DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11, 13-18 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7, 9, 11, 13-18, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magagnoli et al US Patent Pub. 2020/0397587A1 in view of Harmon et al US Patent 12,336,911B2.
Magagnoli et al discloses a stem for or of an implant, the stem has a longitudinal axis and at least one recess (30) for the purpose of filing bone cement. The at least one recess is interrupted by at least one barrier (31), and wherein the at least one recess comprises a first set of recesses and a second set of recesses (See figure below), the second set of recesses (not shown behind recesses 30 in Fig. 7A) nearer a distal end (see figure below) of the stem than the first set of recesses, wherein the first set of recesses (See figure below) comprises two or more recesses in a circumferential direction. The second set of recesses comprises two or more recesses in the circumferential direction, wherein at least one barrier (31, see figure below) is between the first set of recesses and the second set of recesses, and wherein a whole outer surface of the stem outside the recess is a cylindrical outer surface from a distal end of the stem to a connective end of the stem, and wherein the cylindrical outer surface between the connective end of the stem and a tip of the stem is NOT constant cross-section.
Harmon et al discloses an implant having multiple stems comprising different shapes. Some stems comprise a conical configuration (See Figs. 12-14) other stems comprise a full cylindrical configuration (see Figs. 15-16, 23 and 24). Each of the stems, especially, stems shown in Figs. 23 and 24, disclosed a plurality of recesses capable of receiving adhesives or bone cement for the purpose of holding the implant in place a plurality of recesses around the circumference of the stem (see col. 5, lines 53-57).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, see figures above showing an elongated groove along the longitudinal axis of the stem and showing the barriers solidly integrated to the stem.
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 9, see figure above showing that the barrier is continuous around the circumferential perimeter of the stem.
Regarding claim 11, the stem is capable of being inserted into the intramedullary canal of a humerus.
Regarding claim 15, see each barrier 31 as a single entity.
Regarding claim 16, see Fig. 7A showing 2 barriers per stem.
Regarding claim 17, see Fig. 7A showing the barriers oriented transverse to the longitudinal axis and having an external cylindrical configuration.
Regarding claim 18, see element 29 in Fig. 7A.
Regarding claim 22, see Figure above disclosing the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 23, see Figure above showing the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Magagnoli et al discloses the claimed invention except for a range of width lengths. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Magagnoli et al unknown recesses widths, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 14, Magagnoli et al discloses the step of filling the recesses with bone cement, however, does not disclose the step of filling the outer surface of the stem with bone cement. It is well known in the art to fill the intramedullary canal with bone cement in addition to all the recesses in order to have a strong and immediate fixation of the implant to the patient’s bone.
Regarding claim 24, the Magagnoli et al reference discloses two barriers, wherein each barrier is not half-way between the distal end and the connective end of the stem, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Magagnoli et al reference by having only one barrier and place this barrier half-way the ends of the stem because Applicant has not disclosed that by having only one barrier provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the two barriers of the Magagnoli et al reference because it would perform equally as well.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the Magagnoli reference to obtain the invention as specified in claim 24.
Regarding claim 26, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Magagnoli et al reference by polishing the surface of the stem because Applicant has not disclosed that by polishing the stem provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the unknown surface of the Magagnoli et al reference because it would perform equally as well.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the Magagnoli reference to obtain the invention as specified in claim 26.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
2/20/26