DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 04/15/2026.
Claims 17, 19-32, and 65 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the features of amended claim 17 are not taught by the cited arts. UE-specific search space configuration is argued to not be taught by Rastegardoost, however, the UE-specific search space configuration in the previous action was cited to Wu. Additionally, applicant makes several assertions on pages 3-4 of remarks regarding the first and second field values in search spaces indicating uplink and downlink. Examiner disagrees with these opinions as Wu [0100-0102] clearly shows each search space having an associated uplink or downlink scheduling grant which reads on the claimed indication of uplink or downlink. A claim mapping for the further amended limitations of the independent claims have been provided in the claim rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 19-21, 24, 27-30, and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (Pub. No.: US 2014/0177582 A1) in view of Rastegardoost (US 2021/0051672), claiming priority to provisional 62/886,656).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches
A first wireless communication device (Wu [0122] and fig. 6: Base station (BS)), comprising:
a transceiver (Wu [0122] and fig. 6 element 10: sending module or transceiver) configured to:
communicate, with a second wireless communication device (Wu [0120] and fig. 5: user equipment or UE), a search space (SS) configuration via at least one of a media access control (MAC) control element (CE), a radio resource control (RRC) message, or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a common search space (CSS) (Wu [0012]: search space configuration, PDCCH in the UE common search space (“a search space, which includes a common search space”)), wherein the SS configuration (Wu [0060-0061] The BS sends the downlink channel information (DCI) to the UE in two search spaces in Fig. 3, step 302. Par. [0065] The 2 search spaces are UE-specific which correspond to the uplink grant (UL grant) or the downlink grant (DL grant) carried in the DCI. Alternatively, both the UL and DL grant can also be sent to the 2 UE-specific search spaces) includes an indication of a first search space for uplink scheduling, a second search space for downlink scheduling (Wu [0100-0102]: each search space having an associated uplink or downlink scheduling grant which reads on the claimed indication of uplink or downlink; “an indication of” first and second search spaces. It is not clear if an indication is different from the search space themselves. Since the prior art teaches search spaces, then an indication of the search spaces is implied. For example, the primary reference Wu, table 2, Mode 1, teaches common search space vs. specific search space. So, DCI format 1A vs DCI format 1 could be interpreted as two separate indications. see [0067] The UE can receive the first UE-specific search space carrying the downlink (DL) grant {downlink scheduling} (may carry an UL grant) in DCI format 0, while all the UL grants except for the UL grants {uplink scheduling} carried in DCI format 0, are sent on the second UE-specific search space such as DCI format 1A), and a UE-specific search space (USS) configuration including a first field value indicating the first search space is configured for uplink scheduling or a second field value indicating the second search space is configured for downlink scheduling, wherein the second search space is different than the first search space (Wu [0067]: For Manner 1, the UL grant and the DL grant are sent and received in the first UE-specific search space carried by DCI format 0 {interpreted as the first field value}) or a second field value indicating the second search space is configured for downlink scheduling ([0068] Also, DL grant and the UL grant are sent and received in the second UE-specific search space carried by DCI format 1A {interpreted as the second field value}; [0064] The two search spaces can correspond to subframes, timeslots or different time-frequency domain locations {interpreted as the first and second search spaces being different});
communicate, with the second wireless communication device, a scheduling grant in one of the first search space or the second search space based on the SS configuration (Wu [0092] A Physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) detection is performed by the UE based on the DCI format that was received from the BS (e.g. DCI format 0 for DL grants in the first search space and DCI format 1A for UL grants in the second search space). A number configuration for the PDCCH candidate {interpreted as the scheduling grant} is determined based on the detected UE-specific search space. Table 3 provides example PDCCH configurations (Par. [0094])); and
communicate, with the second wireless communication device, data based on the scheduling grant (it is well implied that the invention of Wu communicate data on the downlink after the scheduling grant, that is the whole purpose of Wu’s invention, Table 1, [0017] UE receives on the PDSCH, based on PDCCH).
Wu does not explicitly teach indication of a second search space different than the first search space, and the first field value indicating the first search space is configured for uplink.
However, in an analogous art, Rastagardoost teaches indication of a second search space different than the first search space, and the first field value indicating the first search space is configured for uplink (Rastagardoost, paragraph 0301: ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the of process of data transmission of Wu and include the DCI formats taught by Rastagardoost. Doing so will improve resource allocation flexibility (Rastagardoost [0004]).
