DETAILED ACTION
Final Rejection
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 07/06/2026 to claims are accepted. In this amendment, claim 16 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 recites “during the precalculated periods of time, the process variable of the sensor unit ascertained as the substitute variable in the establishing step is used in place of the process variable of the further sensor unit associated with the malfunction;.”, however the applicant’s specification does not describe by the process variable of the sensor unit ascertained as the substitute variable in the establishing step is used in place of the process variable of the further sensor unit associated with the malfunction. While only [0032], describe “it is provided that the data processing unit corrects the substitute variable by the ascertained deviation in real time. In the case of a constant deviation, the substitute variable is increased or decreased by this constant deviation, depending on its sign. In the case, in which a non-constant deviation is present, the deviation to be corrected is earlier calculated and adapted continually.” this does not provide support for the process variable of the sensor unit ascertained as the substitute variable in the establishing step is used, not in place of the process variable of the further sensor unit associated with the malfunction. See MPEP 2161.01(I). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed, i.e. about to fail. See MPEP §§ 2163.02 and 2181, subsection IV.".
The remaining claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim16 recites the limitations "during the precalculated periods of time, the process variable of the sensor unit ascertained as the substitute variable in the establishing step is used in place of the process variable of the further sensor unit associated with the malfunction… according to claim 16”. The limitation " the precalculated periods, the establishing step”, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Furthermore, It is not clear what “ascertained as the substitute variable” refers too. The specification only provides: “the ascertained time period” [0012], the ascertained deviation in real time[0031], ascertained substitute variable[0032] and calculated from the ascertained quality of the substitute variable[0052]of current application PgPub. There is nothing as “ascertained as the substitute variable”. Therefore, the claim is considered to be indefinite
the limitations " … during the precalculated periods of time, the process variable”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
the limitations " … substitute variable in the establishing step”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
the limitations " … ascertained as the substitute variable..”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The remaining claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), for being dependent upon a rejected base claims.
Regarding Claim 27 recites the limitations " … the ascertained deviation”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 28 recites the limitations " … the ascertained substitute variable”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Koehler et al. (US 2004/0216000) in views of Guru et al. (US 2009/0204232) and Gross et al. (US 6,181,975)(best understood by Examiner based on 112 rejection).
Regarding claim 16. Koehler teaches a method for compensating for a malfunction of a field device in an automated process plant([0037], [0039]-[0042]; 6, 21: fig.2), wherein a plurality of field devices are provided in the plant([0037]; 6: fig.2), wherein each of the field devices has at least one sensor unit([0037]; 2: fig.2), which is embodied for registering at least one process variable([0030]), wherein the field devices are grouped in at least one measuring location(fig.2), wherein the field devices are incorporated into a communication network and communicate with a superordinated unit(8: fig. 2; [0024]), wherein the field devices transmit obtained process values, diagnostic data and status information via the communication network to the superordinated unit([0024]), wherein the superordinated unit transmits obtained process values, diagnostic data and status information to a control station of the plant ([0024], [0052]-[0053]) and wherein each measuring location includes a data processing unit(14: fig.2; [0024], [0026]-[0029]), which is arranged in the communication network between the field devices of the corresponding measuring location and the superordinated unit([0024], [0026]-[0029]), comprising(figs. 1-3):
transmitting, by the data processing unit, the process values from the field devices to the superordinated unit([0024]) during the precalculated periods of time, the process variable of the sensor unit ascertained as the substitute variable in the establishing step is used in place of the process variable of the further sensor unit associated with the malfunction(the sensors, for example, due to failure or defect of one or several sensors, or deviations of values of the process or of the apparatus from rated values due to technical failures, for example due to a mechanical failure or due to a failed process control or electrical failures[0042].functional coordination may also be combined with each other. Thereby, particularly the sensor system may be provided with sensor models, which acquire external states as well as operational states. In such applications, however, sensor systems may also be coordinated so that one sensor system acquires external states and another sensor system acquires operational states.[0043]; the measurement of states, whereby an arrangement or data processing unit and a control or open loop control arrangement is allocated to the sensor system. The acquired measured values are to be supplied to the data processing unit for further processing. For this purpose the measured values must have the required integrity and they must be available: [0044]);
