establishment message; and
associate a second PDU session indicated by the second PDU session request message with the pair ID, wherein, to associate the second PDU session with the pair ID, the at least one processor is configured to associate the PDU session and the second PDU session as the redundant PDU sessions (page 4, lines 1-3 and 18-20 and page 5, lines 7-9; figure 6.1.1-3).
As to claim 36, 3GPP teaches a first network entity for wireless communication comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive from an apparatus, a second protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment message and a pair identifier (ID); and
transmit a PDU session request message for a second PDU session responsive to the second PDU session establishment message, the PDU session request message including the pair ID (page 4, lines 1-3 and page 5, lines 7-22; figure 6.1.1-4: MgNB receives PDU Session Establishment Request message including RSN from UE and forwards it to SMF).
Although 3GPP teaches “A first network entity…the pair ID,” 3GPP does not explicitly disclose “a value of the pair identifier is an indication shared by redundant PDU sessions and configured to associate the second PDU session and a prior, first PDU session together as redundant”.
However, Kim teaches a value of the pair identifier is an indication shared by redundant PDU sessions and configured to associate the second PDU session and a prior, first PDU session together as redundant (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B: second PDU session request includes PDU pair ID which is identical to the fist PDU session ID and associates PDU sessions as redundant; see at least page 39 of KR priority document “…the PDU session pair ID which is identical to the first PDU session ID” – see also pages 32-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in 3GPP by including “a value of the pair identifier is an indication shared by redundant PDU sessions and configured to associate the second PDU session and a prior, first PDU session together as redundant” as taught by Kim because it provides 3GPP’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of improved handling of redundant PDU sessions handled via different SMFs (Kim, ¶286; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
As to claim 39, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the first network entity of claim 36. 3GPP further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive from the apparatus, a PDU session modification request message including remove information corresponding to the pair ID; and
transmit to a second network entity, a PDU session modification message indicating removal of the pair ID (page 4, lines 1-3, page 5, lines 7-22, and page 6, lines 15-19; figure 6.1.1-4).
As to claim 62, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the pair ID comprises an identifier of a PDU session (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in 3GPP in view of Kim by including “wherein the pair ID comprises an identifier of a PDU session” as further taught by Kim for the same rationale as set forth in claim 1 (Kim, ¶286; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
As to claim 63, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 62.
Kim further teaches wherein the pair ID further identifies a service associated with the PDU session (¶¶71, 157-159-162, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in 3GPP in view of Kim by including “wherein the pair ID further identifies a service associated with the PDU session” as further taught by Kim for the same rationale as set forth in claim 1 (Kim, ¶286; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
As to claim 64, 3GPP in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the pair ID is a PDU session ID that identifies a first PDU session associated with the first PDU session establishment message (¶¶71, 157-159, 282, 286, and 291; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in 3GPP in view of Kim by including “wherein the pair ID is a PDU session ID that identifies a first PDU session associated with the first PDU session establishment message” as further taught by Kim for the same rationale as set forth in claim 1 (Kim, ¶286; figures 6A, 8A, and 8B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469