Regarding claim 19, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 17 (the limitations of parent claim 17 as indicated above), wherein the SS configuration includes a field, the field including the first field value and the second field value. (Wu [0069] The UE detects the DCI format 0 {interpreted as the first field value} and DCI format 1A {interpreted as the second field value} in the common search space required to be detected by all UEs. The UE then detects other DL grants except for the DCI format 1A in the first search space while other UL grants except for the DCI format 0 in the second search space)
Regarding claim 20, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 17 (the limitations of parent claim 17 as indicated above), wherein the second search space for downlink scheduling is additionally for uplink scheduling. (Wu [0067] All the UL grants except for the UL grant carried by the DCI format 0 are sent and received in the second UE-specific search space)
Regarding claim 21, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 17 (the limitations of parent claim 17 as indicated above), wherein the first search space is configured for downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 and the second search space is configured for DCI format 1_1. (Wu [0071] UL or DL grants sent and received by the UE in first UE-specific search space are carried by DCI format 0 {interpreted as equivalent to DCI format 0_1}), and the second search space is configured for DCI format 1_1 ([0072] UL or DL grants sent and received by the UE in second UE-specific search space are carried by DCI format 1A {interpreted as equivalent to DCI format 1_1})
Regarding claim 24, Wu teaches
A first wireless communication device (Wu [0122] Fig. 6, Base Station (BS)), comprising:
a transceiver (Wu [0122] Fig. 6 Element 10, sending module or transceiver) configured to:
communicate, with a second wireless communication device (Wu [0120] Fig. 5 User Equipment or UE), a search space (SS) configuration (Wu [0060-0061] The BS sends the downlink channel information (DCI) to the UE in two search spaces in Fig. 3, step 302. Par. [0065] The 2 search spaces are UE-specific which correspond to the uplink grant (UL grant) or the downlink grant (DL grant) carried in the DCI. Alternatively, both the UL and DL grant can also be sent to the 2 UE-specific search spaces.), wherein the SS configuration includes an indication of a first search space that is configurable for either uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling, and wherein the SS configuration further indicates that the first search space is for one of uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling (Wu [0100-0102]: each search space having an associated uplink or downlink scheduling grant which reads on the claimed indication of uplink or downlink; Wu [0071] In Manner 3, the UL grant which is carried by DCI format 0 and the DL grant are sent and received in the first UE-specific search space {interpreted as using the first search space for uplink or downlink scheduling}), and an indication that the first search space is for one of uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling ([0073] The first and the second UE-specific search spaces can be used interchangeably, which implies that both UL and downlink scheduling can be configured in the first search space as long as it meets a certain condition.);
communicate, with the second wireless communication device, at least one of a media access control (MAC) control element (CE), a radio resource control (RRC) message, or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a common search space (CSS), indicating that the first search space is for one of uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling (Wu [0012]: search space configuration, PDCCH in the UE common search space (“a search space, which includes a common search space”); Wu [0060-0061] The BS sends the downlink channel information (DCI) to the UE in two search spaces in Fig. 3, step 302. Par. [0065] The 2 search spaces are UE-specific which correspond to the uplink grant (UL grant) or the downlink grant (DL grant) carried in the DCI. Alternatively, both the UL and DL grant can also be sent to the 2 UE-specific search spaces);
communicate, with the second wireless communication device, a scheduling grant in the first search space based on the SS configuration (Wu [0080-0081] The BS sends the downlink control channel information (e.g., a PDCCH) to the UE in two UE-specific search spaces that can include an UL and DL grant. The first UE-specific search space corresponds to the UL grant and DL grant carried by DCI format 0); and
communicate, with the second wireless communication device, data based on the scheduling grant (it is well implied that the invention of Wu communicate data on the downlink after the scheduling grant, that is the whole purpose of Wu’s invention, Table 1, [0017] UE receives on the PDSCH, based on PDCCH).
An analogous art, Rastagardoost explicitly teaches the first field value indicating the first search space is configured for uplink (Rastagardoost, paragraph 0301).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the of process of data transmission of Wu and include the DCI formats taught by Rastagardoost. Doing so will improve resource allocation flexibility (Rastagardoost, Paragraph 04).