creating, using the data processing unit, historical data based on the transmitted process values for each of the field devices, or the sensor units (measured values :[0034]-[0038], [0050]);
establishing a replacement system based on the historical data ([0039]-[0060], [0037]-[0055]; fig.3 ; specifically [0054]-[0055] and [0044]-[0045]), wherein the data processing unit ascertains, which process variable of a sensor unit can serve with predetermined accuracy as substitute variable to replace a process variable of a further sensor unit([0039]-[0060]; fig.3 ; specifically [0058]-[0060]); and
predicting the malfunction of the field device at least in part by(estimates a system state and is in the position, when sensors fail, to supply to other functions a best possible estimation of the system state, said estimation having been ascertained by software:[0046]):
comparing current process values of each of the field devices, or the sensor units, with desired values formed from the historical data and/or by earlier set reference values for precalculating periods of time, in which current process values of a field device, or the sensor units, differ by at least one predetermined value from the desired values ([0034]-[0060]; specifically [0035-[0046], [0054]-[0055]; fig. 3; based on the comparing of the fusioned values with rated values: [0046]); and
transmitting the substitute variable for the field device, or the sensor units, to the superordinated unit using the data processing unit during the precalculated periods of time([0018]-[0019]; [0039]-[0046]; fig. 3).
Koehler silent about temporarily replacing the field device associated with the malfunction at least in part by: transmitting the substitute variable in place of the process variable from the field device associated with the malfunction using the data processing unit during the precalculated periods of time while the field device associated with the malfunction is repaired or replaced.
However, Guru also teaches comparing current process values of each of the field devices, or the sensor units, with desired values formed from the historical data and/or by earlier set reference values for pre calculating periods of time, in which current process values of a field device, or the sensor units, differ by at least one predetermined value from the desired values([0050]);
Guru further teaches temporarily replacing the field device associated with the malfunction at least in part by: adjust the performance condition from the field device associated with the malfunction using the data processing unit during the precalculated periods of time while the field device associated with the malfunction is repaired or replaced([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Koehler, temporarily replacing the field device associated with the malfunction at least in part by: adjust performance condition from the field device associated with the malfunction using the data processing unit during the precalculated periods of time while the field device associated with the malfunction is repaired or replaced, as taught by Guru, so as to improve self-sensing and communication with the sensors and components, while achieving reliable proximity sensing system and improvements in installation efficiency and maintenance.
The modified Koehler silent about transmitting the substitute variable in place of the process variable from the field device associated with the malfunction.
However, Gross teaches transmitting the substitute variable in place of the process variable from the field device associated with the malfunction (col. 7, l. 50-59; Replace faulted sensor with model estimate: fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the modified invention of Koehler, transmitting the substitute variable in place of the process variable from the field device associated with the malfunction, as taught by Gross, so as to allow the commercial system or process to keep operating.
Regarding claim 17. Koehler further teaches the device status of the field devices and/or sensor units is transmitted to the superordinated unit, continually or at certain points in time, and wherein upon occurrence of at least one predetermined device status of a field device, or a sensor unit, the substitute variable is transmitted to the superordinated unit by means of the data processing unit([0039]-[0046]; fig.3).
Regarding claim 18. Koehler further in the course of establishing the replacement system, other properties of a field device, or a sensor unit, are transmitted to the data processing unit and compared([0039]).
Regarding claim 19. Koehler further the additional properties include information relative to geographical position of the field device[0039]).
.
Regarding claim 20. Koehler further the additional properties include information relative to the measuring location, where the field device is installed, and/or
information relative to the function of field device at the measuring location[0039]).
.