Regarding claim 27, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), wherein the transceiver is further configured to:
communicate, with the second wireless communication device, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a common search space (CSS) the PDCCH in the CSS indicating the first search space is for one of uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling. (Wu [0012]: search space configuration, PDCCH in the UE common search space (“a search space, which includes a common search space”); [0036] The UE detects the DCI format 1A and the DCI format 0 in common search space, wherein the search space is required to be detected by all the UEs. Par. [0041] The UE uses a particular configuration to detect the PDCCH in the first search space or the second search space. A first sending sub-module is configured to send a DL grant or an UL grant (e.g. DL and UL scheduling) which is carried by the DCI format 0 in the first search space (Par. [0048]))
Regarding claim 28, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), further comprising:
a processor configured to determine that the first search space is for one of uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling based on a rule. (Wu [0075] In Manner 5, the UL grant and the DL grant {uplink or downlink scheduling} carried by the DCI format 0 are sent by the BS and received in the first UE-specific search space, and all the UL grants except for the UL grant carried by the DCI format 0 are sent and received in the second UE-specific search space. PDCCH detection is used according to the configuration of aggregation level {e, f} (wherein the values of {e, f} is/are one or more of {1, 4}, {1, 8}, etc.) in the first and the second UE-specific search spaces {interpreted as based on a rule})
Regarding claim 29, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), wherein the SS configuration includes an aggregation level configuration (Wu [0066] The BS ensures that the detection instances does not increase thru configuring different DCI formats in different search spaces. It also uses the same reasoning to reduce the aggregation level); and
wherein the first wireless communication device further comprises:
a processor configured to determine that the first search space is for one of uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling based on the communicated aggregation level configuration (Wu [0075] In Manner 5, the UL grant and the DL grant {uplink or downlink scheduling} carried by the DCI format 0 are sent by the BS and received in the first UE-specific search space, and all the UL grants except for the UL grant carried by the DCI format 0 are sent and received in the second UE-specific search space. PDCCH detection is used according to the configuration of aggregation level {e, f} (wherein the values of {e, f} is/are one or more of {1, 4}, {1, 8}, etc.) in the first and the second UE-specific search spaces).
Regarding claim 30, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), wherein the first search space is configured for one of downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or DCI format 1_1. (Wu [0067] UL or DL grants sent by the BS and received by the UE in first UE-specific search space are carried by DCI format 0 {interpreted as equivalent to DCI format 0_1}. Par [0068] All DL grants are sent by the BS and received by the UE in first UE-specific search space except for DL grants carried by DCI format 1A {interpreted as equivalent to DCI format 1_1})
Regarding claim 65, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 17 (the limitations of parent claim 17 as indicated above), wherein the first field value is received prior to the scheduling grant. (Wu [0013]: DCI candidate formats detected; [0067] For Manner 1, the UL grant and the DL grant are sent and received in the first UE-specific search space carried by DCI format 0 {interpreted as the first field value}) or a second field value indicating the second search space is configured for downlink scheduling; [0092] A Physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) detection is performed by the UE based on the DCI format that was received from the BS (e.g. DCI format 0 for DL grants in the first search space and DCI format 1A for UL grants in the second search space). A number configuration for the PDCCH candidate {interpreted as the scheduling grant} is determined based on the detected UE-specific search space. Table 3 provides example PDCCH configurations (Par. [0094]); for the purpose of compact prosecution, examiner notes that the parent claim 17 recites that the scheduling grant may be in first or second search space, so there is a case in [0100-0102] of Wu where the search spaces are in different time slots, meaning the first field value being received prior to a DL scheduling grant).
Claims 22-23, 25-26 and 31-32, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2014/0177582 A1, hereinafter “Wu”) in view of Rastegardoost, US 2021/0051672, claiming priority to provisional 62/886,656, further in view of Oh US 2020/0045738.
Regarding claim 22, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 17 (the limitations of parent claim 17 as indicated above), wherein the transceiver is further configured to:
Wu does not specifically teach wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the second wireless communication device, the data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
However, Oh, in the analogous art of utilizing search spaces, teaches
transmit, to the second wireless communication device, the data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). (Oh [0075] The DL data can be transmitted to the UE through a PDSCH and is may be transmitted after the control channel transmission period. The specific mapping location, modulation scheme in the frequency domain and other parameters associated with the PDSCH is based on the DCI that is transmitted via a PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the of process of data transmission of Wu and include the transmission of DL data using the PDSCH as taught by Oh. Doing so will allow the BS to access the transmission channel efficiently and improve the network performance (Oh [0143]).