Regarding claim 21. Koehler further the additional properties of the field devices are transmitted to the data processing unit and/or wherein the additional properties are transmitted from a service platform to the data processing unit[0039]).
Regarding claim 22. Koehler further the course of establishing the replacement system, historical data, position information and/or information relative to a measuring location of field device located in plants other than the plant are taken into consideration[0050]).
.
Regarding claim 23. Koehler further the data processing unit uses an Al algorithm, especially based on neural networks, for establishing the replacement system and/or for precalculating the time periods([0024]).
Regarding claim 24. Koehler further the Al algorithm is trained earlier on a service platform and wherein the so trained algorithm is loaded earlier into the data processing unit([0024]).
Regarding claim 25. Koehler further the steps of establishing the replacement system and/or precalculating the time periods are executed, without there being a communication connection between the data processing unit and the service platform([0024]).
Regarding claim 26. Koehler further the data processing unit compares the history of the substitute variable with the historical data of the field device, or the sensor unit, which has the predetermined device status, and ascertains a deviation of the substitute variable from the historical data([0034], [0056]; fig. 3)..
Regarding claim 27. Koehler further the data processing unit corrects the substitute variable by the ascertained deviation in real time([0034], [0056]; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 28. Koehler further the data processing unit calculates an evaluation of the ascertained substitute variable([0053]).
Regarding claim 29. Koehler further the evaluation of the substitute variable is made known to an operator before the transmission of the substitute variable and wherein the substitute variable is transmitted only when the operator confirms this ([0053]).
Regarding claim 30. Koehler further the amount of the historical data of the field device, or the sensor unit, which has the predetermined device status, is taken into consideration for calculating the evaluation ([0053]).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect 103 rejection, specially claim16, Koehler in views of Guru and Gross does not teach the amended limitations. See page 5-7.
In response, In response, the Examiner respectfully disagree because Koehler teaches the amended limitation (based on current 112 rejection and what the Examiner understood ) as “the sensors, for example, due to failure or defect of one or several sensors, or deviations of values of the process or of the apparatus from rated values due to technical failures, for example due to a mechanical failure or due to a failed process control or electrical failures[0042].functional coordination may also be combined with each other. Thereby, particularly the sensor system may be provided with sensor models, which acquire external states as well as operational states. In such applications, however, sensor systems may also be coordinated so that one sensor system acquires external states and another sensor system acquires operational states.[0043]; the measurement of states, whereby an arrangement or data processing unit and a control or open loop control arrangement is allocated to the sensor system. The acquired measured values are to be supplied to the data processing unit for further processing. For this purpose the measured values must have the required integrity and they must be available: [0044]”.As such 103 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) Burd et al. (10,877,470) disclose herein the DT is coupled to receive measurement data including real-time data from the processing equipment, from the sensors, and from the control devices; (ii) dynamic models of said industrial facility comprising calculation models to calculate at least one of a status of said processing equipment or said industrial process or to calculate an efficiency of said processing equipment or said industrial process, symptom and fault models to determine health of said processing equipment or health of said industrial process including cause and effect logic, dynamic simulation models to support simulation of said processing equipment or said industrial process to predict future performance or compare current performance against simulation, and machine learning models to detect changes in said processing equipment or performance of said industrial process based on data analysis, and said aggregation algorithm using outputs from said static models and said dynamic models, including from an output of the flowsheet model linked to receive the measurement data from the sensors, generating an aggregated view including performance alerts for at least one of said processing equipment and said industrial process based on said current performance of said industrial process.
b) Seo et al. (US 20190196430) disclose a method of an appliance, including receiving prediction information indicating a predicted failure of the appliance, obtaining a schedule for which use of a repair service for repairing the predicted failure based on the prediction information is available, transmitting a signal for requesting maintenance information used to delay the predicted failure and maintain a normal operation of the appliance if the obtained schedule is after a predicted failure time point indicated by the prediction information, receiving the maintenance information, and operating based on the maintenance information.
Contact information
/MOHAMMAD K ISLAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857