Regarding claim 23, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 17 (the limitations of parent claim 17 as indicated above), wherein the transceiver is further configured to:
Wu does not specifically teach wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the second wireless communication device, the data on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, Oh, in the analogous art of utilizing search spaces, teaches
transmit, to the second wireless communication device, the data on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). (Oh [0118] The UE detects the PDCCH 310 in a slot i300 (shown in in Fig. 3) and obtains the DCI. The DCI can include information about a resource region assigned to the UE by the BS {first wireless communication device} for transmission of an UL data channel or a PUSCH. Par. [0122] The DCI can include the parameters regarding the time resource region information 325 (Fig. 3) needed for PUSCH transmissions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the of process of data transmission of Wu and include the scheduling of UL data using the PUSCH as further taught by Oh. Doing so will allow the BS to access the transmission channel efficiently and improve the network performance (Oh [0143]).
Regarding claim 25, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), wherein the transceiver is further configured to:
Wu does not specifically teach wherein the transceiver is further configured to: communicate, with the second wireless communication device, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating the first search space is for one of uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling.
However, Oh, in the analogous art of utilizing search spaces, teaches
communicate, with the second wireless communication device, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) the MAC CE indicating the first search space is for one of uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling. (Oh [0081] BS transmits a signal to the UE using an upper signal or upper signaling thru a DL data channel. The method can use medium access control element (MAC CE) for transmitting the signal. Par. [0241] The BS transmits to the UE by upper signal a search space configuration where DL and UL scheduling information is received {interpreted as indicating the first search space}).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the of process of communication between the BS and UE of Wu and include MAC CE for signaling as further taught by Oh. Doing so will minimize the overlap of time-frequency resources used to carry control and data resources to the UEs and improve the customer experience (Oh [0050]).
Regarding claim 26, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), wherein the transceiver is further configured to:
Wu does not specifically teach wherein the transceiver is further configured to: communicate, with the second wireless communication device, a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating the first search space is for one of uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling.
However, Oh, in the analogous art of utilizing search spaces, teaches
communicate, with the second wireless communication device, a radio resource control (RRC) the RRC message indicating the first search space is for one of uplink scheduling or downlink scheduling. (Oh [0081] BS transmits a signal to the UE using an upper signal or upper signaling thru a DL data channel. The method can use radio resource control (RRC) message for transmitting the signal. Par. [0241] The BS transmits to the UE by upper signal a search space configuration where DL and UL scheduling information is received {interpreted as indicating the first search space})
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the of process of process of communication between the BS and UE of Wu and include RRC for signaling as taught by Oh. Doing so will minimize the overlap of time-frequency resources used to carry control and data resources to the UEs and improve the customer experience (Oh [0050]).
Regarding claim 31, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), wherein the transceiver is further configured to:
Wu does not specifically teach wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the second wireless communication device, the data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
However, Oh, in the analogous art of utilizing search spaces, teaches
transmit, to the second wireless communication device, the data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). (Oh [0075] The DL data can be transmitted to the UE through a PDSCH and is may be transmitted after the control channel transmission period. The specific mapping location, modulation scheme in the frequency domain and other parameters associated with the PDSCH is based on the DCI that is transmitted via a PDCCH)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the of process of data transmission of Wu and include the transmission of DL data using the PDSCH as further taught by Oh. Doing so will allow the BS to access the transmission channel efficiently and improve the network performance (Oh [0143]).
Regarding claim 32, Wu modified by Rastagardoost teaches
The first wireless communication device of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), wherein the transceiver is further configured to:
Wu does not specifically teach wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the second wireless communication device, the data on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, Oh, in the analogous art of utilizing search spaces, teaches
transmit, to the second wireless communication device, the data on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). (Oh [0118] The UE detects the PDCCH 310 in a slot i300 (shown in in Fig. 3) and obtains the DCI. The DCI can include information about a resource region assigned to the UE by the BS {first wireless communication device} for transmission of an UL data channel or a PUSCH Par. [0122] The DCI can include the parameters regarding the time resource region information 325 (Fig. 3) needed for PUSCH transmissions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the of process of data transmission of Wu and include the scheduling of UL data using the PUSCH as further taught by Oh. Doing so will allow the BS to access the transmission channel efficiently and improve the network performance (Oh [0143]).
Conclusion
/R.E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412